BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers insurance broker services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Alaska USA Insurance Brokers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Alaska USA Insurance Brokers include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Alaska USA Insurance Brokers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 04, 2005 Business started: 12/01/1948 Business started locally: 12/01/1948
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us
Phone Number: (907) 269-8110

National Credit Union Administration
1775 Duke St, Alexandria VA 22314
http://www.ncua.gov
Phone Number: (800) 827-9650
oismail@ncua.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bill Eckhardt, President Mr. Dan McCue, VP
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Eckhardt, President
Business Category

Insurance Companies Credit Unions


Additional Locations

  • 11010 Harbor Hill Dr NW

    Gig Harbor, WA 98332

  • 1292 Sadler Way Ste 200

    Fairbanks, AK 99701 (907) 452-6891

  • 230 Bidarka St Ste 120

    Kenai, AK 99611 (907) 714-4367

  • 2401 4th Ave Ste 100

    Seattle, WA 98121

  • 33530 1st Way S Ste 102

    Federal Way, WA 98003

  • 43874 Sterling Hwy Ste 120

    Soldotna, AK 99669 (907) 260-6246

  • 500 W 36th Ave Ste 300

    Anchorage, AK 99503 (907) 561-1250

  • 5006 Center St Ste A

    Tacoma, WA 98409 (253) 534-7700

  • 851 E Usa Cir Ste 102

    Wasilla, AK 99654 (907) 352-8300

  • PO Box 196530

    Anchorage, AK 99519 (907) 786-2751 (800) 478-1251

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Summary of Incident, Purchased a vehicle through Alaska USA Bank, insured vehicle through *****, however when insurance lapsed due to deployment, spouse insured with Alaska USA insurance for the period that****** lapsed. Then vehicle was in an accident and was towed to a lot to await adjuster. The bank required additional paperwork to be faxed before spouse could handle claim, the paperwork was sent, but allegedly never received. A month after the incident (being charged storage fees each day because they neglected to mention that when we originally talked to them) I flew back to Alaska from Texas to handle it personally and resubmitted all of the paperwork. After a week I received a call from the Insurance Company stating though I was covered, they are refunding us our insurance and making us have to pay for the vehicle that was covered at the time by their insurance. In addition when I told the Manager that I would be talking to my *** Lawyer regarding this, she informed me to tell them that I was driving without Liability insurance, and that I was driving without Legal Insurance in Alaska at the time. My two issues are, #1 If I'm paying for insurance in case of an accident, why do they not honor it when it applies. And #2 If the insurance that I am paying for is not legal in the state of Alaska, why do they sell it? Alaska USA the parent Company is a great company, but I was already having to pay over a month's worth of storage fees on a disabled vehicle, two vehicle payments, insurance (through them) for two months, a plane ticket from El Paso to Anchorage because they wouldn't let my wife (who was there when I purchased the vehicle and she was the one that bought the insurance)handle the claim. I filled out an additional subrogation form stating that I didn't receive any payment from ***** at the time because it had lapsed, and had to get additional paperwork from them stating as such. Yet I was told that it was illegal to have two insurance companies at the same time. (Which would not have applied at the time of the actual accident) and that in filling out the additional paperwork the event must be a common enough occurrence to not be illegal. In addition, I specifically told the Insurance manager that I was flying back to Texas today (11/13/14) and only did not fly because my leave was extended. Yet she called the day I told her I would not be here to let my wife handle these new issues. The reason people buy insurance is to cover them in cases of emergency. I was paid up and covered at the time of accident. I went above and beyond dealing with every nuance and request that was requested. My claim should be covered. Now in addition to all of the other costs, I **** still be paying on a totaled vehicle, Ironically one financed at Alaska USA.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to be an insurance company and cover my claim.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/21) */ A response will be mailed to our member week of 11/27/2014. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/12/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have not recieved any offical response via the mail. They did finally agree to process my claim, but that was only after my Judge Advocate General officer became involved. Final Business Response /* (1000, 32, 2015/01/23) */ After carefully reviewing the facts of the incident with the Member, we resolved Mr. ******'s claim and consider the matter closed. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 34, 2015/01/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We ended up having the trade the disabled vehicle to the towing company to cover the months of storage fees that accrued while dealing with this. It took involving a lawyer and us paying on the on a disabled vehicle while this was being handled. But the insurance company finally decided to cover the rest of the loan on the 5th of January. The accident in question happened on the 10th of October, 2014.