BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers mortgage services. This company offers mortgage services.

This company offers mortgage services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Alaska USA Mortgage Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Alaska USA Mortgage Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Alaska USA Mortgage Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 10, 1998 Business started: 12/06/1948 Business started locally: 12/06/1948
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Division of Finance
PO Box 110204, Juneau AK 99811
http://www.doa.alaska.gov/dof
Phone Number: (907) 465-2240

Washington Department of Financial Institutions
PO Box 41200, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.dfi.wa.gov
Phone Number: (360) 902-8700

Business Management
Mr. Bill Eckhardt, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Eckhardt, President
Business Category

Real Estate Loans Loans

Alternate Business Names
Alaska USA Federal Credit Union

Additional Locations

  • 12155 Old Glenn Hwy Ste 101

    Eagle River, AK 99577

  • 125 W Dimond Blvd Ste 110

    Anchorage, AK 99515

  • 1292 Sadler Way Ste 115

    Fairbanks, AK 99701

  • 135 Sterling Hwy Ste 100

    Homer, AK 99603

  • 2018 156th Ave NE Ste 100

    Bellevue, WA 98007

  • 230 Bidarka St Ste 110

    Kenai, AK 99611

  • 2401 4th Ave Ste 100

    Seattle, WA 98121

  • 2924 Colby Ave

    Everett, WA 98201

  • 43874 Sterling Hwy Ste 110

    Soldotna, AK 99669

  • 500 W 36th Ave Ste 110

    Anchorage, AK 99503 (206) 239-3793 (253) 534-7770 (253) 534-7780 (253) 815-7939 (253) 815-7939 (253) 943-5684 (360) 679-9755 (425) 649-5530 (800) 737-3033 (800) 813-1799 (866) 752-7500 (907) 226-8805 (907) 395-4501 (907) 455-4400 (907) 689-3246 (907) 689-3246 (907) 694-7030 (907) 761-5200 (907) 761-5200 (907) 786-2751 (907) 789-2735 (907) 563-3033

  • 507 31st Ave SW Ste B

    Puyallup, WA 98373

  • 8390 Airport Blvd Ste 201

    Juneau, AK 99801

  • 8475 Hartzell Rd Ste 110

    Anchorage, AK 99507

  • 851 E Usa Cir Ste 101

    Wasilla, AK 99654

  • 901 W Evergreen Ave Ste 110

    Palmer, AK 99645

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have been in the process of purchasing a house for over a month now, we have had problems after problems with the person Helping us, she has been VERY rude, we have gotten attitude from her, she has been demanding and rude,she has delayed the process, she has asked for the same things repetitively , there has been very little communication as to where the process is at unless she needs something from us. no organization at all what so ever, we were supposed to close a certain day, then last minute she decided to tell the realtors that SHE hadnt gotten the final appraisal report from the appraiser, and the appraiser said the order was never put in, which she claims it was. that was supposed to be done 2 weeks prior, so then closing had gotten put off yet another day ( making it now two days behind original date), day three comes around and still nothing is finished papers hadnt gone out, so yet again we are put off another day, looking like now having to wait an extra 4 days due to the weekend, all while here i am with my stuff packed up because i was told a certain day, i sit around my home with nothing. i am infuriated that she cannot do her job and meet her deadlines, and we are having to suffer the consequences. let alone put up with her bad attitude. and do her job for her.

Desired Settlement: i want my loan closed so that i can move!

Business Response: Executive staff has reached out to the member via telephone and are awaiting a return phone call.

6/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Before we received our loan, we asked for by-monthly payments so we can pay off the loan faster. ****** ****** told us that we can't do that until after we close on the loan and to contact the loan servicing department. After we got it set up, we discovered that they just hold our money until the payment is due instead of applying the payment to the loan at the time we make our paymentWe called several times to talk to a manager, but we could only leave a message and never got our call returned.

Desired Settlement: Give us what we were told we thought we were getting.

Business Response: A response has been placed in the mail to our member on today, May 22, 2015.

Consumer Response:

 
 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because I was lied to, leading me to purchase a mortgage that I don't want and it will cost me thousands to refinance to get a mortgage I wanted.  Sending me a letter stating they have personnel training issues and what services they offer is not satisfactory.

 

 Sincerely,

**** *****

Business Response: A response will be mailed to the member the begining of next week, week of 6/15/2015.

Consumer Response:

I just want to add that they resolved it to my satisfaction.

3/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I recently applied for a new home loan. my wife has been working as a subcontractor for the state of ak for the last two years, but just recently she was offered a set pay in contract form. Our current home is under a mortgage that does not allow us to rent our home or purchase another. we went to ************** for an application. we provided all information on my wifes employment along with a copy of her contract. ***** told us that we were pre approved for a refinance and a second mortgage, and we could make a offer up to x amount. we found a house, made an offer, and signed a contract. ****** produced a prequalification letter to the sellers in mid November. The sellers began to spend their money on inspections. we put up 750 dollars in appraisal on our existing home and 4,000 dollars in earnest. shortly after that ****** contacted us saying that we did not notify her that my wife was a subcontractor and not a employee. her assistant later told us that they discovered this by reviewing the contract that we produced. She advised us to wait on the new mortgage until we closed on the refinance and filed our 2013 taxes and that she was confident in making both loans happen. we closed on the refinance in late December we paid around 7000 dollars in closing fees and our new payment is over 100 dollars more a month. We got our taxes done in late January and had a meeting with ****** and worked out a plan that she was confident in. we paid for a inspection of the new property. ****** sent our file to the underwriters. In mid February ****** notified us that our application was denied. we immediately contacted several other lenders and quickly learned that we only qualified for half of what we need. We learned from every lender that they would average her income out over the last two years. This was told to us from every other lender in a short phone conversation. This led us to believe that ****** knew what was to come. She recommended that we wait on the new mortgage until we closed the refinance. We also believe that she knew if we found out that we did not qualify for a new loan that we would cancel our refinance. We trusted that she was working to our best interest, now we think that she realized that we did not qualify for our goal and withheld information so she could get our refinance. We have saved all documents including exact expense amounts as well as all emails with Alaska USA.

Desired Settlement: the sellers and us would like to be awarded all appraisal, inspection and assessment fees that were spent as well as all earning ****** gained from our refinance

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/03/11) */ Member response mailed 3/11/2014. Uploaded pdf of that response 3/11/2014.

5/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I applied for a loan to do construction to repair the foundation of my home. The loan was for $25,000, and I was clearly qualified - the loan officer was trying to get me a lower interest rate. I made it clear that it was important to get the loan as soon as possible so that I could do the essential repairs before winter weather. She assured me that it should be ready in 45 days, or the contract would become defunct. I applied in early July. We did not receive the loan packet completion until mid November, over 100 days later, when it was clearly too late to do the work on the foundation. In addition, the appraisal work, which we agreed to pay for, at a rate of $750, was done hurriedly in less than half an hour, and the appraisers failed in several key areas to document the true value and condition of the home, notably 1) they failed to note any problems with the foundation, which had been identified by five separate licensed contractors, 2) they failed to note the electric wiring outside the home that needed addressing, and 3) they failed to find any homes less than 13-15 miles away to compare for sales values. These other homes were in vastly different neighborhoods from ours, on paved roads, whereas we are four and a half miles up a difficult winding dirt road that is hazardous in winter, and impassable part of the spring. I am certain that the bank employed this company who did a shoddy and insufficient job, just so they could pressure us into accepting the loan even though it was too late for us to make use of it, and we ended up paying a contractor out of our own cash in order to make the necessary repairs at the last minute before winter set in. The bank seemed determined to charge us their closing rates for the loan, which we turned down, since we had had to solve the construction issues with other money of our own. The issue is over the $750, which they charged us regardless of the appraiser's job which clearly did not meet industry standards and was done hastily and incompletely just so the bank could try to pressure us to accept the now unnecessary loan. I complained and the supervisor of the loan department told me that they would allow me to write a letter and it might be possible to negotiate a payment of half of the $750. After reviewing my letter, they denied it, and then when I asked them to send it to the next level, since their answer was unsatisfactory, they removed the money from my account in less than 24 hours without informing me or confirming that I knew that they would be removing the $750 from my account that day. I was intending to open a business account with this bank but I certainly will not do so now. I find their loan practices predatory and exploitative.

Desired Settlement: I originally would have settled for $350, but now that they have removed the money from my account in this unethical way without making sure that I knew that it would happen today, I will settle for no less than the full $750, to be returned to my account. This is a small town, where most people know each other through many social and work venues and they depend on the good opinion of each of their customers. They no longer have my good opinion, and will only regain it when they admit their mistake and return all of my money to my account. Their lack of timeliness on the loan and the choice of appraisers to make a predatory loan does not go unnoticed. If they choose not to pay me back in full, they will have to bear the consequences of making a published author and professional writer very upset with their unethical behavior.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1010, 7, 2013/04/30) */ We are in receipt of your complaint filed with the BBB on April 10, 2013, and we welcome the opportunity to address your concerns. I want to thank you again for the telephone conversation, and the time you spent explaining your concerns and answering my questions. As I stated to you on the phone, we regret the processing of your loan took longer than the established timeframes, and I understand the decision you made to withdraw your loan application at that time. As we discussed in our telephone conversation, I have submitted an approval for our accounting group to mail you a check for $750 to pay for the cost of the appraisal that was completed on your home. Moreover, we will be reviewing the appraisal that was completed on your home to address your concerns regarding the quality of the appraisal. Again, we appreciate your loyalty to Alaska USA, and apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you. If you have any additional questions or wish to discuss further, please do not hesitate to contact me. Sincerely, **** ***** General Manager cc: Better Business Bureau