This business is not BBB accredited.

Breakwater Inn

Phone: (907) 586-1045 Fax: (907) 463-4820 View Additional Phone Numbers 1711 Glacier Ave, Juneau, AK 99801 http://www.breakwaterinn.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Breakwater Inn include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Breakwater Inn include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Breakwater Inn
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 11, 2005 Business started: 07/11/2005 Business started locally: 07/11/2005
Business Management
Owner/Manager, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Owner/Manager, Owner
Business Category

Motels


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1711 Glacier Ave

    Juneau, AK 99801 (907) 586-6303 (907) 586-1045 (800) 544-2250

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I reserved a room at this hotel for two nights. Upon arriving I noticed foul smells and stains in my room. I thought I would tough through the first night. After the first night, I could do no more. I was so disgusted with the room and building that I was not willing to stay another night. There were stains on the carpet and my room smelled like urine. I brought my issue to management. Management suggested I try another room for the second night. I made it clear that I was not interested staying one more night anywhere in the hotel. I told management that I was willing to pay for the first night, but I would not be staying the second and asked that management did not charge for the second night. I was told that because I agreed to their terms/conditions about giving 24 hours notice, I would need to pay for the second night. I was charged for both nights.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed for the second night, which I did not stay for, for room and tax totalling $110.88. The hotel was in poor condition. Although I had never stayed at the hotel previously my expectations for having a non- carpet stained, non-urine smelling room were reasonable, especially considering the cost.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/08/13) */ The guest checked in several hours before the hotel's official check in time and had ample opportunity to bring concerns to management. No complaints were made upon arrival, so hotel staff assumed the guest found his room satisfactory. Had we known about his dissatisfaction, we would have immediately rectified the situation so that he would not have spent a single night in a room that did not meet his expectations. When the guest finally brought the matter to our attention the next morning, we tried to offer him another room, but he refused to even see the options. This hotel is very old. Unfortunately, that does mean some rooms have stained carpeting, but housekeeping makes every effort to provide clean and comfortable accommodations despite the wear. We have since booked many guests into the same room without any issues. Hotel policy mandates full payment upon check in and no refunds for early departures. The guest signed a registration card agreeing to those terms. As for the cost, our rates are very competitive for the area. We regret that the guest had a poor experience, but we also feel we weren't given a fair chance to remedy the situation. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/08/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Upon arrival at the hotel I was exhausted. I did not notice much until I had some rest and the ability to fully perceive the conditions of the room in terms of first the smell of urine and then noticing all the carpet stains. It took some time in the room before I became fully aware of the poor conditions. Upon becoming fully aware of the level of disgust, I was not willing to stay another night. To be clear I am not looking for a refund for the night that I stayed. I am looking for a refund for the night where no services were rendered. Additionally, once I was no longer willing to stay, I immediately let management know, with plenty of time before checkout/new customer check-in.I was not willing to consider other rooms because I had lost confidence in the hotel service.

5/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The front desk staff made up complaints to take advantage of me during my occupancy since October and the management has also allowed housekeeping to do the same. My rent has been raised significantly and I have been told that my lease has been quit without written notice or thirty days notice.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting one hundred dollars and thirty days written notice with an apology. I would also request a legitimate legal reason for this notice to quit the month to month lease.

Business Response: Consumer's Final Response /* (-5, 2, 2013/04/11) */ *****Supporting documents redacted by BBB*****

9/11/2012 Billing/Collection Issues