BBB Accredited Business since

Specialty Stores Inc

Phone: (800) 381-1857 Fax: (425) 458-0359 227 Bellevue Way NE # 59, Bellevue, WA 98004 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers the online sales of albums, scrapbooks and keep sakes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Specialty Stores Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Specialty Stores Inc include:

  • 7 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Specialty Stores Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Specialty Stores Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 23, 2006 Business started: 04/01/2003 Business started locally: 04/01/2003 Business incorporated 04/14/2003 in WA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mrs. Kristin Walker, Member Mr. Jeff Walker, Member
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jeff Walker, Member
Principal: Mrs. Kristin Walker, Member
Business Category

Albums Gift Shops Wedding Supplies & Services Baby Accessories & Services Internet Shopping Boxes - Specialty & Fancy

Alternate Business Names Keepsakes Company, The

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Specialty Stores Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 227 Bellevue Way NE # 59

    Bellevue, WA 98004 (800) 381-1857


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/2/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company is not delivering an item I purchased from them. I've tried multiple times to reach them and ask about status and they will not respond. They are stealing from me as they charged my credit card and did not send me the item I purchased.

Desired Settlement: I placed an order on July 23rd for three items. They charged my credit card immediately. I inquired about delivery status last week, at which time they shipped me two of the three items I ordered. I have since inquired again three times via phone and e-mail inquiring about delivery status for the remaining item. They have not responded to me despite their promise to respond within 24 hours. I wish to have the item delivered to me or a full refund, otherwise this company is stealing from consumers by taking money and not delivering the product.

Business Response: Hi *****,

Thanks for your message! I can see the first two of your Holiday pre-order items were delivered on 8/18:

We're still waiting on our first supply of the Christmas Car T-Shirt to come into stock. The manufacturer is expecting a supply this week, so we will receive it in about 7 days. Would you like to wait for that item? We expect to be able to ship it in the next couple of weeks. If you'd prefer a refund so you can re-order when it is back in stock, we'd be happy to provide one to you immediately. Just let us know what works best for you. 

Thanks again!


9/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am not able to contact them via their customer service number, or by filling out a form online. I have been trying to get a return slip from them for over a week, and no response. They only allow 30 days for returns, but they are not responding to my request via online return form. The customer service number automatically disconnects people when they call. I just want someone to contact me or send me the authorization and a full refund including refunding me the re-stocking fee and shipping for my time and energy. I am in my 9th month of pregnancy and shouldn't have to stress over something as little as returning a $70 (way over priced for what I received, by the way) keepsake book.

Desired Settlement: A FULL refund including the re-stocking fee and shipping.

Business Response: Hi ******,

We're so sorry to hear you are still having trouble receiving our emails. We have issued a return authorization to you on four separate occasions, with each inquiry you have made to us. It's no problem at all to return the item you purchased, and there are no worries about the 30 day policy - we are happy to take it back for you. 

Please return your album with the original packing slip, if possible, to:

Specialty Stores 
Returns Processing 
*** ******* ****** ***** **** *
Traverse City, MI 49686

Once we receive your order in new condition, your store credit or refund will be processed within 14 business days. We strongly recommend that you send your return back with tracking and or insurance to prevent any problems with a lost package. This can be done with *** or ***** ****** or, more economically, with **** ****** **** with "Delivery Confirmation" added. Thanks again - we are very glad to know that this will be resolved for you!


Specialty Stores, Inc.

7/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered an outfit for my daughter from this company. When it came the pants were much bigger than the size they were supposed to be, and the neck on the shirt was very huge. I emailed the company asking to return the product. I was then asked to send them pictures of the issue. I did that, and then I was told the pictures did not show what I complained about even though they clearly do. I was asked to continue taking pictures in a way that made no sense. I should not have to do this to return a defective item. I was told that in order for them to send me a shipping label to return the items, I would need to send even more pictures. I simply want to return the outfit. They can see for themselves how it matches up to another outfit of the same make. I also feel I should not pay to ship this back. It should have never been sent to me like that in the first place. The company is being very difficult and basically telling me that nothing is wrong with the product, which is absurd. They are accredited by the BBB, so I was hoping that you could help me resolve this matter and get my money back.

Desired Settlement: I want to return this defective outfit without being made to cover shipping because it should have never arrived in the condition in came in. I also want a refund sooner than 14 days AFTER the product is received which is what they told me is their policy. I just want my money back.

Business Response: Hello!

We have authorized ******* return according to our return policy and are very eager to resolve her concerns. The item did not fit and we are happy to accept a return in a case like this. All she needs to do is drop it in the mail and we will provide the refund on receipt of the merchandise. We asked for photos to back up the ******* claim that the outfit was grossly out of proportion, but the pictures did not demonstrate the problem (in fact the pants were not even shown in her photo). So, we asked that the photo be retaken next to a ruler or tape measure to show whether the outfit was not in the proper dimensions. If this item is defective, this will allow us to provide evidence to the manufacturer so that we can expedite a credit. If ***** is unwilling to provide these photos, we can still accept her return and provide a refund. We have provided ***** with a return authorization including our return address and we will expedite her refund on receipt of the merchandise. Thank you!


