This business is not BBB accredited.

Marchex Inc

Phone: (206) 331-3300 Fax: (206) 331-3695 520 Pike St # 2000, Seattle, WA 98101 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.marchex.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers a call advertising and marketing company.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Marchex Inc include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Marchex Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Marchex Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 11, 2007 Business started: 01/01/2002 Business started locally: 01/01/2002 Business incorporated 02/11/2003 in WA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ethan Caldwell, Chief Administrative Officer Mr. Russel Horowitz, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ethan Caldwell, Chief Administrative Officer
Business Category

Advertising Agencies & Counselors Advertising - Telephone Business Consultants Internet Marketing Services Business Services - General


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    520 Pike St # 2000

    Seattle, WA 98101 (206) 331-3300

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They own ****** ******* that resells domian names. I tried to purchase the domain ***********.com. While trying to get a hold of someone I called the customer care and they told me it would be somewhere around $25,000. Thenm I received an email from a sales rep that told me it could be $40,000 after responding to her she said it would be $60,000. I then had the Domains name appraised and the appraisal came to $670. I talked with ******* and they advised me to do the appraisal because the price sounds very high. I offered $4,500 and thought that was more than fair they told me we were too far apart but still never gave me a firm number. SO I stopped pursuing. Yesterday I received an email from the same sales rep *********** telling me they were doing a huge sale and asked if I was still interested, almost 2-3 months have gone by I moved forward with another variance of the name. I have invested thousand of dollars into branding materials. Thinking that it might be a good deal I responded to her email, and got my boss and the board involved telling them we could get it for a steep discount. When I responded I told her that I was able to offer $2500 because I had to minus out the costs we have incurred and were going to incur while re-branding the website and marketing materials. She replied to me that the cost for the website was $60,000 and this seems to be a blatant lie. I have now gotten multiple people involved thinking we would get a discount because she engaged me telling me they were going to provide a deep discount. I ran the appraisal again and it still came to $670 http://www.*******.com/appraise.php?a=appraisal&k=***************************************************.com I feel that this company is unethical and consistently uses Bait and switch methods quoting incorrect pricing in hopes of having someone say yes. They should have some sort of standard pricing, the sales person asked me if I wanted her to run an appraisal and I did because I knew what it would say, she never responded after seeing what the URL was worth. Not only have they wasted hours of my time they have made me look incompetent to my peers and my investors.

Desired Settlement: I am looking for them to first give me the appraisal they promised me, I am also looking for them to sell me the domain ***********.com for a fair price. I feel with an appraisal of $670 that the offer of $2500 was extremely fair.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/06/04) */ This is a dispute over the price of an intangible asset following an inconclusive negotiation. This individual has no right to obtain this asset at his preferred price if the owner does not agree to sell it at that price. Appraisals can inform the progress of a negotiation, but cannot be deemed to require any specific pricing which is subject only to there being agreement between the negotiating parties.

1/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service