BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers public adjusting services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Adjusters International Pacific Northwest meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Adjusters International Pacific Northwest include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Adjusters International Pacific Northwest
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1969 Business started locally: 01/01/1969
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Drew Lucurell, President Mr. Anthony Adinolfi, CIO Ms. Chris Lucurell, Secretary Mr. Robert Lucurell, Chairman
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Chris Lucurell, Secretary
Principal: Mr. Drew Lucurell, President
Business Category

Adjusters Claims Adjusting (NAICS: 524291)

Alternate Business Names
Adjusters International Corporation Adjusters International Corporation of WA

Additional Locations

  • 4300 36th Ave W

    Seattle, WA 98199 (206) 682-0595 (206) 682-0596 (206) 682-0597 (206) 682-0958 (206) 682-0959

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Adjusters Int'l Pacific NW, has withheld personal property check (over $34,000.) from ****** ** ******** to homeowner for over 1 1/2 years. Adjusters International will not respond to either homeowner, homeowners' attorney, (**** *****), nor ****** ** ******** despite numerous letters, emails and phone calls. They has also not attempted to finish out contracted settlement between homeowner and insurance company over damaged to house that occured August 17, 2012.

Desired Settlement: Release of check; release of contract from Adjusters International, so that ****** ** ******** can have direct correspondence with homeowner to complete Insurance claim; and release of billing from Adjusters International since they would not complete their contract.

Business Response: Complaint: Adjusters Int'l Pacific NW, has withheld personal property check (over $34,000.) from ****** ** ******** to homeowner for over 1 1/2 years.

Response from AIPNW: The first check being referenced by Ms. ******** from ****** ** ******** (***) in the amount of $32,432.24 arrived in Adjusters International Pacific Northwest’s (AIPNW) office October 28, 2013. In recognition of AIPNW’s quantum lien on the insurance proceeds, the check was made payable to both Ms. ******** and AIPNW. At that point in time, AIPNW had been representing Ms. ******** regarding her claim under contract since September 2, 2012 and Ms. ******** had not paid any portion of the fee due to AIPNW. Unpaid invoices from AIPNW for its services date as far back as October 11, 2012 and total $22,315.05. Since the claim was settled, this was the final payment from ***. Given these circumstances, the check was promptly mailed to Ms. ******** so she could endorse the check and return it to AIPNW’s office for deposit into an IOLTA (Trust) account. Once deposited into the Trust account and followed by confirmation that the funds had cleared, AIPNW’s fee would have been paid and the balance of the funds would have been sent to Ms. ********. Ms. ******** refused to sign the *** check and refused to pay AIPNW’s fee via alternative methods. The check expired due to Ms. ********’s refusal to endorse the check and/or pay AIPNW’s fee. *** sent a replacement check for the same amount above on or around December 16, 2014 directly to Ms. ********. Ms. ******** sent the check to AIPNW without her endorsement in February 2015 and stated that she would not sign the check until AIPNW had secured payment by *** of some specific Additional Living Expenses to which *** has declined as part of the claim. Ms. ******** also requested that AIPNW’s fee be discounted by 45%. AIPNW fulfilled its contract with Ms. ******** in that its public adjuster and inventory specialist advised and assisted in the measurement and documentation of Ms. ********’s claim with *** and therefore expects Ms. ******** to uphold her obligation under its contract and pay its fee. AIPNW would also like to point out that it was notified February 26,
2014 that Ms. ******** filed a complaint to the Consumer Protection Division of the Attorney General’s office. Following a prompt response to this complaint by AIPNW’s public adjuster who worked with Ms. ******** on her claim, the Consumer Protection Division concluded their resolution process and closed Ms. ********’s consumer complaint without further investigation. Within this complaint, Ms. ******** filed a complaint regarding ******** ****. Additionally, Ms. ******** filed a complaint against ****** ** ******** with the Washington State Insurance Commissioner’s office.  


Complaint: Adjusters International will not respond to either homeowner, homeowners' attorney, (**** *****), nor ****** ** ******** despite numerous letters, emails and phone calls. They has also not attempted to finish out contracted settlement between homeowner and insurance company over damaged to house that occurred August 17, 2012.

Response from AIPNW: AIPNW’s public adjuster and inventory specialist have responded to all letters, emails and phone calls from Ms. ********, the homeowner, her attorney and ***. Ms. ********’s claim with *** has been settled, so AIPNW upheld the contract. The pending items as it relates to AIPNW’s contract with Ms. ******** is that she has not paid its fee for services rendered.  

 
Desired Settlement: Release of check; release of contract from Adjusters International, so that ****** ** ******** can have direct correspondence with homeowner to complete Insurance claim; and release of billing from Adjusters International since they would not complete their contract.

Response from AIPNW: AIPNW will endorse the check if Ms. ******** pays its fee with a cashier’s check, credit card, or by agreeing that she will endorse the check so it then can be deposited into an IOLTA (Trust) account and the funds can be disbursed to AIPNW for its fee and the balance to Ms. ********. The claim has been settled, although Ms. ******** is disputing an invoice from ****, one of the contractors involved. Per Ms. ********’s request, AIPNW wrote a letter on March 12, 2015 to *** stating that AIPNW is no longer representing her with regards to the claim and that all communication should be through her attorney.

11/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are a homeowners association for a condominium complex in SW Portland. One of our buildings burned down in 2012 and we hired Adjusters International to oversee our insurance claim. We hired them because when we met with them they said that they would bring in a settlement to the association that would more than cover their fee. At the end of the project we only had enough money to pay our contractors and nothing left over. We were issued a bill from Adjusters International in the amount of $69,000.00 that we are now expected to pay out of our own pockets. We feel that they misrepresented themselves in the meeting and failed to mention that their fee would have to be paid by the association, not out of the settlement proceeds. In addition, throughout the project it became very clear to us that they did not increase our settlement above and beyond what the contractors we hired would have been able to negotiate on our behalf.

Desired Settlement: We have reached out to the business in hopes that we might talk to them directly about negotiating a reduced fee that is more affordable for us and still covers their costs on this project. They have refused our offer to meet. At this time we would be happy to offer them up to 60% of the original invoice total. We understand that they did work on our behalf but we do not feel that their work is being properly valued at over $65,000. We'd be able to afford to pay them at or near $40,000.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/11/06) */ I have read the Association's complaint. We strongly disagree that we have not provided value to the client. We also believe that we accomplished what we promised and our contract stated we would do. Enclosed is a copy of the contract signed by the client. The contract states that the client will pay 8% of the funds received from the insurance company. The client has paid zero monies to date. They have been sent invoices each time funds were received from the carrier. The contract also provides an assignment which grants us a lien on the proceeds. When the last check from the insurance company was deposited by the client's representative without our signature it was a breach of this contract and also conversion of the funds. We provided the clients attorney documentation that showed that through our services the funds received from the insurance company were at least 31% higher than they would have been. In addition to making the necessary fire repairs the clients also used the funds from the insurance company to make upgrades and also to pay for work that was previously scheduled to be completed prior to the fire. The offer to pay 60% of the invoiced amount is substantially different from the $7,000 offer previously made. This amount is $41,400. We will agree to settle this short of Arbitration for $50,000. Which is roughly a 25% discount from our earned fee. *****SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***** Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2013/11/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We have settled with the business at an amount we all agree upon and they have submitted to us an e-mail stating that as long as we pay the agreed upon amount within 7 days they will consider the bill paid in full.