This business is not BBB accredited.

Green Acres

Phone: (907) 522-5740 Fax: (907) 522-5729 8850 Runamuck Pl, Anchorage, AK 99502

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers a custom design and build landscape company including lawn maintenance, water features, hardscapes, patios and retaining walls.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Green Acres include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Green Acres
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 22, 2003 Business started: 02/01/1999 Business started locally: 02/01/1999
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
Phone Number: (907) 269-5200

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Gus Gaskov, Owner Ms. Paige Manning, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gus Gaskov, Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Paige Manning, Office Manager
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Landscape Maintenance Landscape Designers Lawn Maintenance Excavating Contractors Mason Contractors Hardscapes Patio Builder Paving Contractors Contractors - Retaining Wall

Hours of Operation
8:00am - 5:00pm Monday - Friday
Closed Saturday and Sunday

Additional Locations


    8850 Runamuck Pl

    Anchorage, AK 99502 (907) 522-5740


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/9/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 18th I received an itemized bid for a landscaping project. The bid total based on square footage for our yard was $3750.00 of which I then paid half up front. Once the job was finished it was clear that the areas that were bid for were not the areas that were done. We were bid for a 13x13 area but what was actually done was 12.5x10.5 Along the side of the house that was bid at 4.5 x 40 but the actual measurement was 22.5 ft, not 40 ft. We also changed from 4.5 wide to 3 ft, but because we made that decision the day of the job we are not asking that to be refunded, we will be happy to pay that difference of 3 ft versus the 4.5 bid. On the left side of the house we were bid for fill and regrading of a 50x12 area but that actual area was 50x7 The difference in price based on these misrepresented areas is $922.50 We are happy to pay what the business is owed, however at no time was this priced as a "lump job" bid, but rather a bid based on sq footage.

Desired Settlement: We would like the remaining balance to reflect a reduction of $900.00 in the actual sq footage that was completed on this job. We are willing to pay the reminder of $1,080.00 which included the tree removal and hauling away for a price of $105

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 6, 2013/06/28) */ ****SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB**** Letter of"Demand For Payment" To: **** ********** *** ********** This letter is in response to our conversation on Saturday June 22m, 2013. You had questions regarding validity of charges by invoice# XXXXX for your project. 1. The invoice was generated based on the estimate# **** provided for you on June 18th, 2013. 2. The above estimate was a "Lump Sum" based with only references to the size of areas and number of units and it clearly shows " Approximate " signs and a "definite" total at the bottom. 3. You had time to study this estimate, measure all areas, discuss options and prices with me prior to formally accepting this estimate. 4. Additional work (tree stump removal) was discussed and agreed verbally over the phone conversation. The $30.00 tree stump disposal was not discussed, we can return the tree stump back to you yard or you can come and get it from out yard at anytime and the fee will be waved. 5. As it stands, the balance of the invoice $1980.00 is due upon completion, please consider this letter as a "Demand For Payment". Failure to do so within 10 days will result in Green Acres filing a "Contractors Lean" on your property and a small claims law suite­ Also a copy of this letter will be sent to the "Better Business Bureau" for assistance with resolution to this matter. It may take the court up to a few months to schedule a hearing, a "Contractors Lean" may delay the sale of your property. 6. Please Pay the balance on this invoice, if you decide to take legal option, please communicate in writing only. Do Not Call. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 14, 2013/08/02) */ The consumers of this business transaction were NOT satisfied AT ALL with this product of landscaping by Green Acres. I would appreciate a call back from the BBB regarding this complaint ASAP to XXX-XXXX to talk further. I am concerned and would like to speak further with the BBB re: Green Acres and the owner's threats against this property owner during the business transaction. I ask this case to be re-opened and re-addressed.