BBB Accredited Business since

Alaska USA Federal Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (877) 722-8919 Fax: (907) 786-2599 View Additional Phone Numbers 4000 Credit Union Dr Fl 7, Anchorage, AK 99503 http://www.alaskausa.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a credit union.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Alaska USA Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Alaska USA Federal Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 37 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

37 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 23
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 14
Total Closed Complaints 37

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Alaska USA Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 16, 1997 Business started: 12/06/1948 Business started locally: 12/06/1948
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us
Phone Number: (907) 269-8110

National Credit Union Administration
1775 Duke St, Alexandria VA 22314
http://www.ncua.gov
Phone Number: (800) 827-9650
oismail@ncua.gov

Business Management
Mr. Bill Eckhardt, President Ms. Sharon Dunham, Fairbanks North Star Branch Manager Mr. Jim Fish, Regional Principal Ms. Sylvanus Fowlis, Eagle River Branch Manager Ms. Jessica Helmers, Fairbanks Branch Manager Mr. Dan McCue, Senior VP or Corporate Administration Ms. Barbara Siu, Seattle Branch Manager Ms. Sonja Watkins, Anchorage Branch Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Eckhardt, President
Business Category

Credit Unions Credit Unions (NAICS: 522130)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Alaska USA Federal Credit Union has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1000 E Northern Lights Blvd

    Anchorage, AK 99508

  • 10020 NE 137th St

    Kirkland, WA 98034

  • 101 Auburn Way S

    Auburn, WA 98002 (253) 939-9080

  • 10201 SE 240th St

    Kent, WA 98031

  • 11031 19th Ave SE

    Everett, WA 98208

  • 11100 Roosevelt Way NE Ste A

    Seattle, WA 98125 (206) 417-1940

  • 1207 S 320th St Ste A

    Federal Way, WA 98003 (907) 452-8123 (253) 815-4612

  • 12155 Old Glenn Hwy

    Eagle River, AK 99577

  • 12222 Industry Way

    Anchorage, AK 99515

  • 125 W Dimond Blvd

    Anchorage, AK 99515

  • 12519 NE 85th St

    Kirkland, WA 98033

  • 1261 Airport Way

    Fairbanks, AK 99701

  • 13101 SE Kent Kangley Rd

    Kent, WA 98030

  • 1313 Cooper Point Rd SW Ste B

    Olympia, WA 98502

  • 13401 Old Glenn Hwy

    Eagle River, AK 99577 (907) 622-5350

  • 135 Ridge Crest Dr

    Bethel, AK 99559 (877) 722-8919 (907) 543-2619

  • 135 Sterling Hwy

    Homer, AK 99603

  • 14444 124th Ave NE

    Kirkland, WA 98034

  • 15332 Aurora Ave N STE 100

    Shoreline, WA 98133

  • 1650 W Northern Lights Blvd

    Anchorage, AK 99517

  • 200 S 3rd St STE A

    Renton, WA 98057

  • 201 37th Ave SE

    Puyallup, WA 98374

  • 2041 148th Ave NE STE A

    Bellevue, WA 98007

  • 20711 Bothell Hwy

    Bothell, WA 98012 (206) 239-3701

  • 230 Bidarka St

    Kenai, AK 99611

  • 2300 Abbott Rd

    Anchorage, AK 99507

  • 23632 Highway 99 Ste L1

    Edmonds, WA 98026 (206) 443-1968 (425) 825-8049

  • 2401 4th Ave STE 100

    Seattle, WA 98121

  • 2600 Debarr Rd

    Anchorage, AK 99508

  • 2600 SW Barton St STE B20

    Seattle, WA 98126

  • 2865 Mill Bay Rd

    Kodiak, AK 99615

  • 310 E Northern Lights Blvd

    Anchorage, AK 99503

  • 3355 Bethel Rd SE

    Port Orchard, WA 98366

  • 3755 Airport Way

    Fairbanks, AK 99709

  • 4000 Credit Union Dr Fl 7

    Anchorage, AK 99503 (907) 786-2782 (907) 258-7228 (907) 247-7600 (206) 935-2444 (253) 520-0999 (907) 563-4567 (907) 790-3388 (907) 646-7776 (360) 679-5611 (206) 239-3832 (907) 376-2650 (907) 929-8008 (907) 789-1361 (907) 490-6561

  • 650 NE Midway Blvd

    Oak Harbor, WA 98277

  • 7575 Debarr Rd

    Anchorage, AK 99504

  • 7701 Debarr Rd

    Anchorage, AK 99504

  • 777 Juneau St

    Anchorage, AK 99501

  • 901 W Evergreen Ave

    Palmer, AK 99645 (907) 352-8307

  • PO Box 196613

    Anchorage, AK 99519 (907) 523-6980 (907) 786-2067 (425) 239-3710 (907) 644-4718 (907) 451-0500 (907) 395-4500 (907) 235-5161 (425) 644-5575 (907) 929-6374 (425) 822-0342 (425) 822-1674

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They were very rude it was a simple question I had and they treated us very bad, I wish I had her name so I can put it in this message but as a whole they do not provide any service I have called and kept my calm for about 5 calls but enough is enough change the customer service and get people who love helping people out because that wasn't the service I got today

Desired Settlement: I want a phone call that saying that the customer service will change because it looks like it hasn't over the months

Business Response:

The member was contact via phone concerning this complaint, and we have resolved the issue.  Alaska USA considers this matter closed.

5/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 24th, 2015 I made a payment of $700 for my loan account ******* intended to post to my truck loan with a regular monthly payment of $685. The payment was posted to an old account loan number 01 instead of my new account loan number 02.As a result of this late payment credit bureaus were notified of the late payment. This has very seriously adversely affected my credit and my life. I asked for a courtesy credit report late removal and Alaska USA's credit reporting department would not do a courtesy removal.

Desired Settlement: Remove 30day late from credit bureaus reported to for loan 02.

Business Response: Our response is being drafted and is expected to be mailed week of 4/20/2015.

4/24/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
4/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Even though I call the customer service department as soon as I found that ********** **** * *** put a hold of funds changing my Debit Card without my authorization they refused to prevent the funds from being release to ********** **** * ***. I am now missing $410 because they released unauthorized from my account. I have spoken to Alaska USA Federal Credit Union and they are only contacting ********** **** * *** refusing to do anything else.

Desired Settlement: I think this Credit union needs to be investigated for Fraud and releasing fraud changes on accounts. I want my $410 returned to me in a check form to my mailing address as I will be closing out my account tomorrow 3/14/2015.

Business Response:

The credit union has mailed a response to the member on 3/24/2015.

