BBB Accredited Business since

Ultimate Mattress Store

Phone: (907) 929-8600 Fax: (907) 929-8690 View Additional Phone Numbers 3104 New Seward Hwy, Anchorage, AK 99503


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the retail sale of mattresses and furniture.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ultimate Mattress Store meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ultimate Mattress Store include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ultimate Mattress Store
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 07, 2005 Business started: 12/01/2002 Business started locally: 12/01/2002 Business incorporated 03/12/1996 in AK
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us
Phone Number: (907) 269-5200

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Cavitt, President Mr. Cary Layton, Store Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Cavitt, President
Business Category

Beds - Retail Furniture - Retail Mattresses Beds - Wholesale & Manufacturers

Alternate Business Names
Furniture Enterprises Of Alaska Inc

Additional Locations

  • 3104 New Seward Hwy

    Anchorage, AK 99503 (907) 929-8600 (866) 405-8600

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Thursday, April 23, 2015,Better Business BureauOur complain with the dissatisfaction of service and the quality of the mattress concerning Ultimate Mattress, in Anchorage Alaska are not being address by the management and they are recorded chronologically.Wednesday, April 15, 2015, my wife and I, both senor citizens, tried several mattresses and after careful consideration with comfort in mind, we made the decision with the purchase on the no-interest loan with ****** ****Saturday, April 18, 2015; we had bought all accessories needed, total encasement protective cover, new sheets, pillows and pillow covers. The delivery was on time, except they did not call, like they said they would before delivering. It was very late, nearly mid-night when we went to bed and we were both very tired. Before 2am, we both awoke with discomfort from the sinking of the mattress and we could no longer sleep. I had moved the old mattress in another room and had to take it to the front room so we could sleep on the rest of the morning. The mattress we tried in the showroom, and the one delivered are not the same. We could tell immediately as we laid on it.Sunday, April19, 2015, we visited the store and we expressed our dissatisfaction with the mattresss comfort and asked for a complete refund. The store manager, Brian J*****, came out and talked with us and basically defended the product and did not address our concerns. Instead, he scheduled an inspector to come to our home at a prior time to investigate the problem.Disclosure; is another twist to the problem that Ultimate Mattress did not discuss with us before the sale. The price for the mattress was significant, $3,100.00. We are now locked in on that figure and cannot purchase a lessor value item.Tuesday, April 21, 2015, at 3:01pm we received a call from one of the sales person, Loretta, she asked if we had slept on the mattress or would we want to try it again. My response was that we did not want to experience the same discomfort again and that we were still sleeping on the old mattress in the front room.A representative, Omar, from Ultimate Mattress called 28 minutes later and said the earliest he could come to our house was April 30, to investigate the problem. Thursday, April 23, 2015, we feel like we are being stonewalled. All this waiting does not make any sense. I did mention to the sales people that my wifes back is a health condition and she desperately needs her proper rest. To this day, the new mattress was used less than two hours and it just sits there. More questions are now concerning us about the situation. 1. If Omar decides the mattress is in good condition, we get a one-time exchange for another mattress. 2. If Omar finds a defect with the mattress, then we start over with a new sale, but we are still locked in on the $3,100.00 sale. Ultimate Mattress still wants us to spent $3,100.00 on a mattress, even though if we decide on a lesser expensive mattress. The waiting game continues to exceed the 21-day for their benefit.Please call if you have any questions, thank you for your time.Sincerely, ****** ** ****** ************

Desired Settlement: We would like to shop at another store with better service so that we decide how much money we spent, and not be lock-in on our dissatisfied purchase.

Business Response:

The issue has been resolved and customer taken care of.

Thanks,

Jennifer B****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Ultimate Mattress Store
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)