This business is not BBB accredited.

Sheraton Hotel

Phone: (907) 276-8700 Fax: (907) 276-7561 401 E 6th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Sheraton Hotel include:

  • Failure to respond to 3 complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Sheraton Hotel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 12, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1984 Business started locally: 01/01/1984
Business Management
Owner/Manager, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Owner/Manager, Member
Business Category


Alternate Business Names

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Sheraton Hotel has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of C-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    401 E 6th Ave

    Anchorage, AK 99501 (907) 276-8700


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/14/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I prepaid a vacation through Delta Airlines Vacations four months ago. I checked into the sheraton on fri 7-15-16 and was charged a 3 night fee of 972.35, in which was already paid for. Due to this issue it drained my bank account to $16 in order for me to get back to Caifornia with. I was unable to purchase souveniers, fish, etc because of this inconvenience. The sheraton was no help with issue, they put the blame on Delta Vacations. The sheraton was not per delta suppose to chatge my credit card that amount. I had to wait a business day to receive my funds credited back to my card which was no good to me since I was home in California. I checked complaints for the Sheraton and they have been doing this to several people. Someone needs to stop them from overcharging credit cards. This was a major inconvenience.

Desired Settlement: Some kind of credit towards another room or refunded for the rip off price they charge of 300 plus dollars a night!!!And an apology from the GM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

6/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: There was a very disturbing noise coming from the A/C and it was impossible to sleep. After contacting the front desk, they sent an engineer and he did not know how to fix the problem. I asked the front desk to move me to another room and they refused claiming that similar room are all booked. I had to leave Sheraton and check in at the Marriott and ended up paying $413.14 with Marriott instead of $279.18 early rate when booked the Sheraton room. This started around 11:30 pm and I had to pack and leave after it passed midnight. I was coming from a long flight, tired and all what I wanted is to settle for the night. I believe they had the option to move me to another room till they fix the AC next day. The lady I spoke with at the front desk was not courteous at all. She did not care at all, it was very irritating asking her help to resolve this issue and I hope I don't come along similar incident in the future.

Desired Settlement: I would like Sheraton to reimburse me for the full amount I had to pay due to having to leave the room and checking at Marriott which is $413.14 for all the inconvenience I've been through. I think Sheraton is responsible since they offered a room that was not suitable/ready for a guest.

3/15/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I booked a stay at this hotel last year. After I placed my order I realized that I have booked more than I need. I tried to dispute through the credit card company, but that did not help. Up to this point I know that it is my fault and I was totally fine with the result. HOWEVER, when me and my friend finished this stay, my friend*** *****, who MADE EXACTLY THE SAME MISTAKE WITH ME, got refund from this hotel. Now I am really upset that the hotel would treat us differently. I called the customer service, of course they know nothing about why he got the refund while I did not. Anyway, I am curious why this hotel would treat the customers this way.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have a refund of 500.00 dollars.

Business Response: **** Please See Attached Documents ****

March 3,2016
To Whom it May Concern:
This letter is regarding complaint ID ********. Mr. ** ***** changed his reservation upon arrival at the hotel; unfortunately this was not within the disclosed change policy for the rate plan in which his reservation was made under. The customer elected to initiate a chargeback prior to contacting the hotel. Unfortunately, we are unable to offer any refund as the issue has already been decided via the chargeback initiated by the customer.
The client references his friends stay. He is correct that customer service would not comment
regarding any other guests stay. Comments on another guest's stay or finances are private information which cannot be disclosed to those who are not the registered guest. I can disclose that the individual referenced had contact regarding the change to his stay prior to arrival and after the initial reservation was made.
Best Regards,
Karen H***** Assistant Controller
C.C. Jose A******, Controller

7/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I checked in on June 17th, to learn the room I was guaranteed was "unfortunately not available" as the Sheraton employee stated. So I was put into a room I did not make reservations for. Then as my boyfriend and I were asleep on the 19th, a very intoxicated man was pounding on our door and yelling vulgar language. My boyfriend partially opened the door and the man kicked it inward trying to force himself inside. My boyfriend had to physically remove him and restrain him. I called for security and they eventually located and removed him. The manager did not seem too concerned and said it would be dealt with. Head security said the guy had been removed from the premises earlier that day as he was passed out in the lobby. The intoxicated man was African American and security began to mention how Plains Indians cannot handle their liquor; I do not know why he brought my race into the conversation. I am a Native American from the Midwest. I felt I was being profiled for no reason at all. We were moved into a different room, so we had to inconveniently pack our stuff in the middle of the night and move to a room that I was initially supposed to be checked into. The morning of the 22nd, when I checked out, the girl working the front desk apologized for our negative experience and said I would not be charged for anything during my stay, which included parking and phone calls, that they would be removed from my account. She never gave my a receipt upon checking out. Now my credit card shows 2 separate charges, one for $10 and one for $58. This was an extremely negative experience and I will not recommend the Sheraton to anyone, ever! I expected better service. I have tried calling the billing department several times and cannot get through. I get an answering machine. It is very impersonal and unprofessional for the level of services which I have received.

Desired Settlement: I would like the charges to be immediately refunded as well as a refund for the nights I stayed. I would like to know how the Sheraton can fix this problem or what they can do to make this up to me. Thank you.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Sheraton Hotel
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart