BBB Accredited Business since

Klebs Mechanical

Phone: (907) 365-2500 Fax: (907) 365-2540 View Additional Phone Numbers 1107 E 72nd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99518 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers installation and service of commercial and residential heating, air conditioning, ventilation systems, plumbing and sheet metal.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Klebs Mechanical meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Klebs Mechanical include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Klebs Mechanical
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 21, 1997 Business started: 03/28/1986 in AK Business started locally: 03/28/1986 Business incorporated 05/09/1988 in AK
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Division of Corporations Business & Professional Licensing
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
Phone Number: (907) 465-2534

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Matt Klebs, Vice President Mr. Gary Klebs, President Ms. Mary Klebs, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matt Klebs, Vice President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Plumbing Fixtures, Parts, Supplies - Retail Heating Contractors Plumbers Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Alternate Business Names
Klebs Mechanical Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Klebs Mechanical has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1107 E 72nd Ave

    Anchorage, AK 99518 (907) 344-1128 (907) 365-2514 (907) 365-2555 (907) 365-2500


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2012 we contracted Klebs to install the most efficient (and most expensive) furnace that they had in their inventory. In September 2012, the $6K installation was completed.On 8/13/13, Klebs came to install a small part per manufacturers direction. On 8/22/13, Klebs came again to install a new condensate box.On 1/10/14, we came from work to a freezing house. Klebs offered to come on Thursday, 1/16/14, unless we wanted to pay extra for emergency call. We decided to wait and use our gas fire place in the meantime. When the service tech came out, he determined that the issue was our dirty filter. Said it is a very sensitive furnace, so must change filter frequently. On 2/15/14, our costly furnace failed again! Changing filter didnt help. Doubting Klebs expertise and honesty, we contacted a reliable contractor recommended by a family member. Unfortunately, he didnt have prior experience with **** furnaces. He asked for technical manual, but Klebs refused to provide it. The contractor determined that the problem was with pressure switch, so he replaced it.On 9/7/14, the pressure switch failed again. We called the same contractor. He asked if we ever got our furnace tech manual from Klebs. I called Klebs again and after a couple of unpleasant phone conversations, the manual was finally delivered. The contractor replaced the pressure switch again. He also did some re-wiring the pressure switch was sitting low and was collecting condensation, leading to furnace shut down.After this, we contacted **** to examine the installation. The **** representative pointed out that the neutralizer was installed improperly leading to undue condensation and resulting in frequent pressure valve failure. Klebs eventually fixed the valve issue and much later - the thermostat.On 1/6/15, called the **** rep about promised extended warranty and possible reimbursement for repairs that could've been avoided. Was told to speak with Klebs. Called/emailed Klebs on 1/8/15, 1/27/15, and 2/20/15. Silence...

Desired Settlement: Based on the series of frustrating event that couldve been avoided had Klebs installed our expensive furnace properly, we demand the following (either from Klebs or ****, who, it appears, had failed to train properly):1. $173 reimbursement for Klebs service on 1/16/14. 2. $410 reimbursement for Contractor service on 2/15/14-2/17/14. 3. $400 reimbursement for Contractor service on 9/8/14-9/10/14. 4. Extended FULL warranty on the furnace, with week-end calls covered at 100%.

Business Response: We are familiar with Mrs. **** and have had many
conversations with her.  We are aware of her request for a refund to
include a refund for services performed by another company.

The service history for this customer is extensive.  A
summary of it is as follows:

-New furnace was installed in August of 2012

-KLEBS service technician performed factory
upgrades in August of 2013 (No Charge)

-KLEBS performed a complimentary maintenance on
the furnace in September of 2013 (No Charge)

-KLEBS performed service to the equipment on
1-16-2014 related to a dirty filter.  The equipment was out of warranty,
and the customer was charged our normal service rates.

-KLEBS performed adjustment to the condensate
piping and performed additional operational checks on the unit on 1-31-2015 (No

At this time, as shown here, KLEBS has made numerous calls
at no charge to the customer, even after our 1 year warranty expired (In fact
over 2 years into furnace operation).  The one billable call was to
address the unit not working (No Heat) in which we diagnosed related to a dirty

We have no control over the customer calling another
contractor to work on her furnace, and as she indicated this contractor was not
properly trained or certified to work on the **** product.  KLEBS has gone
through extensive training through ****.  We see no basis for requesting
KLEBS to reimburse labor costs for work that another contractor did, who was
not qualified to work on the system, especially considering the labor warranty
for the system was expired.

This issue related to the pressure switch is a
manufacturer’s issue and not related to KLEBS work.  KLEBS rectified (At
no cost) the recommendation by the manufacturer to adjust the condensate
line.  The condensate line adjustment is unrelated to the pressure switch issue,
which has become a known issue with this model of furnace.

Any promises for an extended warranty by **** or a ****
representative is outside our influence with the manufacturer.  We
recommend Mrs. **** contact the manufacturer further regarding discussions made
about an extended warranty.

We have explained our finding with Mrs. **** many
times.  We are sorry to hear of her frustration.  We fell we have
offered a great deal of assistance with this matter and view this matter to be

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Had Klebs properly installed the furnace,  the condensation issue would not had happened and we would not have spent so much money on repairs.  The first two no charge visits were still under warranty and were under direction of manufacturer anyways.  The issues started to happen right after the 1 year warranty had expired.  As Klebs never fixed the main issue,  we did not want to deal with them anymore.  And if we continued to call on them,  they would've cost us more,  we are certain.  The real issue was not resolved until **** Representative came and looked at the furnace.  He noticed the poor installation.  We wish we had thought of contacting **** sooner.  Klebs, much like the mechanic that we deal wit, clearly liked the expertise to make correction.  All they did is changed filter when  furnace quit working first time,  but they failed to notice and fix the bigger issue. It is upsetting that instead of making things right,  after I showed the proposed BBB claim to Klebs,  they used it to prepare a reponse in advance and just ignored my followup requests. And now they consider matter closed and suggest I deal further with ****.  Dishonest. Unethical.  We ask that they reconsider and at least meet us half way. 



Business Response: KLEBS stands behind our original response to this claim.  However, I will take this time to expand on a few points in hope to provide Mrs. **** with further clarity:
Regarding the condensate adjustment:  The problem with the furnace was not a result of the condensate adjustment.  The problem with the furnace was that the pressure switch was failing and the factory recommended that we raise the pressure switch and adjust (Shorten) the length of the pressure switch tube.  These are factory components and the issue is not isolated to Mrs. ****.  We have been performing this upgrade to many **** furnaces, as it is a recommendation by ****.  The condensate drain adjustment was a simple adjustment to ensure the best possible condensate flow.  The factory recommended upgrade to the pressure switch install would have been required regardless of the condensate adjustment we made.  I would like to point out that KLEBS performed this condensate adjustment and other warranty work after another company, who was not trained or certified to work on the **** furnace, performed work.  It is a possibility that this other company compromised the integrity of the original installation, including the condensate piping.  However, we performed the adjustment just the same.
I would like to remind Mrs. **** that we performed this work at no charge.
Although Mrs **** claims that we were costing her money, the only charges that she paid KLEBS from the time the furnace was installed (Fall of 2012) until now was for a routine maintenance.  Maintenance is required on this equipment at least once per year, and that charge is completely justified.  
Mrs. **** asserts that we are dishonest and unethical.  However, I have not seen any evidence that we lied or misled her in anyway.  Similarly, I have not seen any evidence that we treated her unethically.  Rather we stand behind our product, responding and performing work at no charge nearly every time she called us - even well after the 1 year labor warranty, and after another unqualified company performed work.  It is because we stand behind our product that we will not be compensating Mrs. **** for charges by another company.  Had she contacted us she likely would have had her issue resolved quicker, and we likely would have honored the warranty (As we did in January of this year)
I hope that this makes our position perfectly clear.  Our recommendation is for Mrs. **** to take up her issue with the other company that performed work without proper training or experience.  It seems she would have a better argument for compensation directly from that company, considering they likely charged her for on the job training.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response.

