BBB Accredited Business since

Making Cents Inc

Phone: (253) 864-6160 Fax: (253) 693-2188 View Additional Phone Numbers 15406 Meridian E STE 105, Puyallup, WA 98375

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers tax, bookkeeping, accounting and payroll services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Making Cents Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Making Cents Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Making Cents Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 30, 2010 Business started: 04/01/1995 Business started locally: 04/01/1995 Business incorporated 06/04/2007 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Beth Anderson, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Beth Anderson, President
Business Category

Accountants Bookkeeping Service Payroll Service Taxes - Consultants & Representatives Other Accounting Services (NAICS: 541219)

Hours of Operation
Monday, Wednesday, Friday 9am - 5pm
Tax Season January to April 9am - 9pm

Additional Locations

  • 15406 Meridian E STE 105

    Puyallup, WA 98375 (253) 256-4486 (253) 875-6273 (253) 864-6160


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went in to have my taxes completed and was initially told I would be getting close to $9,000 back as a return. **** seemed unsure of how to do my taxes and after several days, told me she had to get help on them due to my short sale. After receiving help and after I had already signed for my return (9k) she then proceeded to tell me I know owed over $3,500. I was not comfortable with her doing my taxes from that point and told her I was taking them elsewhere to file. She had already cashes my check at that point, without completing services. In all the times I have had my taxes completed, I have never paid until they were filed. I asked for a refund and sent several emails and left phone messages and was told I would hear back from her after April 30th. I still have not heard back as of today (6 months later).

Desired Settlement: The return/refund of my tax preparation fee. Taxes were never filed by **** and I paid a second tax prepared to complete them.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/01) */ I prepared ******'s taxes this year after she dropped off her paperwork at our office. I was not able to sit & talk with her as I prepared the taxes, but did call her with a few questions when I had finished with all the information I was given. I did tell her she had a refund coming but after our phone conversation, I learned that the sale of the home was a short-sale, rather than a regular home sale, which meant I had a different set of rules to follow. After reworking her return, she did owe $2600. When I spoke with her, I apologized for taking a bit longer than I expected, because I had 2 employees quit, in the middle of tax season, so I had called a friend from another office to help me....not because I was unsure of how to do the work! I was simply overwhelmed with work & no help. ****** was not pleased with the results & wanted her paperwork back, even though it was completed accurately! I have searched all emails & phone messages & do not find any trace of attempts to contact me...other than during the time we were working on her taxes. I would invite her to talk to me to assure her that we care about her & want to make her happy. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/10/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Here is the email dates, with a brief description of each. I have the full emails if you need them for reference. 3/31: asked for update after leaving messages 4/2: received response. Stated you've been busy, no breaks, working long hours, provided outcome of my return via email (owed when expected return) 4/3: I emailed and left voicemail stating I wanted my information back, not receiving services as expected. You already had my check at this point from what was expected as a original return. Asked for refund...check was already cashed before taxes were even filed. 4/10: sent follow up email after receiving no response from 4/3 and called, asking for status of refund. 4/16: received response that you were busy and would get back to me after 4/30...never did. Again, I am asking for a refund due to the fact my taxes were not completed/filed and my check was cashed before I knew of the changes in my return. I had no problem with the fact that I owed, as I paid a second accountant to file for me, it was the services were not received as originally presented, along with the lack of communication and customer service. Thank you. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/10/24) */ I am responding again to this complaint because the colleague I asked to come help me during the busiest time of the year & also lost 2 employees, was at the office on 4/3/14 when ****** decided not to take the completed tax return. She wrote a declaration, which I've attached. I also re-read all the e-mails & I responded each time. I do not charge for filing a tax return, as sometimes the client needs to mail them in. I only charge for the preparation of an accurate return....which I did for ******. It was only after finding out that she owed, instead of getting a refund, that she decided to go elsewhere. That was her choice. ****** says that on 4/10/14 she emailed after no response...that is partial true, since there was no email response....because we talked in person & on the phone. In the 4/16/14 email, I said we can revisit this issue after 4/30/14 if she still wants to discuss the refund, but I did not promise to call her. In my mind the return was prepared accurately, it was refused & she decided to go elsewhere & get it done again. I was paid for a completed, accurate return, which I gave to her. I still have it in her file. If she was to bring me the other return that was prepared & show me where I was wrong, I could justify a refund...but I have had no contact with ****** since April...until now. If she gave the other tax preparer the same information she gave me, the results should be the same. As I've said before, I would love to talk with ****** about how to make her happy. She was happy until she found out that she owed.... If it was me, I would've taken the completed return & had it reviewed by another preparer for accuracy, not refuse to even take it & then re-do the entire thing. I review other preparers tax preparation work all the time. Many times they are incorrect & I am able to correct them, but these clients still have to pay for the work the other preparer did. The work was done. They just don't go back there. I'm still not convinced that the other preparer who re-did ******'s return, did a correct or accurate return. I would like to see it. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2014/10/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Again, inaccurate information. I owed from the other preparer, as I did with my first return. It took the new preparer under an hour to do my taxes, and they answered all my questions, extremely knowledgeable about short sales. The reason I did not have making cents complete my return was the inaccuracy and lack of knowledge with my situation, which was evident upon my cinversations with the preparer. Again, as I said before, I had no issue owing, as that's what I had expected before even beginning to file. I was very surprised to heat I was getting a refund. It was the lack of communication, coupled with the error in my return that made me go elsewhere. And the email i received did state you would revisit the issue (my refund request) after April 30th, not that I call as shown below (direct response): ******, It is not my intention to ignore you. I will have to revisit this issue after April 30th. It has been a frenzy here... And the individual at the from desk did not witness any of my concerns, I only walked in and asked for my papeorwork back, after I emailed you o was stopping by. If needed I can have a declaration from my husband who witnessed me emails and phone calls with no response.