BBB Accredited Business since

Taylored Restoration

Phone: (907) 344-1239 Fax: (907) 344-8454 8535 Dimond D Cir Ste A, Anchorage, AK 99515 http://www.tayloredrestoration.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers fire & water restoration, 24-hour emergency response, construction & remodeling, kitchen/bath design & remodel, handyman, carpet & rug cleaning, blind cleaning & repair, and electronics cleaning services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Taylored Restoration meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Taylored Restoration include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Taylored Restoration
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 16, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1972 Business started locally: 01/01/1972 Business incorporated 12/29/1980 in AK
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Division of Corporations Business & Professional Licensing
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us/occ
Phone Number: (907) 465-2534
don.habeger@alaska.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Doug Lipinski, Manager Mrs. Lisa Brest, President Mr. Lawrence Taylor, Secretary Mr. Trent Taylor, President
Contact Information
Principal: Doug Lipinski, Manager
Business Category

Fire & Water Damage Restoration Fire Damage Restoration Water Damage Restoration Kitchen Remodeling Contractors - General Contractor - Remodel & Repair Home Improvements Construction & Remodeling Services Bathroom Remodeling Carpet & Rug Cleaners

Alternate Business Names
Taylored Construction Services Inc

Additional Locations

  • 8535 Dimond D Cir Ste A

    Anchorage, AK 99515 (907) 344-1239

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Taylored to go to assess and mitigate a small amount of water damage in our property in Wasilla. This was not an emergency call out was during normal business hours. We told the person answering the phone it could be performed schedule permitting. The tech went to the house and then called me to explain there was a small amount of water on the floor in the basement and he rolled back approximately 2-3 feet of carpet near the washing machine and placed a fan nearby for 4 hours. The bill we received was for an emergency callout for 1200.00. The services we received were not what we were billed for. When we received the bill I made 4 attempts to contact the office and each time given the run around and excuses and couldn't get in touch with the tech and the like. We later received a letter demanding payment which replied we would be happy to submit payment for the actual services rendered and to resubmit a correct bill. Instead, Taylored turned it over to collects to try and force us to pay for services we did not receive. We offered a settlement but it was rejected. This company is a rip off. As well, the service they did perform was not adequate and we later had to pay 1300.00 for mold remediation due to the water.

Desired Settlement: Give us a corrected statement for the services actually performed and we will gladly remit. We also feel we are due compensation for the mold remediation cost we later had to pay and an apology.

Business Response: From our Wasilla Mitigation Mgr:
We had three air movers onsite for three days. *** placed a xl dehu in there for three days. He worked for 4.5 hours on this project. This site has had numerous sewage back ups, and as such Mr. ****** would not agree to let *** remove the carpet. We have photos of the air movers onsite. We have made an attempt to contact the tenant to verify our onsite service.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is not what was reported to us at all. As well, we dealt with the Anchorage office, not any office in Wasilla. This version of their story is changed dramatically from their original statement and billing. When I spoke with the tech directly while he was at the house, he stated he placed ONE fan and rolled back the carpet 1-2 feet in the downstairs to allow for drying for a few hours, not days. I also spoke with my tenant who confirmed this information. The bill was for an emergency callout which this was not!!! It was during the work day and during a work week. We've not seen nor have been offered any photographs of this service before so this is also news to us.

The tech told me he could pull out the entire carpet but after conversing with the tenant it was a small spot about 1-2 feet in diameter. This clearly did not call for a complete removal of the carpet in the entire downstairs which is why I did not authorize it. Subsequent inspections showed only a small area had been effected which was mitigated to the satisfaction of the tenant.

We have contacted the Anchorage office numerous times trying to mitigate this to no avail. We were put on hold several times and left, and once was simply hung up on. We feel we've done our due diligence in trying to rectify this matter amicably.

Our position all along is we are happy to submit payment for actual services rendered, not fabricated stories and emergency fees which were not called for nor requested.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No, we once again reject this.

1. The attached file was empty.
2. The story has once again changed and now includes a dehumidifier that has never been previously mentioned nor stated on any invoice we've received. When I spoke with the tech while he was on site, he stated he was leaving a fan only. There was never any mention of a dehumidifier at any time.

The story from Taylored changes every time including the buck passing from person to person which began the fist time I called to inquire about this bill. We called the Anchorage office and dealt with Anchorage staff, but the tech was local. When I spoke with the tech I asked if there was an office in Wasilla and he stated no which casts doubt on the statement made by Taylored.

Our position remains the same. We will entertain a bill for the services rendered, and according to my knowledge from the tech on site and my tenant, it includes a techs time of an hour or less and a fan rental at a non-emergency rate. This service was not requested after hours on a weekend, and was not requested as an emergent situation.

Business Response:

Taylored invoicing was reduced previously as a gesture of goodwill.  Photos were attached to past rebuttal, may be an issue with the BBB site.  We will not be reducing our invoicing further as current bill is for substantially less than the services performed. 

11/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Trying to charge me for clean up when i was informed by staff that the bill has been charged to upstairs condo owner due to his unit causing damage to my unit below. Staff stated that i did not owe the bill and that it was paid for by damaging unit owner. I asked staff of Taylored if i owed any charges for clean up prior to submitting bill to my insurance for repairs and was told that the damaging unit owned was billed.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to take up the bill of clean up with the homeowner upstairs and clear my name of any billing for clean up as the staff verified taht i did not owe any monies for clean up.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/11/11) */ Will research the issue and respond after I have information. Please let me know where you are sending notices. The only notification I received on this was by letter dated 10/28 that showed up here yesterday. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/11/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Because I solved the problem by taking the insurance check for "clean-up' and paid the bill. Taylored Restoration had taken no responsibility owning up to the error that they generated that caused me 6 months of grief. I received several calls from them stating I owe, but thanks to **** they realized that they had signed documents stating I didn't owe you he whole time.

2/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Taylored Restoration agreed to begin a bathroom remodel for me starting 12/16/13. On that day, the worker showed up and asked me if I had the material for the project and needed to measure the work area. He needed to do this despite the estimator taking measurements already and the company assuring us that they were ordering the material necessary for the job. It turns out they had forgotten to order the tile so they could not begin the job for over a week. Since we were expecting house guests the next week, because we were getting married, we had to end up putting our relatives in a hotel. I also had to take off of work a second time when they did start the project. At this point, I left a message for the estimator, ***** ******* to call me, stating that I would appreciate a discount in the price of the project because of me having to take off work twice and having to put people up in hotels because of their error. He never returned the call. After the project was completed, it turned out that the floor tile would not be regrouted as was listed in the contract. I once again left a message with ***** ****** asking for a more detailed contract invoice than the one I received since the regrouting never occurred. I also spoke with a person named **** *** 2 times who said that she would ask Mr. ****** to call me. Mr. ****** still has not called me and their invoice asks that I pay the amount due 2/21/14.

Desired Settlement: I originally asked for a 10% discount on the final cost of the project but since I have had to put so much effort into this, I am now requesting a %15 discount.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/02/18) */ Our estimator had an appointment yesterday at 2pm to review details of the project. There are some quality issues that Taylored needs to address that hopefully will resolve this complaint. Taylored's production dept has been notified and will be scheduling repairs to be made. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2014/02/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The appointment occurred. I hope that they will be able to resolve the quality concerns. They have also talked about taking a couple of items off of the bill. If this occurs, it will help offset the time and cost that their error caused. Time will tell.

9/25/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues