BBB Accredited Business since

Re-Bath

Phone: (907) 677-8103 Fax: (907) 677-8109 6623 Brayton Dr, Anchorage, AK 99507 http://www.rebathalaska.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales and installation of bathtub liners and bathroom wall systems.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Re-Bath meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Re-Bath include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Re-Bath
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 31, 2009 Business started: 02/01/2009 Business started locally: 02/01/2009 Business incorporated 12/01/2008 in AK
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Division of Corporations Business & Professional Licensing
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us/occ
Phone Number: (907) 465-2534
don.habeger@alaska.gov

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us
Phone Number: (907) 269-8110

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Jamie Pratt, President Mr. Randy Pratt, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jamie Pratt, President
Business Category

Baths Bathroom Remodeling

Alternate Business Names
New Bath Corp

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Re-Bath has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 6623 Brayton Dr

    Anchorage, AK 99507 (907) 677-8103

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I had a scheduled appointment with Rebath back in November 2014. We had to wait until February 2015 for they was able to start the remodeled project of our bathroom. My wife informed me of a phone call Thursday 2/19/2015 stating that the project will start Monday 2/23/2015, and that we will be responsible for the electrical bill. So I call ReBath the next morning for Rebath to explain the electrical portion of the job. ReBath told me that the electrical part was for the Jacuzzi hook up, so I ask the lady on the phone, who is the company, the hourly rate, and how much extra I would have to pay, besides the $12,000.00 I am invested with ReBath. She said she could not tell me nothing except that the electrician should only take about an hour and a half to two hours to complete. That was the first time I ask and left a voice message for owner ***** to give me a call to get more information about this electrician that is coming to my house Monday morning 2/23/2015. I called several more times that same day Friday, and I never received a return phone call back Friday. I called several times Monday morning early hoping to catch him in the office, and ***** still did not return my phone call. I kept leaving messages with the administrative assistant to see if ***** could return my phone call, still no return phone call, unprofessional. The electrician is done by 2:30 pm, and hands me a bill for $707.00 for me to pay. I was still trying to get in touch with ***** from ReBath, and he still have not return my phone call. After I left another message Tuesday 2/24/2015, the ReBath guy working on the bathroom, packed up everything and said that he had to leave, I ask why, he said that was what he was told to do. Once again very unprofessional. All of this was over me trying to get the Owner ***** to return a phone call. He finally returned a phone call Tuesday afternoon when the wife mention that we were seeking a lawyer to find out why they breach the contract with the guy installing the bathroom.

Desired Settlement: The wife and I have decided that we would just like our refund of $3000.00 back, for ReBath pulling the guy off the job. We felt that that was not necessary.

Business Response: Re: ******** Bathroom Remodel

On 2/19 I (****) called Mr. ****** and reminded him of the installation starting on 2/23 at that time I also reminded him about the electrician that would be coming and that they would be billing them separately as the contract states.

On 2/23 the installer went to ******** home and started the installation process, the electrician was scheduled to show up around the same time. Later in the afternoon Mr. ****** called and said he was confused about the electrician and he didn’t know the man and how much was it going to cost. I told Mr. ****** that I couldn’t quote prices for *** ******** but I would be happy to give him their number so he could call and discuss the costs himself.  He said that wasn’t necessary the electrician had already given him a card.

Mr. ****** then said he wanted to know why he wasn’t told about the electrician beforehand. I reminded him that it was written on the contract of which he should have a copy. That I had called him a couple of weeks ago and  reminded him about it, and I had told him about it on the 19th and 20th again. He insisted that he didn’t know anything about the electrician and began to sound very confused and not understanding what I was telling him. I went through all the times that I had reminded him about the electrician and pointed out to him where he could find it on the contract. By the end of this conversation Mr. ****** wanted to talk to *****. I explained to him that ***** was in a meeting and as soon as he was done I would relay the message.

On 2/24 Mr. ****** called again and again I went through all the times that I had reminded him about the electrician. This conversation was almost identical to the previous day’s conversation and again ended with Mr.
****** wanting to speak to *****, I informed Mr. ****** that ***** would like to meet him in person to do a contract review and tried to set up an appointment for 4:30pm that afternoon. 

***** returned to the office later in the afternoon on 2/24 and with me in his office called Mr. ******. During the conversation Mr. ****** seemed to be confused and wasn’t really sure of why he was complaining. Several
times during the conversation ***** told Mr. ****** that he could by all means call another electrician and get other quotes for the work and Mr. ****** said that wasn’t necessary. It was apparent to me that Mr. ****** wasn’t really sure why he was complaining he seemed very confused during the conversation and not able to pinpoint one exact complaint. By the end of the conversation Mr. ****** said that the only solutions they wanted were for Re•Bath to pay for the electrical work or refund their money. 

According to the letter brought to Re•Bath by Mr. ****** their complaint seems to be that it took an excessive amount of time for the electrical work to be done. That complaint is between the ******** and *** ********, Re•Bath in order to save the ******** cost we did not charge “general conditions” costs which is typically 20%. All of these complaints have nothing to do with the services contracted by Re·Bath. If they intend to cancel this
contract they will forfeit the deposit plus 20% restocking fee plus “general conditions” costs.

If they would like to proceed per contract first we would need a letter of intent to proceed and their second payment of $1918.00. We would be happy to complete the installation as agreed upon in the contract signed on 11/20/14

At this point we are not seeking any extras for delay of project, we would just like the ******** to be happy with their Re•Bath bathroom system installation. 


3/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: RE-Bath Alaska - After 4 visits to redo a small standard bathroom - they still did NOT get it RIGHT. Initially, RE-Bath Alaska ordered the wrong size panels to cover the tile, had to reschedule. Once the installation was complete the tub was smaller than standard size but the $1000 sliding glass door (s-curved) fit great. Had to rescheduled to put in a new tub; they again ordered the wrong size panels to cover the tile so they bump up two inches off the back wall, to make the wrong size panels fit, moved the pluming for the shower over two inches and installed the new tub which now did not have room for the $1,000 sliding door, which are living in my shed. The owner yelled at me for having to fix all his mistakes and its still not right. Do not by (buy) into their statement "we fix it till it is Right" - that is WRONG and a lie.

Desired Settlement: Fix the bath tub space to accommodate the sliding glass doors - -

Business Response: Ms ******** bathroom was completed in 2011, she was unhappy with the size of the tub even though it is the size she signed for under her contract. Ms. ****** came to see us at trade show in tears that she didn't like the size of her tub. We replaced the tub with a very expensive wider deeper tub AT NO ADDITIONAL CHARGE, this was an upgrade to what she had signed her contract for in the first place. Re-Bath has gone above and beyond to satisfy Ms. ****** and this is the first contact we have had with her in over 4 years.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Re-Bath could not install the $1000.00 glass doors I had purchase from them because they had bumped out the back wall to accommodate the incorrect size of the side panels; they had purchased for the "guarantee satisfaction" re-do. This particular soak-er tub was not at my request (their choice); the design of the tub (the slanted back) inhibited access to the tub with the Sliding glass doors installed. The doors could not open passed the slanted back on the left side of the tub and on the right side of the tub the toilet was now too close to the tub's side to get access. All these problems were a result of bumping out the back wall because they had purchased the wrong size side panels (for the second time). Re-Bath was anxious to get the job done because I had been without a bathroom for two days. Instead of just ordering the correct panels, the owner had come for the site visit to instruct his plumber to bump out the back wall and move the plumbing over - I am guessing so they did not to have to order the correct size side panels. I tried to explain to the owner this would now inhibit access to the tub with the doors installed... he screamed and yelled at me on the telephone. I was very intimidated and of course reluctant to speak with him again. Re-bath did call me, after a while, a few months and I explained my dis-satisfaction, but the person I spoke with said they probably would not do anything and she was reluctant to share it with her boss. I thought I had no recourse, alas my letter to BBB. I understand that under my contract Re-Bath has met their obligation, but not to "guaranteed satisfaction" much to my disappointment. I have $1000.00 sliding glasses doors I am unable use, a shower fixture that is too tall (they never install the adjustable bar), a tub that is not only too close to the toilet but has a dip in it where glue was not applied under the tub sufficiently, all because the wrong side panels were installed; all things I have been living with because I thought I had no other options.
I think Re-Bath has a good product but I am not satisfied with the results of my install and disappointed in their response.

Business Response: This customer should have contacted us within 90 days of the installation of the product had there been an issue. We went above and beyond to satisfy this customer as I stated in the previous response.

4/28/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted Re-Bath to renovate our bathroom. The work was done to our general satisfaction. We also ordered a shower door. We paid in full upon placing the order. We were given a delivery/installment date. My wife took off work on that day. Nobody showed up or called. When I called and asked to talk to the manager the lady answering the phone lied to me and claimed to be the manager. I was told that the shipment came in at the exact time that it was scheduled to be installed and that they had no idea what was in the shipment until it arrived. I was not told why they hadn't called when they found out our product wasn't part of the shipment. We were not offered any compensation for the lost wages of that day. It was promised that they would call as soon as they would know when the shower door would arrive. That's the last we heard. Either they are lying to their customers or their way to handle product ordering and shipment is hopelessly unprofessional. They have several hundred dollars from us for several months without delivering. We lost money because of Re-Baths failure to be professional and/or honest.

Desired Settlement: We want our money back and cancel this order. Then we can employ somebody who will handle this professionally. We also want to be compensated for the lost wages. They should - and probably did- know in advance that the promised delivery date would not work out.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/10) */ *** ******** I am sorry we didn't call you regarding your shower door I did just check on it yesterday and they said it shipped on 3/31 from Tempe Arizona and should have been on the barge that left on the 4th of April. We had a change of staff and I didn't realize you hadn't been contacted. I do anticipate your door arriving either tomorrow or Monday it depends on how long it takes Span to unload and distribute shipments from the barge. Thank you for your understanding and we will be installing your door as soon as it arrives. Thanks, *****

2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 28, 2013 we had a ReBath representative come out to our home with samples of "tiling" for our bathroom. We picked out tiling and flooring, the job totaled $3500 and the first 1/3 of that was due that day, as we signed the contract, the second 1/3 at the time they started the job and the final 1/3 when the job was finished. We were verbally told the job would be done in 6-8 weeks which at the latest would be the weekend before Thanksgiving. We wrote a check in the amount of $1167.00 that day and the checked cleared October 8th. There was some communication by phone. 5 phone calls from them and 4 phone calls to them in total. The phone calls from October 9 - November 30 were basically "We don't have your materials and we don't know when they will be in." November 16th we were told the job was scheduled for Nov 28-Dec 28th. Upon rereading our paperwork that was stated on the contract, however, the representative did tell us the job would be done in 6-8 weeks. Dec 2, we were contacted and the job was scheduled to be done Dec 26-27th . Dec 17th, ******** called and rescheduled the job to Jan 2-3 due to his work schedule. December 27th ReBath called to reschedule the job to Jan 13-14 because their crews were very behind. We stated at the time of phone call that this was unacceptable, we were told 6-8 weeks from the beginning and now we'd be going on 15 weeks, and that's IF the job doesn't get rescheduled again. There was no sympathy or willingness to work with us. Just pretty much "it is what it is". We called back to ask about cancellation and was told by ******* the Office Manager/Scheduling Coordinator that she "believed there was a 20% restocking fee" We went to the store Jan 8th to cancel our contract. ****** had a very poor attitude, didn't introduce herself and acted as though she didn't care and it wasn't her problem to solve. She told us that we have a right to cancel but that the deposit was nonrefundable. We told her to show us where it was stated in the paperwork as all we found was, "you may cancel this agreement without penalty...by delivering written notice to Re-Bath and Service professional by midnight on the third business day after signing." She told us she didn't have time to go through it and highlight where it was stated. However, according to our review, nowhere in the contract does it say what the penalty is of canceling after that third business day. She refused to give us the contact information for the owners, she refused to call them while we were in the store to set up a meeting and she told us they "weren't here and not available. They are fully aware of the situation and will contact you." When asked when they would be contacting us, we were told "I can't promise anything." Our entire experience with Re-Bath outside of the initial consult has been very poor. If we had been notified during the initial consult that the job may take several months to complete, we would have done things differently. We feel we were deceived because we were verbally told 6-8 weeks, yet the contract was dated for the job beginning after the 8th week. In addition, the communication was poor, no dates were given, we had to call to inquire a few times, and felt like our job kept getting pushed back further and further. Once communication was initiated with ******* we feel that as a scheduling coordinator/office manager, she is a very poor representative of the company. We would assume it would be part of her job to not only know the cancellation policy but also to be able to point it out in the paperwork when necessary. We had to wait 20 minutes for her to come talk to us and when she did, she had a very nonchalant, "it's your problem, not mine" attitude. She did not introduce herself and did not offer to sit down to discuss the situation, and refused to give us the contact information for the owners or contact them herself in our presence. She showed NO desire to even attempt to work with us to resolve this situation to keep us as customers.

Desired Settlement: While we are very dismayed by the way this turned out, we do understand that there is a price to doing business. We were verbally told by ***** that she thought there would be a 20% restocking fee. This exact percentage was not in our contract, but we are willing to go with it. This works out to a $933.60 refund to us.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/01/30) */ This case has been resolved with the customer and we have refunded $933.60.

11/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1. Misinformed about acceptance of charge cards for deposit. 2. Office staff did not return calls concerning scheduling of project as promised. 3. When I learned the job could not be scheduled prior to my returning to work as I had requested when the contract was signed and when I spoke with the office staff on several occasions I asked to cancel the job and reschedule the next time I was off. I was told I would lose $300 of my deposit. When I complained about the cost, ***** ****** stated they did not have to return any of the deposit which was 50% of the contract. I agreed to have the work done beginning August 28th and had my son stay at the house to let the workers in and answer any questions concerning the job. I left a detailed list of the contracted work and contact numbers for myself and my husband. I left work early to be available when my son left to go to work. 4. The company used unskilled laborers to do some of the work. I sent a complaint in writing to the company concerning the poor quality of the work done by the first crew including pictures. I gave them the option of allowing me to pay for the work that was acceptable or having someone else complete the job. They hired a subcontractor who had to redo most of the work done by the first crew. 5. Job took twice as long as estimated. The job would have been completed in 4 days had they used skilled laborers. Second upstairs bathroom was not re-caulked with white caulking as contracted. Had to replace 4 light bulbs which were causing a burnt smell due to plaster being sprayed on them ($28). First crew took my wire cutters, was told they would be replaced, they weren't. 6. Subcontractor asked for a check for the final payment when he was almost finished with the job. I refused stating I wanted my husband to review the work before making the final payment. The office staff called and threatened me with $50/day late fees and sending my account to a collection agency. After a heated discussion I gave my credit card number and told them they could bill my card when the work was completed and that we would stop payment if my husband was dissatisfied. Due to the stress the phone call caused me I e-mailed the company and told them I would no longer deal with them, that my husband was now the point of contact for the project.

Desired Settlement: Although we are not fully satisfied with the quality of the work, we did not stop payment. We will hire someone else to fix it at a later date. This is the worst experience I have ever had with a company and I am unwilling to have them do any more work for me. I am filing the complaint because I use your site to check companies before using them. I have also filed a complaint with the franchise.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/25) */ We strive to do the best we can to please our customers and returned to this customers home numerous times to address the customer's concerns. All work was completed on the contract, we are sorry to hear that this customer will not be a returning customer. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 21, 2013/10/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This is *** ******* - yes I am aware I need to call the company back but am not sure what would be any acceptable resolution from them. I did not deal directly but have heard from my wife the issues and of course saw the type of work that was done in my bathroom. My wife does not want to deal with the company and that leaves me in the middle. The company has our money for what to me seems to be substandard work. I obviously do not want that company back in my house if my wife does not - so they do not have the opportunity to "make it right". If they do not want to refund some portion of the money we handed over (after being "threatened" with some sort of collections agency) then maybe a donation to a charity of our choice might help. Final Business Response /* (4000, 24, 2013/10/21) */ A donation to a charity sounds like a nice thought however has nothing to do with the subject at hand. If you would like us to do something to fix something in the bathroom that you are unhappy with which is the subject of your BBB complaint please contact our office at XXX-XXX-XXXX and schedule a time for the work to be completed.

7/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rebath was notified by phone that the outstanding balance would be satisfied in 2 payments. The first payment was not to exceed $500 and only after receiving authorization from me. Rebath charged my credit card for the full amount against the agreement and without authorization as to when.

Desired Settlement: Rebath without authorization took the full balance owed $1167.00 from my credit card. Rebath is to live up to the agreement made to resolve the amount owed: $500 month one when authorized to do so and the balance month 2. The balance is to be paid by July 31, 2013. Rebath is to return $667.00 to my credit card ending **** immediately.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/13) */ Customer signed a contract with us in June of last year. Getting in touch with the customer has been extremely difficult despite messages and several attempts. But at the home show in March of this year the homeowners spoke with us and we set up for our design consultant to go to the residence to verify that the other work was done that needed to be completed before we did our portion of it. After it was established that we could start on the work the homeowner presented us with a check for a $1,000 as the second payment on 3/11/13. Since the work was completed on 3/29/13 payment was due upon completion as stated per contract. Since the work was completed it had been nearly impossible to get ahold of the customer again despite several messages and attempts. Finally we were able to get in touch with the homeowner. She said she did not have the full balance which was $1167.00 and would have to make payments of $500.00 First payment to be paid after contact was established on 5/31/13. Homeowner did not call so we called her. Stated they had just been to a funeral and that her husband's check had been delayed and that the bill due needed to be expressed to her husband. We said ok but did not hear back from her. Follow up on 6/1 Saturday homeowner still had money in limbo and we understand she said that it would be ok to run a credit card on Monday 6/3 but we would need to call for authorization of payment on Monday 6/3. Come Monday we placed two calls to the homeowner with no response back. Office tried a 3rd time later in the day and got the approval. When homeowner answered she was I told you to run it all and hung up. We were shocked because before Monday 6/3 it had just been a payment of $500.00.