All people make mistakes. 
All businesses make mistakes. 
Good name and respect is gained by those who acknowledge their mistakes
and take responsibility.  We firmly believe that Klebs made a mistake and will continue to fight until resolved as originally desired. 

Klebs insists that the issue wasn’t isolated to our furnace.  Then why wasn’t this issue
addressed when we made our first “no heat call” to Klebs?  Is it because Klebs didn’t notice the issue until **** Rep pointed it out?  As was mentioned before, when the **** Rep examined the installation of our furnace, he pointed out the flaw and stated (and I quote), “This is not acceptable. Klebs should’ve known better.”  It must be noted that  the **** Rep had only good things to say about Klebs.  HOWEVER, he did not try to cover up the flaw in installation.  I think it serves Klebs no good to point out all
the “free work” that they have done on our furnace because the main issue went unnoticed until **** rep did his examination.

As for Klebs’ claim that had we worked with them, the issue would’ve been resolved quicker and cheaper – I highly doubt.  When we made our first “no heat call”, the repair man was at our location for a max of half hour and we were charged nearly $200 for that call – that’s approximately $400/hour.  How is that cheaper than a $100/hr charged by the contractor we hired thereafter? Again, we did contact Klebs first, before we began to doubt their competency.  Looking back, the best course of action after furnace failed second time would’ve been to contact ****.   

Klebs suggested that the contractor we hired probably charged for on “on the job training” and that he most likely compromised the integrity of installation.  I relayed all that information to the contractor and he stated that Klebs is welcome to contact him directly.  The name and contact information are on the invoices attached to this claim.  I shall only point out that: (1) Not one mechanic does all work by memory.  Each will pull out a manual and review it before diving into intricate installation/repair work. So the contractor we contacted did exactly that.  Had Klebs immediately provided the technical manual for our furnace, both contractor and I wouldn’t have wasted much time looking futilely online (as mentioned before, our furnace manual was not with the furnace and was hesitantly provided only upon multiple requests).  The contractor did not charge for the time spent on that.  And I cannot return the time I’ve wasted looking for it as well, nor did I get paid for that time.  (2) This contractor worked on a very complex project for a relative and was highly recommended as someone ethical and competent.  That is why we have contacted him and not
some other big name business.

Even though this fight is time-consuming, I will continue to fight out of principal.  And since Klebs refused to meet us half way, we revert to the original desired resolution. Klebs, it is up to you – make things right and save your face or continue to fight.

Please be advised that I have forwarded the original written complaint to ****.


******** ****

7/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Poor craftmanship on ducting install. Did not address flue liner replacement during estimate, did not install flue liner during install, or follow up repairs,not installed untill a third call out.

