This business is not BBB accredited.

Dharma Hot Yoga

Additional Locations

Phone: (907) 770-2600 Fax: (907) 929-2877 1389 Huffman Park Dr, Anchorage, AK 99515 http://www.dharmahotyoga.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers yoga and fitness services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dharma Hot Yoga include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Dharma Hot Yoga
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 2013 Business started: 04/01/2013 Business started locally: 04/01/2013
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us
Phone Number: (907) 269-5200

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Jennifer Perkins, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jennifer Perkins, Member
Business Category

Yoga Instruction Health & Fitness Program Consultants Health & Wellness Massage Therapists

Alternate Business Names
Bloomu LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1389 Huffman Park Dr

    Anchorage, AK 99515

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 232056

    Anchorage, AK 99523

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was a student at Dharma Yoga and suddenly without warning was asked to not return to the studio. The letter states I have received prior warnings of misbehavior, which I have not. Two other students can verify that I was not causing disruptive behavior in the pole fitness class I was taking. Moreover, I signed up and paid $800 for a certification as a pole fitness instructor, part of the reason I did this was to take advantage of the deep discount as well as free use of the pole classes they were offering graduates of the program, and counted on this for being able to continue working out. I feel like they've stolen my money after trying to set myself up to succeed and afford classes at the studio. I invested in the certificatin in order to invest in the studio, but I have completely lost all faith that the business is fair and just in its dealings. Now they have disabled my account abruptly, deleting all of my history of even taking classes. There were no prior warnings, written or verbal, that were ever brought to my attention. I believe it is fair to warn every customer what kind of business Dharma runs. It's so unfortunate that it led to this, as I have never had problems at any of the other studios or workout centers in town. This has caused not only financial stress, but emotional stress as well.

Desired Settlement: I would like a partial or full reimbursement for services offered to us as graduates of the Pole Fitness Certification that I can no longer take advantage of. I would also like written proof initialed or signed by me that I ever received any complaints about my behavior at the studio. Thank you for your time.

Business Response:

Hello,

This complaint is similar to case # ********. 

July 17, 2015 - Terminated Studio Manager, ******** *****, due to work misconduct and excessive tardiness and unexcused leave. The studio has received complaints on hostile demeanor regarding customer service. I hired a new replacement as studio manager, Breanna T******.

July 21, 2015 - **** and ***** attended Breanna's class. Breanna left feeling discouraged as an instructor and expressed to me that **** and ***** said they did not feel challenged in class. Throughout the whole class, they continued to speak over her and suggested what moves to teach which became very distracting. Breanna stated "it is as if they were looking down on me because I just graduated pole training even if I have 3 years of experience under me." ***** and **** only have a few months of pole training under their belt. I later told Breanna to set ground rules in the beginning of every class now. The ground rules stated that all fitness moves will be the ones taught, to stay with the class as much aspossible and not to move forward to avoid showboating and an intimidating environment.

July 23, 2015 - **** and ***** attended Breanna's class. Breanna gave her introduction brief on safety and ground rules. **** and ***** never returned after. They continued to attend Open Gym time (no instructor present). Please see attached visits where they had officially checked in. 

July 24 - 25, 2015 we held a Pole Training Teaching course. Throughout the course, ***** and ***** continued to talk among themselves creating a disruptive environment. I was approached by three students that they continued to over-talk the instructor, move into poses not yet taught, and create a divide among the group. They would continue to speak & hold conversations during class and was not very interactive with anyone else but each other. I had spoken with the the lead trainer regarding this and she decided to break students up and partner with other people to help the situation, she also briefed the entire class about staying together and doing moves collectively. The lead trainer and I decided not to single ***** and **** by speaking with them directly but as a whole group instead so it does not disrupt their learning capability and their experience in the program. Throughout the program, ***** and **** continued to speak to each other and segregate themselves with the group. I followed up with the students to see how they are feeling since we attempted to be sensitive and implement some type of action, and they said it was OK and that changing partners did help somewhat. Altogether, we stayed considerate and sensitive to the situation.

August 22, 2015 - Three clients (one an instructor and both who wish to remain confidential) reported to new studio manager, Breanna, how ***** and **** literally took over the class with our instructor, Katherine. I
followed up the next day (August 23) to ask the instructor who attended Katherine's class about the details and what Katherine did to fix the the issue they were experiencing. She stated Katherine continued to let
them know she needed them to stay in the moves they are currently teaching. **** and ***** continued to be disruptive and stand alone talking to each other during the class. This time around, the staff that
attended her class said this was probably the worst experience and she said was very close to walking out. Somehow **** became aware after an hour of practice and did not apologize until the end of class. It was
reported by front desk that our clients left the studio appearing a bit distraught.

August 23, 2014 - Based on both client and staff reports and what I have observed of ***** and **** since the pole training in July, I have came to a conclusion that their continuous disruptive behavior and their lack of awareness to studio etiquette which has been exemplified throughout the studio, the culture we create, our website, was not a good fit for the studio anymore. It has deeply affected not only my staff but my clients as well.

August 26, 2014 - Breanna received a total of 4 phone calls since 08/24/2015 from ****** husband regarding the e-mail and stated the "studio needs to make this right."  At this time, I was tied up helping my family and I was off-site. He continued to call daily again stating the owner needs to call him back. I called him August 26, 2014 (early evening). The conversation lasted about 2 minutes. I stated we have a strict no refund policy, but I will look over her account and honor your request of a PARTIAL refund. I continued to let him know that it will not be a full refund to give me 24-48 hours to look over the remaining classes and I will attach a list of visits and class passes remaining. He was very cooperative and amicable. He continued to say he understands his wife is no longer welcomed to the studio but since he paid for this, he "wants a retribution from the studio." 24-48 hours later, he was refunded 25% ofthe 6 class passes. 

August 29, 2014 - ****** husband was not satisfied and sent another e-mail saying he doesn't understand why he is not getting a full refund. Pls see email attached from the studio's
response.

In conclusion, the studio has been very responsive to their requests and I feel that we have come to agreeable terms. **** and ***** has been a follower of ******** (previous studio manager) as an instructor when she started pole. Students approached us later after I had sent that e-mail on dismissal of her texting my clients about it. Although the same clients continue to attend my studio, they expressed that **** and ***** really do not show any respect or regard to the studio, the staff or the members in the class. I have met them halfway with their request. To protect my students' identity, they choose to not be exposed so I cannot reveal their complaints. Before all of the complaints, I have given ***** free membership because I thought she would like to work and audition as an instructor. I have retracted that after July 25th training due to the negative complaints and what I've witnessed.  I believe we did all we can do.

Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me directly via cell *************

Sincerely,

Jennifer P******
Jennifer P****** CEO & FounderDharma Hot Yoga C) ************
Facebook | Instagram | Twitter @dharmahotyoga

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


In reference to: 

July 21st -There were no warnings issued at this time, looking into the past classes that I have taken (another one with Breanna) you will see that I also never received any complaints written or verbal. 

July 24-25 -During and after the teacher training I never received any feedback to suggest that I was causing a disruptive environment, so therefore, like past classes I had no chances to change my behavior if it was disturbing. 

August 22 -I would like to see the written complaints associated with this class. I have a statement from one of the other students stating that I was not disruptive to her learning environment. Besides her, there was only one other student in the class so it is impossible that there would've been three complaints on that class. Again, I ask to see signed complaints.

Overall, I am unsatisfied with the response. The business has made no attempt to reach out to me in regards to a refund. I would like some sort of document that was signed by me stating that I had the opportunity to change behavior based on complaints. I would also like my $400 dollar refund, this in reference to not having received the discounted rate. Other dates were referenced that either do not apply to my case or are not applicable to my complaint. 


Sincerely,

***** *******

9/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 25 class package from Dharam Hot Yoga (DHY) for my wife to use. 14 classes into the class package DHY canceled the class package siting my wife being disruptive during class. She received this communication by email and, to her best of knowledge, she was not notified verbally of this “disruption” and we do not have any written notification on this matter. This cancellation seemed unwarranted. However, because of cancellation from DHY, I would like to have a refund, not of the full value, but of the value of the remaining classes because they are unwilling to meet the service agreement of the class package; 11 of them, a value of $88. I tried to handle this discrepancy with the Studio Manager and the Studio Owner by phone and by email. However, on this last round of emails with DHY, I feel they are taking an unfounded approach in order to not fulfill their end of the service agreement of the 25 class package. To the best of our knowledge, we have not disgraced DHY’s name/business, in any social media sites or on Yelp.com, during this time period as we work to a conclusion on the refund. I have documents of the correspondence by my wife with the current clients, as sited by DHY, which do not show any “defaming”. Because of this unfounded tactic from DHY, I’ve closed communications with DHY and came to BBB to help drive a conclusion in this situation.

Desired Settlement: The desired outcome is the refund of the remaining classes; in full, and no further contact from DHY.

Business Response:

July 17, 2015 - Terminated Studio Manager, ******** *****, due to work
misconduct and excessive tardiness and unexcused leave. The studio has
received complaints on hostile demeanor regarding customer service. I
hired a new replacement as studio manager, Breanna T******.

July
21, 2015 - **** and ***** attended Breanna's class. Breanna left feeling
discouraged as an instructor and expressed to me that **** and *****
said they did not feel challenged in class. Throughout the whole class,
they continued to speak over her and suggested what moves to teach which
became very distracting. Breanna stated "it is as if they were looking
down on me because I just graduated pole training even if I have 3 years
of experience under me." ***** and **** only have a few months of pole
training under their belt. I later told Breanna to set ground rules in
the beginning of every class now. The ground rules stated that all
fitness moves will be the ones taught, to stay with the class as much as
possible and not to move forward to avoid showboating and an
intimidating environment.

