BBB Accredited Business since

Faltz Landscaping

Phone: (907) 349-4382 Fax: (907) 349-4386 View Additional Phone Numbers 1401 Labar St, Anchorage, AK 99515 http://www.faltzland.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers landscaping design and services, including deck, patio, and water features, as well as a nursery.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Faltz Landscaping meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Faltz Landscaping include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Faltz Landscaping
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 16, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1992 Business started locally: 01/01/1992 Business incorporated 05/05/1995 in AK
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us
Phone Number: (907) 269-8110

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. James Faltz, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Faltz, Owner
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Landscape Maintenance Nurseries - Plants, Trees Irrigation Systems - Install/Design Irrigation Systems - Maintenance/Repair


Additional Locations

  • 1401 Labar St

    Anchorage, AK 99515 (907) 349-4382 (907) 349-0575

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have tried to contact an owner of this business and have faxed my complaint two times this week.No response? Product_Or_Service: Alberta Spruce Trees Order_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement Some accommodation as all the trees are dead.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/06/27) */ Re: Contractor Customer Compliant On June 11, 2013 a Warranty/Claim Form was submitted by the complainant regarding Dwarf Alberta Spruce Trees. These trees were purchased July 25, 2012, and the contractor was given a 30% discount as per our sales policy regarding sales to any contractor. Our warrantee policy is posted and clearly visible on our Nursery counter, where customers must go to pay for their items. It is also printed on every customer's receipts; They state the following: LIMITED WARRANTY Faltz Nursery guarantees the specified commodity for one year from date of original purchase upon presentation of proof of purchase except as noted below. The warranty is to replace, one time only, only said commodity, or with items of equal or lesser value, no refunds. Faltz Nursery's warranty does not cover sale or discounted items or damage caused by neglect, abuse, animal destruction, accidents, or weather conditions. Plants must be installed within (3) three days of purchase date. No warranty on items installed by a third party contractor, or paid service. When dealing with plants, immediate and ongoing maintenance is the key to a healthy landscape. Our warrantee does not cover weak or damaged plants caused by lack of proper maintenance. Proper care and instructions are on our web site at: www.faltzlandscaping.com RESERVE (PRE-PAID)POLICY Reserved merchandise may be held on our lot for pick-up for a maximum of one week (seven days). Anything left for more than seven days will be restocked and charged the ten Percent (10%) restocking fee. RETURN POLICY Returns will not be accepted after the merchandise has left the premises. In order to cancel any reserved merchandise, a restocking fee of ten percent (10%) will be charged. This customer did not meet our policy requirements due to the parts of our policy that state "Faltz Nursery's warranty does not cover sale or discounted items" and "No warranty on items installed by a third party contractor, or paid service". All warranty requests that have met the guidelines in our warranty policy have been honored without question; this policy has been in effect since the day our Nursery opened in 2000. We have never offered warrantees to contractors; however, they are given a 30% discount off the price of any plant material. Being one of the largest nurseries in Alaska, we strive to maintain the upmost in quality of not just our trees, shrubs and materials but in our customer service as well. In the contractors letter they stated "I have been in the landscaping business in Anchorage, Alaska since 1982". If so, then they should be very familiar with common plant lost which differs from year to year. Due to the unusual cold and long winter weather we had, the growing season was delayed. **** reported in a news article "Anchorage Chamber Citywide Clean-Up delayed" dated May 3, 2013, "that as of April 16, there is still 18 inches of snow on the ground, which is the most snow for this time of year since 2002" This was detrimental to many trees and shrubs within Anchorage, and this may have been the cause of the damage to the complainant's plants. This complainant should be well aware of how weather plays a large role in plant survival in Alaska, and should also be aware of our warrantee policy in regards to contractors. We have not received any other warrantee request from the many other contractors who have bought this type of plant. Our goal here at Faltz is to provide quality service, whether a client or contractor, we strive to meet our customers' needs always in a professional manner. We maintain great relationships with the other Nurseries and retailers in Alaska and have yet been unable to resolve any issues that have arisen. Our customer satisfaction is our number one priority, so we regret that this contractor was affected. We would like the opportunity to work with them in the near future and will continue to offer our contractors discount as well as superior customer service. Faltz Landscaping Inc. Consumer's Final Response /* (4200, 13, 2013/07/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There is not any proposed resolution. I have yet to be contacted by a principal of this business. I was assured that these shrubs would winter well. Not just one died .....They are all dead. My customer picked this variety and I was concerned so I asked if they would winter well. This customer knows about this situation and has a very high profile. Word of mouth will follow this complaint. I was and continue to be ignored. These folks have never properly responded to me personally from the first day we brought this problem to their attention. A proper response would have been to show some concern for the total loss of all trees. To respond immediately to this situation. To work with me on the needed replacement and at least show some empathy. If they had done that I would have purchased the replacement trees from them. The trees had to be replaced. I was ignored. I expected some accountability for for the complete loss of all trees purchased policy or not. They would not even talk to me about this loss. Kick Rocks does not work for me....Obviously, this company is not going to address this issue and will continue to stonewall behind policy. I have made public complaint and the consumer can evaluate weather this is a reputable nursery or not. I am very disappointed in the way I have been treated. Business' Final Response /* (-10, 11, 2013/07/08) */ The customer has talked to the nursery staff as he should. The owner is not a direct part of this issue and will not be available to meet with this customer over a clearly stated and posted policy that no others have complained about.