BBB Accredited Business since

Morris Management, Inc

Phone: (425) 283-5858 Fax: (425) 283-5859 View Additional Phone Numbers 325 118th Ave SE Ste 204, Bellevue, WA 98005 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.morrismanagement.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers property management services, including homeowner association and condominium association management.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Morris Management, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Morris Management, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Morris Management, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 21, 2004 Business started: 08/01/2002 Business started locally: 08/01/2002 Business incorporated 08/01/2002 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Licensing Real Estate
2000 4th Ave W, Olympia WA 98502
http://www.dol.wa.gov/business/realestate
Phone Number: (360) 664-6488
realestate@dol.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bruce Clary, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bruce Clary, President
Business Category

Association Management Condominiums Management Consultants Office Administrative Services (NAICS: 561110)

Alternate Business Names
Morris Management, Inc

Additional Locations

  • 325 118th Ave SE Ste 204

    Bellevue, WA 98005 (425) 283-5858

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They failed to respond an urgent issue.

Desired Settlement: ******** ***** **** ***** unit owner reported the main bedroom the roof leaking problem 3 weeks ago, No repair is done and no update is given voluntarily.

Consumer Response: My name is ******* ***, I'm the owner of ******** ***** town home owner unit 4. I reported an urgent the roofing leaking problem on Jan 21 with the picture attachment. I called and left messages the next day and finally the manager of the town house assigned a handy man to take a look in the late afternoon. Finally the handy man confirmed the leak was from the roof. The manager told the handy man "don't tell the home owner" about the it. Huh?? I truely didn't understand what she meant by that.

Anyway, the board needed to approve the fix and chose the vendor. But all this process I wouldn't have known if I didn't ask the manager the status.
That is the worst customer experience I have with them. Roof leaking is a serious issue, especially in raining Seattle. The Morris Management should have provided the customer about the plan for the fix and the time frame for the repairs. Not only they didn't, I got no satisfied answer even when I pressed them. The manager told me that the aboard approved the vendor to do the repair on Feb 4th, but when the vendor starts to do the repair, it is out her control. but she assured me last week that she should be able to hear back from them in a couple days.

Here we go, a week passes by, I heard no words from the Morris Management Condo manager even though I sent her email and left notes to her.

My main bedroom roof is still leaking today. I reported the incident 3 WEEK ago.

I saw them have 24/7 phone contact information. If the roof leaking is not an urgent issue, I don't know what else should be considered an urgent issue. I'm very disappointed with the service.










Business Response: Re: Case# ********: ******* ***

Dear Ms. **********:

We are in receipt of your notification of *** ***** complaint pursuant to your letter dated
February 18th, 2015. First and foremost, I would like to submit a few clarifications:


• *** *** is not currently, nor has she ever been, a customer of Morris Management, Inc. As such,
we expect our record with your firm will be cleared of *** ***** complaint upon your receipt of
this notification.

• We do have a common affiliation with a non-profit corporate entity called ******** *****
*********** *********** (hereafter referred to as "****"), a ********** corporation. *** *** is
believed to be a homeowner within ******** ***** and, although **** is a client (and customer) of
ours, *** *** individually is not. Since *** *** is neither a customer of Morris Management, Inc.,
or ****, we question whether the Better Business Bureau is an appropriate venue for *** *****
complaint to be reviewed. Any action we allegedly have or have not taken is on behalf of **** as
directed by the Association's governing documents and Board of Directors.
• Future correspondence to **** may be delivered to: ******** ***** *********** ***********
**** ***** ****** *** ****
Bellevue, WA 98005
***** ********* **** **** ******
***** ********* ***
*******@morrismanagement.com
Having submitted those clarifications, we are prepared to offer a limited response to *** *****
complaint on behalf of **** to the extent of any knowledge we have of the issue.
In researching this issue, we were able to corroborate *** ***** assertion that a
concern was submitted on or about January 215
2015 regarding a possible roof leak. The roofs in **** are common elements owned and maintained by ****.
**** responded within a day or two by sending out a consultant to inspect the area. Upon
inspection, ****'s consultant advised the area in question (the ceiling in a closet) was dry and,
in his opinion, that there was no active roof leak. There was an area of carpet adjacent to the
closet and bathroom that was wet; however ****'s consultant believed that was the result of either
carelessness or something that had been spilled on the carpet by *** ***** tenant /occupant.

During the course of inspecting that concern, there were some routine maintenance items on the
exterior of the building that were noted by ****'s consulting which have since been addressed.
**** is not aware of any remaining issues.

At this time we believe this item has been resolved. Please let us know if there are additional
material issues which need to be addressed.

9/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Homeowners Association's sprinkler system has developed a leak where it runs under our yard and has subsequently been blasting water on our mulch and the next door neighbor's home daily. It is making a ton of weeds grow in that area. On July 16, I submitted a service request via Morris Management's website and received a prompt response from ***** ***** stating that she forwarded my requested to the property manager ******, and her assistant and that we would hear something soon. Since then, we have heard nothing and the problem has not been fixed. I wrote back to ***** ***** on July 30, asking when I should hear something and she never responded back to me. Additionally, I went back to Morris Management's website and submit additional emails concerning this issue and received no response whatsoever. I also emailed the property manager ****** directly and even tried reaching her via phone. She responded neither to my email or my phone call. My husband called Morris Management directly on August 22 and reached someone who assured us they were submitting a service request to the lawn care company as they spoke to get this fixed and it has not been. I even emailed Morris Management to complain about the lack of any response and received no response.

Desired Settlement: We want them to fix their sprinkler system. We pay a decent amount of money in homeowners dues and this complete lack of correspondence and terrible customer service is completely unacceptable.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 7, 2014/09/18) */ September 11th, 2014 Better Business Bureau Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington 1000 Station Drive, Suite 222 DuPont, WA Re: Case ********:**************** Dear **************: We are in receipt of your notification of **************** complaint pursuant to your letter dated September 1st, 2014. First and foremost, I would like to submit a few clarifications: ************** is not currently, nor has she ever been, a customer of Morris Management, Inc. As such, we expect our record with your firm will be cleared of **************** complaint upon your receipt of this notification. We do have a common affiliation with a non-profit corporate entity called *********************** *********** (hereafter referred to as "******"), a Washington corporation.*************** is believed to be a homeowner within ************* and, although **** is a client (and customer) of ours,*************** individually is not. Since*************** is neither a customer of Morris Management, Inc., or ****, we question whether the Better Business Bureau is an appropriate venue for **************** complaint to be reviewed. Any action we allegedly have or have not taken is on behalf of **** as directed by the Associations governing documents and Board of Directors. Future Correspondence to **** may be delivered to: ***************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Having submitted those clarifications, we are prepared to offer a limited response to **************** complaint on behalf of **** to the extent of any knowledge we have of the issue. In researching this issue, we were able to corroborate **************** concern regarding an irrigation issue that may have been affecting her property. The irrigation system identified is owned by **** and is maintained by the ******* landscaping maintenance vendor. We have not spoken with the person*************** attempted to contact previously through our office (**************) as ********** is no longer with our firm. We have received notification from the ****'s landscaping maintenance vendor that the irrigation issue has been repaired. ************ from our office has attempted to reach*************** to verify the issue has been resolved and has not heard anything to the contrary at this time, so We believe the issue has been addressed. If not, we encourage*************** to contact ********** at our office at **************, ext. *** or via email ******************************* and we will certainly do whatever we can on ****'s behalf to assist*************** further. At this time We believe this item has been resolved. Please let us know if there are additional material issues which need to be addressed. Bruce Clary Morris Management, Inc. Agent for *********************** Association Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2014/09/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) After some careful contemplation, I have decided to respond in a similar fashion to Morris Management. Before providing my official response to the complaint, I would like to submit a few points of clarification: - I was unaware of the rule that stated I had to be a "customer" of a company to have an issue with the way that it or its employees provided service or a lack there of. If such a rule exists, then I apologize for any inconvenience that this issue has caused Morris Management. - I do not know how Morris Management chooses to define the words "customer" or "client"; however, for them to state that I am not a customer of **** is incorrect. My husband and I pay **** fees every month in return for services. I believe that qualifies us as "customers." - Since Morris Management does not seem to understand why this complaint was lodged against them, I will help with that. The association manager to whom maintenance requests and other issues go to within the **** is a Morris Management employee. While I know nothing of when *** ********* employment with Morris Management ended, I do know that she WAS their employee when I first brought this issue to light. My POC, a Morris Management employee, did not respond to me or resolve the issue. I agree with Morris Management when they state that they are uncertain whether the BBB is the proper venue for reviewing this complaint. The proper venue was Morris Management. After a month when two Morris Management employees failed to resolve my issue and failed to respond to my emails and phone call, I went to their website and filed a complaint via their "contact us" page. No one from that company responded to me and the issue still did not get resolved. Having submitted those clarifications, my response is as follows: Yes, the landscaping company did repair the broken sprinkler system. Yes, *** ****** did attempt to contact my husband via phone and left him voicemail. Thank you to whomever it was that resolved this issue for us. At this time, I have no further issues to take up with either Morris Management or *****

8/20/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have received a Statement of Account for the past three months stating I have over $100 in fees. I have asked on multiple occasions to get further clarification and cannot get a clear response. Multiple emails have gone unanswered and phone calls are combative. Each month I am told that there is an outstanding balance on the account, however it is unclear how much or where the balance is coming from.

Desired Settlement: Reversal of the fees or an explanation of why they are being charged to my account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 7, 2014/07/16) */ We are in receipt of notification of *********** complaint pursuant to your letter dated June 27, 2014. First and foremost, I would like to submit a few clarifications: ********** is not currently, nor has she ever been, a customer of Morris Management, Inc. As such, we expect our record with your firm will be cleared of *********** complaint upon your receipt of this notification. We do have a common affiliation with a non-profit corporate entity called ***************** *********** (hereafter referred to as ***), a Washington corporation. ********** is believed to be a homeowner within *********************** and, although *** is a client (and customer) of ours, ********** individually is not. Since ********** is neither a customer of Morris Management, Inc., or ***, we question whether the Better Business Bureau is an appropriate venue for *********** complaint to be reviewed. Any action we allegedly have or have not taken is on behalf of *** as directed by the Associations governing documents and Board of Directors. Future correspondence to *** may be delivered to: ***************************** ************************* Bellevue, WA 98005 **************, ext. *** - office ************** - fax ************************ *** is a condominium owners association established as a Washington non-profit corporation for a community located in Kent, Washington. The operation of the Association is specified by the content of the Association's governing documents and state and federal laws. Application and enforcement of ***s governing documents and decisions for *** are primarily the responsibility of an elected Board of Directors. The Board has the authority to hire a third party company or individual to assist the Board in discharging their duties as a governing body. Although the Board may delegate some limited authority to the third party company, responsibility for all authorized actions and activities remains with the Board. As a homeowner in ***, ********** is obligated to adhere to the provisions contained within the Associations governing documents. If we understand *********** complaint correctly, she is alleging she does not understand why there is an outstanding balance on her account with ***. In researching this issue, we were able to identify what we believe to be the cause. Primarily, it appears *** had a change in the regular monthly assessment amount for each condominium Unit that was effective in January, 2014. For the first four months of 2014, it appears ********** continued to remit the old amount and, accordingly, was paying less than what was due for four months. The prior amount (through December, 2013) was $248.66 and the new amount (beginning January, 2014) is $267.48. Since her account was not paid in full, late fees were applied to her account by *** in accordance with the previously adopted policy. If ********** would like to get this resolved before the end of this month, she is welcome to contact me and I will go over the numbers with her on behalf of ***. She may reach me at (***) ********, ext. ***. Based upon this information, we believe *** has acted appropriately. If ********** would like to personally address the Board of Directors for *** regarding this issue, she should contact our office at the address on the first page of this letter and we will be pleased to assist by providing her the date and time of the next Board meeting. Please let us know if there are additional material issues which need to be addressed. Respectfully submitted, Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/07/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept this response. I personally am not a client of Morris Management, my homeowner's association is. I am however a homeowner and my homeowner's association hires Morris Management with homeowner's dues I pay, therefore Morris Management should be required to respond to my requests. As for the person stated that correspondence should go to, I have attempted to contact that person on multiple occasions, in all cases my correspondence was either inappropriately responded to or completely ignored. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/08/04) */ On behalf of *****************************, I have replied to Ms. ******'s original complaint and have offered to explain her account to her. The balance due has primarily been caused by Ms. ****** not paying the correct amount for her assessments for the first four months of 2014. As of the time I am entering this response, I have not heard anything from Ms. ******.