BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2000

Sunshine Garden Service & Landscaping Inc

Phone: (907) 345-3364Fax: (907) 345-3362775 E 100th Ave, AnchorageAK 99515-2606 Send email to Sunshine Garden Service & Landscaping Inc

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers landscaping & gardening services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2000

BBB has determined that Sunshine Garden Service & Landscaping Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Sunshine Garden Service & Landscaping Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Sunshine Garden Service & Landscaping Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
09/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was not given a quote for all the work.

Had I been I believe I would have found another company or person-whatever.

I was charged $555.00 for lawn mowing and weed pulling.

Then the workers came back a week later to mow the lawn and I have no recollection of contacting them or agreeing to their weekly service. I have been charged $120.00 for this work that I did not contract for.

Desired Settlement
I want some kind of reduction in the charges.

I have no idea what is the right thing to do. I do know I am in shock.

I also know Sunshine Gardens has been in business
and is well established.

I believe, at this time, I would never, ever recommend the company, especially to a senior.

Business Response
At Sunshine Garden Services and landscaping we have contracts for large landscape jobs and seasonal lawn and garden maintenance. Many of our clients call in for sporadic service and we do not do contracts with those clients. We have many happy responses for the work we do and the prices we charge.
**** ******** ****** called us saying she had a lawn full of dandelions and asked if we would come out and cut the lawn and get all dandelions. We sent a man out and he did mow very long grass which takes much longer to do. This took over an hour and the charge was $60.
*** ****** called us and said her garden needed weeding. She then called us again asking us to get out to her gardens and weed. In fact she called twice asking for the service. We put her on a schedule and sent our master gardener, Hanna out to do the job.
*** ****** called again this time demanding we get rid of the dandelions in the lawn so we went out again. We had to cut the lawn again because it had grown quite some. We also asked her if she wanted weed and feed and she agreed so we did that application.

we picked up bags of trash and re did the lawn again.

This went on from June 6 to June 30. We did what we were told.

We did not know she was a senior citizen and we will give her a good discount!

We will contact her and let her know of a discount now that we know she is a senior. We are sorry this happened.

** *****
President

Industry Comparison| Chart

Landscape Contractors, Lawn Maintenance

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/18/2000Business started: 01/01/1997
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Division of Corporations Business & Professional Licensing
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500
Anchorage, AK99501-3567
(907) 465-2534
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us/occ

Contact Information
Principal: Ms Jo Dagon (President)
Business Category

Landscape Contractors, Lawn Maintenance

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Sunshine Garden Service & Landscaping Inc

775 E 100th Ave

Anchorage, AK 99515-2606

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 775 E 100th Ave 

    Anchorage, AK 99515-2606(907) 345-3364

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Sunshine Garden Service & Landscaping Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 15, 2013. This includes all complaints filed electronically that meet our reporting guidelines.

X

Industry Tips for Landscape Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.