This business is not BBB accredited.

Clarion Suites Downtown

Phone: (907) 222-5005 Fax: (907) 222-5215 1110 W 8th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers a hotel in downtown Anchorage.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Clarion Suites Downtown include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Clarion Suites Downtown include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Clarion Suites Downtown
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 07, 2004 Business started: 12/01/1998 in AK Business started locally: 12/01/1998 Business under new ownership as of: 06/27/2014 Business incorporated 12/01/1998 in AK
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
Phone Number: (907) 269-5200

Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Barbara Swenson, General Manager Ms. Linda Steiner, DOS
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Linda Steiner, DOS
Principal: Ms. Barbara Swenson, General Manager
Business Category


Additional Locations


    1110 W 8th Ave

    Anchorage, AK 99501 (907) 222-5005


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the beginning of December me and councilmembers of our Tribe attended the annual BIA Providers conference and stayed in the clarion hotel. We had to rooms. Upon checkout we all paid in cash expect for one lady was short so we paid by our company credit the 84.00. When we made the reservations we had the rooms holding with our company card. When we got our credit card statement their was an additional amount charged to our card which was 244.00 and I kept calling the hotel and every time I was transferred to the managers desk. I left numerous messages and none had been returned. If they value their customers why they rip off a Federally recognized tribe. Kind of harsh word to use but I am an honest client and I will see every monies from our Tribe is accounted for. We have all the receipts to show the proof.

Desired Settlement: I want the refund for the unknown charges. It has gone too far and too long.

5/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: After staying at the Clarion Suites the first night i noticed my hotel room had not been cleaned. I went down to the service desk to let them know that i had no soap or shampoo and my sheet had not been changed or my bed made. After being rebuked by the manager she informed me that her staff had told her they cleaned my room and she knows they wouldn't lie to her. I offered to have her come to my room herself and she refused. The following day I was informed that smoking had been detected in my room and that i would be charged $200 dollars. I find this very difficult to swallow since I don't smoke. At this point i was several days into my stay. I knew taking the issue to the manager was a waste of time so i decided then to contact the BBB when i got home. Unfortunately I was working from 7 am to 12pm every night and could not afford the time to pack up and move hotels. I am wishing now that i had because I just received another bill for about $200 dollars more than I should have. It would appear that smoking was again detected in my room after I left. Please keep in mind that as I stated before, I don't smoke. I believe that the house keeping staff is attempting to get revenge for trying to turn them in when they didn't clean my room as specified. The worst however may still be coming. I left the do not disturb sign on my door one day because i had customer information sitting on the desk in the room. When I returned I found that my room had been entered and my things rummaged through. Nothing was missing fortunately but some of the information was sensitive.

Desired Settlement: I would like the entire amount of my stay refunded. The total amount was $976.16 broken into two charges. One $200 charge for smoking and another charge of $776.16 Which is more than the total owed upon check out.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, ****/05/15) */ Dear Sir, I am concerned to learn of the difficulty you experienced with your stay at our hotel. I am always saddened when I am made aware, for whatever reason, that any of our guests are not satisfied with their stay. Please accept my most sincere apology for what I am certain must be a frustrating situation. I did research your specific complaints. Allow me to share my findings. Housekeeping did not refresh your room on the first two days of your stay due to the Do Not Disturb sign that was hanging on the door. Housekeeping did refresh your room each day after that. As our policy, the Director of Housekeeping went to verify the DND sign on your door on May 1st.. A a strong smoke odor was detected coming from your room. The Director of Housekeeping and the Operations Manager together entered your room to further investigate the smell. There was no doubt that someone had smoked in the room also verified by the photos of ashes left behind. As the registered guest of that room you are responsible for the cleaning fee of $200 no matter who may have smoked in your room. This was charged to you on May 1st and that is the only time you were charged a smoking fee. As for your perception of the housekeeping staff attempting to get revenge on you, I can assure you that was not the case as they weren't even aware of your complaint. Our key card reader verifies that the only entrance to your room on the day you had the DND sign on was by the Director of Housekeeping and the Operations Manager. Both have been employed by our corporation for many years so I can assure you that any sensitive information you might have had out was not touched. For these reasons, I truly regret that we are unable to refund the $976.16 that you have requested. Sincerely, ***** ******* Director of Sales