Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Checker Cab

Phone: (907) 644-4444 Fax: (907) 258-7775 3215 Mountain View Dr, Anchorage, AK 99501 http://www.akcheckercab.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers taxi and transportation services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Checker Cab meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Checker Cab include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Checker Cab
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 08, 2009 Business started: 11/01/2007 Business started locally: 11/01/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce, Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us/occ
Phone Number: (907) 465-2534
corporations@alaska.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Michael Thompson, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Thompson, Member
Business Category

Taxicabs Transportation Services Taxi Service (NAICS: 485310)

Alternate Business Names
Checker Dispatch LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Checker Cab has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3215 Mountain View Dr

    Anchorage, AK 99501 (907) 644-4444

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the afternoon of January 4, 2016, my wife and I had taken the train from Talkeetna to Anchorage as we were leaving for the Winter. Arriving at the train station in Anchorage, we took a Checker cab to the airport. It was dark, the cab driver opened the trunk and I put our luggage inside. When we arrived at the airport, my wife paid the driver and he popped the trunk. When I stepped up to the trunk, as there was adequate light, I realized there was approximately three inches of water in the trunk that had been sloshing around with our luggage. When I went around to speak with the driver, he took off. Upon inspection, all of our clothing in the bottom of the bags was soaked. There was no permanent damage, the clothes just needed to be cleaned and dried. There is no excuse for this type of service and what this means for us is that we will never use their service again and I will caution as many people as I can against the use of their service.

Desired Settlement: Please warn others against the use of Checker Cab services. I'm sorry our complaint is not timely but we have been outside for the Winter and have just recently returned.

Business Response: It would of been good if the complaint had come to me 4 months ago so I could have looked into it, the BBB site is available anytime, anywhere you have internet.  Obviously we don't want or allow water to be sitting in the truck of a cab.  I receive no other complaints about this.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Checker Cab
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart