Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers mortgage services. This company offers mortgage services.

This company offers mortgage services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Alaska USA Mortgage Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Alaska USA Mortgage Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 10, 1998 Business started: 12/06/1948 Business started locally: 12/06/1948
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce, Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
Phone Number: (907) 269-5200

Business Management
Mr. Bill Eckhardt, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Eckhardt, President
Business Category

Real Estate Loans Loans

Alternate Business Names
Alaska USA Federal Credit Union

Additional Locations

  • 12155 Old Glenn Hwy Ste 101

    Eagle River, AK 99577

  • 125 W Dimond Blvd Ste 110

    Anchorage, AK 99515

  • 1292 Sadler Way Ste 115

    Fairbanks, AK 99701

  • 135 Sterling Hwy Ste 100

    Homer, AK 99603

  • 2018 156th Ave NE Ste 100

    Bellevue, WA 98007

  • 230 Bidarka St Ste 110

    Kenai, AK 99611

  • 2401 4th Ave Ste 100

    Seattle, WA 98121

  • 2924 Colby Ave

    Everett, WA 98201

  • 43874 Sterling Hwy Ste 110

    Soldotna, AK 99669

  • 500 W 36th Ave Ste 110

    Anchorage, AK 99503 (907) 563-3033 (907) 786-2751 (907) 694-7030 (907) 689-3246 (907) 455-4400 (253) 815-7939 (800) 813-1799 (800) 737-3033 (253) 943-5684 (360) 679-9755 (866) 752-7500 (425) 649-5530 (253) 815-7939 (253) 534-7770 (253) 534-7780 (206) 239-3793 (907) 226-8805 (907) 689-3246 (907) 789-2735 (907) 395-4501 (907) 761-5200 (907) 761-5200

  • 507 31st Ave SW Ste B

    Puyallup, WA 98373

  • 8390 Airport Blvd Ste 201

    Juneau, AK 99801

  • 8475 Hartzell Rd Ste 110

    Anchorage, AK 99507

  • 851 E Usa Cir Ste 101

    Wasilla, AK 99654

  • 901 W Evergreen Ave Ste 110

    Palmer, AK 99645


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/7/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This account is under my MOTHER'S NAME ******* ******* I am just an authorized representative. The account in question ******* ** ** for a Chevy Ave of which was totaled in a flood in Jan 2015. AlaskaUsa received nearly $9900 from statefarm. I also paid $3900 myself on the car. I made a call to ask why the loan wasnt paid off and I was told we are paying interest that would have injured on the loan if it hand still been drivable. We are also filing a complaint because we can post a payment for example on the 5th and it may take them up to 14 days to process an electronic payment. In addition the last complaint I didn't respond because they included personal information that didn't pertain to this loan at all but my personal loan and then shared it with my mother which is a violation of my privacy since she had nothing to do with that account. They sent her my financial information and that the car was in collections and then written off. THEY HAD NO AUTHORITY TO SHARE MY PERSONAL INFORMATION WITH ANYONE! NOT EVEN MY MOTHER'S!

Desired Settlement: I would like them to consider the Chevy Aveo paid off because they have received now more than $14,000 for the car and are getting money to pay for interest that technically shouldn't even exist. Second, I want them to correct any negative credirect on my mother's credit for when a payment was posted before the payment date and them taking an excessive amount of time to process the payment. Also, I believe they need to pay some sort of retribution for violating my privacy.

Business Response: A response was placed in the mail to the member today, August 30, 2016.

7/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have been in the process of purchasing a house for over a month now, we have had problems after problems with the person Helping us, she has been VERY rude, we have gotten attitude from her, she has been demanding and rude,she has delayed the process, she has asked for the same things repetitively , there has been very little communication as to where the process is at unless she needs something from us. no organization at all what so ever, we were supposed to close a certain day, then last minute she decided to tell the realtors that SHE hadnt gotten the final appraisal report from the appraiser, and the appraiser said the order was never put in, which she claims it was. that was supposed to be done 2 weeks prior, so then closing had gotten put off yet another day ( making it now two days behind original date), day three comes around and still nothing is finished papers hadnt gone out, so yet again we are put off another day, looking like now having to wait an extra 4 days due to the weekend, all while here i am with my stuff packed up because i was told a certain day, i sit around my home with nothing. i am infuriated that she cannot do her job and meet her deadlines, and we are having to suffer the consequences. let alone put up with her bad attitude. and do her job for her.

Desired Settlement: i want my loan closed so that i can move!

Business Response: Executive staff has reached out to the member via telephone and are awaiting a return phone call.

6/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Before we received our loan, we asked for by-monthly payments so we can pay off the loan faster. ****** ****** told us that we can't do that until after we close on the loan and to contact the loan servicing department. After we got it set up, we discovered that they just hold our money until the payment is due instead of applying the payment to the loan at the time we make our paymentWe called several times to talk to a manager, but we could only leave a message and never got our call returned.

Desired Settlement: Give us what we were told we thought we were getting.

Business Response: A response has been placed in the mail to our member on today, May 22, 2015.

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because I was lied to, leading me to purchase a mortgage that I don't want and it will cost me thousands to refinance to get a mortgage I wanted.  Sending me a letter stating they have personnel training issues and what services they offer is not satisfactory.



**** *****

Business Response: A response will be mailed to the member the begining of next week, week of 6/15/2015.

Consumer Response:

I just want to add that they resolved it to my satisfaction.

3/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I recently applied for a new home loan. my wife has been working as a subcontractor for the state of ak for the last two years, but just recently she was offered a set pay in contract form. Our current home is under a mortgage that does not allow us to rent our home or purchase another. we went to ************** for an application. we provided all information on my wifes employment along with a copy of her contract. ***** told us that we were pre approved for a refinance and a second mortgage, and we could make a offer up to x amount. we found a house, made an offer, and signed a contract. ****** produced a prequalification letter to the sellers in mid November. The sellers began to spend their money on inspections. we put up 750 dollars in appraisal on our existing home and 4,000 dollars in earnest. shortly after that ****** contacted us saying that we did not notify her that my wife was a subcontractor and not a employee. her assistant later told us that they discovered this by reviewing the contract that we produced. She advised us to wait on the new mortgage until we closed on the refinance and filed our 2013 taxes and that she was confident in making both loans happen. we closed on the refinance in late December we paid around 7000 dollars in closing fees and our new payment is over 100 dollars more a month. We got our taxes done in late January and had a meeting with ****** and worked out a plan that she was confident in. we paid for a inspection of the new property. ****** sent our file to the underwriters. In mid February ****** notified us that our application was denied. we immediately contacted several other lenders and quickly learned that we only qualified for half of what we need. We learned from every lender that they would average her income out over the last two years. This was told to us from every other lender in a short phone conversation. This led us to believe that ****** knew what was to come. She recommended that we wait on the new mortgage until we closed the refinance. We also believe that she knew if we found out that we did not qualify for a new loan that we would cancel our refinance. We trusted that she was working to our best interest, now we think that she realized that we did not qualify for our goal and withheld information so she could get our refinance. We have saved all documents including exact expense amounts as well as all emails with Alaska USA.

Desired Settlement: the sellers and us would like to be awarded all appraisal, inspection and assessment fees that were spent as well as all earning ****** gained from our refinance

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/03/11) */ Member response mailed 3/11/2014. Uploaded pdf of that response 3/11/2014.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Alaska USA Mortgage Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)