Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Re-Bath

Phone: (907) 677-8103 Fax: (907) 677-8109 6623 Brayton Dr, Anchorage, AK 99507 http://www.rebathalaska.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales and installation of bathtub liners and bathroom wall systems.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Re-Bath meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Re-Bath include:

  • 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Re-Bath
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 31, 2009 Business started: 02/18/2009 in AK Business started locally: 02/18/2009 Business incorporated 12/01/2008 in AK
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Division of Corporations Business & Professional Licensing
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us/occ
Phone Number: (907) 465-2534
don.habeger@alaska.gov

Alaska Department of Commerce, Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us
Phone Number: (907) 269-5200

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Jamie Pratt, President Mr. Randy Pratt, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jamie Pratt, President
Principal: Mr. Randy Pratt, Vice President
Business Category

Baths Bathroom Remodeling Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)

Alternate Business Names
NewBath Corporation

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Re-Bath has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 6623 Brayton Dr

    Anchorage, AK 99507 (907) 677-8103

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The bathroom project was not completed in a quality and professional manner. I have a list of things that did not meet specifications and were a cost to us. Damage to the shower base during demolition deep gouge cutRotted flooring under vanity that a new top was installed on Flooring tiles installed poorly around shower base on rotted flooringFlooring tiles look terrible they do not match anythingExtensive cleaning required after extremely messy crewWe have hired another contractor to complete the project and discovered the following:Rotted flooring under the shower base and vanityExcessive amounts of adhesive to install shower walls that did not hardenDamage to the shower base requiring repair/replacement

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a credit in the amount of $1600 this will partly cover the costs to replace the damaged shower base and replace the rotted flooring that they tiled over

Business Response:

This complaint was addressed with the consumer on 2/13/15 when we sent an installer to clean up the mess and complete the list agreed on between Re•Bath and the consumer. The shower pan was damaged before we began the bathroom remodel and the rotting floor was brought to the consumers attention several times and by more than one person at Re•Bath each time the consumer declined to let us fix the problems that we pointed out. The attached letter was sent to the consumer.

 

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

6/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I had a scheduled appointment with Rebath back in November 2014. We had to wait until February 2015 for they was able to start the remodeled project of our bathroom. My wife informed me of a phone call Thursday 2/19/2015 stating that the project will start Monday 2/23/2015, and that we will be responsible for the electrical bill. So I call ReBath the next morning for Rebath to explain the electrical portion of the job. ReBath told me that the electrical part was for the Jacuzzi hook up, so I ask the lady on the phone, who is the company, the hourly rate, and how much extra I would have to pay, besides the $12,000.00 I am invested with ReBath. She said she could not tell me nothing except that the electrician should only take about an hour and a half to two hours to complete. That was the first time I ask and left a voice message for owner ***** to give me a call to get more information about this electrician that is coming to my house Monday morning 2/23/2015. I called several more times that same day Friday, and I never received a return phone call back Friday. I called several times Monday morning early hoping to catch him in the office, and ***** still did not return my phone call. I kept leaving messages with the administrative assistant to see if ***** could return my phone call, still no return phone call, unprofessional. The electrician is done by 2:30 pm, and hands me a bill for $707.00 for me to pay. I was still trying to get in touch with ***** from ReBath, and he still have not return my phone call. After I left another message Tuesday 2/24/2015, the ReBath guy working on the bathroom, packed up everything and said that he had to leave, I ask why, he said that was what he was told to do. Once again very unprofessional. All of this was over me trying to get the Owner ***** to return a phone call. He finally returned a phone call Tuesday afternoon when the wife mention that we were seeking a lawyer to find out why they breach the contract with the guy installing the bathroom.

Desired Settlement: The wife and I have decided that we would just like our refund of $3000.00 back, for ReBath pulling the guy off the job. We felt that that was not necessary.

Business Response: Re: ******** Bathroom Remodel

On 2/19 I (****) called Mr. ****** and reminded him of the installation starting on 2/23 at that time I also reminded him about the electrician that would be coming and that they would be billing them separately as the contract states.

On 2/23 the installer went to ******** home and started the installation process, the electrician was scheduled to show up around the same time. Later in the afternoon Mr. ****** called and said he was confused about the electrician and he didn’t know the man and how much was it going to cost. I told Mr. ****** that I couldn’t quote prices for *** ******** but I would be happy to give him their number so he could call and discuss the costs himself.  He said that wasn’t necessary the electrician had already given him a card.

Mr. ****** then said he wanted to know why he wasn’t told about the electrician beforehand. I reminded him that it was written on the contract of which he should have a copy. That I had called him a couple of weeks ago and  reminded him about it, and I had told him about it on the 19th and 20th again. He insisted that he didn’t know anything about the electrician and began to sound very confused and not understanding what I was telling him. I went through all the times that I had reminded him about the electrician and pointed out to him where he could find it on the contract. By the end of this conversation Mr. ****** wanted to talk to *****. I explained to him that ***** was in a meeting and as soon as he was done I would relay the message.

On 2/24 Mr. ****** called again and again I went through all the times that I had reminded him about the electrician. This conversation was almost identical to the previous day’s conversation and again ended with Mr.
****** wanting to speak to *****, I informed Mr. ****** that ***** would like to meet him in person to do a contract review and tried to set up an appointment for 4:30pm that afternoon. 

***** returned to the office later in the afternoon on 2/24 and with me in his office called Mr. ******. During the conversation Mr. ****** seemed to be confused and wasn’t really sure of why he was complaining. Several
times during the conversation ***** told Mr. ****** that he could by all means call another electrician and get other quotes for the work and Mr. ****** said that wasn’t necessary. It was apparent to me that Mr. ****** wasn’t really sure why he was complaining he seemed very confused during the conversation and not able to pinpoint one exact complaint. By the end of the conversation Mr. ****** said that the only solutions they wanted were for Re•Bath to pay for the electrical work or refund their money. 

According to the letter brought to Re•Bath by Mr. ****** their complaint seems to be that it took an excessive amount of time for the electrical work to be done. That complaint is between the ******** and *** ********, Re•Bath in order to save the ******** cost we did not charge “general conditions” costs which is typically 20%. All of these complaints have nothing to do with the services contracted by Re·Bath. If they intend to cancel this
contract they will forfeit the deposit plus 20% restocking fee plus “general conditions” costs.

If they would like to proceed per contract first we would need a letter of intent to proceed and their second payment of $1918.00. We would be happy to complete the installation as agreed upon in the contract signed on 11/20/14

At this point we are not seeking any extras for delay of project, we would just like the ******** to be happy with their Re•Bath bathroom system installation. 


3/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: RE-Bath Alaska - After 4 visits to redo a small standard bathroom - they still did NOT get it RIGHT. Initially, RE-Bath Alaska ordered the wrong size panels to cover the tile, had to reschedule. Once the installation was complete the tub was smaller than standard size but the $1000 sliding glass door (s-curved) fit great. Had to rescheduled to put in a new tub; they again ordered the wrong size panels to cover the tile so they bump up two inches off the back wall, to make the wrong size panels fit, moved the pluming for the shower over two inches and installed the new tub which now did not have room for the $1,000 sliding door, which are living in my shed. The owner yelled at me for having to fix all his mistakes and its still not right. Do not by (buy) into their statement "we fix it till it is Right" - that is WRONG and a lie.

Desired Settlement: Fix the bath tub space to accommodate the sliding glass doors - -

Business Response: Ms ******** bathroom was completed in 2011, she was unhappy with the size of the tub even though it is the size she signed for under her contract. Ms. ****** came to see us at trade show in tears that she didn't like the size of her tub. We replaced the tub with a very expensive wider deeper tub AT NO ADDITIONAL CHARGE, this was an upgrade to what she had signed her contract for in the first place. Re-Bath has gone above and beyond to satisfy Ms. ****** and this is the first contact we have had with her in over 4 years.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Re-Bath could not install the $1000.00 glass doors I had purchase from them because they had bumped out the back wall to accommodate the incorrect size of the side panels; they had purchased for the "guarantee satisfaction" re-do. This particular soak-er tub was not at my request (their choice); the design of the tub (the slanted back) inhibited access to the tub with the Sliding glass doors installed. The doors could not open passed the slanted back on the left side of the tub and on the right side of the tub the toilet was now too close to the tub's side to get access. All these problems were a result of bumping out the back wall because they had purchased the wrong size side panels (for the second time). Re-Bath was anxious to get the job done because I had been without a bathroom for two days. Instead of just ordering the correct panels, the owner had come for the site visit to instruct his plumber to bump out the back wall and move the plumbing over - I am guessing so they did not to have to order the correct size side panels. I tried to explain to the owner this would now inhibit access to the tub with the doors installed... he screamed and yelled at me on the telephone. I was very intimidated and of course reluctant to speak with him again. Re-bath did call me, after a while, a few months and I explained my dis-satisfaction, but the person I spoke with said they probably would not do anything and she was reluctant to share it with her boss. I thought I had no recourse, alas my letter to BBB. I understand that under my contract Re-Bath has met their obligation, but not to "guaranteed satisfaction" much to my disappointment. I have $1000.00 sliding glasses doors I am unable use, a shower fixture that is too tall (they never install the adjustable bar), a tub that is not only too close to the toilet but has a dip in it where glue was not applied under the tub sufficiently, all because the wrong side panels were installed; all things I have been living with because I thought I had no other options.
I think Re-Bath has a good product but I am not satisfied with the results of my install and disappointed in their response.

Business Response: This customer should have contacted us within 90 days of the installation of the product had there been an issue. We went above and beyond to satisfy this customer as I stated in the previous response.

4/28/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted Re-Bath to renovate our bathroom. The work was done to our general satisfaction. We also ordered a shower door. We paid in full upon placing the order. We were given a delivery/installment date. My wife took off work on that day. Nobody showed up or called. When I called and asked to talk to the manager the lady answering the phone lied to me and claimed to be the manager. I was told that the shipment came in at the exact time that it was scheduled to be installed and that they had no idea what was in the shipment until it arrived. I was not told why they hadn't called when they found out our product wasn't part of the shipment. We were not offered any compensation for the lost wages of that day. It was promised that they would call as soon as they would know when the shower door would arrive. That's the last we heard. Either they are lying to their customers or their way to handle product ordering and shipment is hopelessly unprofessional. They have several hundred dollars from us for several months without delivering. We lost money because of Re-Baths failure to be professional and/or honest.

Desired Settlement: We want our money back and cancel this order. Then we can employ somebody who will handle this professionally. We also want to be compensated for the lost wages. They should - and probably did- know in advance that the promised delivery date would not work out.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/10) */ *** ******** I am sorry we didn't call you regarding your shower door I did just check on it yesterday and they said it shipped on 3/31 from Tempe Arizona and should have been on the barge that left on the 4th of April. We had a change of staff and I didn't realize you hadn't been contacted. I do anticipate your door arriving either tomorrow or Monday it depends on how long it takes Span to unload and distribute shipments from the barge. Thank you for your understanding and we will be installing your door as soon as it arrives. Thanks, *****

2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 28, 2013 we had a ReBath representative come out to our home with samples of "tiling" for our bathroom. We picked out tiling and flooring, the job totaled $3500 and the first 1/3 of that was due that day, as we signed the contract, the second 1/3 at the time they started the job and the final 1/3 when the job was finished. We were verbally told the job would be done in 6-8 weeks which at the latest would be the weekend before Thanksgiving. We wrote a check in the amount of $1167.00 that day and the checked cleared October 8th. There was some communication by phone. 5 phone calls from them and 4 phone calls to them in total. The phone calls from October 9 - November 30 were basically "We don't have your materials and we don't know when they will be in." November 16th we were told the job was scheduled for Nov 28-Dec 28th. Upon rereading our paperwork that was stated on the contract, however, the representative did tell us the job would be done in 6-8 weeks. Dec 2, we were contacted and the job was scheduled to be done Dec 26-27th . Dec 17th, ******** called and rescheduled the job to Jan 2-3 due to his work schedule. December 27th ReBath called to reschedule the job to Jan 13-14 because their crews were very behind. We stated at the time of phone call that this was unacceptable, we were told 6-8 weeks from the beginning and now we'd be going on 15 weeks, and that's IF the job doesn't get rescheduled again. There was no sympathy or willingness to work with us. Just pretty much "it is what it is". We called back to ask about cancellation and was told by ******* the Office Manager/Scheduling Coordinator that she "believed there was a 20% restocking fee" We went to the store Jan 8th to cancel our contract. ****** had a very poor attitude, didn't introduce herself and acted as though she didn't care and it wasn't her problem to solve. She told us that we have a right to cancel but that the deposit was nonrefundable. We told her to show us where it was stated in the paperwork as all we found was, "you may cancel this agreement without penalty...by delivering written notice to Re-Bath and Service professional by midnight on the third business day after signing." She told us she didn't have time to go through it and highlight where it was stated. However, according to our review, nowhere in the contract does it say what the penalty is of canceling after that third business day. She refused to give us the contact information for the owners, she refused to call them while we were in the store to set up a meeting and she told us they "weren't here and not available. They are fully aware of the situation and will contact you." When asked when they would be contacting us, we were told "I can't promise anything." Our entire experience with Re-Bath outside of the initial consult has been very poor. If we had been notified during the initial consult that the job may take several months to complete, we would have done things differently. We feel we were deceived because we were verbally told 6-8 weeks, yet the contract was dated for the job beginning after the 8th week. In addition, the communication was poor, no dates were given, we had to call to inquire a few times, and felt like our job kept getting pushed back further and further. Once communication was initiated with ******* we feel that as a scheduling coordinator/office manager, she is a very poor representative of the company. We would assume it would be part of her job to not only know the cancellation policy but also to be able to point it out in the paperwork when necessary. We had to wait 20 minutes for her to come talk to us and when she did, she had a very nonchalant, "it's your problem, not mine" attitude. She did not introduce herself and did not offer to sit down to discuss the situation, and refused to give us the contact information for the owners or contact them herself in our presence. She showed NO desire to even attempt to work with us to resolve this situation to keep us as customers.

Desired Settlement: While we are very dismayed by the way this turned out, we do understand that there is a price to doing business. We were verbally told by ***** that she thought there would be a 20% restocking fee. This exact percentage was not in our contract, but we are willing to go with it. This works out to a $933.60 refund to us.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/01/30) */ This case has been resolved with the customer and we have refunded $933.60.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Re-Bath
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart