This business is not BBB accredited.

Tamarac Inn Motel

Phone: (907) 456-6406 Fax: (907) 456-7238 252 Minnie St, Fairbanks, AK 99701


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides sleeping rooms, efficiencies and one bedrooms.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Tamarac Inn Motel include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Tamarac Inn Motel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tamarac Inn Motel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 03, 2006 Business started: 09/01/1974 Business started locally: 09/01/1974
Business Management
R M Johnson, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: R M Johnson, Owner
Business Category

Hotels Motels


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    252 Minnie St

    Fairbanks, AK 99701 (907) 456-6406

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had flown to Fairbanks, Alaska and after multiple issues with obtaining my bags from my flight looked to find a motel/hotel with no luck. I called all local hotels/motels to find only one place with rooms open. Event took place 8-13-13. I rented a room for myself as well as family member for the night paying 91.40 for a basically a crack room. Once inside of the room I found that room smelled of stale old cigarettes and mold. Carpet was filthy and uncleaned as well as no hot water to take a shower with. No towels or wash cloths in bathroom as well Toilet was filthy. Bed was nasty and half made. After staying there for no more than 30 minutes I returned to the front desk to ask for my money back. I was then asked why I wanted my money back. I told***** co-owner of why I wished to have my money back and she told me I was being rude by asking for my money back. I explained to***** that the room was nasty and unfit for a animal to stay in. She wanted to see room and walked with me to insepct room. Once inside of room***** stated to me that I had used the bed in which I had not. She then took key from me and refused to refund me my money back. She then told me that I was not going to screw her for 91 dollars. I told her I would contact the police if she did not refund me my money in which she grabbded her purse and keys jumped in her car and spun out leaveing the parking lot. I called the cops and was told that they could do nothing for me. Big Surpirse there... I was a screwed for almost 100 dollars and did not even stay in the room for more than 30 minutes. People like this should be shut down and never let open another bussiness. I have never been treated with so much disrespect as when I had to deal with this sorry excuse of a human being. There where people that also tried to intintimidate me into not calling the cops. Once I called them they all disappered as quickly as they showed up. Sketchy if you ask me. If this is not a crooked establishment then I am the president of the United States Product_Or_Service: room rental

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I wish to have my hard earned money refunded back to me as well as an appology for being treated this way. I would also love to have this placed on a list so that out of town people will never have to go through what I have been through again.