BBB Accredited Business since

Big Blue Charters

Phone: (907) 747-5161 Fax: (907) 966-2583 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 2956, Sitka, AK 99835 http://www.bigbluecharters.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers fishing & boat charters, water transportation, sightseeing & wildlife tours, and camping.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Big Blue Charters meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Big Blue Charters include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Big Blue Charters
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 03, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1994 Business started locally: 01/01/1994
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us
Phone Number: (907) 269-5200

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Michael Keating, Owner Mrs. Karen Keating, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Keating, Owner
Business Category

Fishing Charters Sightseeing Tours Hunting & Fishing Services & Supplies Boat - Charter Boat - Excursion


Additional Locations

  • PO Box 2956

    Sitka, AK 99835 (907) 747-5161

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/27/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2 issues. Paid for a combination salmon and bottom fishing trip for my wife but they never fished for bottom fish and did not offer a discount when I asked if there were different prices. Not the main complaint though. Main complaint is that I only received 9 pounds of halibut for a 40" halibut. Mike at big blue told me to contact the processor which I did and **** the processor said that my captain lied about the size of fish. I saw the measurement myself. The captain didn't lie. They just keep sending me back and forth and have quit replying to my emails and phone calls.

Business Response: The man went fishing the first day and had great weather and fishing. Sent his wife the second day and the weather was bad. Had bad fishing and had to hide from the wind. We do combination fishing and Charge $300 for a six hour trip and $400 for a all day trip. They both bought a all day trip.

He caught a 38 inch Halibut  and his complaint needs to be filled with ***** ****** ******** *** because they are the ones that cut his fish

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:I had a contract with big blue. They gave my fish to the processors whoever that was and if they are working with a particular place they should make sure their customers get what they catch. Besides that, I already spoke with **** and he said my captain lied and the fish wasn't that big. 

Sincerely,

***** ********

Business Response: He is a person that can not be satisfied. single day weather and extra.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:I do not understand their response. I'm asking for the other half of the halibut I caught. Less than ten pounds of fish for a 40" or even 38" fish isn't right. 

Sincerely,
***** ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Big Blue Charters
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)