BBB Accredited Business since

General Roofing Company

Phone: (907) 561-1460 Fax: (907) 562-2191 View Additional Phone Numbers 119 E 54th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99518 http://www.akgeneralroofing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers roofing services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that General Roofing Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for General Roofing Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on General Roofing Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 10, 2005 Business started: 04/01/1973 Business started locally: 04/01/1973
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us
Phone Number: (907) 269-5200

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Sandra Smart, Owner Mr. Chad Hansen
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sandra Smart, Owner
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Roofing Service Consultants Siding Contractors


Additional Locations

  • 119 E 54th Ave

    Anchorage, AK 99518 (907) 561-1460 (907) 440-3991

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Timeline: My spouse and I left Anchorage due to a military move in September 2011. We are currently located in Germany. --07 September 2012: Friend emails photos of my roof and fencing after severe storm. --10 September 2012: I recieved an email from my wife stating that she called **** to have the adjustor inspect the roof. --08 October 2012: General Roofing (****) completed and estimate (#XXXXXX) on our property. --14 October 2012: My wife replied to **** to incorporate additional work in the estimate. Specifically, for this complaint "hand tabbing" the shingles. --15 October 2012: **** replied with the incorporation of the items addressed by my wife. The final line on the estimate says "Hand tab entire roof using roof cement: $500.00". --15 October 2012: My wife accepted General Roofing's estimate to complete the work on the house. This is a copy/paste of the Email: "Thank you, ****. We would like to offer you the job. Please let us know when you are able to start the work and how long it should last. Also, please work with us on getting the required documentation to the insurance. Your estimate is very close to the one insurance gave us. If there are much of additional charges for snow and plywood, you may go over and will be required to submit the detailed description of work and cost. Let us know what you need signed and if there is down-payment required. Talk to you later. My number is ************ (I am in Heidelberg, Germany :) Thank you." --16 October 2012: **** replied; "Hello ***** Thank you for the work. Can you please send me an authorized copy of the proposal signed? Also you may pick your color from the "Malarkey" website for roofing shingles if you are choosing the upgrades on your job please initial along side each item you will like to have performed and X thru those you do not. We are approx. 2 weeks away will notify when we job shall be started. Any other questions please feel free to call our office anytime. Thank you **** **** --19 October 2012: My wife signed the estimates and initialed next to the additional work to be completed. Including the $500.00 for hand tabbing the roof. --22 October 2012: Invoice (#XXXXXXX) indicates from General Roofing that they were unable to complete the hand tabbing of the roof due to temperatures. Total cost of job is $7995.00. --23 October 2012: Email from **** stating the old roof was removed, ice/water shield installed on entire roof and shingles loaded. He stated that on Mondy the shinglers will install the new shingles. --02 November 2012: Email from **** stating that General Roofing will return to hand tab when weather warms. Email: On Friday, November 2, XXXX XX:XX AM, general roofing <**************@hotmail.com> wrote: "Hello ****** Thank you. Please be advised that General Roofing will return to completed the hand tabbing as proposed, as the weather warms. If you have any further question or need any assistance please contact me at the office. Thank you. **** **** --01 November - 26 June 2013: Email chain showing that hand tabbing was not completed, that we sent a check for $8495.00 (Check number **** from ******** ****** ******* ****** ******* $500 more than the invoice, and acknowledgement from **** that the hand tabbing would be completed in the Spring of 2013. The June email is another attempt for my wife to get that completed. Not indicated in print is that I called and spoke with ****** after June. She told me that at this point they are unable to hand tab the roof due to the length of time that has passed. Email Chain: From: **** ********** <***************@yahoo.com> Date: 26. Juni 2013 00:29:44 **** To: general roofing <**************@hotmail.com> Cc: "****************@yahoo.com" <****************@yahoo.com> Subject: Re: Invoice XXXXXXX from General Roofing Company Hi ****, How are you? I would like to schedule the hand tapping as soon as possible. We are getting ready to rent the house to a new renter soon. Please let us know when you have time (give us few options). Best regards, **** On 03.05.2013, at 00:41, general roofing <**************@hotmail.com> wrote: Hi ***** Yes we will get to handtabbing your roof hopefully sooner then later. We have been waiting for all the snow to melt and now its raining. So I will be scheduling this ASAP! Best Regards, **** From: **** ********** Sent: Sunday, April 07, XXXX X:XX AM To: general roofing ; ****************@yahoo.com Subject: Re: Invoice XXXXXXX from General Roofing Company Hello ****, In November 2012 your company did the replacement of the roof at **** ******** **** The insurance covered most of the costs, however we had to pay $1000 deductible. Do we need to have a 1099-Misc from you for that $1000? Also, our agreement and the price that was paid already included hand tabbing of the entire roof, which is supposed to done in the spring. When do you think you'll be able to go back for hand tabbing? I hope you are having good day. Thanks for everything. Sincerely, **** -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- From: **** ********** <***************@yahoo.com> To: general roofing <**************@hotmail.com>; "****************@yahoo.com" <****************@yahoo.com> Sent: Friday, November 2, XXXX X:XX PM Subject: Re: Invoice XXXXXXX from General Roofing Company ****, ******* very much for the roof. I sent you a check today for $8495 (500 of it is a prepaid credit for hand tabbing in a spring). Best regards, **** ********** On Nov 1, 2012, at 11:37 PM, general roofing <**************@hotmail.com> wrote: > Dear Customer : > > Your invoice is attached. Please remit payment at your earliest convenience. > > Thank you for your business - we appreciate it very much. > > Sincerely, > > General Roofing Company > XXX-XXX-XXXXP.S. Save yourself time by paying this invoice online with Intuit PaymentNetwork. This FREE online payment service is fast and easy to use. Pay now: (https://ipn.intuit.com/672q2gtk) > --12 July 2013 - Today: I have reached out via phone and email several times to ****** to inquire about a refund since they are unable to complete the work. First time we spoke she asked that I send her my mailing address in Germany so she can send the check in the "next few weeks". After approximately a month I called her again. She again asked for my mailing address. I sent to her twice. Both on 12 July and 20 August (see email chain). In September (10-13th), my wife and I went to Anchorage for a visit. I called General Roofing and spoke with ******. She told me that she had already sent the check to a Texas address (see email chain 03 October 2013). On 10 October 2013: ****** replies to my 03 October inquiry. Here, she claims that she is willing to give me a refund but doesn't see where the hand tabbing is valued at $500. (See email chain). Also, 13 October 2013: I respond with four attachments (the cleared check (front/back), the invoice, and the signed estimate) asking for her to refund the $500. In the attached email I state No Later Than Monday 14 November...admittedly this is a typo on my part as Monday 14 November does not exist. The intent was October. It is now 25 October and I have heard nothing from General Roofing since 10 October. Email Chain: -----Original Message----- From: ***** ********** mailto:****************@yahoo.com Sent: Sunday, October 13, XXXX X:XX PM To: general roofing Cc: ***** **********; **********, ***** C MSGT USAF (US) Subject: Re: Invoice XXXXXXX from General Roofing Compa ******, Please see the attached documents for proof of payment and hand tabbing charge. Two attachments are the cleared check indicating that $8495 was paid to you with your endorsement on the back of the check. The third attachment is YOUR estimate showing a $500 charge for hand tabbing as indicated on the last line next to my wife's initials. The fourth attachment shows that the original charge without hand tabbing was $7995. The email chain below (and previously sent emails) plus the image of the cleared check indicates clearly that our intent is to "prepay" for the hand tabbing. Additionally, your company failed to finish the work that was paid as your employees never completed the hand tabbing. Send the money immediately! I am in the process of filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. I will cancel the complaint if you can prove to me that the money is sent on Monday 14 November. ***** ********** On Thursday, October 10, XXXX XX:XX PM, general roofing <**************@hotmail.com> wrote: Dear Mr. **********, I am responding to your email and I am willing to give you a refund however I do not see where the hand tabbing is valued at $500.00 on the invoice. If you can forward that to me I will get a cashiers check issued in your name and forwarded to the address you supplied. I apolijize for not responding earlier. Regards, ****** ***** -----Original Message----- From: ***** ********** Sent: Thursday, October 03, XXXX XX:XX AM To: **************@hotmail.com Cc: ****************@yahoo.com ; ***************@yahoo.com Subject: Invoice XXXXXXX from General Roofing Compa I am contacting you in regards to the $500 that you owe me for not hand-tabbing my roof as agreed upon on our invoice. You indicated to me that you would mail me a check for the money owed. I contacted you by phone on/about 13 September and you stated that you mailed the check. You didn't have my address in front of you at the time, but you indicated that you thought you mailed it to a Texas address. As you can clearly see below I have sent you my address and it is an APO address for US Military stationed overseas. Please respond ASAP indicating that you have sent the check to me at the address below. If I don't hear from you in the next 72 hours I will begin initiating a claim thru the proper authorities. Thank you. ***** ********** > From: ***** ********** > Sent: Tuesday, August 20, XXXX XX:XX PM > To: **************@hotmail.com > > *** *** *** **** > **** ** > XXXXX > > > ***** ********** > From: ***** ********** Sent: Friday, July 12, XXXX XX:XX PM To: **************@hotmail.com *** *** *** **** **** ** XXXXX ***** ********** P

Desired Settlement: At minimum the reimbursement of the $500 owed sent to the************************ XXXXX address.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 18, 2014/01/15) */ At time of roof installation it quickly turned cold. We could not hand tab because the shingles did not get enough heat to lay down. We told the owner this and we would warranty any shingles that blew off. We upgraded the shingles to a higher wind rated design so we were not concerned. At no cost to the owner. The following spring we went back to hand tab the shingles and there were already sealed down. We would have to break the seal to hand tab them down, and maybe damage the shingles. It was decided to leave them alone because of the upgraded design, they exceeded the wind uplift requirements for the area. We tried to refund the money but sent it to the anchorage address then was notified that that address was not correct. Then we had to wait for that check to come back before we issued another check. We then resent the new check to the what we thought was the correct address and then was informed this was wrong. We then sent another check to the owner and it finally got to him. The whole time this was happening the owner was complaining we did not send the check, but however we just had the wrong address and we had to wait and get the checks back or cancel them. The owner got a higher grade of shingle than what he paid for and he got his money back it just got confusing because of the different addresses. The owner also stated that he would not file a complaint because he understood the confusion. We did everything we could do, it just took longer than expected. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 20, 2014/01/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First, the contract I have signed by my wife indicates that the original roof that you estimated was for $5,595.00. We upgraded to a Malarkey Legacy 50-Year Shingle NO FOR FREE AS YOU STATE! We paid an extra $1120.00 for this one upgrade. If you are telling me that you put a different shingle on the roof than what the contract specifically states then I want to know immediately what shingle you installed. Either you did not do the work as the contract states or you lied in the above statement and did indeed charge me extra. Which is it? Second, if you were so quick to respond and send the check multiple times, then why did you never call or email me as I asked to state the check had been mailed? Not once did you do this after repeated attempts asking you to do so. Third, I never said I "understood the confusion". I understand that you are hard to get a hold of let alone keep to your word. Yes, I did finally receive the check. I see no reason to remove this complaint after your indifference to customer inquiries/complaints that resulted in over a year of me contacting you to get a measly $500 back. Fourth, if I am wrong and being unreasonable then why did it take you almost 3-months to respond to a BBB complaint? You are obligated to respond within 2-weeks! The BBB has tried contacting you 7 times to no avail! These are the type of issues I have had with this company through this whole ordeal. ***** ********** Final Business Response /* (1000, 27, 2014/02/05) */ I accept that I did not respond as quickly as I could have to your complaint and I will strive to be more efficient. In regards to the work to be done, the customer is correct and he did pay for the premium shingle upgrade. As far as the hand sealing of the shingles, we barely got the roof on before the freezing rain and snow hit Anchorage and it was to late in the year to hand seal the shingles on the roof. Then in the spring of 2013, we experienced one of the latest snow falls on record followed by one of the hottest summers on record. Because the customer purchased the premium high quality shingles, which will seal down automatically, we would have done more damage to these shingles. When the weather is warmer, it is best not to disturb these shingles by walking on them and peeling them apart. Even as experienced roofers, shingles tend to smear the granuals off the shingles as well as peeling the shingles apart causes more damage then it does good. After the customer provided the requested information, General Roofing did reimburse the customer the $500.00 dollars within his time frame (by 11-13-13). This can be seen on his email he sent on 10-13-13. Again I accept that I did not respond as quickly as I could have and I will strive to provide better customer service.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on General Roofing Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)