This business is not BBB accredited.

Bombay Deluxe

Phone: (907) 277-1200 Fax: (907) 644-4523 555 W Northern Lights Blvd, Anchorage, AK 99503 http://www.bombaydeluxe.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a restaurant offering Indian cuisine.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bombay Deluxe include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bombay Deluxe
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 14, 2006 Business started: 08/01/2001 Business started locally: 08/01/2001
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us
Phone Number: (907) 269-5200

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Sunil Sethi, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sunil Sethi, Owner
Business Category

Restaurants


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    555 W Northern Lights Blvd

    Anchorage, AK 99503 (907) 277-1200

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My family and friends went to Bombay Deluxe May 16,2013. We ordered the Masala Lamb and the Masala Chicken and goat. Each dish comes with a SERVING of rice. I did not get my serving and my guess did not get her serving.We did not get everything what comes with our MEAL. Did not recieve a straw for my drinks. All while I was there I did not recieve a straw. I will not recommend this place to no one.

Desired Settlement: My money on my rice we did not recieve.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/07/03) */ Bombay Deluxe serves Indian food family style. Which means, unless the customer orders a combination dinner which comes in a Thali (a steel plate with compartments for rice and other dishes), all food is served with common dish of rice. If two people come and order two dishes, a large full bowl of rice is served and the server always reminds the customer(s) that extra rice at no charge can be provided if they need more. In our experience less than 5% of the customers ask for more rice. If three or more customers dine then large plates of rice are given, again common family style. This policy not only conserves room on the table but also avoids wastage of leftover rice. For example, if we have 6 customers, we will serve two large plates of rice which 6 people can share but can always ask for more if needed. In this scenario, a group of 2 people, including *** **** arrived first and ordered 2 main dishes. Seeing there were only 2 people eating, the server served large bowl of rice with the main dishes. Then a few minutes later another couple joined them and ordered two more dishes. The server served another big bowl of rice for the two new guests with the two new dishes. The customer was made aware that if they needed more rice, those are on the house and free. During the course of their meal, the server and my Manager asked twice if they needed more rice and they all said no. I can provide written statements under oath from the server and the Manager or phone statements if needed. This restaurant has been in business for more than 8 years under my ownership and we have never received such a frivolous complaint. Additionally, if not being served a straw when the customer never asked for one is a reason for calling the BBB, then I am not sure if this customer is being realistic. As is customary in most restaurants, our policy is to only give straws with soft drinks, not with water as in this case unless the customer asks for one. *** **** never asked for a straw. During our phone conversations, I tried to explain our policy about the rice but *** **** threatened to report to BBB and black list our restaurant. I also asked her if she asked for more rice she said - 'No, because I wanted to show my husband how businesses like this will rip customers off when they can'. Before we could continue our conversation, she hung up the phone. Our restaurant has 90% rating with customer satisfaction on urban spoon and more than 93% favorable reviews on groupon. I would still give a benefit of doubt to the customer because when they arrived in two different groups and saw only two bowls of rice, they might have concluded in their minds they did not get two more large bowls. To resolve this situation, we will offer four individual servings of rice free of charge to the customer. Since the rice is always free with the dishes, we cannot offer any refund. We hope this will amicably resolve this situation. We value our relationship with BBB and hope the BBB will see the absurdity in this complaint. Sincerely, ***** ***** President Bombay Deluxe, Inc.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Bombay Deluxe
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)