BBB Accredited Business since


Phone: (907) 277-2697 Fax: (907) 274-9399 View Additional Phone Numbers 3901 Old Seward Hwy Ste 18, Anchorage, AK 99503

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company's product/service is Furniture Sales.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that La-Z-Boy meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for La-Z-Boy include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on La-Z-Boy
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 16, 1997 Business started: 04/01/1996 Business started locally: 04/01/1996
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
Phone Number: (907) 269-5200

Business Management
Mr. David Cavitt, Principal Mr. Joel Munday, Store Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Cavitt, Principal
Business Category

Furniture Designers & Custom Builders

Alternate Business Names
Furniture Enterprises Of Alaska Inc

Additional Locations

  • 3901 Old Seward Hwy Ste 18

    Anchorage, AK 99503 (907) 277-2797 (907) 929-8593 (907) 277-2697


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I (**** ****** and **** ********* ordered a sectional from La-Z-Boy furniture. Of course, they take a while to make and ship. This we were aware of and OK with. After waiting for our product, it was finally delivered on November 1, 2013. There are 7 pieces to our sectional. Out of the 7 pieces three items were either broke or missing parts. On November 2nd, after a few phone calls to the store, a service tech did arrive at the house to look at/fix the sectional. The technician was able to fix 2 of the items, but 1 piece remains broke. From the factory, this piece was missing items that makes it recline. On November 4th the store manager called me and apologized for the problems we were having. He made sure that I was not going to be charged any fees for repair. This confused me a little. Why would I be charged any fees? This was delivered from the factory with issues. On November 13th or 14th, I called La-Z-Boy to find out what was going on. I spoke with the manager once again and asked him about our parts. He had stated that they were ordered and was not sure when they would arrive. Since my wife and I ordered a completely functional sectional, and paid well over $5,000, I was actually quite surprised that we still had a partially functioning sectional. I asked why have we been waiting 2 weeks since delivery, for these repair parts. He stated that they have been ordered and that is all he can do. He was not going to expedite any parts, that I would just have to wait until they came in. The next day we received a call from La-Z-Boy saying that our parts have arrived. We called back on November 15th to schedule a time the technician could come out and repair our sectional. We set up a time for Wednesday, the 20th. We were told that the technician would call us 2 days before to give us a window of time that he would be there. On Monday the 18th, the technician called and we set up a time for in between 11 and 1 pm. Now, Wednesday comes and we receive a call that informs us of the wrong part being shipped. Now we are in the exact same position that we were in on November 2nd. Still a partially functioning sectional. It is going on 3 weeks now!! We paid good money for a completely functional sectional.

Desired Settlement: This needs to be made right! I need this fixed. Not another 3 weeks from now, but NOW!!! I am in the customer service industry myself and deal with shipping multiple times a day. If I have a customer that received a faulty product, I expedite the part and pay for it myself. I understand that we live in Alaska, and expedited shipping is expensive, but I paid a lot of money for a product and it is still not fully functional. We brought our business to La-Z-Boy because they should have great customer service and a great product. Today, I am not sure about either. I am not upset, shocked a little, at the problems. I am extremely upset in the way the way that this store is dealing with it. They are quick to take your money for a product, but not so quick in dealing with the problems.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/12/02) */ I regret that *** ****** and his wife are frustrated. I expect I would feel the same in his shoes. He is accurate when he relates that he's paid good money for his furniture and it should work. I am grateful to them for choosing our La-Z-Boy Furniture Gallery for this purchase; we do value their business. Our warranty service group has been making every effort to get the replacement parts needed to complete this installation. We use air freight to get parts up to Alaska. We do not have control over how fast the manufacturer fills our parts orders; in some cases this can be several weeks. I will keep in close contact with my service team to ensure that *** ****** is contacted promptly when the parts are arrive and the repairs can be completed. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 8, 2013/12/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It is now December 14th and still no resolution. the manager did call me, but that was only after I called and emailed the factory in Michingan. I am assuming that they contacted him. I did speak with another person from the factory and she assured me that parts take 7-10 business days to reach us. I then pointed out that I have been waiting since November 1st, and she had no response. I just want my couch the way that we paid for it. That is all!! What is it going to take for this to be fixed? In a timely fashion has well gone by. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/12/30) */ I apologize that receipt of the part and scheduling has not been faster. We do review our processes in light of our customers' feedback. A repair call has been scheduled to install the parts. I hope that customer will be able to enjoy their furniture very soon.