July 23, 2015 - **** and ***** attended
Breanna's class. Breanna gave her introduction brief on safety and
ground rules. **** and ***** never returned after. They continued to
attend Open Gym time (no instructor present). Please see attached visits
where they had officially checked in.

July 24 - 25, 2015 we
held a Pole Training Teaching course. Throughout the course, ***** and
***** continued to talk among themselves creating a disruptive
environment. I was approached by three students that they continued to
over-talk the instructor, move into poses not yet taught, and create a
divide among the group. They would continue to speak & hold conversations
during class and was not very interactive with anyone else but each
other. I had spoken with the the lead trainer regarding this and she
decided to break students up and partner with other people to help the
situation, she also briefed the entire class about staying together and
doing moves collectively. The lead trainer and I decided not to single
***** and **** by speaking with them directly but as a whole group
instead so it does not disrupt their learning capability and their
experience in the program. Throughout the program, ***** and ****
continued to speak to each other and segregate themselves with the
group. I followed up with the students to see how they are feeling since
we attempted to be sensitive and implement some type of action, and
they said it was OK and that changing partners did help somewhat.
Altogether, we stayed considerate and sensitive to the situation.


August
22, 2015 - Three clients (one an instructor and both who wish to remain
confidential) reported to new studio manager, Breanna, how ***** and
**** literally took over the class with our instructor, Katherine. I
followed up the next day (August 23) to ask the instructor who attended
Katherine's class about the details and what Katherine did to fix the
the issue they were experiencing. She stated Katherine continued to let
them know she needed them to stay in the moves they are currently
teaching. **** and ***** continued to be disruptive and stand alone
talking to each other during the class. This time around, the staff that
attended her class said this was probably the worst experience and she
said was very close to walking out. Somehow **** became aware after an
hour of practice and did not apologize until the end of class. It was
reported by front desk that our clients left the studio appearing a bit
distraught.



August 23, 2014 - Based on both client and
staff reports and what I have observed of ***** and **** since the pole
training in July, I have came to a conclusion that their continuous
disruptive behavior and their lack of awareness to studio etiquette
which has been exemplified throughout the studio, the culture we create,
our website, was not a good fit for the studio anymore. It has deeply
affected not only my staff but my clients as well.


August
26, 2014 - Breanna received a total of 4 phone calls since 08/24/2015
from ****** husband regarding the e-mail and stated the "studio needs to
make this right."  At this time, I was tied up helping my family and I
was off-site. He continued to call daily again stating the owner needs to
call him back. I called him August 26, 2014 (early evening). The
conversation lasted about 2 minutes. I stated we have a strict no refund
policy, but I will look over her account and honor your request of a
PARTIAL refund. I continued to let him know that it will not be a full
refund to give me 24-48 hours to look over the remaining classes and I
will attach a list of visits and class passes remaining. He was very
cooperative and amicable. He continued to say he understands his wife is
no longer welcomed to the studio but since he paid for this, he
"wants a retribution from the studio." 24-48 hours later, he was
refunded 25% of the 6 class passes.

August 29, 2014 - ******
husband was not satisfied and sent another e-mail saying he doesn't
understand why he is not getting a full refund. Pls see email attached
from the studio's response.



In conclusion, the studio has been very
responsive to their requests and I feel that we have come to agreeable
terms. The refund amount may not have satisfied him but as a business,
this has interrupted our operations and affected us financially. ****
has been a follower of ******** (studio manager) as an instructor when she started pole.
Students approached us later after I had sent that e-mail on dismissal
of her texting my clients about it. Although the same clients continue
to attend my studio, they expressed that **** and ***** really do not
show any respect or regard to the studio, the staff or the members in
the class. I have met them halfway with their request. I believe we did
all we can do.

Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me directly via cell *************

Sincerely,

Jennifer P******

 

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***











Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: There was not an offer provided by the business. 

Furthermore: Dharam’s response supports the position that my wife did not receive previous warning of actions needing to be corrected, therefore the Studio terminated the service agreement without my wife’s prior knowledge there was anything at risk. 

 

There has not been no refund at this time, which DHY has indicated they’ve made in their BBB Complaint response. 

 

I would understand if we, the users, canceled the Class Pass that we would not be entitled to a refund, however because DHY forced the cancellation of the service agreement, I have paid for a service that will not be fulfilled. I feel the remaining balance of the Class Pass should be paid in full. 

 

This would not have been escalated, had DHY refunded the remaining classes and provided an account of her Membership Attendance at the time of cancelation. 


Sincerely,

********** ****