Specialty Stores, Inc. 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********
I did send pics. Its not that the item didn't fit but that the item is defective. I should not pay shipping and lose money over something that should have never arrived to my home in that condition. 
I am rejecting this response because:


***** *****

7/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello, I purchased a product from this company on June 1st, 2015. I received a confirmation email stating I had indeed purchased it with a shipping estimate of 7-10 business days. As of yesterday I had not received any indication I was to receive my purchase nor had it been shipped to me. I reached out through their online contact page as their phone number only allows you to leave a message. I have not been able to speak to a customer service rep and they claim to reach out within 1 business day. That time had passed and it has been over 15 business days without a single correspondence and I want my money back that they charged me for their services. Since they are being so unresponsive, I thought it best to lodge a formal complaints

Desired Settlement: Ideally, I would like my order shipped to me to be received by June 26th, 2015 since I allowed plenty of time for that to happen. If it is not to me by that point, I would like my money back as the object in question is for a special occasion this weekend and I have no use for it after the fact.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


******* *****

5/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a baby memory book from this company. I ordered it with my baby's name and extra pages and paid for 2 day shipping. On the day that it should have shipped out I got an email saying that they couldn't see the cover I ordered; three days later I got another email saying that they couldn't see the name I wanted on the cover. Needless to say I didn't receive the book until 2 weeks after I placed my order; I complained to them about how long it took but they never offered to refund me for the expedited shipping. Once I received the book, I was not happy with personalized name on the cover and the product itself; they apologized and said they never have issues with that particular book collection and they asked if I would like the return information for a full refund included the expedited shipping. After I said I did want the return information it took them a week to respond. They reiterated how they never have issues on this book collection and said that they don't usually take returns on personalized products but they "would make an exception" for me. They sent me the return address but with no return label. When I asked for the return label it took them another week to respond; again, reiterating that they never have issues with the book collection and saying that I need to pay for the shipping to return it. I honestly don't trust this company to refund me my money since I would be sending it back to the manufacturer, not them. They are very rude and they have the worst customer service I have ever experienced. I will not spend another dime. I want my money back.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back. I will return the book when they send me a return label but I want my money back right away.

Business Response: Hi! ***** ordered one of our personalized baby memory books that is supplied to us by a boutique vendor and artist. It’s one of our favorite baby books and our customers who have purchased it have overwhelmingly loved it.  

As with all personalized items, we have a "no return" policy, except in the case of defects. This is because personalized items cannot be resold. However, since ***** was not happy with her album, we coordinated with the artist to accept a return and offer a refund for the purchase.

We were very glad that we could offer an exception to the policy for *****. We are also happy to waive the restocking fee and provide a full merchandise refund on the purchase. Furthermore, we are even willing to refund the cost of shipping the product to her, which is also above and beyond our return policy in the interest of her delight.

All that we ask is that ***** drop the item in the mail and return the book to the artist, paying for return postage. We asked ***** to return to the artist because it is she who is coordinating with us for the return acceptance. Since the book is handmade, the artist will be able to dissemble it and re-use the pages in a future album that she creates.

We truly wish that these concessions will satisfy ***** and we will certainly provide a refund once the item is received. Thank you very much!

4/10/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an online order and have tried contacting this company to inquire why I have not received it. My order was for two Grandmother brag book photo albums. They charged my credit card the day I placed the order. Phone numbers that are listed are nothing but a false number. My master card company gave me a phone number to contact that they have listed when the charge was placed and when I call it, it is a number advertising cruises, far from a photo brag book!My credit card company is disputing the charges. A so called company like this is a fraud and should be stopped in their tracks. When researching online, there are similar complaints about them.

Desired Settlement: I want the $27.47 credited to my credit card and I also feel this company should be looked at for fraud.

Business Response: Hello!

We're so sorry this customer had a bad experience. I checked our contact history and unfortunately we received zero messages from **** prior to her contacting the BBB and her credit card company. We make it very easy for customers to contact us through our website, but it seems she did not take this approach. **** had placed an order for an item that was on backorder and so it did not ship immediately. The package was shipped on 2/23 and the tracking information is shown below:**********************

It appears that **** refused the package and had it returned to our warehouse. Since she filed a chargeback, the credit is being handled via MasterCard, although we would of course gladly refund the customer for the return.


Specialty Stores, Inc.

2/5/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered 2 scrapbooks from Specialty Stores Inc "*********" on December 27, 2014 and as of today January 17, 2015 I have still not received my scrapbooks. When I pull the order up it just says in processing. they took the money out of my account 2 days later. I want a refund of my money back.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back or I will get an attorney involved

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/22) */ Hi *** We're so sorry to hear you were worried about this. The item you ordered was out of stock at the time of your purchase and we were waiting for new inventory to arrive to ship the albums. Of course we are happy to refund your money and welcome your feedback directly (no need to contact BBB first - we respond to all emails). We have fully refunded your purchase - you will see it post to your bank very shortly. Thank you and again, we apologize for the wait on your order. Sincerely, Specialty Stores, Inc.