This business is not BBB accredited.

Country Aire Technologies Inc

Phone: (253) 472-8304 Fax: (253) 472-8319 10029 South Tacoma Way Ste E8, Lakewood, WA 98499 http://www.filterqueen.com/countryairetechnologies/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a retailer of air filtration products for people with asthma and allergies.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Country Aire Technologies Inc include:

  • 20 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Country Aire Technologies Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 20 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

20 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 17
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 20

Additional Complaint Information

On September 9, 2013, BBB recognized a pattern of complaints from consumers regarding advertisement and customer service issues. Consumers allege promotional materials received from Country Aire Technologies Inc are misleading and deceptive, as the materials indicate a prize has been won but do not clearly state what was won. Consumers further allege the company continues to make telemarketing calls to their homes even after consumers request the company no longer contact them.

Country Aire Technologies Inc typically responds to complaints by stating its promotional materials are clear marketing tools. The company states its advertisements disclose who they are and how to redeem winnings, and indicates that consumers may need to view an air filtration system.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Country Aire Technologies Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 2002 Business started: 09/01/1995 Business started locally: 09/01/1995 Business incorporated 04/01/2002 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jessica Bergh, President
Business Category

Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment Vacuum Cleaners - Household - Dealers


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Country Aire Technologies Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10029 South Tacoma Way Ste E8

    Lakewood, WA 98499 (253) 472-8304

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/8/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a "scratch & win" prize card in the mail. I scratched it off. It said to call their number to see if I won. When I called, they said that I did win a prize. But in order to win the prize, I would have to let a representative come in to my home. I told them I don't let strangers enter my house. I said I would be happy to come pick up the prize there. The only time they said I could pick it up is Saturday 12-2pm. A 2 hour window that I have to work. I told them, I would be happy to come right now to their business and pick up my prize, but they refuse to give me the prize that I won.

Desired Settlement: I want my prize verified and mailed to my home or held for me at the local business for me to pick up.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/01/07) */ To: The Better Business Bureau From: Country Aire Technologies To whom it may concern, This correspondence is regarding the complaint ************** filed on 12/1914. I am shocked this is even a complaint. ************ is correct. He has two ways of claiming his prize which are having it hand delivered and watching our presentation or coming into our location when that department is in house, Saturdays between 12 PM and 2 PM. Country Aire will not be changing our policies or store hours to accommodate ************s work Schedule just so he can get a prize furnished by our Company for FREE. He is welcome to get his gift any Saturday between 12 PM and 2PM unless he would like to view our product in which case we would hand deliver it. As a matter of fact, anyone can bring in his card for it to be verified and get the gift. It is a promotional mailer that was sent to everyone in his Zip code. Thank you. ***** ******** Country Aire Technologies

8/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Says they are accredit with bbb and are not. Card is the paper scathing and win. My wife had a grand slam! Thought she had won a laptop. There are no prizes given out unless a salesman comes to pitch his junk.

Desired Settlement: Stop this practice and see me a laptop.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/07/23) */ To: The Better Business Bureau From: Country Aire RE: Case #XXXXXXXX To whom it may concern, This correspondence is to address Mr. ****** ****'s complaint. To his first point that are card says that we are accredited with the Better Business Bureau. We had been accredited with the BBB for numerous years prior to November. We chose not to pay the accreditation fee due to erroneous information posted by the BBB on their site that they have not remedied. We have sent over 4,000,000 of that type of mailer. Mr. **** must have received an older one with the logo considering we have not done any business in Round Rock, TX since June of 2013. We no longer print the logo on our mailers. Customers are told they have two choices, have the gift hand delivered or to come to the office to claim their prize. You cannot tell what you won by the card. It needs to be checked by our master chart as stated on the card. The "grand slam" he scratched is the Kitcherworth BBQ tool kit. Since we are not currently doing business in Texas, *********** can mail his card in and we would be happy to make an exception and send him his gift out to him and his wife. And lastly, our products are far from "junk." I am surprised Mr. **** made that assumption without even seeing it. We are opening a branch office in the Austin area due to the positive reception of our products. If Mr. **** would like to see our products we will notify him when we are underway. Thank You ***** ******* General Manager Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/07/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No keep it. I just happened to get a card that you have not used for a year ? Lol. You can not tell by the card what you have WON but it is a bbqtool kit. They are not accredited but the BBQ because of misinformation. That is hard to believe,all those people making up stuff. No you did not say I could pick it up or have it mailed. What you said was there would beNO prize at all unless a salesman came by to show us what he had and to give us a sales pitch. I wonder how many other people got this card that has not been used for a year. I am probably the one. Sorry about calling your product junk. Who knows. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/08/05) */ To whom it may concern, From what I can extrapolate from Mr. ***** response, he no longer wants his gift. The promotion hasn't expired yet. He is more than welcome to mail us the game piece. Again, we are not accredited because we choose not to pay the accreditation fee until the erroneous information is corrected. I never accused Mr. **** or anyone of "making stuff up." We are perfectly aware that customers may have some grievances and need an outlet to express them. We take every issue seriously and respond accordingly. As you can see, even though not a member of the BBB, we still continue to address any issues that may arise. That is the reason most, if not all, complaints are satisfactorily resolved. Finally, I appreciated the apology in regards to calling our product "junk." If any further attention is needed in the issue, do not hesitate to ask. ***** ******* General Manager

