BBB Accredited Business since

Edmonds Import Auto

Phone: (907) 376-7787 Fax: (907) 376-7798 1880 Glenn Hwy Ste 3, Palmer, AK 99645

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers foreign and domestic auto repair, including brakes, tires, alignments and transmission.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Edmonds Import Auto meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Edmonds Import Auto include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Edmonds Import Auto
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 05, 2010 Business started: 11/01/2008 Business started locally: 11/01/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
Phone Number: (907) 269-5200

Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Tobi Klunder-Edmonds, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Tobi Klunder-Edmonds, President
Business Category

Auto Repairing - Foreign Brake Service Transmissions - Automobile Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Repair & Service General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Alternate Business Names
The F/X Corporation

Additional Locations

  • 1880 Glenn Hwy Ste 3

    Palmer, AK 99645 (907) 376-7787


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Edmonds import auto last winter to obtain a repair estimate on my 93 eagle talon TSI AWD. The vehicle had slipped in its performance, while looking into the problem I found that the ignition timing belt had wasn't properly aligned. I called around and found that Edmonds was the best price for the repair, changing the timing set. I drove the car to the shop in Wasilla, the estimate was under 300 dollars, and the car was in the shop for less than a week. The shop noticed that there was a coolant leak and offered to replace the water pump. The water pump had recently been replaced and I had not noticed a leak so, weary in spending any more on the repair than I was planning I denied the repair until I could look into it. Upon arriving to pick up the car I looked into leak, a hose clamp had been removed to complete the timing set, and the clamp had not been tightend, aggravated I walked inside to pay and asked for a nut driver so I could fix the leak, I fixed the leak, and paid more than was estimated. Furious with their service I thanked them for there time paid my bill and took the car home. I took the car to work the next day and on my return trip the car shudderded and stalled. I couldn't start the car again so I called the shop and asked if I could bring the car back to have it looked at, the shop gave permission drop off after hours, the shop replaced the belt again and then told me that the piston rings were bad, not likely as I had done a compression test at a during a tune up I had done after buying the car. I asked if the cylinder head had been checked, no, so after looking the exhaust valves were bent. After looking into the cause, taking it back apart, the technician found that one of the balance shafts was showing signs of binding. Under load of the engine, if a silent shaft binds then the timing slips or jumps, if the slip is more than 2 cogs the valve train is at risk of being damaged by the pistons. The technician stated that the cause of the timing slip was the balance shaft. Under these conditions the balance shaft bearings are replaced or the entire assembly is removed, unless one of these options is taken the timing repair will fail. It is my belief that the repair performed was partial, that the technician never addressed the cause of the original problem, and in doing so allowed greater damage to occur. The shop diagnosed the engine as total loss and negated all liabilities to the engine failure. The shop proposed replacement. I found another engine with lower miles than the previous motor, and the shop estimated less than 900 dollars for replacement, and that they were giving me a fleet rate for the inconvenience. In the time that I have waited additional parts have been required and supplied by the shop, water pump, oil pump, balance shaft delete kit and timing cover, I supplied them with a flywheel and clutch set. The car sits in there yard to this day, while the engines sit in the shop While the car has been in disrepair, I have driven my pickups as my primary transportation, I average eleven thousand miles a year. The cost of driving the trucks is more than twice that of the car. So assuming that I have driven nine thousand miles since the car has been in there possession for the second time, and assuming gas prices have averaged $4.35 that the car averaged 23mpg and the trucks average 15mpg the car would have cost $1702.17 and the truck would cost $2610.00 a $907.83 difference in fuel costs. Also assuming that the car would be driven 80% of the time $2186.35 of combined fuel cost so a total loss of $423.65 in fuel cost. Not including additional upkeep on the trucks

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the vehicle promptly repaired to original operating condition, at the expense of the shop.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/09/30) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******** Owner Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***************** *** ******** and I are currently working the issue out on a personal basis and has agreed to drop the complaint against Edmonds Import Auto. ************ met with me on 9/14/2013 and we came to a loose agreement based upon further inspection of his original engine block. We were scheduled to meet again on 9/21/2013 at 10:00 and *** ******** failed to show. I have left two voicemails on his phone, but have not received a response. I know *** ******** is busy, and will respond when he has time, I am only responding so the complaint does not go into default status due to non-compliance on my end.