BBB Accredited Business since

Midas

Additional Locations

Phone: (907) 278-4506 Fax: (907) 258-0147 View Additional Phone Numbers 711 E Northern Lights Blvd, Anchorage, AK 99503 http://www.midasalaska.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto service and repair.

Request a Quote

Request a Quote from Midas


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Midas meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Midas include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Midas
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 16, 1997 Business started: 11/01/1977 Business started locally: 11/01/1977 Business incorporated 11/07/1977 in AK
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us
Phone Number: (907) 269-5200

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jeff Lentfer, President/General Manager Mr. Allen Breck, Vice President/Operations Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Allen Breck, Vice President/Operations Manager
Principal: Mr. Jeff Lentfer, President/General Manager
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Auto Services General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Alternate Business Names
Bilikin Investment Group, Inc. Midas Auto Service Experts

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Midas has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 101 N Crusey St

    Wasilla, AK 99654

  • 1225 Glenn Hwy

    Palmer, AK 99645

  • 12450 Old Glenn Hwy

    Eagle River, AK 99577 (907) 522-1120 (907) 746-5823 (907) 276-1197

  • 1255 Bragaw St

    Anchorage, AK 99508

  • 3449 Airport Way

    Fairbanks, AK 99709

  • 43850 Sterling Hwy

    Soldotna, AK 99669

  • 711 E Northern Lights Blvd

    Anchorage, AK 99503 (907) 279-3600 (907) 262-9700 (907) 376-4788 (907) 376-4788 (907) 278-4506

  • 8100 Old Seward Hwy

    Anchorage, AK 99518

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a set of tires from Midas. I was explicit about them being 265/75r15. They quoted me a price that seemed correct for that size. Nowhere on the order did it confirm the tire size. After driving on them for a while, I realized that something was off. They had put 235/65r15 size tires on my truck. When I went back to tell them, they said I would have to talk to a manager. I went back two days later to talk to a manager, and he was apparently out on jury duty. I went back another day later to finally talk to him, and he said there was nothing they could do and that it wouldn't affect my odometer, just my speedometer (which is completely untrue). I asked if they could take them back for a partial refund (as I had put some miles on them) and put the correct size tires on. They then informed me that they don't carry the correct size tires for my truck and would have to special order them, which would take 6 months. The manager said he would talk to the store owner to see if there was anything he could do. He got my contact information and said he would call me within the next couple days. A week later, I went back in to the store and the manager recognized me. He said that he was able to get in touch with the owner earlier in the week and that there was nothing he could do. He said I could call the owner if I wanted to try for myself and showed me where I could get the info. He also said the owner was going to be out of the office for a while. I called the owner and left a message, but have heard nothing back. That was three months ago, so even if the owner was "out of the office" for a while, there is no reason that I shouldn't have heard back by now. Since then, I went to a different tire store that had the correct size in stock, so the tires have not been used since.

Desired Settlement: I want Midas to take back the partially used tires for a refund or exchange the incorrect size tires for the correct size.

Business Response: Ms. ******* came in on 12/31/14 requesting new tires. To our
recollection of the visit there was not a specific size requested. We installed
4 new winter tires size 235/75R15. The vehicle Ms. ******* drives has a range
of tire size fitments that will work on her truck.

We did not hear from the customer for 2 months that she had
an issue with the tire sizing. We are not in the business of selling used tires
and with the amount of time that had passed and miles put on these winter tires
we were not willing to take them back.

As far as any messages left for ownership, no messages from
Ms. ******* were received at our main office in Anchorage or thru Midas
corporate. I did leave a message for Ms. ******* before typing up this response
to discuss further but have not heard back from her as of yet.

10/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I asked them to fix my breaks, it's not fixed.

Desired Settlement: Refund for the payment I made to them.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/14) */ Shop Manager contacted Customer and explained why the need for the original repairs. Also explained how the initial inspection process went including road test. During initial road test squeak was noted from front when braking, also noticed was another noise sounding potentially like a failing Hub/Bearing Assembly. Vehicle was then inspected in shop and we were unable at that time to prove Bearing failure. Another inspection was done after Customer returned still having a noise issue. At that time we were able to isolate a failing Hub/Bearing Assembly. Agreed resolution with Customer was we would provide the part at no cost and she would pay the labor for installation. This repair was done and road tested on 10/13 and vehicle returned to Customer.

6/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car to have my winter tires, 15000 miles service and a bulb changed on May 16th At 14:00 I got a call that my car was ready , when i arrived an picked it up i realized that the bulb was not changed , the issue was solved after 15min. the i drove around 0.3-0.4 miles until a security person in the parking lot told me that my tire was flat. I then called MIDAS to get this sorted out i called several times and after like 4 calls finally somebody answered and asked me to wait!! i stayed i the line for 10min and decided to hang As the business was 3 blocks away i decided to head back , At arrival the manager **** ******* ignored me when requested him to see the car, and requested me to go inside the office and wait in line. After the mechanic ******* took the car and drove it to the repair area the manager came back and told me the tire was worn and that i had to purchase one . I refused to buy a new tire as i think is the business responsability to respond after a sub standard repair. In 2 years , 13000 miles and 3 tire changes with this car (i havent had a flat tire) this was a clear deficient service when installing it . When the mechanic gave back the key not even an apology for the almost 1.5 hrs lost between the bulb and the deficient installation.

Desired Settlement: to pay for my tire and change it im currently using the spare tire

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 8, 2014/06/05) */ We had the consumer come back in a couple days later and split the cost of the tires and explained the problem to the consumer. Everything has been resolved. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 10, 2014/06/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

11/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: fixed steering without consulting us first and then charged us $500.00 but took off $100.00. We asked them to install our studded tires and realign front. They said they tried to reach us. They never had a problem reaching us before but this time they called my work first asked for "***", the *** they got was the wrong *** and then tried my husband's cell phone which they know he works at home and his cell phone does not work at home but they never called our house. My husband checked his cell and there wasn't any message from Midas. My husband is out in the bush so I did pick up the car and paid the $1500.00 instead of the estimated $1100.00.

Desired Settlement: I would like (hope) to just get the $400.00 back. Because of the car (jeep) is on it's last leg we were hoping to just squeeze one more winter out of it. So we did not want to put alot into it. I did sign papers when I picked up the car but I needed a car with my husband gone and with winter setting in. This all happened on Fri. Oct 4th.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/10/30) */ *** ******** dropped his wife's Jeep Grand Cherokee off to have a battery draw problem and the front suspension and steering inspected due to and impact. The technician repaired the battery draw and diagnosed components of the steering and suspension that needed to be replaced prior to performing the alignment. The service advisor got authorization for those repairs. During the repair a safety item had been found with the steering gear box that required it be replaced. The service advisor was unable to reach the customer for authorization for the additional repair which was an increase of approximately $400. The repairs were completed and the customer came in to check on the vehicle and pay for the repairs. We explained and showed the customer what was wrong with the gear box and why it was an item that left unrepaired would be a safety issue. *** ******** was not happy with the amount increase without prior authorization. We came to an agreement with *** and credited her for the additional amount for the gear box replacement. It is not our normal practice to perform repairs without prior authorization. However in this case with the steering gear box being in such poor condition the service advisor elected to proceed without waiting for a call back from the customer. Even though this incident occurred in good faith and the service advisor felt he was acting in the best interest of the customer we have counseled the employee and reminded him of our practice of not performing any repairs without prior authorization. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 9, 2013/11/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I am completly satisfied with the business. They contacted me the very next day to refund the money. They were very nice about it and apolagized for taking things into their own hands. They cut a check for me refunding me the whole amount. Sorry I did not get back to you in a timely matter. I have changed jobs and have been in training for the past 3 wks.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Midas
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart