BBB Accredited Business since

Alaska Career College

Phone: (907) 563-7575 Fax: (907) 563-8330 1415 E Tudor Rd, Anchorage, AK 99507 http://www.alaskacareercollege.edu


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers hands on education in aviation, medical assistant or phlebotomy careers, insurance coding and billing , computer technology, therapeutic massage, and most recently an AAS in business office training.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Alaska Career College meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Alaska Career College include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Alaska Career College
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 16, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1985 Business started locally: 01/01/1985 Business incorporated 02/06/1985 in AK
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us
Phone Number: (907) 269-5200

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Jennifer Deitz, President Ms. Linda Sture, Campus Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Jennifer Deitz, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Linda Sture, Campus Director
Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational


Additional Locations

  • 1415 E Tudor Rd

    Anchorage, AK 99507 (907) 563-7575

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a educational loan and contract with Alaska Career College (Ato complete and receive a Certified Medical Assistant certificate. I have completed the curriculum, I plan to take the NCCT exam for CMA certification within 2 weeks. Problems; Extern site 1 (********* ********* Solutions) failed due to counselor having disruptive behavior and language towards me, causing a fear of not being safe in the worksite. Extern site 2 (****** ******** ****** in ********) failed since trainer had no filter with her language. Example: "don't follow me like a dog". And that "I was to stop asking her silly questions" when I only needed to know where to go since this was only my second day with her. ACC hasn't any action to advise me what I need to do to complete the program. I haphazardly responded to several of my emails. They did not respond to all of my questions, and in some cases there was an absolutely "no response".

Desired Settlement: Another extern site needs to be made available to me (with my approval) immediately. I would like to return to ********** ****** ******** ****** to finish my 78 hours of externship without being threatened and abruptly removed from the site before October 21, 2015. I have already paid $15,000 plus dollars, and should not be taxed/levied with additional fees/charges. I am requisition $5,000 since the school is taking no actions to help, untimely in their delayed actions and non responsive to me. They gave me no directions or clarifications on what is happening right now. I need more time to complete my externship without fees/charges specifically after June 2015.

Business Response:
Alaska Career College is in receipt of the complaint ID #******** regarding ******* *****-********. The
following information has been presented to refute the claims against Alaska Career College.
******* enrolled in the Medical Assistant Specialist Program at Alaska Career College. It is a
comprehensive 946 hour, 46 credit hour program. The program standards require each student to
extern in a medical ****** or medical clinic to practice skills learned in the classroom. The complainant is
referring to course MAI300 Practical Externship. This course is scheduled after all other courses in the
program have been successfully completed. This course requires students to complete 160 hours.
Specific training goals and objectives are outlined in the course syllabus
Extern Site 1: ********* ********* *********. ******* started the Practical Externship at *********
********* ********* on June 22, 2015. On July 11, 2015 ******* completed her shift. On Monday July
13, 2015 ******* advised ACC that she refused to return to the clinic after she said one of the providers
used an unspecified curse word(s) when speaking to her. She had completed 86 hours and 40 minutes of
the externship at the extern site. She stated she "would not be disrespected by anyone."
Regarding her statement about "fearing for her safety"; at no time in conversation or in emails to or
from ACC or the externship site staff did she mention she "feared for her safety". She stated frequently,
as she stated in the complaint to BBB, that she "would not be disrespected.
ACC interviewed employees at ********* ********* ********* to clarify the issues raised by the
complainant. Both of the on-site Certified Medical Assistants stated, "******* was very defensive and
had a very sharp, often rude response to direction and correction." The Clinic Manager stated "we had
numerous negative comments from staff that her behavior around staff and patients was inappropriate.
She made personal, judgmental statements and staff was frustrated with her defensive behavior". The
site also reported that although as an ACC student who was believed to be a trained medical assistant
skilled in drawing blood and giving injections, ******* made it very clear she did not like the sight of
blood and stood as far away as she could against the wall in the patient room . At that point the site
would not allow her to perform blood draws. Blood draws are in the scope of practice for medical
assistant students and are performed at an extern site with supervision. However, in spite ofthe staff
concerns about *******'s attitude and performance, the Clinic Manager wanted to continue working
with ******* to help her succeed, but ******* refused and left the site and would not return.
On July 13, 2015 Sally C. attempted to contact the extern site to advise them ******* would not be
returning and to discuss the reason why she left the site. The site was closed. Because *******'s shift
started at 6:30am, on July 14, 2015, Ms. C***** called the site at 5:30am to meet with the manager at 7
am and proceeded to the site at 6:30 am to advise them ******* would not be returning and to discuss
the situation with the site manager. During this meeting the site manager reiterated that she was very
disappointed and had hoped she would have continued at the extern site. At this point Ms. C*****
returned to campus and immediately secured a another extern site for ******* to begin on July 14,
2015.
Extern Site 2: ********* ****** ******** ******. ********* ****** ******** ****** agreed to host
******* on extern to fulfil the remaining hours required in the course (MAI300). Typically extern sites
require the 160 hours to be completed at the site to accommodate the need for orientation, practice of
skills learned in the classroom and evaluation. However, the ****** ******** ****** agreed to
accommodate the need of the student to complete the hours and had planned opportunities for the
student to demonstrate medical assistant skills in the ****** clinic and the in-patient care ******s in the
community. ******* started the externship on July 14, 2015 and walked off the site the morning of July
15, 2015 with no notice due to comments she alleged were made by the Site Supervisor. Alaska Career
College followed up and interviewed the staff at the ********* ****** ******** ****** in response to
*******'s accusation that the staff said "don't follow me like a dog" and "stop asking silly questions".
The Site Supervisor and fellow staff member both deny using or hearing these words or phrases. The site
supervisor explained that she had instructed ******* to stay in the clinic while she was preparing for
another project. When ******* followed her back to the ****** the supervisor reminded ******* to stay
in the clinic & not follow her around. The Clinic supervisor stated ******* was defensive and had
excessive cell phone use. The clinic manager met with Linda S., Campus Director, Sally C.r,
Director of Careers Services and others shortly after ******* left the site, for over an hour sharing her
concerns about *******' attitude and behavior.
Regarding the complaint about ACC's lack of response about completing the program follows.
Academic Advising: In addition to attending numerous courses, and participating in hours of classwork,
and discussions which included learning the standards of patient care, professional behavior and
communication and professionalism, ******* also met with faculty & staff on several occasions
reviewing her unprofessional behavior and the tenants of professional conduct. Staff shared with her
ideas and suggestions about how to communicate and respond to situations and people in the work
place in a more positive and professional way in order to create a positive outcome. After counseling
with the Dean of Students, Bee B., and Campus Director on July 24, 2015, a meeting for the
purpose to help ******* overcome these issues, she was asked to compose a letter explaining what she
had learned from these two experiences and what she would do to change the outcome and move
forward in a positive way. Her response did not address the issues, the problem areas or what she was
going to do to change her behaviors. Because she did not respond appropriately, ******* was asked to
write another response. See email below from Sally C. , Career Services Director:
From: Sally C.
Sent: Wednesday, August 19, 2015 9:53AM
To: '*******.************************' <*******.************************>
Cc: Linda S. <***********************************>
Subject: Letter to ACC
****o *******, it was great to speak with you yesterday.
To recap the directions for your letter & presentation:
1. 3 specific examples of how you will deal with difficult situations or people to create a positive
outcome for the patients, providers and clinic.
2. Explain the value of not taking comments personally and how to separate personal feelings from
professional interactions.
What are you going to do to develop and practice this skill?
For example: if you feel disrespected how will you deal with those circumstances in a
professional manner?
3. What could you have done differently to change the outcome at ********* ********* *********
and ********* ****** ******** ******?
4. Explain 3 positive things you learned from each of the 2 sites.
I look forward to meeting with you Friday, August 21 at 2:30pm
Between July 24, 2015 and August 21, 2015 ACC telephone and email communication occurred
regarding another sight. ACC was also waiting to receive the requested letter.
On August 21, 2015 ******* and her mother, ******* *****, attended the scheduled meeting with Sally
C. and Medical Assistant Instructor Sherry M. where ******* refused to write the second letter,
saying "she had already addressed these issues". She also declined to discuss the issues, stating her back
was hurting and she needed to return home. ******* and her mother left the meeting.
Although technically ******* should have been withdrawn, for refusing to submit the requested letter,
and failing two externship sites, ACC was hopeful after she stated "she had already addressed these
issues", that ******* was ready to move forward. After two unsuccessful sites, Alaska Career College
experienced difficulty in immediately locating another site. On August 28, 2015 *******'s mother
******* *****, on behalf of *******, advised Sally C. that she had contacted ********** ******
******** about an extern site. Sally C.r, Career Services Director contacted the site confirming the
information from ******* *****. She then coordinated the externship requirements with the site
director and confirmed the required documents per processed
Extern Site 3: ********** ****** ******** ******. ******* started her extern on September 29, 2015.
She was removed from the site the following day at noon. The Site Supervisor called Linda S.,
Campus Director to notify ACC she wanted ******* to be removed from the site. It was agreed the
supervisor would ask ******* to report to the ACC campus at noon that day. ******* arrived on campus
and met with Linda S., Campus Director, Easter H., Extern Coordinator and Alice K., Lead
Clinical Medical Assistant Instructor. The reasons for removal from the site were discussed with *******
as follows:
The site reported ******* on the first day of the externship was on her cell phone frequently. *******
responded that others were on their cell phone also. ******* agreed that avoiding cell phone use at the
****** is emphasized throughout the ACC curriculum.
The site advised ******* was completing her extern time sheet to log hours for the day prior to the end
of the day and noted nine hours of work and asked for a supervisor signature. The site advised *******,
8am- Spm with an hour for lunch was eight hours and that typically hour's worked were initialed upon
completion of the hours worked. The site was concerned about her math skills and basic office
procedures. NOTE: This issue was discussed with ******* during her extern at ********* Treatment
Solutions.
The site also stated that they were concerned about her inability to properly place a blood pressure cuff
on a patient noting they were concerned about her comprehension of the task. ******* responded that
the site had not taught her what they wanted her to know and Linda S. repeated that she had
learned and practiced those skills in class and the purpose of the externship is to practice skills learned
in the classroom. This topic had been discussed on several previous occasions with the student.
The site advised ******* that she needed to report on day two of the externship to the **********
***** ****** at 8am to obtain another badge as hers was not working properly. Arrangements with the
***** ****** were made. The student did not arrive at the ********** ***** ****** until10:10am. The
student did not call to advise she would be late. When discussing the late arrival with ACC, *******
became defensive advising she "did not understand what the problem was as she got there", implying
the direct request of the site supervisors to appear at 8 am was of no consequence.
The site reported ******* advised others she had been "fired from her first extern". The site believed
this information shared with employees was inappropriate and considered the comment outside of
professional boundaries.
ACC, Medical Assistant Clinical Instructor, Alice K. offered ******* the opportunity to return to the
clinical class the following day to practice vitals which include taking blood pressures. Linda S. asked
******* to give her a call to let her know if she wanted to participate so the instructor could be notified.
******* did not call Linda to let her know if she would or would not be participating. In fact receipt of
this complaint is the first communication ACC has received from ******* after the meeting and follow
up email (follows).
******* asked for a copy of Linda S. notes. Linda advised the notes were not in an appropriate
format to copy and share but that she would certainly detail in an email. ******* insisted on a copy at
which time Linda S**** offered to sit next to ******* and show her exactly what was written on the
notebook page. ******* declined the offer to review the notes at that time. The following was sent via
email the next day
From: Linda S.
Sent: Thursday, October 01, 2015 5:37PM
To: '*******.************************'
Subject: Notes from 9/30/15 regarding externship
Dear *******,
As we discussed yesterday, these are the topics we discussed yesterday at ACC regarding the extern site.
Site reported you were on your cell phone several times during the morning of 9/30/15.
Site noted you were completing extern document to log hours worked for the day, prior to the end of day and requesting a
signature. Site advised you noted 8a-5p as nine hours, site explained that 8a-5p with a one hour lunch break was eight
hours. Also typically site does not initial hours worked until the hours are worked. Site was concerned about inability to proper put the blood pressure cuff on patient. Site was concerned about comprehension.
Site advised the ***** you had on day one did not work. You were instructed to be at the ***** ****** the following morning
at 8a. You did not arrive at the ***** ****** until1010a.
Site advised you told co-worker that you had been fired from your first extern.
Linda S****, Campus Director
Responding to emails: ACC's policy is to respond clearly and promptly to all student inquiries. We have
records of numerous emails between ACC, *******, ******* ***** and the extern sites. We are not able
to identify any unanswered emails. If there were questions that were not immediately answered it was
due to the need for additional information or clarification to ensure correct information was
communicated.
Desired Settlement:
The complainant has asked to return to ********** ****** ******* ****** without "being threatened".
ACC is not aware of any concerns regarding threatening.
Based on the response to this complaint and with the knowledge of the extensive classroom training,
coaching, and mentoring from instructors and educational staff as well as from the ****** ********
********** and the Administrative staff at the college, Alaska Career College is uncertain how the
complainant can move forward to complete the Medical Assistant Specialist program. Please note that
*******'s request to return to ********** ****** ******* ****** is indicative of her inability or
unwillingness to comprehend the serious concerns about her behavior and performance. She attempted
and failed to complete her extern at three separate extern sites. At this time the complainant has been withdrawn for failure to meet the requirements of MAI300 Practical Externship.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: the listed accusations are conjured up and misleading which is providing a false scenario. I will identify and elaborate on each event that took place in a true manor.


Extern site 1: ********* ********* *********, Preceptor - Katie U., Job title (Certified Medical Assistant), Graduated of Alaska Career College. I was assigned to this site by Sally C. (Extern Coordinator) at Alaska Career College.


While I was at this extern site, I encountered a situation with an actual employee after Katie (my preceptor) had left for a vacation. One of the employees at ********* ********* ********* was using direct profanity to me day in and out while I was demonstrating professional skills at this site. His body language was aggressive and harmed my inability to perform efficiently and comfortably.

On the contrary, some of the statements that were made about me by employees at ********* ********* ********* were " ******* was very defensive and had a very sharp, often rude response to direction and correction.", The Clinic Manager stated "we had numerous negative comments from staff that her behavior around staff and patients was inappropriate. She made personal, judgmental statements and staff was frustrated with her defensive behavior." Now if these "statements" were true then I would have expected my preceptor to speak 1 on 1 with me, as well as Sally (Externship Coordinator) and Linda S**** (Campus Director). I was left out of the loop.

Another misunderstanding that I need to address was while I was externing at the site "********* ********* Solutions" I had spoken to ******* - who's another Alaska Career College Graduate (Certified Medical Assistant) I told her that I was iffy about blood. I said that while she was doing a blood drawl. ******* then proceeded and asked me to clarify what I meant by that statement. I told ******* - who's a worker at ********* ********* ********* that my conation wasn't to be misconstrued, and that I was perfectly fine with drawing blood; knowing that I passed my Phlebotomy final at Alaska Career College with a 100%. In any job description for a Medical Assistant drawing blood is recommended in this scope of practice and I'm perfectly fine with that factor.

Moreover, when I said that "I was iffy about blood" statement I was within arm reach of *******, and was NOT "FAR AWAY FROM ******* BACKED UP AGAINST THE WALL" as Linda stated. At one point when ******* was conducting a syphilis blood drawl; I stood back because ******* instructed me to since I had on no PPE. ******* also stated and knows for a fact that Alaska Career College doesn't demonstrate or teach the right techniques on how to do a syphilis blood drawl. Since me and her went to the same school.




Extern site 2: ********* ****** ******** ******, Preceptor - Carmen M., Job Title (National Certified Medical Assistant), I was assigned to this site by Sally C***** (Extern Coordinator) at Alaska Career College. 

As for this site everything that was reported was incorrect. I had showed up to my 2nd extern site on time at 9am - I came to Carmen to let her know that I was there and ready to work when she was available. Carmen had acknowledge my voice and presence; but insisted on insulting me and told me "NOT TO FOLLOW HER AROUND LIKE A DOG." Which I wasn't, my gesture was harmless. The school stated that they "interviewed" the workers at ********* ****** ******** ****** about the situation that took place. In other instances, Carmen (my preceptor) stated that she denied saying that to me on the day of July 15,2015 (DONT FOLLOW ME AROUND LIKE A DOG.) Separately from this incident, Carmen told me "NOT TO ASK HER A SILLY QUESTION" because she already had answered it. I asked her "where are the incontinence pads?" & it was ONLY MY 2nd day there; and I couldn't remember exactly where they were placed.
Henceforth, Sally didn't show up to my extern site to hash out what happened or to find a resolution about the incident. Sally wasn't proactive -as an Extern site Coordinator. She failed to interact with me and my assigned preceptor at the site. Sally was negligent in resolving the issues - Sally had no plans to correct the situation, She stated on the phone "Well *******, I don't know what else to do about fixing this situation" Sally's demeanor/voice exemplified hopelessness, and no guidance towards my success.
However, when I externed at ********* ****** ******** ****** - Carmen was fully aware that I was on my cellphone at the site. I asked Carmen if I was able to use my phone on idle time. Carmen agreed to that request. Their was moments and times were Carmen was very busy and allowed me to use my phone when everything else was done for that day. Carmen also had left me alone while she went to go make runs in the building, and was not bothered of the cellphone use. As long as I got back on my duties with no redirection. Carmen didn't scold me for my cellphone use NOR was I never in trouble. Linda is stating in the complaint that it was a problem. It wasn't brought to my attention from my preceptor (Carmen M.) that she had an issue with my cellphone use. After the matter IF there was a problem with me being on my cellphone LINDA gave no feedback nor allowed me to correct my behavior after I voluntarily left this site. 
In contrast, to clear up the incorrect information written for "academic advising" my behavior wasn't unprofessional. My preceptor(s) behavior was. If I asked a question about a certain matter and they themselves "Ok'd" the action then I shouldn't be blamed for it. If I don't know the rules I ask. My preceptor(s) have rules to follow and know them more so then I do. So if my behavior was unprofessional the preceptor(s) should be getting scolded for their training methods. Likewise, as for Sally if I had a deficiency in ANY area as an EXTERN she should have identified them and went over them with me, before the incident worsen over time due to lack of professional guidance. A list of who all met with me at Alaska Career College for scheduled meetings were: 
1.******* ***** (Mom)  2.Sherry M. (CMA instructor) 3.Alice K. (CMA instructor) 4.Esther H. (NEW EXTERN Coordinator) 5.Linda S. (Campus Director) 6. Byonda B. (Dean of Students). 
Their was a meeting that was conducted on July 24,2015 and Linda S**** had instructed me to "WRITE A LETTER ABOUT HOW I CAN FIX MY BEHAVIOR & ABOUT OUR SCHEDULED CONVERSATION." I turned in the letter to Linda S.e and was told that the letter "wasn't good enough" nor did the letter give "explanation" on revising how I "responded to the counselor swearing at me repeatedly, and how I responded to the comments "DO NOT FOLLOW ME AROUND LIKE A DOG".
Extern Site 3: ********** ****** ******** ******,  Preceptor - Christina R., Job Title (LEAD Certified Medical Assistant), I was assigned to this site by Sally C. (Extern Coordinator) at Alaska Career College. 

I started externing at this site on September 29, 2015 to complete 80 hours left for my require Externship course. My mother (******* *****) had found me this site so I could finish this required course before Oct 21,2015 (The withdrawl deadline) determined by Linda S.. Alaska Career College took NO action to help me be placed at having a 3rd extern site at all. Alaska Career College gave up on me, and displayed no efforts on "finding me another site to go to."  Sherry M.,Linda S.,Byonda B., told me in a meeting that "I had nothing to worry about as for finding another site, because it was there job to do so." The reason my mom had stepped in and found me a site was because ALASKA CAREER COLLEGE didn't hold to their COMMITMENT TO EXCELLENCE to them saying what "they were going to do."
I was pulled from externing at ********** ****** ******** ****** without a cause of to " why I was terminated & who initiated the termination ???" ********** ****** ******** ****** DIDN'T bother to ask me to talk to them 1 on 1 BEFORE they initaited this "termination" without my presence or consent. This site didn't hold a discussion with me about any concerns they had while I was doing my on-the-job training. My mother had worked hard to find this site and worked hand in hand with ********** and Alaska Career College to get me approved to start and finish my 80 hours of externship here. ACC nor **** gave me a chance to keep externing at that time. I was dissapointed in the situation I was left in, and was crying upon the news that I had received.

********** ****** ******** ****** reported that I was using my cellphone at the site. I asked my preceptor (Christina R.) if that was allowed and she answered back to me that it was acceptable. Christina and other co workers that were surrounding her was also on the phone using their devices, while it was the hours of operations. If ********** had an issue about my cellphone use; I would have appreciated it more so if they would have talked to me instead of terminating me from the site. I was at this extern site to learn and to practice my skills. Externing is like on-the-job training, just without the pay. I was externing at ********** ****** ******** ****** for 1.5 days.
Throughout this whole experience Linda S. has been manipulating me and my mom. Linda S. is taking my words and twisting everything around and making it to be something more severe then what it already is. In addition, while I was externing me and Christina had a discussion about how many hours I would work today. We spoke about the topic to make sure I calculated my hours correctly;  I know how to do math and I passed my math classes at Alaska Career College. I have the ability to correctly do math.
Another misunderstanding that was noted as a concern was me placing a blood pressure cuff correctly on the arm. While I was externing, I was placing the cuff on the arm and I know how to align the cuff up with the "*****ies" on the arm. My preceptor didn't give me time to move it to the desired spot. Before I even started clinicals at Alaska Career College - they had taught us to use the blood pressure cuff correctly, and had us practice on our classmates. In clinicals we had to do 5 blood pressures daily in class. When you become a ******, the instructors listen and observe you take the blood pressure, to make sure it's adequate and the right reading before you start externship, and finish the program. 
On Sept 29, 2015 ********** ****** Medical ****** had told me to go to the ***** ****** at ********** ******** to go pick up a ***** that would allow me to be able to beep into the doors. They told me to be there at 8am on Sept 30, 2015. On September 30,2015 I had woke up and it was the FIRST SNOW and I have a very old car and it was unable to start. I tried many of times to start it, and it wasn't working. I had to wait on a friend to come help me jump my car. That took an hour to come and help me before the car was able to work. After I was able to get my car started that had put me behind schedule and I got to the ***** place at 9:35 am - left at 9:45am to get to my extern site at 10:00am. When I got to my site I spoke to Christina and let her know that I was late and was sorry. 
As for what Linda stated - I didn't show up to the ***** ****** @ ********** at 10 am, that was a complete lie and untrue statement. I explained the day that Linda/********** had cut me from my extern site what time I showed up. Theirs no need to guess or make false statements about what happened.
Linda had stated to me that the site didn't like how I told them "I was fired from my other extern sites". Correction! I wasn't fired from ANY extern site. I voluntarily left and a good question to ask is: How would I get fired if I was never making money? I told Linda,Esther,and Alice that I wouldn't have exposed that personal information. Linda,Byonda,Me and my mom have held a discussion about keeping that business to myself. I wouldn't jeopardize this site for an old mistake that I had fixed. I told Linda "one of you guys probably told them that I was FIRED but not I."
I STILL havent gotten a reply or answer to the following situation. I've emailed LINDA S. & ALICE about the disability comments. This will be the 4th time that I have addressed this issue. I've included this in the BBB already. My questions and answers need to be addressed promptly. One of the staff at Alaska Career College by the name of: Alice K***** had asked me a very harsh and inappropiate question consisting of "ARE YOU DISABLE?"    I was crying before & WHILE I got asked this question. A instructor (Alice K*****) shouldn't be asking me IF I'm disable. I told Alice in a response " NO IM NOT DISABLE IM PERFECTLY FINE ." Alice responded " I WAS JUST WONDERING ******* BECAUSE YOU HAVEN'T BEEN ABLE TO FINISH YOUR EXTERNING AND I THOUGHT YOU MIGHT HAVE A SHORT ATTENTION SPAN !"
When I arrived to the school and Linda told me that I wouldn't be externing at ********** anymore, Linda was reading off a notepad of all the "complaints and concerns" about me at ********** externing. I asked Linda to make me a copy of what was said and asked to receive those notes before I had left the ACC building. Linda answered and told me "I DO NOT WANT TO GIVE YOU A COPY OF THESE NOTES BECAUSE THEIR NOT READABLE AND ARE A SCRATCH COPY." I asked Linda would she be able to send me the original notes in an email and she responded that she would do that on Sept 30, 2015 before the end of the day. I waited later on that day to see if I got an email. I didn't receive an email of the notes from Linda. 
Linda stated that I "declined" to review the notes with HER. Correction! Linda declined to let me have a copy of her "scratch" notes because they weren't legible when she was reading off her list in the office.
DESIRED SETTLEMENT: 
As stated in Linda's response, I was terminated from **********. I want to know why I was terminated, and why didn't ********** talk to me themselves?? They insisted on skipping over me and speaking to Alaska Career College and I wasn't included in the meeting BEFORE they decided to end my Externship whatsoever. 
Also, I have been withdrawled from Alaska Career College for not completing the Externship course. I wasn't given a chance to correct my mistakes. Alaska Career College and the staff who worked with me - haven't done anything since Sept 30,2015 to FIND ME ANOTHER SITE TO EXTERN AT so I can finish and be done with that course. I was withdrawn and on Sept 30,2015 Linda S**** didn't bring up to me in person that I was gonna be withdrawn for not completing this site. 
In Alaska Career College student handbook it says underneath the title "Withdrawl & Readmission page 60" states " To withdrawl, a student must submit a written request for a withdrawl, indicating the reason for an effective date of withdrawl." Which I didn't initiate a withdrawl myself. The school unilaterally initiated this punitive action without my knowledge. Alaska Career College was more concerned about punishing me, while I was in a training mode instead of helping me to be successful and learn from my mistakes. I thought the point of externing was to acquire experience and to learn from my mistakes IF I made any. As an extern I'm to practice and my training, the site and the school are to fine tune my training skills as needed, instead of taking punitive action against.
- Question: Why is it that ACC can terminate me after 14 days, but not fully answer my questions in my email, or even reach out to me to help find another exten site before the 14 days were up?? Alaska Career College said it WAS their job to help me find a site and they didn't do that. They weren't present in assisting me with that matter. 
- Question: Why am I being charged a $100 withdrawl fee , since YOU withdrawled me without any type of notification and didn't check in with me.
MY DESIRED SETTLEMENT: is to receive $50,000 for reimbursement for my tuition. For my time, for the mental torment and anguish ,psychological pain ; also for the professional embarrassment and for my record. To include loss wages that were expected to be received by this time, For the black marks against my record in the health care field. 
I would like a COMPLETE BREAK DOWN of the TUITION/BOOKS/ which equals $13,965; item by item.  
OTHER QUESTION: Why am I being charged $600 for the laptop NOT RETURNED fee? When I completed all my classes, It was just my externship that needed to be redone and finished. I have completed more than 160 hours already. The hours were split up based upon each different site that I went to.
Sincerely,

******* *****-********

Business Response:

 

The complainant stated she did know why she was being charged for the laptop. Please see the highlighted area of page one of her Enrollment Agreement. 

"LAPTOPS: Students enrolled in most programs receive a loaner laptop to be used during the student's period of enrollment . Upon graduation the laptop become the property of the graduate.. Students are responsible for repair and replacement if damaged, lost or stolen $$85 - $600.

Please  note when ******* and her mother came to the school on Friday to pick up copies of her student file I clarified the policy. ******* asked if she could keep it. I told ******* that she could continue to use the laptop as she said she was using it to study. I told her that she could retain the laptop until she became a graduate and at which time it would become hers, or until the resolution of the complaint.

Jennifer D.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: you failed to address only one issue I stated in my response dated Oct 25, 2015.  You selectively addressed haphazardly only one of the many  issues in my rebuttal :  Laptops.  Jennifer, how conveniently  you placed yourself to justified Alaska Career College regarding a lap computer and ignore all of the other PERTINENT concerns that I discussed in my rebuttal.  You are definitely bias in your approach in resolving my complaint.  Therefore, I will address each issue again, and I am requesting a response to each.  If you are unable to investigate each issue, please assign someone who is, but do not ignore my concerns again; they are critical and very important to me.

1.)  Extern Site 1:  Anchorage Treatment Solutions, Preceptor was Katie U., Job Title (Certified Medical Assistant), graduated from Alaska Career College.  I was assigned to this site by Sally C., (Extern Coordinator) at Alaska Career College.
While I was at this extern site, I encountered an unfavorable and unpleasant situation with an actual employee after Katie (my preceptor) had left for a vacation.  One of the employees (male counselor and there was only one there when I was assigned there) regularly used direct profanity toward me in a day-to-day relationship. In his leadership position as counselor, his behavior was nauseating and no where close to being professional.   His  body language was aggressive and harmful.  This was my first time in a medical environment and I didn't know what to expect and was constantly afraid of his aggressive language toward me although he felt his behavior was normal.  The short-term skills and experiences that I was being taught in my field of study was A BIG GUY in my face with a vendetta as "I can curse you out anytime I want and nobody is going to do anything about it.  I'm the paid counselor and you are just the inexperience extern.  Who will believe you, who will help you?  What I say and how I do things is LAW.  
If you don't like it just suck it up.  I'm untouchable".  I even went to Mary, his supervisor and her reply was Martin is just being Martin; don't take offense to his profanity".
QUESTIONS:  
  • I ask ACC and please respond how can I learn and how can I acquired the proper skills and experiences in the above type of negativity environment?  
  • I ask ACC and please respond how many times did Sally come to the site to monitor the interactions of the preceptor, the counselor and others prior to me being forced to leave?  
  • I ask ACC and please respond where were Sally to aid me through this journey?  Sally, you didn't care, you did nothing to help me, you looked the other way, and you stayed in your office instead of coming to the site with your presence as stated in your HANDBOOK Page 29 MAI300 PRACTICAL EXTERNSHIP ...students are placed in medical offices and clinics to practice skills learned in the classroom under the DIRECT SUPERVISION of medical personnel in a medical office or clinic as well as the CAREER ACADEMY ALLIED HEALTH EXTERNSHIP COORDINATOR.  This is a lie and did not happen; Sally, you nor ACC showed up at ALL.  
  • The HANDBOOK says students (especially me) will complete a total of 144 hours ...".HANDBOOK Page 26 "...students spend the last 144 hours of their program on an externship site, where under supervision they experience firsthand the working environment they are preparing to enter."  Alaska Career College Catalog & Student Handbook Page 43 Code of Conduct and Student Responsibilities.  What about your extern site and the people that make up those sites?  What are their Code of Conduct and their professional responsibilities toward the students at ACC.   The Anchorage Treatment Solutions faculty especially the counselor did not exemplify the qualities that ACC requires of the students (me) but  these qualities including to maintain a high standard of ethics, behavior and purpose did not exist on the behalf of the counselor. 
  • Why did you (ACC) increase extern hours from 144 to 160 without revealing this information to me or my Mom? That is a total of 16 hours of which I didn't know anything about.  When we had our one-on-one times to discuss my extern hours, you never revealed that my extern hours had or would increase from 144 to 160.  Afterall when you withdrew me from the program without discussing the matter with me, you noted on the form that I FAILED.    
  • Why are saying you want me to be successful but you sucking the life out of me!  It seems to me you wanted me to fail and be unsuccessful in your program.  And all of this began to take place after I chose not to rewrite the letter again that you wanted me to write a second time which is not part of the curriculum, but you made it part of the curriculum.  
  • All of your actions toward me are PUNITIVE AND NOT CORRECTIVE.  
  • You have stolen over $15,000 from me, you withdrew me from your curriculum without any forewarning, explanation or conversing with me (you took action and then told me what you had done - I had no say in the matter.)  
  • We have paid for services and we haven't received.  You have taken thousands of dollars from me and simultaneously prevented me from taking the CERTIFICATION EXAM by withdrawing me early without any forewarning, explanation or conversing with me (you took action and then told me what you had done - I had no say in the matter.)  
  • Daily you are putting me in jeopardy of losing all of the knowledge, skills, and abilities to acquire a professional job in the medical assistant field, by withdrawing me from the program without any forewarning, explanation or conversing with me (you took action and then told me what you had done - I had no say in the matter.) 
  • Although you have received over $15,000 dollars the laptop was supposed to be mine after completing the program and you and the BBB wants to charge me over $700 for the laptop because you decided to withdraw me from the program without any forewarning, explanation or conversing with me (you took action and then told me what you had done - I had no say in the matter.)  As my Mother said, Alaska Career College ways and actions are wicked, evil, a thief from the pits of ****. 
Extern Site 2:  ********* ****** ******** ******, preceptor - Carmen M******, Job title National Certified Medical Assistant.  I was assigned to this site by Sally C.r, Extern Coordinator at Alaska Career College.
  • If Sally, the Extern Site Coordinator, would have been proactive by attending the extern site and vetting Carmen before anything happened, she would have acquired the correct information.  But Sally, the extern coordinator again next showed up at the site to monitor my placement. By querying Carmen after the fact, Sally obtained false information as to what happened.   Again this is what happened.  I showed up to my 2nd extern site at 9 am.  I came to Carmen to let her know that I was there and ready to work when she was available.  I had an attitude to work, learn and progress in my chosen career field.  Carmen had acknowledged my voice and presence, but insisted on insulting me and told me 'NOT TO FOLLOW HER AROUND LIKE A DOG.'  I was observing her since I was in an extern mode to learn; my standing within arms' reach was harmless; I wasn't doing anything to harm anyone.  I just didn't want to get blood on me.  A separate incident, Carmen told me 'NOT TO ASK HER A SILLY QUESTION because she had already answered it.  To her when I asked where are the incontinence pads? & it was only my 2nd day there and I couldn't remember exactly where they were placed.  To Carmen this was a silly question.  
  • Sally did not show up to my extern site to hash out what happened or to find a resolution about the incident.  She also failed to interact with me and my assigned preceptor at the site.  I'm being punished when she was negligent in resolving the issues.  Sally had no plans to correct the situation.  She stated on the phone, "WELL *******, I DON'T KNOW WHAT ELSE TO DO ABOUT FIXING THIS SITUATION."  Her demeanor and voice exemplified hopelessness, and no guidance towards my success.  ACC actually failed me by correcting the matter, and now continue to punish me by withdrawing me without any forewarning, explanation or conversing with me (you took action and then told me what you had done - I had no say in the matter.)  
  • The excuse that Sally later gave me when I externed at Anchorage ****** ******** ******:  I know Carmen was fully aware that I was on my cellphone at the site.  I asked Carmen if I was able to use my phone on idle time.  Carmen agreed to that request.  Their was moments and times that Carmen was very busy and allowed me to use my phone when everything else was done for that day.  Carmen also had left me alone while she went to go make runs in the building, and was not bothered with my cellphone use as long as I got back on my duties with no redirection.  Carmen didn't scold me for my cellphone use NOR was I never in trouble.  However, Linda S****, the campus director later stated in her complaint that it was a problem.  The cellphone use wasn't never brought to my attention as a problem from my preceptor (Carmen M******). Again, if there was a problem with me being on my cellphone, Linda S****, campus director, gave me no feedback nor allowed me to correct my behavior after I voluntarily left this site.  No correction administered, but punitive actions.
  • In contrast, to clear up the incorrect information written for "academic advising" my behavior wasn't unprofessional at all.  My preceptor behavior was in fact.  If I asked a question about a certain matter and they themselves "ok'd" the action then I shouldn't be blamed for the action (using the cellphone during downtime).
  • If I don't' know the rules I asked for clarity of the rules.  My preceptor have rules to follow and know them more so than I do.  So if my behavior was unprofessional, the preceptor should be getting corrected for their lack of training me in the medical field.
  • Likewise, if I had a deficiency in ANY AREA AS AN EXTERN, Sally, the Extern Site Coordinator, should have identified  the deficiencies to me on a one-to-one session before the incident worsen over time due to lack of professional guidance.  
  • Because of that incident, Linda S****, campus director, called a meeting on July 24, 2015 instructing me to WRITE A LETTER ABOUT HOW I CAN FIX MY BEHAVIOR & ABOUT OUR SCHEDULED CONVERSATION.  I turned the letter to Linda and was told that the letter "wasn't good enough" nor did the letter give an explanation on revising how I responded to the counselor's swearing at me repeatedly and how I responded to the comments "Do not follow me around like a dog".  Linda did not want these comments in my letter.  She only wanted me to focus on what I could have done differently.  So she rejected the first letter and instructed me to write it a second time.  At this July 24, 2015 meeting, I presented my rewrite of the letter.  Again, they did not like the letter and wanted me to rewrite it a third time because I entered the statements that were made at extern site 2 and 3.  I explained to the panel that I would not re-write the letter a third time because I didn't do anything wrong in the first place.  I explained that I need to be placed at another site immediately before my time expired.  
  • Present at this meeting were ******* *****, my Mom.  Sherry m***** (CMA Instructor), Alice K***** (CMA Instructor), Linda, S****, campus director, and Byonda B******* (dean of students).  My explain that I needed to be placed immediately; however, they said a site would be determined but no action was being taken.  So my Mom asked ****** *********** ********* and they said that I could intern there.  My Mom passed the word on to Sally; she drafted the documents and sent to ****** *********** ********* and then it was discovered that they could not accomplish ACC requirements.  
  • Again ACC took no action to place me at another site.  So my Mom contacted ********** ******** and was told that I could extern there.  My Mom passed the word on to Sally; she drafted the same documents and only changed the name to ********** ********.  ********** said ******* needed to do a fingerprint background check.  My Mom paid all of that expense.  Sally had said it was over $75, but my Mom discovered it was over approximately $35.
QUESTION:  The Extern Coordinator and campus director expended much time and effort in blaming me as the culprit opposed to finding a suitable extern site for me.  
What could they have done differently to help me be successful in a timely manner instead of eagerly withdraw me from their program without any forewarning, explanation or conversing with me?   You took action and then told me what you had done - I had no say in the matter. 
Extern Site 3:  ********** ****** ******** ******, preceptor Christina R***, job title Lead Certified Medical Assistant.  I was excited and happy to be at ********** afterall my Mom took the initiative to find this site for me while ACC twiddle their fingers.  I realized that in a couple of weeks I would be finished with my externship.  My heart rejoice knowing that I had a successful fingerprint background check too.   
  • I started externing at this site on September 29, 2015 to complete 80 hours per Sally this was the amount left for my require externship course.  Again, my Mother, ******* *****, had founded me this site so I could finish this required course before Oct 21, 2015 (The withdrawal deadline) determined by Linda S****.  Again, Alaska Career College took NO ACTIONS to help  me be placed so I could finish before October 21, 2015.  It seems Alaska Career College gave up on me and displayed no efforts on finding me another site to go to. 
  • Sherry M*****, Linda S****, Byonda B******* told me at the meeting on 7/24/15 that I had nothing to worry about as for finding another site because it was there job to do so.  The reason my mom had stepped in and found me a site was because Alaska Career College didn't hold to their commitment to excellence saying what they were going to do:  to find me another site.
  • 9/29/15 I extern for 8 hours, 9/30/15 the first day of snow and my car would not start, I got a friend to jump my car, but I arrived to the ********** ***** ****** 1.5 hours late. instead of 8 am to get my prox card.  When I arrived at 10:10, the site, I asked my preceptor what time to write on timesheet, she said go and see her supervisor.  I asked the supervisor the same thing, and she said write the time you arrived and that was the end of it.  I arrived at 10:10
  • At approximately 11:30, the supervisor told my preceptor to tell me to go to the Alaska Career College at 12:noon and see Esther.  I told my preceptor and her supervisor that I don't know who Esther.
  • When I arrived the school, Linda S**** came out to get me and escort me to Esther's office. Linda stated I didn't show up to the badge office at 10 am.  That was complete lie and untrue statement.  I showed up at 9:30 to get badge.
  • Linda also stated to me that the site didn't like how I told them that I was fired from  my other extern sites.  Correction!  I wasn't fired from any extern site.  Nor did I tell anyone that I voluntarily left a couple of sites due to office toxicity.
  • We had already discussed at the 7/24/15 meeting not to discuss the outcomes of what happened at other sites.  So I didn't discuss this matter with anyone at **********.  I was only at ********** 1 day and then removed on the second day after 2 hours.  I wouldn't jeopardize this site for an old mistake that I had fixed.  I told Linda one of you guys probably told them that I was FIRED but not I.
  • At this point, I was crying because Linda told me that I wouldn't be externing at ********** anymore.  Linda read off a notepad of all the complaints and concerns about me at ********** externing.  I asked Linda to make me a copy of what was said and asked to receive those notes before I had left the ACC building.  Linda answered and told I DO NOT WANT TO GIVE YOU A COPY OF THESE NOTES BECAUSE THEY ARE READABLE AND ARE A SCRATCH COPY.  I asked Linda would she be able to send me the original notes in an email and she responded that she would do that on Sept 30, 2015 before the end of the day.  I waited later on that day to see if I got an email.  I didn't receive an email of the notes from Linda .  She stated that I declined to review the notes with HER.  A LIE.  Correction!  Linda declined to let me have a copy of her scratch pad they were removing me from the site because of what the site people told them that I had done wrong. The list that Linda gave is petty, simple, and charges conjured up to punish me instead of allowing me to learn in a learning environment.  Again ACC actions are punitive and not corrective.  They took punitive action without any regard to what I had to say.  Their minds were already made up.
  •  While I was crying Alice K*****, Certified Medical Assistant Instructor, in the presence of Linda, and Esther, Alice asks me a very harsh, inappropriate, and illegal question:  ARE YOU DISABLE?  I was crying before & while I got asked this question.  I told Alice in response No I'm not disable I'm perfectly fine.  Alice responded I was just wondering ******* because you haven't been able to finish your externship and I though you might have a short attention span!  I JUST WANTED TO KNOW DO YOU HAVE A DISABILITY OR WHAT IS HINDERING YOU WITH YOUR EXTERNSHIP.  
  • QUESTIONS:  ACC has a pattern of taking punitive actions without involving me for any inputs and secondly they do not even consider what I say. Why was I terminated from **********  Why did ********** not talk to me if there was a problem themselves?  Alaska Career College insist on skipping over me again and again.  Why was I withdrawn from Alaska Career College for not completing the externship course.  I wasn't given a chance to correct any mistakes.Alaska career college and the staff who worked with me haven't done anything since Sept 30, 2015 to FIND ME ANOTHER SITE TO EXTERN AT so I can finish and be done with that course.  I was withdraws by ACC on Sept 30l,2015 by Linda S**** without my permission.
  • Linda S**** didn't bring up to me in person that I was gonna be withdrawn for not completing this externship.  They terminated from **********, They didn't call, or suggest another workside site, they kicked me to the curve, then they withdrew me from the school and never told me about the 14 days out of school policy.  On October 23 (Fri) Jennifer D****, the owner of Alaska Career College tells us about the 14 days out of school policy.  But now they had already withdrawn me from school.  All of these actions are illegals
  • Why am I being charged $100 withdrawal fee since YOU withdrew me without any type of notification and didn't check in with me
Desired Settlement
  • $50,000 for reimbursement for my tuition, mental, torment, anguish, psychological pain.  
  • For loss wages that were expected to be received by this time.
  • Want Extern Coordinator to find me a site immediately so I can finish the course with my approval
  • Want to repeal the withdrawal documents
  • Want to take refresher courses to to the time gap without any additional fees, charges and penalties.
  • Want to take NCCT exam
  • Payment of Fingerprint background check reimbursement $104.00.  Wasted since you pulled on the second day.
  • Not paying twice for laptop; already paid.  But you want to charge me again

******* *****-********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Alaska Career College
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)