This business is not BBB accredited.

Daniel Smith Inc

Phone: (206) 223-9599 Fax: (206) 224-3567 4150 1st Ave S, Seattle, WA 98134 http://www.danielsmith.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers fine artist supplies and materials.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Daniel Smith Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Daniel Smith Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 02, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1976 Business started locally: 01/01/1976 Business incorporated 08/22/1980 in WA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Cogley, President Mr. Greg Marks, Controller - Sales Contact
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Cogley, President
Business Category

Art Supplies Catalog Showrooms General Merchandise - Retail


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4150 1st Ave S

    Seattle, WA 98134

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/28/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered a set of 9 watercolors on October 3. After a reasonable time contacted **** ****** customer service and was advised a problem with postage meter and would be mailed immediately again waited and no watercolors again contacted **** ****** customer service and advised problem with back up in warehouse for sure would mail after waiting still no deliver on on October 21 spoke with ****** *** and was advised that he would personally see that it was sent out that day on *** ground service and I would have by end of week. End of week and still no watercolors

Desired Settlement: I want the nine watercolors I ordered I have numerous emails to validate my correspondence. The worst experience with customer service and I can't believe how each time I was advised ordered was sent but it was not. The original placement of order Daniel Smith advertises free shipping and I even offered to pay tracking and insurance if that is what it would take to get my order. I will gladly send emails for more details. Thank You very much!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/11/12) */ The order was delivered by *** to our customer on 11/6. I am very sorry for the delays which included the package being lost by ***** Responses provided by customer service were inadequate for the type of customer service we have provided over many years. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 15, 2013/11/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I sincerely hope that this complaint will serve the purpose of improving the customer service of Daniel Smith. No one should have to go thru what I did. I believe that their customer service representative should have training in being truthful and not just saying anything to get the customer off her back. I still have not seen the word, "sorry," for all of this but I want to be done with this fiasco. If it were not for the BBB, I know that this matter would never been addressed since I learned the only person available to complain about problems is the very same person that is in charge of complaints. Note the customer service emails go to the same person as the sales emails go to. I was told by another employee that this person is a "favorite" of the manager and can do what ever without any supervision or consequences as obvious by my situation. Only the BBB could get beyond these roadblocks. So thank you for giving the customer a voice. I am completely satisfied with the BBB. Keep up the good work! You are the voice of the public. Kudos! Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/11/21) */ The original order was lost in the mail and our normal practice is to cancel the original and create a new order for shipment. The original order was credit to the customer on 10/22 and the reship charged on 10/30. The customer is correct that not enough attention was paid when the new order was entered and a discount code was not entered so the amount was larger. I have instructed for the new order to be credited as well so the customer will not have been charged anything after all is said and done.