3/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello, My name is ******* ******* and I live in *****, Alaska. Today (Oct. 2) the Alaska Permanent Fund Dividend checks were deposited in our bank accounts. When I went online to make sure my deposit had been made before I pay bills, I found Alaska USA Federal Credit Union made an unauthorized withdrawal of $222.74 from my checking account. When I called up Alaska USA, I was told the withdrawal was made by their special collections department and it was to cover an overdraft from 1988 (more than 25 years ago) on another account bearing my social security number. I also was told they had a lengthy conversation with me over the supposed bill in December 2011, and that restarted the statute of limitations clock. I don't remember the call, and even if they had called I would have told them I paid off all outstanding overdrafts years ago and I would have had to have paid them off because that was a requirement for reopening my account after I'd been in some financial difficulty in the late 1980s. When I tried to speak with a supervisor, I ended up in someone's voicemail. In the meantime they have my money where I can't access it and I have bills that are overdue. My job was relocated last year and my unemployment ran out, so I have no other income right now as I try to keep the lights on and food in the cupboard. This money was to hold me as I look for work. Is there anything you can do on this matter? My Alaska USA account No. is ******. I made a big effort several years ago to clean up all of my debt, so to suddenly say I have an outstanding bill that's this old and collect on it is a total surprise. My first notice of the bill shouldn't be an unauthorized withdrawal from my bank account.

Business Response: The credit union's response letter is under executive review and will be finalized the week of October 20th.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I received a note saying I had until Oct. 30 to review the response. Unfortunately, on Oct. 20, I can't see Alaska USA's response because it appears to be under review. All I know is my money is not in my account yet and this issue will not be resolved until it is. If this process doesn't work I do plan to file a complaint with the Alaska Department of Law Consumer Protection Program.

"On October 17, 2014, the business provided the following information:
The credit union's response letter is under executive review and will be finalized the week of October 20th."

Business Response: Dear Mr. *******:

Re: Better Business Bureau Case #********
Account ending ******* ***

I am responding to your above-referenced complaint to the Better Business Bureau dated
October 7,  2014, and again on November 10, 2014 and February 13, 2015, concerning the right of offset
transfer by Alaska USA from your account ending in ****** *** in the amount of $222.74 to pay your
overdraft on share account ending in ****** ***.

You questioned why a copy of the Signature Card and the Joint Share Account Agreement from when
you originally opened your account was included in my response dated November 28, 2014.
That information was provided for your records in an effort to show that your signature
authorized the credit union to recognize any of the signatures in the payment of funds due for
your account. Your signature gave the credit union the right to collect the funds due regardless
of the length of time it took to cure the overdrawn balance of$222.74.

My research has confirmed that the credit union has accurately researched and
responded to your complaints. Also, the credit union has not received additional information
from you substantiating that you previously satisfied the debt for $222.74 from non-sufficient
fund activity associated with the account ending in *******

In summary, the offset transfer will not be reversed. Should you have any further
questions, please contact me. If you have additional information that you have not
presented, please send it to my attention, otherwise we consider this matter closed.
I can be reached toll free at ************, extension ****, 9:00a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Alaska
Time, Monday through Friday.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I paid this debt more than two decades ago. I know I paid it, because I had to clear out the old account before they would let me open a new account. Unfortunately, I am being unjustly penalized for thinking this matter was closed more than two decades ago and throwing out my documentation when I didn't hear anything further about it. I've moved nine times in 26 years, so who keeps old transaction records that long and through that many moves. Again, I consider this theft and I will not be satisfied until I see the money returned to my account and my name cleared. The only reason I haven't closed this account is because I need it open so I and my family members can transfer funds when needed (we don't even have an Alaska USA FCU branch in Sitka). At this point, I don't think Alaska USA is going to budge. But I know for certain I paid this off because I remember having to clear out any debt on the old account in order to be able to open my current account, which I've had for more than two decades.

Sincerely,

******* *******

3/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on 2/27/15 I filed a dispute with Alaska USA on a company of an unauthorized charge. I had canceled service with this company the month before. on 3/2/15 I received a call from the dispute department and was treated horribly AND talked to in a demeaning manner. I talked to a person called ******* who was condescending and argued with me and talked to me as if I was lying. I asked to speak to her boss "***" who said that she talked to me just fine and preceded to talk to me in the same tone and refuse to help me with my issue. They would not come up with any solid avenues or solutions, did no investigation before they talked to me and left all the burden of proof on my shoulders. I have never had this kind of issue with a credit union before, as a share holder I find it disturbing at best that they would treat me this way. in the past I have always felt protected by the credit unions that I have been with, not this time. I felt like I was being bullied and treated like a criminal because I filed a dispute.

Desired Settlement: I want true help to get this resolved and treated like a share holder and not a criminal for seeking help. my account, because of this mess, has become delinquent and my car payment is now going to bounce costing me even more money. I want my 214.80 and all fees paid for.

Business Response: We have contacted our member and resolved this to his
satisfaction.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** *******

1/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were trying to talk to the people of the company with regards to the accumulation of our balance to such an amount considering the possible errors and settlement to the debt. However, the manager and the credit/ collections personnel threatened us that our car will be repossessed even though we have paid almost 72 months of the contract price and was not given the appropriate APR for service member. Not only that they are rude and constantly belittling, their personnel have always harassed us to pay even though, they were already told that we are trying our best and we are in current hardships due to military issues that we are currently facing.And even though, you were already talking to them, they would constantly bring up the fact that you did not make an effort to communicate with them which defeats the idea of the fact that you are trying to communicate with them. Product_Or_Service: Financing for car Account_Number: XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) That they make a re-evaluation and re-calculation of our debt with appropriate APR in use and appropriate for service member and that they consider service customer training for their people not to be sarcastic, rude and belittling to people who were trying to pay and make a decent living, specifically to the ones who have talked to us on occasions.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/12) */ The member will be responded to by postal mail the week of December 15, 2014. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/12/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I can not read anything from the company. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/01/07) */ A response was mailed to the member on December 17, 2014. We have also had verbal contact and have resolved additional concerns; we are waiting to receive further information from the member. The credit union considers this case closed.

1/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I live in Washington State and pay my auto loan via US Mail to the main office in Alaska for the Alaska Federal Credit Union. They do not have a payment plan option for me but the US Mail. They will not process my payment in a timely manner since they are holding on to my check until it reaches the past due grace period so they are able to then charge me a late fee on to my auto loan. They will not reimburse me their late fee charge. I feel as though this is a scam. They will hold on to my check 12-14 days AFTER I have mailed it to them. I have tested their process by contacting three of our family members who all live in the same town as the main branch. I mailed each of our family members to their locations a test letter on the same day, same time, same outgoing mail box as I mailed the auto payment with those letters. All family members contacted me 3 BUSINESS days later and received my test letters all on the same day. Alaska Credit Union still has not process my payment even though my payment was mailed at the same exact time as those letters. My next payment has already been mailed in advance...they still have not cashed the check, they will once again charge me another late fee. They will not refund me the late charges. Obviously, they need to evaluate their accounting department unless this is their way of making extra money off of innocent consumers by pretending they have not received payment yet. I send letters to my sponsored child in a small village in Swaziland, Africa and he receives my mail quicker than Alaska Credit Union is receiving my mail?? There is something very wrong with that process!

Desired Settlement: I want the past late fee charge and the upcoming late fee charge that they are already anticipating charging to my auto loan credited to my account as well as any other miscellaneous fees they may have thrown into my loan just because!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/17) */ Member was contacted via email on 12/9/2014, Alaska USA considers this matter resolved. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/12/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The business credited my account for my original complaint but then charged me yet another late fee for cashing my check on the Grace due date. I mailed that payment 15 days prior but they still held on to my check to be able to charge me a late fee again for their misappropriate actions! Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/12/31) */ The member's rebuttal was researched and found to be incorrect. The member had confused the mailing date and posting date of two separate checks mailed. The member was contacted on December 31 by executive staff. She had already realized her mistake, understood what occurred and was satisfied. Alaska USA considers this matter resolved. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 12, 2015/01/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) This matter has been resolved because I found a different loan company within my home town so I will not have to battle with the long distance business relations anymore with Alaska Credit Union. As of Dec 31st my loan account with Alaska Credit Union will soon be closed since the account will be paid in full by a different credit union.

10/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a loan for a trailer in October, 2013. My account is XXXXXXX. In good faith, I made my October, 2013 payment on this loan on 10/31/13. Alaska USA returned this payment to me for unknown reasons triggering a series of events on this account which led to the account becoming 60 days past due. At issue was no notification that Alaska USA returned this payment to me and issue with handling subsequent calls to make payment resulting in yet another returned payment for the next month. I have never run into issues like this with other banks. After numerous contacts with the credit union, I have not been able to address this major ding on my credit for a payment that I made more than one attempt to make on a timely basis. This is impacting my credit score negatively and is an unfair business practice.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking that Alaska USA remove this from my and my co-borrowers' credit report immediately. I attempted to pay the bill on 10/31 and again on 12/2, and Alaska USA system issues as well as lack of notification to me about issues resulted in non-payment.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/10) */ The member has been contacted verbally and the complaint is resolved.

9/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear Sir or Madam, I have several CD's with the bank, for past years every time I open up a CD, term is one year with automatic renewal. That has been setup for all my cd's for past 8-10 years. I have taken several loans against my CD's and they are paid off. One of the CD's that I have it has been open for about 4-5 years with automatic renewal. I took a loan against the CD for one payment. I called the branch and spoke with gentleman and he said since your CD is setup for automatic renewals that will carry the loan with it, the loan was not setup as monthly payment. it was setup as onetime payment. As the time goes by ( when the CD approaches maturity) , they decided to close the CD and apply the loan toward the CD, the loan goes into DEFAULT, that effected my FICO immediately. My FICO score went down my 50 points, now I can't get any loans to repair my home which I am in need to do that asap. My credit limit on my ***** credit card it drops sharply (which I contacted the company, I was been told due to a drop in my credit score - domino effect). I am desperate for help. I have contacted the office and spoke with manager, she have promised she will call be back, no call back. (I was been told that they have tried to contact me using my old phone number, also they have said they send me a letter: which indicate in my request not to send any correspondence to my house due to a theft of mail. I need help asap to solve the issue since my life hood is holding by thin thread. Alaska had no right to cancel my CD, since it was setup for automatic renewal and is being so for past few years. I want the bank to reverse their action and remove "default" from my credit. I will pay the loan as it was agreed upon not by canceling my CD and applying the loan against the CD as they feel like. I am desperate for help now. Not tomorrow. NOW Thanks *****

Desired Settlement: I want Alaska USA to reverse there action. Need to put the CD back as it was and apply the loan as agreed to do one payment. Need to remove the DEFAULT from my credit, my credit score took a major dive.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/29) */ Member has been contacted by phone on 8/28/2014. The credit union considers this matter resolved.

9/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had nothing but problems since I was sent to this bank. I am overseas and my wife is handling all of my financial affairs state side while I am away. Several months ago there was an issue where they would not accept the POA that I got for her. They said the only way they would accept it is if she were to go down to the branch and hand it to them. They are located in Alaska and she is living in Ohio. There is no possible way for her to go to Alaska to do this. So after several weeks of contacting them they FINALLY agreed to allow her to email them a copy of the POA. She was able to set up some sort of payment plan and they sent correspondence stating the documents we needed in order for her to register the vehicle were on the way and everything was going to be fine. Its now been over 8 weeks and the car has been sitting in her driveway because they lied and never sent the title. So now we are paying several hundred dollars a month for a car that she can not even drive. They lied and sent an email telling her the papers were on the way when they knew they weren't. Then when she called them to ask about the paperwork they stated because she legally changed her name she no longer has authority to handle my account even though she had already been previously been put on the account and forced me to call them from Iraq just to put her on the account she was already on. Now they are saying they never said they sent the title (even though I have the emails that said they did send them) and are saying since the account is behind a few weeks they **** not allow her to have the paperwork to register the car. This is by far the worst auto loan company I have ever used. I would NEVER recommend this company and I hope someone reads this before EVER using them for any sort of loan. They are liars and completely unethical. Not military friendly and just want to repossess cars and go back on payment plans.

Desired Settlement: Alaska USA should send the forms they have already said they sent. They should not lie to their customers and tell them something will be there in a few weeks and then never actually send it. They should accept the POA they have already accepted previously and stop making every conversation and transaction as difficult as possible.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/27) */ Member has been contacted via email, and their complaint has been resolved.

8/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Opened checking account on 6/27/14 to pay July's rent on 7/1/14. I deposited $1240.00 in to checking and had temporary checks printed in order to pay rent by 7/1/14. Branch manager made error in deposit and only deposited $740.00 into checking and put the other $500 into savings. She gave us a deposit slip that showed all $1240 into checking as requested. On the 6th of July we received a letter from the bank stating our rent check had been bounced due to this error. Notified AlaskaUSA who said they would fix it and apologized for their error. It has been 31 days since initial deposit and fees imposed by our landlord ($225)have still not been refunded. We have also received a 3 day eviction notice due to their error. AlaskaUSA says they will continue to work on it, however, landlord says we are liable, regardless of bank error, and has requested that AlaskaUSA pay late fee's immediately since it was their error.

Desired Settlement: Bank needs to have fee's reversed as it was Their error and absolutely no fault of my own. I would also like the bank to write a letter to the landlord to have this delinquency removed from our rental record. Rent is due in 3 days.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/07) */ Member responded to by mail on 8/7/2014. Matter considered resolved.

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I Purchased the car in january I had full coverage insurance at purchase, the bank is making false claims that I never provided that information. I had switched company's and for about 6 weeks I didn't have comprehensive/ colision for that short window of time, so USA tacked on 6,140.00 on my loan over 84 months, they said over 2,000 of that is for the 6 weeks of having insurance but not com/collison when I spoke to the insurance manager she was snarky and rude and told me they can charge whatever they want for the 6 weeks of not having com/colision I wanted to dispute this so requested the paper work I signed that said I agreed to allow them to charge over 2k for insurance that cost less than $200.00 they said I would be charged for an e-mail of documents. They are all around trying to rip me off I am refusing to pay on this loan until the charges are corrected, The manager there is an old rude snotty outrageous. No were on the planet does com/collision cost over 2,000 for 6 weeks it should be 200.00 at BEST!

Desired Settlement: The fraudulent charges to be removed and a FREE electrontic copy of the legal paper work that states I agreed to allow them to add insane charges to my loan.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/23) */ A response is being drafted, to be mailed to the member the week of 5/26. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) What they are doing is not legal, I intend to continue to fight this, I didn't want to use them I told the dealership I wanted to use my credit union NOT USA AK I would never recommend them to anyone. Final Business Response /* (1010, 11, 2014/06/17) */ Member has been responded to by mail, Friday, May 30.

6/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called them to get a pay off amount on my 2011 kxf250 motocross dirt bike it was way more then I expected. So I talked to them to figure out why it was so much more then it should be. They told me that they are charging me for insurance on the dirt bike. I told them I have had insurance on it since 11/16/11.They told me I had to pay for the insurance from the time I bought it on 05/22/11 until I had it insured on 11/16/11. I said it shows that you are charging me $1478.00 for six months of insurance. She said we charged that but then in 11/11 we credited you back $759.00 when you showed you had insurance. I said so I'm still paying $719.00 for six months of insurance on a dirt bike. They told me yes that is what they charge. I said how is that possible when I pay $75.00 a year to have insurance on it.$719.00 for insurance on a dirt bike for six months is a awful lot. With them adding this it leaves a late payment on my account every month since 11/11 and so I have been paying late fees and it has caused my finance percent to go up. Product_Or_Service: 2011 kx250f moto cross dirtbike Account_Number: XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like this matter settled and the right amount I owe adjusted.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/11) */ Business has recevied complaint and is preparing response.

6/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 1965 classic Chevy Impala SS in 2007 for roughly 19k-$20k... I asked the owner if the numbers matched, he said yes. I also asked the loan officer to make sure they did too. She said yes. To make a long story short, I found out that the numbers didn't match and I was lied to. I had it detailed, and put it on a showroom floor in Bend,Oregon. It didn't sell. I let them re-po the vehicle. I wasn't told that it was going to auction, which by LAW I am suppose to be notified. I found out after the auction that it was sold for $16,000.00. I was then served papers in Oregon to go to court, it was dismissed. I called the attorney, she said the suit was dropped. WELL, they forgot to tell me that there was a suit in Skagit County Washington. I found out that there is a lien on my property of like $28000.00. ? For WHAT? I had that car in mint condition, and was NEVER served papers! I called the company that "supposedly served me"... He said that they could've left the papers with neighbors etc. I live alone and NEVER WAS SERVED! I'm contacting the attorney general regarding this. This has COMPLETELY RUINED MY OVERLY OERFECT credit. I'm going to pursue this until I feel like justice is served. I am BEYOND aggitated and am also contacting our Seattle ****** investigators to help me with this. Everytime I have tried to talk to someone with Alaska, I get a case of the "I don't know" and the run arounds. Very bad, shady business. That loan officer CONFIRMED that the numbers matched... And I have two witnesses that heard her confirm to me that.

Desired Settlement: I want this dropped and compensated for my anxiety, and the loss of my credit after this fiasco.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/06) */ Business is preparing response letter.

5/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband is the account holder of the account. I contacted Alaska USA in order to set up a payment plan to catch up on the account. My husband is currently away at BCT and is unable to take care of these things himself. I have an active POA for him and have the legal ability to take care of these things for him. Alaska USA refused to set up a payment plan and stated even if a payment was made they would be reporting all issues to the credit agency. They said I have to come down to the branch, even though I live in Ohio and am unable to do so to bring them a copy of the POA and until then they would no longer speak to me. As of right now the account is past due and I cannot speak to anyone. This is by far the worst finance company I have ever had!

Desired Settlement: Looking to have someone contact me to set up a payment plan to catch up the account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/05/08) */ Business has received the complaint and has contacted member's Power Of Attorney for additional information needed to research and respond.

5/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5 April 2014, Alaska USA closed my checking account without any notice. I was informed today (29 April 2014) that this is the normal policy after 91 days of in-activity. It seems that a simple phone call, letter, or an email would be warranted to inform a member that an account will be closed. This simple communication could avoid customers writing bad checks since they no longer have a valid checking account.

Desired Settlement: Provide a letter / email / phone call to the member to inform them their checking account is no longer valid.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/06) */ Alaska USA contacted Mr. ****** via e-mail on May 6, 2014. As occurred in Mr. ******'s case, credit union members are notified of checking share closures on their monthly account statements. Mr. ******'s recommendation to provide additional notification to members when a checking share is closed due to inactivity will be presented to the Operations Executive Committee for consideration.

5/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 24, 2014, three unauthorized, fraudulent checks were drawn against my checking account. Check **** was for $340.32, check **** was for $66.10, and check ***** was for $538.25. All three checks total $944.67. I did not authorize any of these checks. I did not sign any of these checks. These unauthorized, fraudulent checks caused my account to become negative. Furthermore, the checks caused $60 of overdraft charges to accrue against my already negative account. I now have a negative balance of over $1,000 due to fraudulent checks I did not authorize and overdraft charges. On April 25, 2014, the day the checks posted to my checking account, I called Alaska USA's customer service telephone number and reported the unauthorized, fraudulent checks, demanding they be immediately reversed. On April 29, 2014, after calling Alaska USA, I was told the checks would not be reversed. My complaints are: (1) Alaska USA Federal Credit Union processed three unauthorized, fraudulent checks that I did not sign, and charged me three overdraft charges, all of which have caused me substantial financial harm. (2) Alaska USA Federal Credit Union extended me checking account credit that I did not request or authorize, which allowed the fraudulent checks to be processed, and which has now lead to a substantial negative checking account balance, causing me substantial financial harm. Had Alaska USA never extended me this credit, the fraudulent checks would have bounced, and I would not have nearly the problem I currently have. What is the use of this credit union if they will pay out checks I did not write, sign, or authorize? They were tasked with protecting my money, and they failed miserably. They also gave me creditsomething I never asked for or wantedwhich has turned out to be quite harmful. This credit union should be ashamed of its despicable behavior.

