This business is not BBB accredited.

Salmon Berry Tours

Phone: (907) 278-3572 Fax: (907) 278-3573 View Additional Phone Numbers 515 W 4th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501 http://www.salmonberrytours.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers a tour provider and planner.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Salmon Berry Tours include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Salmon Berry Tours
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 07, 2009 Business started: 05/01/2005 Business started locally: 05/01/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us
Phone Number: (907) 269-5200

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Candice McDonald, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Candice McDonald, Owner
Business Category

Tours - Operators & Promoters Sightseeing Tours


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    515 W 4th Ave

    Anchorage, AK 99501 (888) 878-3572 (907) 278-3572

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was approached by an individual with a trade: A tour through Salmon Berry Tour for a Glacier Walk Salmon Berry Tours I would have not made this type of a trade but I called (Before the trade) Salmon Berry Tour with the individual I traded with. The lady I talked to Debra D*** transferred this gift certificate to ME. She assured me that all was ok and that as long as I turned it in and used it before it expired (September 30, 2015) there would be no problem. Several days later (In November of 2014) I called again to make sure that this was correct and that there would be no problems. I was assured that all was ok. August 20, 2015 I called to set up a walk on the Glacier and was sadly told that the ticket number ****** was no longer any good and that the customer had been refunded! I discussed this with Debra D*** that there was an error and that she had told me back in November that it was be straightened out. She asked me to send her a copy of the ticket and she would look into it. It appears that there were two tickets under the same number ****** One was refunded back to a customer of unknown origin and then mine ****** which was a Donated gift certificate (On a sealed bid) which now could not be used! (For really reasons unknown) She said she would look further into it after I scanned and sent her the copy. I want to further point out that this certificate DOES NOT say for ****** ********** ******* it says for two people. Salmon Berry Tours Reservations Hello *****, Thanks for the phone call today and the copy of the Certificate. So I did some extensive research and here is what I know: The only Gift Certificate Donation for a Glacier Walk that we have ever given have been strictly to the ****** ********** ******* up in Sutton Alaska. We donated it for a Silent Auction Fund Raiser. My best suggestion for you is to get in contact with the ****** ********** ******* and see if they have a record of who purchased the Gift Certificate. This may provide you w

Desired Settlement: To be given what was said this year or next year happily. Apologize for the gift certificate not saying for what they are attempting to say. You might need the rest of their letter of denial

Business Response: Hello,

Here is our side of this story - this person did NOT call and insure that this certificate could be transferred to him.  This man traded his laptop to someone unknown (he says he does not remember who he gave his laptop to) for a photo copy of a fake gift certificate.  This gift certificate number had already been used by the winner of the certificate.  We never told him it could be used again.  He could find no record of the person's name with whom he traded, so we could not go any further in helping him figure this out.  Several of us spent much time trying to figure out what could have happened and whether his claim was legitimate.  We believe that he is telling the truth, but that he was scammed in his trade that he made with the unknown person for his laptop.

The bottom line is that his certificate number had already been used, and the original donation certificate did not even have the same information as the one we donated.  It appears to us to be a fake - we are firm on this.  We cannot honor this fake gift certificate.  We feel badly that he was scammed by the person he gave his laptop to, but we cannot give him a free tour.

Sincerely,

Candice

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

***** *******

Consumer Response:

Such as on November 6, 2014 I TALKED TO A MAN NAMED DAN IN THE PARKING LOT OF **** ***** EAGLE RIVER. YES I WAS A LITTLE LEARY, HOWWEVER I PERSONALLY CALLED THIS COMPANY AND WAS ADVIDES THAT IT COULD BR TRANSFERRED FROM DAN AND PUT IN MY NAME AND THAT I WOULD HAVE TO USE IT BEFORE SEPTEMBER THE 15TH. IF I WAS SCAMMED IT WAS AT THERE END WITH A PERSON KNOWING WHAT THEY WERE DOING. I FEEL THERE WAS NO SCAM DUE TO THE FACT THAT IT WAS CLEARED BY CANDICE AS WELL. OR AT LEAST THIS IS WHAT I WAS TOLD

 

Kindly

***** ** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Salmon Berry Tours
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)