This business is not BBB accredited.

Alaska Chimney Sweep

Additional Locations

Phone: (907) 522-9959 650 N Eckert St, Palmer, AK 99645


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Alaska Chimney Sweep include:

  • Failure to respond to 3 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Alaska Chimney Sweep include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Additional Complaint Information

On May 16, 2013, BBB recognized a pattern of complaints from consumers regarding service and customer service issues. Consumers allege they hire Alaska Chimney Services and pay a deposit, but the company does not follow through with the services. Consumers further allege the company is unresponsive to requests for assistance or refunds.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Alaska Chimney Sweep
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 23, 2005 Business started: 11/20/2008 Business started locally: 11/20/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us
Phone Number: (907) 269-8110

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Cassie Jordan, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Cassie Jordan, Owner
Business Category

Chimney Cleaning

Additional Information

On May 16, 2013, BBB attempted to send mail to Alaska Chimney Sweep at 18688 Amonson Rd, Chugiak, AK 99567; however the mail was returned to BBB as undeliverable on May 31, 2013.

On May 31, 2013, BBB called the company at (907) 522-9959 and spoke with owner Cassie Jordan, who provided a mailing address of 650 N Eckert St, Palmer, AK 99645.

To ensure Alaska Chimney Sweep had an opportunity to review and respond to its complaints, on June 4, 2013, BBB resent four previously unanswered complaints to the new mailing address. However, no response was received; on November 11, 2013, the complaints again closed as unanswered.

On October 9, 2013, BBB issued a press release stating, "A Palmer-based chimney service company is accused of accepting down payments, not performing any work and ignoring requests for refunds." http://news.deltanewsweb.com/news/2013/10/09/chimney-sweep-wont-issue-refunds-leaves-customers-hearth-broken

On October 10, 2013, owner Cassie Jordan called BBB and alleged she never received the complaints in the mail. BBB confirmed the Eckert Street address is correct. Per Jordan's request, BBB resent the complaints via e-mail.

As of June 3, 2014, the company has not responded to the complaints.

Additionally, consumers have provided BBB with a copy of Alaska Chimney Sweep's contract. The only contact information on the contract is a phone number; no physical address or e-mail address is provided.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    18688 Amonson Rd

    Chugiak, AK 99567

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    650 N Eckert St

    Palmer, AK 99645

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8210 E 19th Cir

    Anchorage, AK 99504 (907) 522-9959 (907) 830-3191

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 670565

    Chugiak, AK 99567

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a home, and the Seller of the home paid the above company to come out and clean and inspect the fireplace before we moved in. We still have the receipt. So a couple weeks after we had moved in we made a fire in our fireplace, and our house filled with smoke, and alarm kept going off even though we did the correct steps on making a fire in our fireplace. I tried calling chimney sweep for a whole week, and left messages multiple times. Finally the girl that came out the first time to inspect it called me back. We talked about the problem, and she told me that her and her brother would come out on a certain day and time to re-inpect the fireplace. Before our appointment I called to confirm our appointment, but she never answered, and they never showed up. For the 2nd attempt I called and left messages, and finally on the 5th day she answered. She told me that they had came out which was a lie, because my husband, and I were home all afternoon. Then she told me she was going to call me back after an hour since she was busy which she never did. The 2nd time I talked to her was 4/26/2013. It is to bad that the seller paid money to that company to complete a job for us, and it is frustrating that we were told that the fireplace was good to go, and was perfectly fine for lighting fires.

Desired Settlement: First off if they are a ligate business they should answer the phone, and if not they should at least respond back asap mostly since I left multiple voice messages. 2nd the Seller paid them $110 to clean and inspect the fireplace, which they took with no problem. 3rd if they would have came back out to see what the problem was then at least the company would have stood behind there work. However, since we have had so much problem with them they should at least give us back the money for the job they were supposed to do. I don't think any customer should ever have to beg a company to honor there work, or give them the time of day to at least answer the phone.

11/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11/2/12 AK C S (******) came to my house to check our fireplace. They suggested that a cover be put over the top of the chimney. Since that had been recommended to me before because of water getting into the fireplace, I put $200 down for the cover. Since the winter got very cold after that, I did not call to check on the status until 4/2/13. After leaving messages for 7 days (XXX-XXXX), I requested a $200 refund. After the 4th request, ****** ****** (XXX-XXXX) called me. She said she had had to go out of State shortly after our appointment. She said they had tried to install a chimney top in Nov and it was so cold that it did not seal. She said she didn't know when she was going to return to Alaska, so it would probably be better to do the refund. She said she would have her brother send me a check when he found the checkbook. I had not gotten a check, so on 5/9/13 I started calling, having to leave a message with no return call. On 5 /23/13, I called the office number and a woman answered. I asked her for a refund. She said ****** would be in the office after 6 pm. I called the office at 6:37 pm with no answer. I continued to call and leave messages until finally on 6/10 I called ****** and asked how much it would cost to have them install the top and get this done with. No return call. On 6/11 I called the office and left the same message. No return call. The thing is that is she or her brother had called me when she had to leave the State, or when I first left a message to just check on the status, it would have been fine with me to wait until spring. I have a list of all the dates I called and left messages if you want them.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of my $200 deposit