Desired Settlement: I demand that Alaska USA Federal Credit Union: (1) Reverse check numbers ******************; (2) Credit my checking account the amount of the three checks--$944.67; (3) Credit my checking account each of the three overdraft charges--$60.00; and (4) DO NOT process any financial transactions in the future when there are no funds to cover the transaction! In other words, I do NOT want any credit from Alaska USA that I have not requested!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/06) */ Alaska USA contacted Mr. **** on May 1, 2014, and resolved this complaint to his satisfaction.

5/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I entered into Active Military Service on 01/10/2014. I asked Alaska USA to apply the SCRA benefits to my accounts. They have refused to do so multiple times. I sent them a copy of my orders showing I was commissioned in January.

Desired Settlement: I want all my accounts to reflect all protections under the SCRA.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/11) */ Under Executive Review. Response Pending. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They are still refusing to abide by the SCRA laws. I am seeking a legal resolution at this point. I'm not sure why Alaska is treating a Military member like trash. Final Business Response /* (4000, 20, 2014/04/22) */ The response was mailed to the member on 4/4. Member's rebuttal was submitted before they would have received that written correspondence. This matter is considered closed. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/03/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Alaska USA, keeps stringing this situation along. I sent them my DD-214 to show I was discharged from the service and then showed them my new orders once I reentered the military. It wasn't a reenlistment, rather a discharge and then a new service began. I was active went inactive and now active again. This is the only financial institution that is giving me a hard time.

5/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a car for my son in 2008 he then soon lost his job and we contacted Alaska about deferring a payment and dividing the payments into smaller amount without being penalized. The customer rep we talked to agreed it will be done and we will not be charged any late fees.. Three weeks ago we contacted customer service from a store branch and Alaska credit union rep we talked to confirmed that all late fees will be removed and that was originally agreed upon. 1 hour later after talking to the rep another person from Alaska called us asking where are the payments for the car and we need to get caught up on the late fees. We told them we just talked to them an hour ago and they say they don't have any record of it.. and that's the problem They are making agreements and not staying with the agreement and documenting it in their system.. Product_Or_Service: car purchase Account_Number: XXXXXXX***

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want all late fees removed as was discussed and agreed upon from 2009... the vehicle is supposed to being paid off this year... quit threating us about repossession and the harassing phone calls 3-5 times a day.........

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/02) */ Alaska USA Federal Credit Union is in receipt of the complaint and has begun research.

3/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a checking and savings, as well as a Credit Card with Alaska. After being out of work, both my husband and I, we were forced to enter credit consolidation. Because of that, Alaska USA "shut down" my checking account, did not let me access the cash I had, but still accepted my paycheck on direct deposit from my employer. They did not allow access to MY income, but accepted it as if they had the right to it.

Desired Settlement: I would like this business to practice ethically and not steal from their customers.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/30) */ Response letter in progress. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/02/24) */ Dear *** **************: Re: Better Business Bureau Complaint Case XXXXXX OS I have received a copy of your posted complaint dated January 21, 2014, to the Better Business Bureau (BBB) regarding access to available funds in your checking account ending in ********** Contrary to the statement in your complaint, I have confirmed that your checking account is open and active, and access to your funds has not been restricted or denied at any time. Moreover, I discovered that your account was also overdrawn from September 23, 2013, to October 21, 2013, for -$535.09. On October 1, 2013, you made a deposit in the amount of $330.00, which did not fully satisfy the overdrawn balance. On November 1, 2013, you made an additional deposit of $1,041.77, which then brought your account to a positive balance. Unfortunately, on November 12, 2013, your account was overdrawn again in the amount of -$16.79 with a deposit made on November 15, 2013, bringing your account to a positive balance. Yet again, on December 7, 2013 through December 11, 2013, your account was overdrawn in the amount of-$78.61 followed by a deposit on December 13, 2013, bringing your account to a positive balance. Then, on January 24, 2014, you withdrew all remaining funds in your account, which subsequently overdrew your account on January 28, 2014, in the amount of-$40.00. A deposit received on February 6,2013, returned your account to a positive balance. In order to maintain a Visa Check Card (VCC) with the credit union, your account must remain in good standing or access to your account will be limited to deposits and checks only. Your VCC privileges may be restored once your account is current, as stipulated in your Debit Cardholder Agreement under section three (3) (enclosed and highlighted for ease of reference). Upon further review of your account relationships, your Visa Credit Card for account ending ********* was closed on January 17, 2014, with an outstanding balance of $4,635.47. The last payment received towards your Visa obligation was September 20, 2013, in the amount of $200.00. In order to bring your Visa account current, a payment of $638.00 is required.

1/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I got behind in my payments because I was moving a bunch. Alaska USA said they tried to contact me a whole bunch which is not true. I got a couple calls but they would call me at 8pm (Pacific) time when I was at work so I could never talk to them. When I contacted them they treated me like a criminal. They made allegations of not being able to afford my car. They also instead of trying to help the first girl hung up on me after I had had enough of her accusing me of not being able to pay. I then called back again and talked to a supervisor which said that my car was in the repossesion process and that i had to pay right away and my car would not be repossessed. I paid right away. I paid the next month. This month my car was towed. I then called them again. And the same type of thing happened. They said it wasn't them according to their records and that was I sure i didn't do something illegal and have someone else wanting to take my car and that they couldn't do anything until Tuesday. (its Saturday 10/12/2013) I then called my local police department and they told me who tow'd it and it was a company sub contracted by Alaska USA. I called Alaska USA again and told them who it was and now they say they have a call into that company and they will get back to me. I've made the payment current and paid for the last two months straight on the account. I have a job that I need my car for. I work as a bartender and can't lose the job. I don't have my car for work. Alaska USA has treated me like a criminal through multiple phases of the process. I have done nothing but to try to solve the problem and give them the money they wanted from me. My car got taken because of their negligence and now I'm in jepordy of losing my job. I just got my car back and the tow company told me that it was the banks negligence and that I never should have had my car repossessesed.

Desired Settlement: I want the time, loss of car, and emotional distress compensated. I believe that they should be heavily fined or even pay my car off and I should have nothing to do with them ever again. They should have to financially suffer for taking making my last two months a living **** by their lack of due diligence. Maybe that way next time when someone catches up on their bills they won't treat them like a criminal and Actually do their jobs correctly. It had been two full months after I made the payment current that I had my car taken.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 8, 2013/11/04) */ November 4, 2013 ****************** ***************** College Place, WA 99325-1375 Dear **********: Re: Better Business Bureau Complaint Case ******** Account *********** I am responding to your complaint addressed to the Better Business Bureau concerning your vehicle being inappropriately repossessed. My review of the credit union's records found you paid $2,350 on August 26, 2013, completing your loan payments for April 2013, through August 2013, in order to avoid repossession of your vehicle. After that payment, records show a credit union employee inadvertently failed to cancel the repossession order, which was previously requested by the credit union on July 1, 2013. As a result, your vehicle was inappropriately repossessed on October 12, 2013, at 10:00 a.m. Upon confirming our error, the credit union returned the vehicle to you the same day at 1:00 p.m. No costs or fees were assessed to you by the credit union because of this error. We apologize for any inconvenience this circumstance caused you. In response to your request for compensation, the credit union will certainly reimburse any out-of-pocket expenses for transportation and lost wages resulting from the credit union error. Please forward your receipt(s) showing your expenses during the time you were without the use of the vehicle. For reimbursement of lost wages, please forward your most recent wage earnings statement and a statement from your employer on business letterhead documenting the time you were unable to work on October 12, 2013. Upon receipt of the above and the credit union's verification of the amount you are requesting, I will authorize the payment to be forwarded to you. If you have any questions or wish to discuss this matter further, please contact me by telephone toll free at **************, extension ****, 10:00 p.m. Pacific Time, Monday through Friday. Sincerely, ************* Special Credits Operations Manager

11/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We started the car payments in June, a full month before the payments actually began. Alaska USA said that we were late for our September payment. My wife pays the bill every month on time so we can stay ahead of the payment. Alaska USA has "lost" the most recent payment. We have withdrawals from our **** bank to prove this, as well as the receipts she has from each month. Alaska USA cannot seem to find this lost payment and we are not going to pay twice. Since they seem to have not been counting our first payment, they have actually lost two payments.

Desired Settlement: For them to show that the loan has been paid every month in advance, and to correct all errors they have made in their book keeping. We don't care that they lose their own money, but we demand them to search their records and find or fix our payments.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/11/04) */ We have been in contact with ***** **** at the BBB and she is aware that we are drafting a letter to this member. When that is complete, we will upload a copy to the BBB.

10/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I opened a loan with Alaska USA in May 2005, while staioned in Juneau, AK. for a recreational boat. The original amount was $16,900 with monthly payments of $228 for a term of 96 months. We made all payments at $229 for the entire term with only 1 late payment due to transfer to Michigan which caused some issue. The bank will not provide us with bank statements and have never updated their data base with our correct information. This loan was to be closed JUN 2013. However, after pulling a credit report and contacting the bank, they had an outstanding amoutn of $1400. They are trying to have me pay another 6 months on a loan that was for 96 months and not only paid monthly, but my spouse paid $1.00 over every month. I have the credit report showing all 96 months paid (OK) with the one late payment...

Desired Settlement: I want this loan closed - paid in full! and i want the last payment not due to the business credited back @$229.00.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/07/16) */ July 16, 2013 ************** *************** Sault Sainte Marie, MI 49783 Dear ********: Re: Better Business Bureau Complaint I am responding to your complaint addressed to the Better Business Bureau concerning your recreational boat loan with Alaska USA Federal Credit Union (credit union). You state that all loan payments were made in a timely manner with one exception and that, although the loan should have been paid in full in June, 2013, the credit union's credit reporting shows $1,400 outstanding. You also state the credit union will not provide your loan statements. Finally, you request that the loan's credit reporting be updated and your last payment of $229 be refunded as an overpayment. In preparing to respond to your concerns, I reviewed the Promissory Note / Security Agreement for your boat loan. A highlighted copy is attached for your review and records. I also reviewed the credit union's collection notes, account history and copies of payments made on this account. My review found the credit union financed $16,900.80 for your purchase of a 2005 North River Revenge boat and trailer package on May 24, 2005. The Promissory Note shows the term of your loan (highlighted) scheduled 95 monthly payments in the amount of $228.02 beginning on July 15, 2005 and on the 15th of each month thereafter with one final payment of $226.95 on June, 15, 2013. In the Payment Schedule section (highlighted), you promised to repay the loan according to that established payment schedule. In the Payment Allocation section (highlighted) you were notified that payments would be applied in the following order: first, to any late payments fees due, then unpaid interest accrual and finally to any unpaid principal balance. A description of interest calculation for this simple interest loan is enclosed with this letter. My review of credit union payment records reflected in your Account Statements from May 2005 through June 2013 found that although your 96 loan payments were received, 74 of the payments were received days past the due date, and six payments were received 30-59 days delinquent. As a result, there were smaller reductions in the principal balance than if the payments had been made on time, and you have a principal balance of $1,072.59 as of this date yet owing. There is no overpayment to be refunded. Credit union records include a response (copy enclosed) to a January 2009 credit reporting dispute that confirmed the reported status of your loan at that time to be accurate. In that response you were also offered access to copies of your statements through the Member Service Center, if you had not retained your originals. We are including copies of all your loan statements, for ease of reference. ************** In accordance with the requirements of the Fair Credit Reporting Act and the Fair and Accurate Credit Transaction Act of 2003, it is the credit union's policy to report to credit reporting agencies only information the credit union reasonably believes to be accurate. In this particular case, we believe your indebtedness is accurately reported, and no change is required. If you have any questions concerning my response or wish to provide new information, please contact me toll at **************, extension ****, Monday through Friday 9:00 am. to 5:30 p.m. Alaska Time. Sincerely, ***************** Special Credits Operation Manager Enclosures: Promissory Note Loan Interest Computation Method Dispute Response 2009 Account Statements cc: Better Business Bureau Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 21, 2013/09/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The bank states that 80 payments were made late, however, only 1 late payment shows on my credit history. Again, since we were not receiving statements monthly or quarterly, I relied on my credit history to ensure everythign remained as is... No one with $$$ of money in their savings and checking account would allow 80 payments to be processed last just to pay a higher balance! Very Bad Business techniques! Final Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2013/09/26) */ This is response to********'s reubbtal submitted 9/26/2013 September 26, 2013 ************** *************** Sault Sainte Marie, MI 49783 *************: Re: Better Business Bureau Complaint I am writing in response to your complaints in July and August of this year filed with the Better Business Bureau. The credit union responded to your original complaint on July 16, 2013. In that response (copy enclosed) the credit union explained the reason for the additional amount owed on your loan. To add to that response, your Promissory Note also states, "Your finance charge will be less if you make an early payment, more if your payments are late." As noted in the July 16 letter, 80 of your payments were made 15 or more days past the due date, causing the principal balance of the loan to decrease more slowly than if all payments had been made on time. In regard to your comments about statements, I reviewed the addresses you supplied to the credit union for mailing monthly Account Statements. At the time of your loan origination in 2005, you directed the credit union to mail Account Statements to ****************, Juneau, Alaska. You changed your account address in March 2007, to ************** Sidney, Ohio, and the credit union mailed your Account Statements, as requested, to the Ohio address until you changed your address in June this year. Credit union records do not reflect any other requests for changes to your mailing address. You were provided with copies of all your statements with the July 16, 2013, letter. In conclusion, my review of the records found the credit union did not contribute in any way to your late payments or to the resulting additional finance charges on your loan. If you have any additional questions, please contact me at ************** or toll free at **************, extension ****, Monday through Friday 9:00 pm. Alaska Time. Sincerely, ************* Vice President, Special Credits Enclosure: July 16 response letter cc: Better Business Bureau (Letter only)