Desired Settlement: I would like to split the cost($850) on the install of the Flue liner because of the inconvenience.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/02) */ July 1, 2014 Better Business Bureau **** ******* ****** *** *** DuPont, WA 98327 Re Case Number: ******** **** ***** Dear Sir or Madam: We are in receipt of your notification of the above complaint filed by Mr. *****. We have reviewed our records and found no reason to reduce the cost of equipment or services provided to this customer provided by *****. Our review of the case shows the following events: In March Mr. ***** received a proposal for a furnace to be installed in his home. A Flue Liner was listed as an "add-on in case it was needed" to bring the flue capacity into compliance with Municipal specifications. We gave Mr. ***** the choice of whether or not to have this work done because it is sometimes unclear before we begin a job whether this work needs to be performed. We explained to him the work may be necessary to comply with the Municipality of Anchorage's building code. We have found, for this particular issue, passing inspection can depend on the individual inspector and his/her particular interpretation of the building code. As you can see from the attached copy of the proposal, Mr. ***** chose not to pay the additional charges for the flue. Therefore, the work was not performed during the original install. The next call from Mr. ***** was when he asked us to send a technician back out to "repair" our install. Upon inspection, we found the system was completely operational. Per Mr. *****'s request, we performed some cosmetic changes to the job so it looked better to the customer. Mr. ***** then contacted us after his system was inspected to let us know he did not pass *** MOA inspection. We agreed to schedule another appointment for a Technician to come out and install the optional item (the flue) and complete the extra optional work as outlined in the original proposal. He agree to pay the additional cost outlined in the proposal. On May 28, 2014, we completed optional work Mr. ***** had turned down during the original install. It is our company policy to provide quality services to our customers at a reasonable price. We are also required to purchase a Municipal Permit and have our work inspected on all jobs subject to MOA code. However, we have no control over MOA requirements for installation of new systems. We attempt to install every job so it will pass ********* inspection. That is why we made sure Mr. ***** was aware that he may be required to have the additional work done in order to pass *** Municipal inspection. We also made sure he was aware there would be additional costs for the work on the flue as it was outside of our original scope of work. When we called after his initial inspection, he agreed to pay those costs and we proceeded with the additional work. After all the work was complete, Mr. ***** contacted me to ask if I could reduce the cost of the job we had completed for him. I told Mr. ***** I would review our records to see if a discount was possible based on the costs the company incurred to complete the job. However, the review showed our costs exceeded our original estimate and no discount was possible. While we understand the Mr. ***** was inconvenienced by having to be at his home when we were scheduled to do work, both of additional visits were at his request. After this further review of this customer's account, we feel the bill is justified as the scope of work increased, and the fees were explained and agreed upon in advance. We also feel obligated to point out that we will, as is company policy, be charging late fees on the $850 unpaid balance on his account. Please let me know if you have any additional questions. Sincerely, **** ***** President/CEO We can provide a copy of the signed agreement and work orders upon request.

8/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Klebs offers a paid "star service" program for home heating equipment. One of the benefits of this program is that home equipment maintained by them will receive "proirity scheduling". The sales pitch is that you will receive prioritized service in case of equipment failure. Our garage heater failed on us recently (in winter) and we called for service. The scheduler told us it would take a number of days to even have someone come out and look at it. When I asked what benefit my "star service" gets me, I was told basically nothing. I called another contractor and had them come out within a day. While the star service program has other stated benefits besides priority scheduling, I feel that Klebs does not live up to their claims with this program.

Desired Settlement: Refund, explanation, and change in practices.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/07/16) */ **** and ****** ****** are Gold Member Planned Service customers.Gold members recieve a once a year complete service and maintance on all agreed heating equipment.Gold members get priority over non planned service customers.Gold members also get a 10% discount on all services.They pay overtime rates when overtime occures. Platinum Planned Service members get priority over Gold members. I am not sure when the ******s called us with a failed garage heater except it was "winter". I can only speculate because I have no record of there call but the delay could have been that Platinum members were booked ahead or we were repairing no heats in homes where families become dislodged and damage to plumding system may occur. Garage heaters are a nice convenience and not a requirement therefore we do not classify garage unit heaters as the same urgency as whole house heating systems. We completed a Gold Star Preventive Maintenance to all agreed systems,Water heater,Unit heater and the Forced air heating system for the ******s on June 18,2013. No refund is available. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 8, 2013/07/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) An attached garage includes our utilities and some plumbing. A unit heater being out of service is more than a convenience in our case so perhaps this policy should be reconsidered. If a person is paying for Gold Star service, does this not include priority scheduling for unplanned trouble? It did not appear to be so in our case. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/08/01) */ I want to thank the ******s for there input. We will review our policy and also use this experience as a traning tool.At this point I would like to offer my sincere apologies concerning this matter.Your input has been very much appreaciated.