This business is not BBB accredited.

Seymour Design Group

Phone: (907) 563-3371 View Additional Phone Numbers 7462 White Hawk Dr, Anchorage, AK 99507

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers custom home designing and planning services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Seymour Design Group include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Seymour Design Group include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Seymour Design Group
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 21, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1973 Business started locally: 01/01/1973
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
Phone Number: (907) 269-5200

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Dave Seymour, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dave Seymour, Owner
Business Category

Home Design & Planning Building Construction Consultants Architectural & Construction Specs Construction Management

Additional Locations


    7462 White Hawk Dr

    Anchorage, AK 99507 (907) 244-3371 (907) 563-3371


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/24/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Mr S****** while I was out of town by credit card on a recommendation from an engineer. Mr S****** required a deposit for his services and to make and appointment. The depoist was paid using a credit card by telephone. After making the deposit I send Mr. S****** an email asking him to not work on the plans until we met and talked about it. I returned to Anchorage on the 4/30 and met with with Mr, S****** soon after at his house. I was suprised to see he had full color plans siting on his dinning room table. We have not done puliminaries yet. He had not followed directions given in the email. The work he had done was wrong and he spent 12 hrs on it at 100 hr. I felt ripped off. I got up and left. Our first meeting lasted 15 mins. I sent him a couple of emails asking for a refund with no response until I layout the process I would go thought to recover the money. He does eventually respond with no interest in returning my money. Did offer to put our pass issues a side and get my work done but by that time I had already hired ******* ********** for my commerical project in Wasila. Mr. S****** is not license produce commercial builidng plans and I beleive I have been de-frauded by him excepting my deposit. Mr. S****** knew I wanted commerical plans for the Wasilia Fire Marshel to approve and said he could produce that.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of my $2000.00

Business Response:

***Please see attached document***


I am writing this as a response to a Complaint against my company, Seymour Design Group.

Below is a copy of our text and email conversation.  **= *** ********  DS= David S



Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I paid for services that were not rendered. I respectfully request a refund of my $2000.  I do not understand his insistence on keeping funds he has not earned. He does not have the legal licensing to market himself as an Architect. I have been sold services he does not have legal right to be selling.  From his own response, I had made it clear I was building a commercial structure.   There is no signed agreement stating the purpose for the deposit. I disagree with his claim of a retainer  .  Retainers are returned when services can not be rendered  he failed to follow directions and then wishes me to pay for his time.  I will not pay for his time drawing plans  prior to our first meeting when we were to discuss what I wanted to build.  He jumped the gun.  


****** ********