9/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I keep getting unethical responses from the customer service agents at Alaska USA. there are too many gray areas for me to be able to keep up with what is legal and what is not. I have been told that "the computer decides if it will courtesy pay a check for a member" and there have been times that I've deposited into their ATM and been able to withdraw a portion of my funds while I wait for the full amount to be released. Tonight I deposited a check, a reimbursement check from my doctor, in the amount of $286.80 and expected to be able to withdraw at least $100 of that money so that I could buy groceries for my children, as this was the only funds I have access to until June 12th. I deposited it, and zero of the funds were available. their customer service agents all had different stories, one told me the funds would be available in 48 hours *********** and one told me two business days which actually means 5 days from now, because they aren't referring to their open days of business, but the federal reserve days of business. I requested that the check be removed from the ATM and she said that they don't have access to their own ATM. My funds have essentially been stolen by my own financial institution. Their shared disclosure statement says in one business day, however nowhere on the ATM does it say that funds deposited into the ATM after business on that day are not considered deposited until the next business day, deeming that the first day, and Saturday and Sunday are not included in this. I know they've released funds in the past to others and are choosing not to release me any of my funds.

Desired Settlement: All I want is everyone to receive the same treatment and service and I want my funds to me ASAP. I also want to be encouraged to keep my accounts there or I plan on suing with my union trust legal fund for pain and suffering for the embarrassment caused by begging for my own funds in front of people at ********** in Juneau and for allowing my children no access to the money they need for food and gasoline to get to work. absolutely deplorable business practices.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/21) */ Responsed with member via telephone 6/19. Issue resolved. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2013/07/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They still haven't corrected the atm mishap; so if someone else were to deposit a check into said ATM, they may be out all their funds for a long period of time and have to suffer the embarrassment I did. there should be an sign on the ATM saying that they don't have access to the atm and that deposits can take up to seven business days. it's very misleading. Final Business Response /* (1000, 40, 2013/08/28) */ Dear ** ******: Re: Case#*****-******* ****** * ****, Chairman of Alaska USA's Supervisory Committee, has asked me to respond to your correspondence, a copy of which was forwarded to us by the National Credit Union Administration on June 26, 2013. In your letter, as with your previous Better Business Bureau (BBB) complaint on this issue which you filed on June 6, 2013, you expressed concern regarding the availability of funds deposited to your account. As we previously discussed via telephone on June 19, 2013, I have reviewed our records concerning this matter and confirmed Alaska USA fully complied with Regulation CC, the law governing hold periods which financial institutions are permitted to apply to deposits. Below is an excerpt from the credit union's Regulation CC Expedited Funds Availability Disclosure, a copy of which is included for your reference. "Availability of deposited funds may be delayed. In some cases, all of the funds that are deposited by check may not be available on the day of the deposit. Depending on the type of check and the dollar amount of the check(s), funds may be unavailable for up to two (2) business days after the day of deposit. If held, the first $200 of a deposit becomes available on the first business day after the deposit is made...Availability of funds deposited at an automated tell machine (ATM) will be automatically delayed for one business day, and deposited funds may be held longer, once the deposited item(s) are reviewed." After carefully reviewing your account, it is apparent that the hold periods applied to your deposits were consistent with federal regulations. Additionally, the required disclosure was displayed on the ATM screen prior to processing your deposit. When we spoke on June 19, 2013, you conveyed to me that your primary concern was the lack of assistance you received from the Member Service Center (MSC) after your ATM deposit was processed. Following our call, I spoke with the responsible executive to relay your concerns. Since that time, a procedural change was implemented that will permit designated MSC staff to review the deposited items and the member's account relationship and, on a case-by-case basis, release a portion of funds placed on hold (thereby waiving the credit union's rights under Regulation CC). This change is not intended to create an expectation that ATM deposits will not be placed on hold; rather it is to prevent member hardship. I apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you. At this time I believe I have addressed your concerns and consider this matter resolved. If you have any further questions, I can be reached at ************, Monday through Friday from 9:00am to 5:30pm, Alaska Standard Time. Sincerely, ******** ****** Vice President, Operations ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

9/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 8-5-13 I went to my local Victorville Ca branch( ***** ******** ***** and I first tried the walkup ATM( supposedly a Smart ATM), which wouldn't take a deposit. I then went around to the drive up ATM and at 7:02 a.m. Pac time, I made a cash deposit( trans # ***** of $ 200.00 into my checking account. Later that day, I called the customer service number to check on the deposit. He told me the deposit showed in my account, but that it was on hold till approx. Wed 8-7-13. I asked him why would a cash deposit be on hold. He said that was their normal procedure. I asked again and he said the same thing and that there wasn't anything he could do. He also said, that because the deposit was on hold, if a check came in, the funds wouldn't be available. I then asked to be transferred to the local branch. The woman there at the branch told me that the staff there, doesn't empty the machine, but that a company does it for them, verifies the transactions, then notifies the credit union. I believe at this time, she told me that the company wouldn't be out till Wed 8-7-13 to empty the machine. I told her that wouldn't do me any good, since I have a check coming in, that I know the company already has, but I don't know when it will be processed thru the bank. A short while later, I called back to the Customer Service center and spoke to ******* and re-explained what had happened and then added the importance of why I needed those funds released. The check in question, was for medical coverage for myself, me wife and my son. This check was the first payment for a new company, of which I didn't want it returned for no funds and delay my enrollment and/or me being charged a fee for the returned check by either the medical company or the credit union. She put me on hold to speak to her supervisor and then came back and repeated some of what she had said before. I told her I didn't think it was legal for any bank to hold onto my cash deposit for that long. I then asked to speak to her supervisor of which she transferred me over to her. A supervisor- ***** said she was already somewhat familiar with my situation, and I again explained the importance of these funds being released and the check clearing. She said she understood, but that there wasn't anything they could do. I then called the local branch again and explained the importance of the check and clearing of the funds. She then said the company comes every couple of days to empty the machine, but that it could take till Wed to verify the deposit. She said they were probably there that day, so I said they probably already have my deposit, since I doubt they got there before me at 7:00 a.m.. She said that was probably true. She said she could put in a request to have the deposit verified sooner, but by the time the request goes thru, it might be cleared already by their normal process. I asked her to put in the request anyways. It comes down to this, no matter what happened, what their policy is, a cash deposit should not be held for 2-3 days. That is my money, in my account, and I should be able to use it and not have any checks returned if the funds are there. Please look into this and get back to me at this e-mail address. **** **** account # XXXXXXX ****************@aol.com Name of Credit Union: Alaska USA Federal Credit Union **** *** XXXXXX Anchorage AK 99519-6613 XXX XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement: I want them to change their practices on cash deposits made via any of their ATMs. I want them to correct and clear these funds immediately. I don't want to be charged anything if that check gets rejected and they should pay any fee I may get charged from this medical company. This doesn't account for any delay in coverage I may experience. They should contact the medical company and explain what happened and that the funds are in the account. The money is in Alaska's hands, not mine. It should be honored if a check comes in.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/08/20) */ The member has been responded to by letter on August 20. Issue has been resolved.

8/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Not sure how to go about this but I purchased a vehicle back in September or 2011 and it was financed through AlaskaUSA Credit Union. I recently re-finance due to the processing of my $430/mo car payment. To make things easier on myself I split my payment in half and made biweekly payments of $215.00. My complainant arises from the fact that every single $215.00 payment I made; only $143 to $144 went to principle and $70 to $71 went to a processing fee which I believe is on top of the 7% interest I was already paying on my loan. I had set my payments up so they would come out automatically and just left it at that. After a year I check to see my balance when I realized what was happening. I tried to re-finace but was not able to at that time due to credit problems. I was finally able to re-finace through ******** to get away from this, what I feel, is extremely unfair practice. According to AlaskaUSA records I made 20 payments and 1/3 of what I payed toward my car payment went to processing fees.

Desired Settlement: If this practice is out of the business normal or far more extreme then what should be charged, then I would like to recoup all the processing fees that were taken out for each of the 20 payments that I made to AlaskaUSA Credit Union.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1010, 9, 2013/07/24) */ We responded to the member on June 19th, 2013.

5/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For multiple months I have tried to have statements regarding my payments owed. I.E. account number, amount, balance etc. AT drive thru and at inside teller window I was told They don't know wheat account to apply my payment to. AFter speaking with branch manager, assistant branch manager, person on phone (title unknown) and an E-mail to the supervisor of special credits I have yet to be contacted about my account after multiple attempts. I don't even get a statement.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be contacted to resolve there lack of customer service. and resolve the issues I have with them.

Business Response: May 10, **** Mr. **** L. ***** ************************ Anchorage, AK 99515 Dear Mr. *****: Re: Better Business Bureau and National Credit Union Administration Complaints I have been asked to respond to your complaints filed with both the Better Business Bureau on April 29, ****, and National Credit Union Administration on May 7, ****. In the complaints, you stated payments made to your account were inappropriately applied by Alaska USA Federal Union (credit union), and that you have not received regular statements from the credit union. In preparing to respond to your concerns, I reviewed your account transaction history concerning the credit union's application of your monthly payments. I have enclosed a payment account history for 2012 and **** for your review. My review of the account records found that your account was in a delinquent status and was subsequently charged off in April2012. A repayment plan was negotiated with you on October 30, 2012, for payments of $200 monthly. In recognition of your commitment to make those payments, the credit union agreed to reduce the interest rate on your obligation from 10.5% to 3.75% until the original charged off balance of $12,795.77 is paid in full. On November 19, 2012, you completed the first loan payment of $200, which was correctly applied to your account. Additional payments of $200 were applied on December 24, 2012; January 19, ****; February 16, ****; March 28, ****; and May 8, ****, which advanced your next payment of $200 now due for May 28, ****. I have verified that all payments have been correctly applied to your account. Your current balance is- I also reviewed the e-mail that you sent to Justin Husson March 24, ****, in which you requested your account number be added to future correspondence to avoid any confusion our branch employees might have in posting your monthly payments. For the protection of our membership and for privacy and security reasons, the credit union does not include a full Visa account number on correspondence. We have, however, updated your credit union account-with specific posting instructions for all future payments made at our branch locations directing payment to your charged-off Visa credit card obligation. If it is more convenient for you, payments could be made via ACH transfers from your account at another fmancial institution. I have enclosed an Automatic Payment Authorization form that you can complete and return to me for processing. This authorization would direct automatic withdrawal of payments from another financial institution each month and automatic posting to your obligation with the credit union. Alternatively, you could make your monthly payments at any Alaska USA branch by deposit to your SIO Share Savings Account. With your written authorization, future payments could then be applied to your monthly obligation by transfer directly from your savings account. P.O. Box ****** • Anchorage, Alaska 99519-6613 Phone (907) 563-**** • (800) 525-**** outside Anchorage • (800) 742-**** TTY/Hearing Impaired • www.alaskausa.org Mr. **** L. ***** -2- May 10,**** While my research confirmed that payments are being applied to your account correctly, I found indications that our employees did not respond adequately to your requests for confirmation of the payments received. The credit union does not mail monthly statements on charged-off obligations. However, each time a payment is made on your account, a letter should be sent within five (5) business days acknowledging the payment and providing remaining balance information. Due to inappropriate delays, not all of your letters were sent in a timely manner, and I apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you. We appreciate you calling the matter to our attention, and we have taken measures to resolve servicing shortcomings on your account. I have also authorized a thirty- (30) day loan payment extension for your May **** loan payment and as of April28, ****, waived the interest accrual for thirty (30) days. Your next payment of$200 will be due on June 28,****. If you have other concerns in the future, or if you have any questions concerning my response to your complaint, please contact me directly by telephone at (907) 646-**** or toll free outside Anchorage at (800) 992-****, extension ****, Monday through Friday, 9:00a.m. to 5:30p.m. Alaska Time.

4/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
3/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
1/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/14/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
11/26/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
9/17/2012 Billing/Collection Issues