BBB Accredited Business since

Arctic Import Repair

Phone: (907) 277-3399 Fax: (907) 274-1024 512 W Intl Airport Rd, Anchorage, AK 99518 http://www.arcticimport.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers automobile repair services on most makes and models. 

 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Arctic Import Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Arctic Import Repair include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Arctic Import Repair
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 2000 Business started: 06/01/1990 Business started locally: 06/01/1990 Business incorporated 02/25/2009 in AK
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bruce Lee, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bruce Lee, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Services Auto Inspection Stations General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Hours of Operation
8:00am - 6:00pm Monday - Friday
Closed Saturday and Sunday
Method(s) of Payment
Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, Diners Club, Cash and Check.
Alternate Business Names
Durgeloh & Lee Inc

Additional Locations

  • 512 W Intl Airport Rd

    Anchorage, AK 99518 (907) 277-3399

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 5/28/14. The timing chain broke on my vehicle and was towed to Arctic Import Repair. The repairs needed: timing chain, timing cover, water pump, master cylinder, and valve job. The repairs were completed 7/15/14. The repairs were completed for $2825.89. The vehicle was running great. 9/13/14 . I put 347 miles on the vehicle since the repairs were completed. I was driving the vehicle and the temperature gauge went into the red. The engine overheated. I was driving on a busy street and made a right turn on a side street to find a safe place to pull over. When I engaged the clutch the engine died. I coasted into a parking lot and popped the hood and saw coolant on the bottom of the engine. I had the vehicle towed to Arctic Import Repair, it was a Saturday. The following Monday I went to their shop to talk to them in person so they knew exactly what happened. 9/17/14. I picked up the vehicle. The paper work says "Filled and pressure tested system. Found hose clamp under intake failed. Replaced clamp and bled coolant." I asked them if everything was o.k. specifically if the head was cracked or if the block was cracked. They said it was all good. I trusted them. Before I started it I popped the hood and checked the oil. It was over a quart low, this was odd because before it overheated I had checked the oil and it was full. So I added a quart and started it up, there was some smoke coming out of the tail pipe. I got out and watched it and after the engine warmed up there was no more smoke. My mistake was not going back in and challenging them on their diagnosis that everything was good to go. But I trusted them, I had no reason not to. I drove it another 154 miles and every time I started the vehicle the tail pipe smoke got worse. During those 154 miles I kept checking the oil and had to add 2 1/2 quarts. The vehicle had never done any of these things before the overheating incident. It was obvious something was wrong. 10/1/14. I brought the vehicle in. I explained everything to them. I trusted they would do the right thing and make it right. 10/17/14. I called, I was put on hold as they went to talk to the person who was working on it. I was told they were not there and they would call me when this person returned and they would tell me what was going on. They never called me back. 10/30/14. I went to the shop to talk to them in person, they said they were going to pull the head and check it. 11/19/14. I called and was put on hold, they said they were going to find out what was going on and call me back. They never called back. 11/20/14 I called and was told my vehicle was next and they were going to pull the head. 12/1/14. I called, I was told the oil issue was because of worn pistons and the tailpipe smoke was normal. I mentioned them saying they were going to check the head. They asked "who told you that?" I was told several times. I told them the same thing I told them when I brought it back, that the vehicle was burning or leaking oil and the tailpipe was smoking after the overheating. I told them the reason the engine needed these new repairs ,whatever they are, was because of the engine overheating, which was caused by the failure of the first repair job. I was told they would call me back. 12/1/14. They actually called me back. This is the first time in the two months since I dropped off the vehicle on 10/1/14 that they have called me! They said they needed to run more tests. They said they would call me 12/2/14 or 12/3/14. 12/3/14. It is now 5:30 p.m. They never called. Engine overheating can cause damage to the rings, pistons, cylinders, and/or rod bearings, valves, guides, blown head gasket, cracked or warped cylinder head, and cracked block. They have had two months to make this right, and now when they finally look at the vehicle, they deny that the repairs needed now were caused by the failure of the first repair. Since 5/28/14, when my vehicle was first towed to their shop, 190 days have passed 116 of those days (and counting) my vehicle has been at their shop. They were paid $2825.89 for repairs that failed and caused engine damage. Instead of making it right and standing by their warranty, they chose to ignore the situation that they caused. After repeated phone calls and visits, they finally looked at it. They have destroyed any trust that I had in them. So now I am out $2825.89 and the engine in wrecked.

Desired Settlement: I want to take my vehicle to another repair shop of my choosing for a full diagnostics done with an estimate of the cost of the necessary repairs. I want Arctic Import Repair to pay me in full for the cost of the repairs.

Business Response: Arctic Import Repair agrees to have customer get second opinion on engine repairs originally performed 7/15/2014. We will also have vehicle towed to another shop of the customer's choosing at OUR expense.
We do not believe this is a warranty issue.
Upon second opinion, we can then determine whether or not a reimbursement is in order.


Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I had the vehicle towed to another garage for a first opinion. The new garage performed diagnostics on the engine damage caused by the defective mechanic work performed by Arctic Import Repair. In the course of their diagnostic testing they are checking the work that was performed on 7/15/14 and documenting their findings. The cylinder head needs resurfacing and a new head gasket. The repair order estimate is for $1811.82. Included in that estimate is a new fuel filter for $29.66. So $1811.82 minus $29.66 equals $1782.16. I have emailed a scan of the repair order in pdf form to the BBB. To resolve this complaint Arctic Import Repair must pay me $1782.16.

Business Response: Arctic Import Repair agrees to refund customer $1782.16 to settle dispute. A check will be sent to customer address on file. Check will be mailed no later than 2/28/15.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept the response from Arctic Import Repair.

3/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have taken my vehicle into the shop a total of 6 times. The last time it was there for 4 weeks before that 3 weeks before that 2 weeks etc. While the time frame is excessive, they have never fixed the problem. On trip 2 they diagnosed exhaust leaking out of cracked exhaust manifolds and recommended replacement of manifolds. They did this for over $2200.00. The exhaust leak is still there after 4 so called attempts to fix it.(after initial repair) I have been with out the vehicle for months as they have it on the back burner because they seem to think they are working on it for free because I already paid for the repair. They have told me 5 times that they have fixed it, but it is the same or close too it when driven. I have heard every excuse in the book.

Desired Settlement: At this point I am seeking a refund. They either cannot or will not fix it. I have given them ample opportunity. I will not return my vehicle to them, which is exactly what they have been waiting for.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/21) */ The initial repair was made at a cost to customer of $2,235.20. We thought it was good. Customer called with additional complaints regarding the same or similar issue. We have made several additional attempts to repair the vehicle at no cost to customer. At no point did Customer request a refund on the original work done. As an act of good faith we are happy to refund the monies at this time. We need to hear from Customer regarding an appropriate address to which we may send funds. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/03/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I will contact the business for the refund. Thank you for your service.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Arctic Import Repair
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)