BBB Accredited Business since

Judd & Black

Additional Locations

Phone: (425) 258-2591 View Additional Phone Numbers 3001 Hewitt Ave, Everett, WA 98201 http://www.juddblack.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sale and repair of all major appliances, and barbecues.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Judd & Black meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Judd & Black include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Judd & Black
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1975 Business started: 01/01/1940 Business started locally: 01/01/1940
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert Long, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Long, President
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Dealers Barbecue Barbecue Equipment & Supplies Washing Machines & Dryers - Dealers Appliances - Major - Service & Repair Washing Machines & Dryers - Service & Repair Household Appliance Stores (NAICS: 443141)

Alternate Business Names
Judd & Black Electric Inc

Additional Locations

  • 1315 State Ave

    Marysville, WA 98270

  • 16521 Highway 99 STE A

    Lynnwood, WA 98037

  • 2001 James St

    Bellingham, WA 98225 (360) 733-7722

  • 2520 Cedardale Rd

    Mount Vernon, WA 98274

  • 2808 Maple St

    Everett, WA 98201

  • 3001 Hewitt Ave

    Everett, WA 98201 (425) 258-2591 (425) 258-4557 (360) 659-0822 (425) 742-2233 (360) 336-6515

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ********** dishwasher broke on July 28th. Called Judd and Black as they are the authorized service company for **********. I was put off until August 13th. Called on August 13th to find out the time a serviceman would be at the house and was told I am not on the schedule for today and was put off until August 21st. After considerable communication with Judd and Black they said basically for me to deal with it as there is nothing else they can do. This has been a hardship for my wife and I as we are in our 80s and have a difficult time during hot weather.

Desired Settlement: I have waited very patiently for a repair and now am very tired of it and would like Judd and Black to stand by their agreement to service this machine and if they give an appointment they need to keep it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/15) */ Customer called 7/29/14. Call was scheduled for 8/5/14. Technician contacted customer and diagnosed problem (error code 3) over the phone. Technician ordered parts. Told customer that it would take about 5 days. parts came in and customer was scheduled for 8/21/14. Customer feels like this is too long of a time to wait for a technician to come out and complete the repair. We are booked solid and 8/21/14 is the soonest we can have a technician to their home to complete the repair. I have called the customer to inform him we are doing our best and apologized for the inconvenience and for any frustration this has caused. Our service department is very busy and we are booking calls 2-3 weeks out. We continue to do our best for the customers we service. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2014/08/18) */ We would like to thank BBB for helping us with this complaint. Judd and Black did respond to us and left us with the feeling that they are woefully lacking in their communication to their customers and employees. We are still unhappy with the service of Judd and Black and will never purchase anything from them and if asked will not respond favorably towards them.

7/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a ********** refrigerator 3/29/2014 from Judd & Black in Everett and it began malfunctioning on June 14th, 2014. A repair technician came to evaluate it yesterday and found the computer board needs to be replaced, the door does not seal properly causing frost to form inside. It does not cool consistently and I have to keep unplugging and plugging back in order to put on maximum cooling just to try and keep food cool. The water and ice dispenser does not work and in fact, will dispense water randomly without anyone even near the appliance. I woke up to a large amount of water on my floor. The seal around the ice maker also needs repair. I purchased this at Judd & Black and was told the parts were on backorder..meaning repairs would start sometime more than a week from now. I called ********** directly and spoke to a supervisor with their "customer experience department" and was told there was nothing they could do, essentially too bad so sad for you and they could care less that I will end up without a properly functioning refrigerator for over 3 weeks, IF the parts are received when expected. Product_Or_Service: ********** French Door Bottom Mount Refrigerator Order_Number: X-X-XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund purchase price refunded in the amount of $3781.55. I will attempt to get a large ice chest in order to try and save some food from spoiling but will have to purchase another refrigerator elsewhere ASAP.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/24) */ Unit delivered 3/29/14. Customer called for service 6/16/14. Service Tech performed diagnosis on unit 6/19/14. Customer called store 6/19/14 and requested the unit be exchanged. We advised customer the warranty is for repair not exchange, we would have to order parts and attempt repair. She contacted the manufacture in hopes of getting exchange. 6/20/14 she informed us that she was upset with the manufacture and she no longer wanted that brand in her home. 6/20/14 we instructed customer to come to the store to look at other options. 6/21/14 She visited our store and looked at refrigerators. She decided to have us exchange her unit for a new one. She requested delivery be made on 6/28/14. Up until this complaint was received, we believed we were exchanging her unit for a brand new one. I placed a call to the customer at 9:00am this morning in an attempt to solve this matter, I have not heard back. We are committed in solving this issue in a professional and courteous manner.

3/14/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Feb. 3, 2014 I ordered a built in microwave oven from Judd & Black. The sales person sent me a form to fill out for the trim kit which I sent back the same day. On Feb. 6 he emailed me staying he needed more information about the measurements for the trim kit. I was unable to determine the information he wanted so I called him back on Feb 8 and asked him to place the order for the microwave and that I would order the trim kit later. He agreed to do so. Told me it would take 7 to 10 days. I called on Feb. 21st because I had not heard anything from them. The same sales rep said that he thought the unit would be in their store the next day. I didn't hear again from them so I called on Feb 26. Another sales rep told me the microwave didn't even get ordered until Feb. 18th. I was frustrated and asked for a discount. They agreed but never process the discount. That sales rep said it should be in the following week. I never heard from them again so I called on March 7th only to be told the item was likely on back order and they had no way of knowing when I would receive it. It was the first mention of any potential back order. At no time did anyone from their company call me about any delay with my order. They charged my card on Feb. 3 and as of March 7th I still had no product. I told them to cancel my order.

Desired Settlement: I spent over $3500 purchasing 4 major appliances from them several weeks before. I am asking for a 10% discount on that transaction for their lack of customer service and the fact they had my money for over a month and could not deliver the product. Plus I had to to make all of the contact with them. They never reached out to me to let me know what was going on.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/03/13) */ Judd & Black appreciates the opportunity to resolve this complaint.We have spoken to the customer and have agreed on a resolution. We apologize for any frustration this issue has caused. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2014/03/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

9/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a brand new product that has been defective since day one. 3.5 months later they are barely even fixing it, much less replacing it.

Desired Settlement: we want a new, working machine

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/09/18) */ Unit Purchased 6/1/2013. Customer called us for service on 9/13/13, call scheduled and performed 9/17/13. Parts are required to complete repair. We are scheduled to return on 9/20/13 to complete. Unit is over 90 days old. Our records indicate that 9/13 was the first and only time we were informed that the unit was malfunctioning. It is common practice to repair a unit under warranty, rather than replace it. Customer does not want unit fixed, and have requested a new unit. I have spoken with the customer and have agreed to replace their unit with a new one. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2013/09/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

4/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service