6/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company ignored a "No Soliciting" sign and a "No Door Tags" sign to place a door tag on my door. The tag is misleading, it says there is a "gift package on hold," but in truth, it is only an advertisement. By disregarding my stated policy against solicitation and my refusal of door tags for the security of my residence, This company should be penalized. Further, the door tag says the business is BBB accredited, and your website says they are not accredited. They also use the BBB logo on their door tag. This is deceptive and misleading.

Desired Settlement: STOP HANGING DOOR TAGS WHEN PEOPLE HAVE SIGNS SAYING NOT TO. ***Never*** solicit at my address ever again. Stop fraudulently saying you are a BBB accredited business and stop using misleading "gift package" notices, which can be especially misleading to the elderly or people with limited education.

6/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company is sending out materials saying they are a member of the better business bureau when they are not. This is a lie and this company is deceptive as all get up.

Desired Settlement: Stop their false advertising.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2014/04/30) */ in regard to *** ********* complaint, Country Aire has been a member of the BBB since 2002. If you have further questions please don't hesitate to call. Sincerely, ******* ***** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 20, 2014/06/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Again, the company and ******* ***** continue to lie, and the company cannot continue to get away from this. I even got a personal call from the BBB to confirm the response was indeed a lie, and the company has their membership revoked from the BBB a long time ago. So, again, QUIT LYING. YOU ARE FOOLING NO ONE. There will not be a resolution until they quit lying, or are shut down for illegality. And while we are at it, just for fun: in (this should be capitalized, it is the beginning of a sentence) regard to *** ********* (my last name is ********, not ********** If you meant "********'s", you missed the apostrophe) complaint, Country Aire has been a member of the BBB (what BBB? Since you aren't a member of the Better Business Bureau) since 2002. If you have further questions (a comma is needed here to ensure a proper pause is given) please don't hesitate to call. Sincerely, (Should be a double space between the salutation and the signature) ******* ***** Although not very nice to correct the grammar, no company is good standing would ever submit this type of flawed, illogical, and untruthful response to a consumer that was concerned about their business. The poor grammar in the response is alone concern as to their legality and actions of this company.

6/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted this company in regards to a "scratch ticket" my mother received. I answered the questions and told ***** that we would be willing to sit in on the demonstration but that I do not wish to do it at my home (answering for my mother since there are little ones and a disabled child in their home) I was told that it says on the card that you "must do it in your home" nowhere on the card does it say this. I was then patched to a "manager" ***** - who basically told me to rip up my cards if I don't want them in my home. Again I told him that I would be more than happy to do the demonstration just not in my home. This "sales lead tool" does not say I must do it in my home. This is not right to say "noobligation required" when you are "obligated" to use your home and it is not disclosed on the card or stated that there are more rules elsewhere.

Desired Settlement: I want this company to stop using the promotional cards unless they change the wording to include ALL the rules. I want them to honor the cards without requiring people to use their homes by offer demonstrations elsewhere. Maybe one of their homes would work?

6/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a scratch ticket in the mail that was a winner. I called the number provided on the card and they said it was a winner and would send someone to verify the card and asked to do a air technology demonstration while there. I set a time, but due to an illness requiring a central line and home infusion, I had to cancel when my labs showed infection as my home is then closed to visitors, as it has to be a clean environment and could be fatal to me. It is a documented disability. I let them know, and said my husband could bring in the scratch ticket to verify. She said that was not possible, they have to come to my home and do a demonstration. I told her that is not what the card says and she said, yes the card clearly says you will be asked to do a demonstration in your home, and that We could not come to them they have to come to our home to receive the prize, which she would not disclose what it was. I have the card and I will quote what it says verbatim, and will provide a copy for you to review for yourself. It say "You MAY be asked to view a FilterQueen Indoor Air Quality System Demonstration. NO obligation required. NO purchase necessary." No where in that does it say that viewing a demonstration in my home is required to receive the prize, and in fact it states there is no obligation necessary. They refuse to allow us to bring the card into their office or another location and will not honor the scratch ticket unless we allow them into our home, which is not stated anywhere on the card, and the statement that we MAY be asked to view a demo, but there is no obligation required means they are violating the terms on the card. Not toe room they have the Better Business Bureau Member logo under their company name on the ticket, only to find out after looking online that there are not, in fact, accredited by the Better Business Bureau and are using the logo deceptively. They are also not making a reasonable accommodation fort documented disability that prevents me from having outsiders in my clean environment, but I offered my husband to bring the ticket in to them to verify or meet at another location. This promotion is deceptive, they do not honor the terms on the ticket, and are telling people that something is required to win, when the card clearly states there is no obligation required or purchase necessary and no where does it state that coming to my home is required to win.

