This business is not BBB accredited.

Arctic Restoration

Fax: (907) 770-3982 View Additional Phone Numbers 3705 Arctic Blvd # 2910, Anchorage, AK 99503 ! There is an alert on Arctic Restoration !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers general construction and remodeling services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Arctic Restoration
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 08, 2013 Business started: 11/01/2009 Business started locally: 11/01/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Division of Corporations Business & Professional Licensing
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us/occ
Phone Number: (907) 465-2534
don.habeger@alaska.gov
BBB confirmed that the license from Alaska Division of Corporations Business & Professional Licensing expired. BBB confirmed that Arctic Restoration had not obtained a necessary license from Alaska Division of Corporations Business & Professional Licensing.

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us
Phone Number: (907) 269-5200

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Richard Fearnside, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Fearnside, Owner
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Remodeling Services Fire & Water Damage Restoration Fire Damage Restoration Water Damage Restoration Contractor - Commercial Contractors - Flooring Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Drywall Contractors Painting Contractors

Hours of Operation
Monday through Friday
9:00am - 5:00pm

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3705 Arctic Blvd # 2910

    Anchorage, AK 99503 (907) 762-6443 (800) 651-8893

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contractor hired to install steam unit in newly constructed home. Started project, collected over
$3k and tore out the tub and made holes in the floor and stopped. Many excuses but no labor.
Called many times but does not respond. His new "partner" called to say he would finish it. Went to
site to evaluate and left saying it was too big a mess to fix. Now unfinished bathroom is just
sitting there with no one doing anything. I need to bring in another contractor to clean up the
mess.

Desired Settlement: Submit receipts for items purchased against initial deposit. Refund balance. remove tools from site
for another qualified contractor to finish the job. Pay for any damages to site that they have
caused.

12/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hired this company to do some home improvement/remodel work. What should have taken two weeks took almost two months in the end, with the bulk taking a little more than a month. Every step of the way required follow-up requests for doing projects correctly, only to still have them left with unfinished aspects. Finally, this contractor incorrectly reinstalled a toilet with a large gap in the seal and to leaked for six weeks before we realized it, damaging the ceilings below in three rooms. After arguing with us when we paid this contractor in full, and because he made such an irresponsible error when was supposed to be a professional, we took care of the repairs without him. Also, we discovered that when he was working on our home, he was unlicensed, He told us, and he told the realtor who referred him to us, that he was licensed and bonded. However, after allowing his license to lapse (which was Not for plumbing), no bonding company would have paid up because he was out of compliance. It is illegal to do contracting work without the proper licenses.

Desired Settlement: We wrote to both this contractor and the referring real estate agent and told them about the bad leak and that we regretted paying the contractor in full. The realtor contacted us and he communicated with the contractor about our wanting a partial refund. The contractor ignored our initial communication to him entirely. We expected an offer of a partial refund, but we've not been contacted by the contractor, nor the referring realtor since I informed the realtor of my discovering his contractor was working on our home, and caused damage, while he was unlicensed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/07) */ We were hired by the ********'s to do some repair and remodel work for them. At the time of the original contract I had explained to them that the project would take approximately 2 to 2 1/2 weeks to complete. One week into the project Mrs. ******** got sick. And Mr. ******** asked us to stop working for about a week or two until his wife was better. At that time I had explained to Mr. ******** that I have another job scheduled for that time frame and if we did do that we would have to put his job on a secondary type situation where we would do the regularly scheduled job first and then we would be able to work on their job for a couple hours in the evening each day and on weekends. Mr. ******** then said that would be just fine. When we returned to the ********'s to work on the project again mrs. ******** was still sick and hiding in her room. So that every time we had a question on how they wanted something done we would have to ask Mr. ******** and then he would then go into her room and ask her and then come back and report to us. This line of communication caused multiple problems. Mr. ******** was telling us to do projects one way and apparently Mrs. ******** was wanting them done a different way that we were apparently not informed about properly which caused us to have to redo a lot of projects. That was just the beginning of why it took such a long time to complete this job. Other reasons were that we would get there and start working and there was a lot of projects on the house that they were trying to do themselves so five or six times a day Mr. ******** would come in to ask our advice on another project that he was doing in the house. Every time he would stop us we would have to stop what we were doing go over there and show him how to do the project that he was doing after about 15 to 20 times this had happened to me I just started doing the small projects for him. This turned in to me doing several days worth of free projects for the ********'s which I'm not even entirely sure that Mr. ******** was telling Mrs. ******** was going on. Small projects I did for free for them are as follows. Repair the back door locking mechanism, install new door seals on the back door, fix the storm door so that it worked properly, install a door shock system on the storm door, install a new deadbolt on the front door because the other one was so large that the screen door couldn't close, Patch holes in the walls throughout the house, Fix closet shelves and hanging rods, repair kitchen cabinets that were not functioning properly, fasten the door to the boiler room to the wall because it was never installed properly, install all new trim in the bathroom and on the doors because Mr. ******** had so damaged them by trying to refinish them, change the hinges on every door in the house from brass to brush nickel, installing a shower curtain rod that was curved for Mr. ******** after he tried to figure out where it goes for over 2 1/2 hours. the list goes on and on and I'm afraid I would run out of characters before my list ended. To sum this all up this BBB complaint the first I've heard of any leak or damage it caused. My contractor license is good until 2015 that's my specialty contractors license is being transferred into a general contractors license that's the only thing in laps. And after listening to Mrs. ******** scream at the top of her lungs at me about everybody that had anything to do anything with this project and including her husband I excepted whatever payment that they gave me and walked out the door. I have been doing this type of contracting for better than half of my life and in that time I have ran into some difficult customers to deal with. In the past 4 1/2 years I have done over 1200 contracted projects and in that time this is the only BBB complaint I have ever received. I have been told that I have the patience of a saint doing with disgruntle or hard to please customers. But these customers have by far been the most difficult customers that I have ever had to deal with and try to please. The Sheridans still owe me over $580 for materials and labor. But is not worth the hassle of having to deal with them to get the remainder of what I am owed that I have just written it off. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) An employee and the tiling subcontractor canceled the first week due to illnesses. We caught the workmen's illnesses but canceled only one scheduled afternoon because of it. Mrs. *** was not "hiding" and unavailable, but was very sick. We have photos of Mr. ********* working in the bedroom doorway with Mrs. *** sick in bed. She was available and told them to get her if they had questions. For quality professionals the simple jobs were not the kind requiring constant input from clients. He is fabricating excuses. He was not on this job site very many times for more than short periods, thus his claim of continual interference is irrational. We had only one project, painting the bathroom vanity; it did not impede progress because it was not in the crew's workspace, we did it when they were not present, and it was finished when the crew said it would be reinstalled. Mr. ********* refused to provide an itemized materials and labor agreement and statement. His work agreement was unprofessional and contained wrong work, and wrong rooms on the wrong floor, requiring corrections from us twice. We have copies. The tiler corrected some tiles cut crooked and a few others misaligned. The realtor looked at them and agreed he could clearly see them. We are not responsible for that; it is between him and his subcontractor. The shower head had to be raised twice because Mr. ********* did not take notes when shown where to put it, and he did not give his employee proper instructions. We are not responsible for his poor communication with his employees. This employee spent multiple days trying to install four new faucets but was unsuccessful. We had to wait for Mr. ********* to complete the work. It took them over one month to install four faucets. Mrs. *** completed the work agreement with Mr. ********* and stated in writing that the job needed to begin a week after because Mr. *** was unavailable to help her prepare. Mr. ********* agreed in writing and said nothing about it backing him up. We have copies. He could not have told Mr. *** because Mr. *** was not even in Alaska. Mr. ********* canceled on us multiple times. Most times he did show, it was after changing his arrival time, sometimes multiple times. We have the text messages. Also, we almost always had to call or message him to find out when and if anyone was coming. It is impossible for us to owe Mr. ********* $580.00 for materials because we purchased almost all of the materials ourselves, provided some materials the contract assigned to him, and paid him $4185.00 for a $4160.00 agreement. Until he produces an itemized list of materials and labor that reliably supports his claim, Mr. ********* is merely slandering us. Mr. ********* incorrectly reinstalled our toilet. We have witnesses and the seal ring he used. The toilet leaked for two months before we discovered the water damage in three rooms below us. On May 1, 2014, we sent an email letter and photos of the damage to both Mr. ********* and the realtor. Mr. ********* did receive it because the realtor told us he discussed it with him. We never heard from Mr. *********. Alaska's list of licensed contractors shows no record of Mr. ********* possessing a current contractor's license, nor an active business license. His only specialty license was for flooring and it expired in Dec 2013. He has no general contractor's license. If he has any license at all, he needs to produce it. We have copies of Alaska's records of his two expired in 2005 and 2013 licenses and inactive business license. Regarding claims of free labor: "Repair the back door locking mechanism" - False. There were no problems with the backdoors' locks so we did not request a repair. "install new door seals on the back door" - False. Mr. ********* was asked if we needed to replace the seal all around the door when we fixed the bottom. He answered the question. He did not replace the seal. "fix the storm door so that it work" - False. Neither storm door was broken. "install a door shock system on the storm door" - Mr. ********* installed an adjustable hold-open pneumatic screen door closer. We credited it to him in the final payment. "install a new deadbolt on the front door because the other one was so large that the screen door couldn't close" - Partially correct; not free. The problem was not that the screen door couldn't close. We did ask him to change the lock. We purchased the lock, and credited the labor to him in the final payment. "Patch holes in the walls throughout the house," - False. He absolutely did not patch holes throughout the house. He patched holes in one closet he contracted to redo. After removing shelves, he left all the ugly hardware in the wall. As with every task he did for us, I had to ask him to go back and finish what he'd contracted to do so he removed the hardware and slapped the patching over the holes. We sanded and painted them. *** ********* patched no other holes. "Fix closet shelves and hanging rods" - Dishonest. Fixing the closets was in the contract agreement. We had to keep asking Mr. ********* to go back because he left ugly hardware in the walls of one closet, and installed the rods crooked in the other two closets. We installed a shelf ourselves because he forgot to. Another closet he did so poorly, we purchased the materials and fixed it ourselves. Materials he was to provide, we provided. "Repair kitchen cabinets that were not functioning properly" - False. Asked about a kitchen drawer that does not close correctly, he looked at it but he did not fix it. Mr. ********* repaired no kitchen cabinets. "fasten the door to the boiler room to the wall because it was never installed properly" - Dishonest. The contract included squaring all crooked interior doors. However, Mr. ********* squared only one of our interior doors, despite my repeated requests asking him to square all of them. Except for the one, all he did was adjust them a little so they were opening and closing better. They were not properly "squared" so two of them already do not open and close properly. "install all new trim in the bathroom and on the doors because Mr. *** had so damaged them by trying to refinish them" - Misleading. We replaced the trim because Mr. ********* did a sloppy job of reinstalling them and it was easier to just replace them with a better product. He did install new trim for us without charge because the realtor insisted, but Mr. ********* did not use white finishing nails made for the product, and he left the final finishing to us. He also did not finish the final work on the surround transition to the walls, leaving it for us. "change the hinges on every door in the house from brass to brush nickel" - Dishonest. This job was in the contract agreement. "installing a shower curtain rod that was curved for Mr. *** after he tried to figure out where it goes for over 2 1/2 hours."- False. Of course he reinstalled the shower rod after removing it for the shower surround remodel. We fulfilled his request to decide "exactly" where the rod would go before he arrived. Claiming 2.5 hours deciding what we'd already decided and marked on the wall is ludicrous. Further, the first workman who initially installed that same rod did not need to be told where to place it and it took him 15 minutes. Mrs. *** "screaming at the top of her lungs," - Mr. ********* was being insulting so heard her angry voice but he did not hear her at the top of her lungs. She did not blame everyone involved in the project. She blamed him; he was the general contractor. Mrs. *** paid him, told him to leave, and walked out on him, refusing to listen to anymore of his childish attempts to play us against each other or his insistence that the illnesses of his subcontractors; his new baby; his new baby's illness; his new baby's appointment for vaccinations; his brother's heart attack; his financial problems and trouble with the IRS; the numerous "meetings" requiring him to show up in the evenings or not at all; his accepting credit cards, not being able to work his credit card system, still taking credit cards, and then not accepting credit cards; his not only showing up here late time after time, but often without his materials so he had to go back out and get them; his poor communication with us and with his subcontractors; his telling us he would be available to help us purchase the materials he needed so we would know what to buy but then not being available, nor offering to follow through even one time; and finally, showing up here without the trim I'd sent him two emails about, with the confirmation and receipt attached so he could pick it up at a store near his home, were all our fault. He didn't even reply to our email 10 days earlier requesting to hear from him so we could pay him. His work history- The quality of Mr. *********'s performance for others is irrelevant. 
 Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2014/07/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) After ******* ********* did not listen to us well when we showed him the work we wanted done, and botched the estimate agreement twice (showing how poorly he listened), "communication" problems were between him and the two men he hired to work in our home. Contrary to his last response, there were only two one subcontractor and one employee (both brought a wife/girlfriend at different times, but they were not employees). Both gentlemen were very nice. Mr. *********, however, did not reliably provide his subcontractor and employee the information and/or materials they needed, which was his job as the general contractor. In fact, his lack of communication with both them and us created more expense and hassle for us, and cost them more time and effort.****** Additionally, the customer is not required to tell a contractor to ensure closet bars are straight, or how to install a faucet or shower rod, or square a door. Because he was disorganized and/or overwhelmed, Mr. ********* dropped the ball in his duties as the general contractor and then blamed his customers for his own inefficiencies and lack of time to focus on the job we paid him to do. When we wrote to him and told him about the improperly installed toilet and subsequent damage, he chose not to respond. When we filed a complaint with the BBB, Mr. ********* again blamed his customer, without even addressing the toilet and leak.******The subcontractor and employee did not do work requiring direction from us, we did not prevent them from coming to our home to work, and Mr. *** helped the employee when he was asked to; therefore, because they just do not apply, any statements of support from them for Mr. ********* are inconsequential. If they choose to be untruthful in order to ensure future employment from him, they merely put their own professional reputations at risk, and will do so without helping him for the reason I stated. That would be a shame, especially for the tiling subcontractor, because we liked him very much and were happy with his work.****** A statement from the real estate agent would be irrelevant for the following reasons: 1.) He lost the listing for our property, due largely to Mr. *********. Losing the listing would make the agent's statement suspect. 2.) Over a period of two-months, the agent was on the site with the contractor only twice; the second time the very last week. He was never present to witness what he would be making a statement about. 3.) We never had a signed contract with this agent because in more than five months he never brought a final one to us to sign; we have made no complaints against this realtor; and we have not done or said anything to damage his reputation; therefore, he has no personal experience grounds for statements to support Mr. *********'s claims. 4.) Mr. ********* appears to have been unlicensed while working on our home (leading us to question whether his employee was licensed). This compromises the agent legally for any sold properties on which Mr. ********* worked while the agent was representing the seller or buyer. His need to protect himself would make suspect any statements on behalf of Mr. *********. We do not believe the agent knew Mr. *********'s contractor's licenses were expired, and therefore do not hold him responsible. Nevertheless, regardless of possible motivations, it will damage his professional reputation if he chooses to be dishonest on behalf of Mr. *********.****** Mr. ********* would be wise to reconsider using any form of dishonesty to malign or libel his customers. ****** Mr. ********* did not directly address our challenges to any of his assertions; nor did he address the improperly installed toilet that caused damage to our ceilings below.****** Ultimately, none Mr. *********'s accusations justify or excuse his installing a toilet so improperly it had a gap all the way around the base that allowed water to flow into the ceiling below. That damage and Mr. *********'s choice to not reply to us is why this complaint was filed.****** In summary, there are two issues for which Mr. *********'s specious, unprofessional, and immature claims against us have no relevance whatsoever: 1.) An improperly installed toilet that leaked contaminated water for weeks, damaging the ceilings below. 2.) The lack of a general contractor's license, a plumber's license, or any license to legally work on our property.****** We met our responsibilities, making our home available seven days and evenings a week and paying-in-full both the contractor and the real estate agent, who fronted him money on our behalf to ensure he completed the job, all monies owed despite our dissatisfaction. In return we've received offensive terminology to avoid admitting mistakes (and that language is an indication of how impatient Mr. ********* was about having to deal with us at all to do a quality job when he had too much going on in his life); dismissing the damage to our home as "bickering;" and the assertion that it would be to "everybody's advantage" to "agree to disagree" and drop the complaint. Yes, it would be to Mr. *********'s advantage, but how does that benefit the customer with the damaged ceilings and contamination to destroy? It doesn't. Mr. ********* continues to deal with this aspect of his business unprofessionally. He is also leaning on people who need employment from him or need his availability as a contractor to risk their own professional reputations. ****** Because of Mr. *********'s refusal to maturely and professionally accept any responsibility whatsoever, not even to acknowledge the damage he caused by installing the toilet incorrectly, in addition to this BBB complaint, our next step will be filing a complaint with the state AG's office. Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2014/07/14) */ The people that were willing to come forward and give their own statements do not work for me and would not lie for me. They just wanted to put their own statement in there because they read the untruthful statements that the ********* have been posting. The customer statement is so full of untruths that I can't even bring myself to finish reading it. I have tried to explain my position every time it has been twisted and then thrown back at me full of untruthful statements. It is completely obvious to me that they are just going to keep pushing this for as long as they can and try to obtain something that I am not willing to give. At this point I have done everything that I am willing to do. So I am left with only one decision. And that is to turn this over to my lawyer. Contact me via email if you need his name and number. I'm sorry that it has come to this but I have realized in correspondence here that no matter what I do or no matter what I say it is going to be turned into fiction and twisted into something it is not. Sincerely The Contractor.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Arctic Restoration
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart