This business is not BBB accredited.

1st Alaska Outdoor School

Additional Locations

Phone: (907) 590-5900 1800 College Rd, Fairbanks, AK 99709

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers Alaskan and Arctic excursions including fishing, canoeing and dog sledding.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for 1st Alaska Outdoor School include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on 1st Alaska Outdoor School
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 06, 2012 Business started: 12/01/2003 Business started locally: 12/01/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce, Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
Phone Number: (907) 269-5200

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Ralf Dobrovolny, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ralf Dobrovolny, Member
Business Category

Sightseeing Tours Tours - Operators & Promoters Hunting & Fishing Services & Supplies Tourists Attractions Canoe Rental & Trips

Hours of Operation
Monday through Sunday
8:00am - 8:00pm

Additional Locations


    1800 College Rd

    Fairbanks, AK 99709


    PO Box 84529

    Fairbanks, AK 99708


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 6/26/15 I completed an online reservation for a 2-person tour on 8/25/15 with 1st Alaska Outdoor School. I received confirmation and my Visa was charged $402.00. On 8/6/15 one of the adults was placed on 2-week medical leave through the Family Medical Leave Act for a flare up of McArdle’s Disease. FMLA is a federal law which requires an employer provides employees leave from work due to serious, documented health conditions. She had been in excellent health at the time we booked our trip, and this sudden health crash was entirely unanticipated and unforeseeable. It was evident we would be forced to cancel our entire trip to Alaska. McArdle’s is an inherited genetic disorder and we knew that it was unrealistic to make any future plans for a trip of this nature and risk further aggravation or irreversible damage to her kidneys. On 8/6/15 I emailed the owner and explained the sudden and unexpected need to cancel our trip for medical reasons. I respectfully requested a refund and gave documentation. I acknowledged their published no refunds policy and made an appeal “not only as a businessman, but as a human being” for an exception. We did not cancel our trip on a whim, or because we decided to use a competitor, or it was too cold, or any reason that could be construed as frivolous. Nor has the owner incurred any expenses. We were forced to cancel all our reservations and it broke our hearts to no longer be able to take our dream trip to Alaska. Despite my appeal to a basic sense of decency, the owner responded with a curt refusal. In clear contrast, despite their also clear no refund policy, ***** ********, ********* ******** and ****** ******** all provided full refunds after documentation was received. As tourism is a critical industry for Alaska, I respectfully request the BBB reason with the owner. Perhaps you can help him see that his hard stance negatively reflects on all businesses that serve customers who hope to experience all that Alaska has to offer.

Desired Settlement: Our first preference for resolution is a full refund as there were no costs incurred or services provided. If Mr. D********* is as unreasonable with you as he was with us, then we respectfully request that you broker an agreement with him that 1st Alaska Outdoors transfers our tickets without hassle or date restrictions to one Alaskan child in need and their parent or guardian. The owner readily accepted payment in exchange for a service. A service which he never provided. Because he did not honor his part of the agreement, and if he continues to refuse to refund our money, then the least he could do is transfer the tickets to a child and guardian who might otherwise not be able to experience the Arctic Circle. It is our hope that if we are unable to recoup our losses and unjustly bear the cost of this owner's business philosophy, then at least someone else could benefit from what we paid our hard earned money for. BBB would have to broker agreement to see it through.

Business Response:

ID ********.   We are sorry that they were unable to come to Alaska due to illness.  FMLA does not apply to us in this case.  Being that they acknowledge our non-refundable policy, please understand that this policy applies to everyone that books through our company.  This non-refundable policy is posted on our website and in our offices; the policy is also explained if booking on the phone and in our email traffic.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

If I have to accept their stance, which I find to be completely unreasonable and unneccessary, will they allow a transfer?

If yes, I need their complete rules and details in writing, which they have continued to avoid providing. I need to know if there are any rules/restrictions/deadlines that I'm not aware of or if it can be a full and complete transfer, and the new ticket holders can book without hassle on the date of their choosing for the same tour.

Will they at least put some effort into helping me accomplish that to our mutual satisfaction?


***** ******

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on 1st Alaska Outdoor School
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)