Desired Settlement: They need to honor their scratch to let promotion if they are going to send it out to consumers. Ours won, so my husband will bring the scratch ticket to them, or mail it in (we have scanned both sides to retain a copy for our records and for the Better Business Bureau, Attorney General and Federal Trade Commission, whom I have also contacted, to view on request as a part of our complaint) to receive the prize attached. Because it states there is no obligation required after saying we May be asked to view a demo, and no purchase necessary, we just want to claim to prize, either by mail or at their location as our home is off limits medically and is not a requirement based on the terms stated, and even of they were, based on my disability, a reasonable accommodation must be made anyways, but that shouldn't be a concern due to the no obligation. They also need to discontinue using the Better Business Bureau logo to deceive consumers as they are not accredited, but are advertising as of they are.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/05/28) */ May 16,2014 In regard to case #XXXXXXXX **** ****** called in to learn her prize she won, and as stated on the card she was asked to view a Filterqueen Indoor Air Quslity System demonstration. She agreed and her appointment was scheduled for Tuesday, May 13" at 12:00pm. **** ****** called that morning and wanted to cancel her appointment for the health reasons as she stated on her complaint. !let her know she could reschedule when the she was feeling better. She did inquire about sending her husband to our office to bring the card in and I told her coming to her home to do the demonstration was part of our promotion. I put her appointment in the reschedule file, and later that day our marketing manager called her to see if there was a better date in the future to reschedule. **** ****** did not want to reschedule. During that same conversation **** ****** expressed her disappointment regarding the promotion and was given the option by the marketing manager to come in on Saturday between the hours of lOam and 2pm to claim her prize. According to the marketing manager, she was already upset and told her she would be contacting the BBB. We do not wish to cause any hardships for **** ******. We are trying to promote a great product. *** ****** is still more than welcome to come in any Saturday between the hours of lOam and 2pm to claim the prize as our manager stated. Sincerely, ******* ******* Office Coordinator

4/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company calls at regular intervals & will continue to call at different times every day until someone answers the phone. Our registration on the "do not call" list seems to have no standing with this company. I ask they stop calling & they will for a short time then resume. One woman outright laughed at me when I told her our number was on the do not call list. ********* is listed as President and *************** is listed as President and CEO. I feel badgered by this incessant phone advertising. If I required the services their company says they provide they would be the LAST company I would ever call.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Cease and desist from any further calls to ************.

3/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company called me 8 times in 5 days Dec 12-17th. They used various numbers to call from: 6 times:XXX-XXX-XXXX, and once each from XXX-XXX-XXXX, XXX-XXX-XXXX. This company has called me prior to this also. I'm considering this as harassment.

Desired Settlement: One Dollar for each unsolicited call.

3/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm a very busy man, I work up to 72 hours a week between two jobs. The day I was supposed to receive a presentation It was almost bedtime for me (My full time job is nights 10pm-7am). I was promised if I just sit through the presentation I would receive a wine kit. The presentation ended up lasting over four hours so I only got about five hours of sleep to work all night and then all day the next day at my day job. The sales man was very pushy and rude telling me I was living in filth and that my vacuum was ****. I told him I was only wanting the wine kit and he frantically kept calling his boss back seeing if he could get the payment lower. I told him I'm too nice to say no and I don't want his product at all; he wouldn't leave my home. After pushing and pushing and intense peer pressure from him and my pregnant gf, I angrily signed the papers. He told me if I wanted to return it, all I'd have to do is sign these papers and give you a call, he said nothing about a three day period. I'd like to return your product and not have to pay the salesman since he was rude and pushy, he took my vacuum as well.

Desired Settlement: I want a full return of my product. I don't want the down payment back or my vacuum (I'll buy a new one) There is no way I'm paying any more money to you scammers, yeah I read the online reviews including the BBB's.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/26) */ To: The Better Business Bureau From: Country A ire Re: Case# XXXXXXXX Date: 2/26/14 To whom it may concern, This correspondence is regarding the complaint ****** **** filed on 2/18/14. Country Aire had scheduled an appointment with one ******* ******* on 1/24/14 at 12:00. She had filled out a lead entry form at our booth at the Puyallup Fair. We called her and she agreed to an appointment for a product demonstration. We had the products on display at the fair as well. When our sale representative arrived at her home, he learned that *** ******* had a significant other and would be joining them for the presentation. That was ****** ****. The sales representative called to start at 12:00 noon as is customary. They also call when finished to check out. That call came in at 3:00. They did get the free gift, a wine kit, for their participation. Mr. **** states the sales representative "frantically kept calling his boss back seeing if he could get the payment lower." The sales representative made one call and Mr. **** and *** ******* agreed to the first offer we made because they enjoyed the equipment. The agreement was $6.94 down and $91.66 monthly for 48 months with no pre-payment penalty. *** **** and *** ******* signed a contract explaining this ancl a "Notice of Cancelation" policy. Both forms explain the 3 business clay cancelation period and we left them with four copies of the "Notice of Cancelation and two copies of the contract. We did not hear from *** **** or Ms. ******* until our finance company called two weeks later saying that they wanted to cancel. *** **** or *** ******* made no attempt to contact Country Aire to cancel. Country Aire called *** **** and explained that he could not cancel after the 3 business day period. Country Aire disposes of any trade-ins and pays out commissions and bonuses to all the departments involved in the sale. We did give *** **** some options and have not heard back from him as to what option he would like. We cannot give *** **** a full return and he is contractually obligated to make his payments. As of yesterday his first payment is late. Like mentioned before, we did give him some alternatives and are waiting his response. ***** ******* General Manager Country Aire

1/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the current promotion it states "I may be asked" to view a filterqueen indoor air Quality System demonstration. No where does it say required to or that it is required in my home. Very misleading, would not verify winning Code for the ***** combo.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my prize. If I need to stop by there place of business i will.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/10) */ I am flabbergasted that this is even a complaint. Some one actually too the time to contact the BBB after reading this very precise verbiage on our card. This customer actually quoted -"you may be asked to view a filterqueen indoor air quality system demonstration", and still had the audacity to call it misleading. If *********** had not hung up he would have been told the prize department is available at our location( posted on the card) every Saturday in December between 12:00pm and 2:00pm. To be explicitly clear, his choices were to view the filterqueen demonstration while matching his hand OR come to our office and match up his hand. Note: There is approximately 1 out of every 100,000 customers who do not understand these instructions. Regards, ******* ***** Country Aire Technologies Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/12/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First of all I wouldn't have spent my time with a complaint if it was unfounded. I specifically asked if I could come into your store to redeem. Your operator said I couldn't. This appears to be your business practice and the reason for my complaint.

10/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They refused to tell me what I had won on their advertising. They insisted that someone had to come to our house. When I explained that we live rural and we do not allow strangers to have our aaddress for protection of my children. I offered to meet them in a local resturant, they said that was not possible and hung up. I consider this deceptive advertising to get in someone's house for some unknown purpose. I can only assume that it was for dangerous purposes. Please put a stop to these practices.

Desired Settlement: I want to know what I won for 4 Jacks with out letting a stranger into my house.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/07/19) */ In regards to case # XXXXXXXX I apologize if *** ******** thought our advertisement was for dangerous purposes, as this is not the nature of our business. The card he received was for advertising purposes only and is matched up to a Master Key Chart at the time of the visit to determine the winning prize. Each card does state that they may be asked to view an air filtration system which is demonstrated inside the home on the same visit. It is not for an "unknown purpose" at all. It is spelled out very clearly on the card who we are and what we do. I apologize once again for any miscommunication. Sincerely, ******* ******** Office Coordinator Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2013/07/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There was nothing on the card about air filtration system. All they would say on the phone that someone would have to come into my house. Final Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2013/09/04) */ In regards to case #******** Once again I am sorry for the confusion about what information is included on our promotional cards. I'm wondering if *** ******** still has that card in his possession so that I might be able to go over with him exactly where this information is located. The exact wording is as follows, "You may be asked to view a FilterQueen Indoor Air Quality System demonstration." This is located on the bottom left corner on the back of every card. *** ******* is more than welcome to call the office if he still has a hard time finding this information and I will personally go over it with him. Once again, I do apologize for any confusion regarding this matter and would like *** ******* to know our only intent for these cards is to promote our air filtration products in a professional manner. Sincerely, ****** ******* Office Coordinator

6/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/5/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues