BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/13/2005

Moving Man Inc, The

Phone: (907) 348-8889Fax: (907) 345-9545550 W 54th Ave # 1, AnchorageAK 99518-1135 Send email to Moving Man Inc, The

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial local and out of state moving services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/13/2005

BBB has determined that Moving Man Inc, The meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Moving Man Inc, The's rating include:

  • 6 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Moving Man Inc, The's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Moving Man Inc, The

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
09/09/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I hired movers to move my belongings from one home to another. When I made my reservation I asked for 3 men to assist with the move, which was confirmed by the company, they only sent out two men. When I asked where the other guy was, one mover said they wouldn't need a third guy because it looked like a two man job. 45 minutes in to the move, they starting moving slow, and carelessly stacking my belongings, one guy said they could just move the big stuff, and I could do the little things myself. My reply was that I didn't need to move anything, that's why I hired them. A little while longer my aunt and I began to help them by bringing things out and putting them in the truck because they were moving so slow, which started to seem as though they were intentionally doing it. The truck was poorly stacked, and one guy said we're going to have to do two loads in which I was very upset, because there was still room on the truck, and movers that previously moved my things had the same truck, and got my things out in one load. I called the moving company to explain my displeasure with the way these movers were working and asked to speak to a manager to see about some type of compensation because it seemed like they were not wanting to do the job. The receptionist wouldn't allow me to speak to a manager and said I would have to pay for whatever service they provided. I told her to have a manager call before they were finished unloading to discuss not having to pay so much because I felt I shouldn't have to pay for us having to help them load, them intentially moving slow, and loading the truck wrong. When we arrived to my new place the movers said they weren't going to unload my truck until I paid them because I threatened not to pay, and that I would have to pay for the time they had just spent loading and another hour and a half before they would unload my belongings. I asked how could they make me pay extra not knowing if they would be done before an hour in a half. One guy said I could call the owner and he gave his number so I did, and asked why I had to pay them in full before the job was done, and if I could have some type of compensation due to the poor service they provided, and having to help them load my things. His reply to me was that they will not unload until I paid them what the mover were asking, and that by me helping them load should've saved me money already for helping them. I end up having to pay for the full service, which they said also included them leaving my house and returning to there store. They told me I was considered on their clock until they made it back to there store.

Desired Settlement
I want full compensation for being treated so unfairly, and extreme lack of customer service. For the owner being completely unprofessional, and not understanding to the issues I stated above, and being wrongfully charged. I've never had to pay for a mover to return back to there station after they finished unloading. They treated my aunt and I very poorly. I have never felt so disrespected in my life.

Business Response
We only sent a two-man crew that day, as there were no three man items on the job, and one of our crew members had an unexpected appointment. The job did not require more than two men.

One of the guys on the job stated "the house was a total mess and she was not at all prepared to move." They did have to spend twice as long on any one piece because of all the items not going that they had to move out of the way in order to get to the items she wanted moved. She is the one who told them to "just get all the big stuff". Ms. ****** was on the phone for quite a while when they arrived and kept yelling at the crew.

As Ms. ****** and her aunt began bringing items to the truck, she demanded that ***** (crew member) stay in the truck and she started passing him boxes. Ms. ****** refused to allow ***** to help **** (crew member) with several two man items. ***** didn't want to have an argument with the customer as tensions were already high, he stayed on the truck and assisted her with the boxes she brought him.

**** said they were going to have to do a second load because she kept complaining about the crew stacking things on top of each other and not allowing it. Ms. ****** kept saying "don't stack anything on that" "make sure this is upright". There is only so much room in the truck to have only one layer of items, things must be stacked if they only want to do one load.

Both of our office administrators received several phones calls from Ms. ****** throughout the morning. She was very belligerent and abusive to our office staff as well. Saying such things as "I am not paying for this ****" and "I'm going to cancel service". She was informed that she could cancel the service but she would still have to pay for the services already performed.

The crew was informed by ****** to not unload a single item at the destination until the bill was paid in full. **** should use the actual time from the start of the job to the destination and then estimate what the offload would take and collect for that, as the crew and ****** were feeling like she was not going to pay her bill at the end of the job. Ms. ****** was verbally abusive to the crew members by calling them names. Ms. ******' aunt went as far as saying "I'm calling my sons to go get my guns I'll shoot these ****** **********

***** said when he got off the phone with ****** she continued to call him and **** names, along with ******. We required payment before the job was complete because she repeated numerous times that she was NOT going to pay. She gave us no other choice. We were not going to be abused and provide this service and not get paid in the end.

All customers are informed of our rate and drive time policy when booking their job.

Ms. ****** was treated professionally, and was not wrongfully charged for anything. The crew charged her for 3.5 hours which was the actual time they spent on the job with the appropriate drive time included.

11/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
****** ********, ***** and ********** of The Moving Man visited our home in April 2013 to prepare an estimate for the cost of a household move from Anchorage to Pennsylvania. We did all of the packing and provided all of the packing material and transported approximately 1/3 of all the goods to the garage and adjacent 8x14' enclosed trailer. At the time the estimate was given, the household had not been packed up. His estimate was to include padding the furniture, moving all the items to the container and loading it. He assured me that it was only an estimate and that an itemized accounting of the labor and packing supplies would be given and the cost adjusted. In my mind it certainly would have been lower since we had done all the packing, built the required crate, and done much of the moving. You are referred to my e-mail to him regarding the man hours which were billable. He owes me at least $610 refund for that. The pretext that a couple of common laborers were professional movers and appropriately billed at $48/hr is laughable since at least one of them wondered from room to room trying to look busy while dodging the real work and knocked off early to go to his real job. I had formally asked him to provide me with the details of the contract between him and us. Again I refer you to my e-mail to him which also went unanswered but he called my wife in response to that e-mail saying that there were no formal contracts but he was honest and did what he said he would do. When the formal bill was rendered to me---fully a week after the payment demand was met, did I learn that he charged inflated prices for wrapping material and itemized the padding paper per sheet which is typically sold in bundles. In short he charged $895 for 275 paper pads. I have delayed this complaint until I could count the paper pads that were used. We could find 220. An approximate $800 refund out of a $15000 charge is chicken feed. The real cause for my ire is the implicit dishonesty in not being upfront about the individual charges and the devious means utilized to secure the inappropriate payments.
While we were in transit driving through Canada he threatened that our container would be impounded and incur daily charges if he were not reimbursed within the next 2 days. No bill etc. had been given to us until that moment.

Desired Settlement
Reimbursement for the man hours not provided but charged and the padding not utilized but charged and an acknowledgment of his inappropriate, dishonest and devious behavior.

Business Response
The ***** were asked to come into the office to sign paperwork before leaving town. The ***** chose not to do that, they did not even inform us they were leaving. TMM realized the ***** had left town when we contacted them in regards to them not showing up to the office to sign paperwork. If they would have completed their paperwork like every one of my customers, they would have had the opportunity to look over their billing and discuss issues they might have had and avoided all of this confusion.

The email *** **** is referring to that was "not responded to" was indeed responded to. I called **** **** as soon as it was received and explained that the quote I sent them was indeed an agreement, it stated the estimated price, the cost per man on an hourly basis. It listed everything The Moving Man (TMM) was required to do at said price.

The email I received from *** **** says:
On Aug 13, 2013, at 2:30 PM, The Moving Man - office
Thank you for you response. I am interested in the particulars of the contract; Specificallly I want to have the documentation setting downs the terms of the agreement and who is responsible and the details of what is required of you, what happens if there are long (define long) delays, what sort of performance guarantees are being made, what it the specific entity making the contract(s), to whom would we address and hold responsible for non-performance and that sort of thing, If there are subcontracts with other shippers I do not want to be in the position of loosing my goods because they went bankrupt or were not paid by the Moving Man or something like that.

I did not know how to respond to that with an email and I felt I needed to talk with the customer. The only phone number I had was the house phone and when I called **** **** answered. After speaking with **** **** I felt the questions in the email were addressed and she said she would relay this information on to *** ****.

I will not respond to the statement that "the price I charged for a crew member is laughable". *** **** was informed in writing what he would be charged for each man for each hour. This statement does not surprise me as he has brought my office manager to tears during phone conversations that were filled with belittling statements. In one phone conversation as he was speaking with my office Manager, she was trying to explain the charges he said "I don't need to listen to your fourth grade math."

I would like to respond to the statement of "when the final bill was rendered to me ---fully a week after payment demand was met ...". In our quote letter it clearly states that address and payment must be received before the trailer can be shipped from Anchorage, AK. I am unsure why he states it as a "demand", every customer is required to pay for their container before it is shipped.

As for the complaint that *** **** was charged for 275 paper pads vs. *** **** only counting 220, I reviewed the materials logs and spoke with the lead man and all counts are accurate as billed.

The statement of "there were no formal contracts" is untrue. I did not say that. What I said was "the quote letter is our agreement". It states the pricing and what TMM obligations are within that pricing.

TMM did not use any devious ways to secure payment. *** ****'s accusations that I "threatened that our container would be impounded and incur daily charges if he were not reimbursed within the next two days" is false. After the job was completed the container was weighed, the man hours and material was tallied and the paperwork was completed for the ***** to come into the office to sign and payment was to be made. When we contacted the ***** to arrange payment and the signing of the paperwork, we learned that they had left town. The ***** were then reminded that we needed payment to turn in their shipment to get on the barge. They did make payment over the phone with a credit card. We informed them via email that the paperwork, that was not signed before they left town, still needed a signature and we would mail them the paperwork to be signed and returned. We stated that the shipment will not be released to them until the paperwork was signed and returned. As we waited for these papers to be returned, we also kept an eye on the delivery of their shipment as it got closer to their destination. As we saw the delivery date get set for the shipment I chose not to hold his container as I had stated before. They had plenty of time to sign and return the paperwork. (I have never had a customer do this in all my 21 years in business.) I let the delivery happen with no hold ups to avoid any added stress to **** ****.

I, ****** ********, President of The Moving Man will not acknowledge I used any inappropriate, dishonest or devious behavior in charging the ****** because that would be untrue.

06/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Two garage door panels dented and in need for repair as result of movers placing the center piece of my entertainment center too close to the garage door causing the garage door to impact the entertainment center when they asked me to close the garage door. Repair is estimated at about $413, not including labor. Replacement of these panels needs attention soon, as painters will soon be painting the exterior of the home, including the garage door.

I have placed two phone calls to ****, one on Wednesday, May 15, and another to his receptionist asking for a return call on Monday, May 20, with no reply.

Desired Settlement
Reimbursement for the two damaged garage door panels, including labor.

Business' Initial Response
The Moving Man (TMM) moved the customer, *** ** on April 30. She did not have access to the main house so the crew was instructed to place the contents from her entire household into the garage at the new residence. The crew did their best to fit everything in this customer's garage, as you can imagine it was very tight. Upon leaving, the crew wanted to make sure the garage door would shut, they asked *** * to shut the garage door to make sure it would clear the household goods. When the garage door was closing a crew member noticed an item was too close to the garage door and immediately instructed *** * to stop and raise the garage door back up. They readjusted the piece, the garage door was then closed without incident and in working order.

On or about May 13, *** * called TMM to report damage to her garage door. The owner of TMM, ******, returned the call on May 14 and spoke with ***** and said he would look at it as soon as possible, the next time he was in the Eagle River area.

I did not speak with *** * on May 15, as she states in her complaint.

After receiving this complaint on May 22, ****** questioned the TMM receptionist asking if *** * had called on May 20, she said "yes, but I forgot to give you the message."

*** **** comment of getting no reply from TMM is untrue. I did speak with her on May 14, which is logged in our customer file.

I would like to state that performing a move and then getting a complaint of damage 14 days later is hard for TMM to accept full responsibility when others have moved these items into the house and opened and shut the garage door after us leaving the job site. I would also like to point out this was not a new house. I am not positive the year the house was built, but the crew reported to me it was at least 15 years old and the garage door had the normal wear and tear, dings, and dents that a garage door of that age would have. For ***** to demand TMM to replace two garage panels from a resulting dent, that is even unclear when or how it happened, seems unreasonable.

05/09/2014Problems with Product / Service
01/05/2012Problems with Product / Service
12/11/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Moving Services - Labor & Materials, Relocation Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/17/2004Business started: 04/01/1992
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Transportation
4111 Aviation Ave
Anchorage, AK99502-1058
(907) 269-0770
http://www.dot.state.ak.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 1994, AK

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Martin Kukowski (President)
Business Category

Movers, Moving Services - Labor & Materials, Relocation Service

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Moving Man Inc, The

550 W 54th Ave # 1

Anchorage, AK 99518-1135

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 550 W 54th Ave # 1 

    Anchorage, AK 99518-1135(907) 348-8889

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Moving Man Inc, The is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 15, 2013. This includes all complaints filed electronically that meet our reporting guidelines.

X

Industry Tips for Movers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.