This business is not BBB accredited.

Red White and Blue Auto Sales

Phone: (907) 561-6045 Fax: (907) 563-5392 5740 Old Seward Hwy, Anchorage, AK 99518

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers used auto sales.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Red White and Blue Auto Sales include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Red White and Blue Auto Sales
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 30, 2000 Business started: 11/01/1999 Business started locally: 11/01/1999 Business incorporated 11/06/2007 in AK
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Division of Corporations Business & Professional Licensing
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
Phone Number: (907) 465-2534

Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles
1300 W Benson Blvd Ste 900, Anchorage AK 99503
Phone Number: (907) 269-5551

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Marcus Waehler, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Marcus Waehler, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Hours of Operation
Monday - Saturday
10:00am - 8:00pm

11:00am - 7:00pm
Alternate Business Names
MW Motors Inc

Additional Locations


    5740 Old Seward Hwy

    Anchorage, AK 99518 (907) 561-6045


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Letter written to Red White and Blue Auto: I bought a truck from you a few months ago and I am really disappointed that it was a lemon. I had to trade the truck in on something else because the transmission was bad. When we pulled the car fax on the truck the salesman told us there was no specifics of the minor accident and it could have been just a fender bender but when I paid for the actual report on the truck, it was side-swiped five years prior and I know the salesman knew that but just wanted to make the sale. I will accept responsibility for not double checking at the time of the purchase but I will tell you that I trusted your establishment and that was a very shady move. I will not recommend you to anyone and I am making a report with the better business bureau so that others are not taken advantage of. I am very disappointed and very much feel ripped off and taken advantage of.

Desired Settlement: I am not sure if anything can be done about this issue.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/10/29) */ I received the notice of complaint from BBB, however, I believe the issue to be resolved. I spoke to ********* several weeks ago and explained that we provided her with every bit of information that was available through autocheck reports and our mechanic (apparently, there was accident information available through carfax that was more specific than the information provided through autocheck reports). Additionally, I compensated her for the transmission leak, which I was unaware of until her email. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/11/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did receive a $500 check from the company. I do appreciate the owner of Red, White, and Blue calling and apologizing. I was not satisfied with the fact that he told me they had no way of knowing that the vehicle had been in an accident. He also made light of the fact that it was side swiped and told me he would rather have a side swipe than a head on. I gave them a $5000.00 dollar down payment and used there in house Loan Company for the rest. The vehicle was purchased as-is but the lot did not fully disclose the issues of the truck. We did have an issue with the truck the next morning and I did call my salesman and he told us to take it to some mechanic but other than that he was off that day and hoped that we could get it figured out. The owner said that the report they used did not give any viable information. I believe that the only reason why the owner wrote the apology letter and offered the small compensation of $500.00 is because he knew that they did not disclose the correct information and I was reporting to the BBB. I would really prefer that the company give me back at least half of my down payment if not most of it.

11/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On, February 22, 2013, I purchased a 2001 Volvo XC70 from Red Blue And White Auto Sales, Anchorage, Alaska. I surely accept the "As-Is" warrantee of the purchase of the vehicle. However, during the negotiation, I specifically inquired about the transmission mechanical state, and the sales man told me the transmission was replaced with a donor car since the old one slipping sometimes. I asked where it was done and he told me and mentioned he has the paper work for the job done and he would give it to me after purchase. To me, the state of the transmission was another point of sale for me. I currently have the paper work. On the work paper, it says "*******" ATF was used. The transmission was replaced in January 2013. Two months after the replacement, on March 22, 2013, I purchased the car. As a car enthusiast, and technically inclined, I personally checked all the fluid levels and notice an issue with the ATF. Everyone I showed the color of the oil believe it was really bad and smelt kind of burnt of just very bad and old and should not even be in the system. The week I got it, I took it to the Volvo dealer for new extra key. There, the dealer's technician noticed the very bad state of the transmission state. He also noted the oil (Automatic Transmission Fluid - ATF) should look dark wine red. Looking at the oil, it does not look like clean ****** oil, considering the time span (just two months). When I went to RB&W, two of the associates felt something was not right and one of them called the transmission mechanic who said they did not use ****** (which was in the work paperwork), however, since the transmission is an AW55 type they used ****** transmission fluid instead. Now, I wonder why "******" was in the paper work in the first place. For a transmission specialist, would this be an overlooked mistake . . . I wonder! I currently have a sample of the transmission fluid. When I visited the transmission specialist who installed the current one, I asked why the ATF looked that bad. He mentioned he did what RW&B asked him to do, just install the one from the donor car, and that was it. I took the car to a Volvo specialist who advised that the installed transmission should be replaced immediately. I had asked about just flushing the current ATF. He mentioned he can do it, but he feels it would be a waste of money on my part and if I want, he would flush it for me. He believes the replaced transmission is in very bad situation. RB&W mentioned the reason for replacing the previous unit was because it was slipping and I told him the replaced one slips once in a while and that I did not see the point. Though I bought the vehicle in the "As-Is" warrantee state, I am bringing this case because I believe I was deceived about the situation of the transmission fluid and the installer could not keep a straight story and the work done. ATF in replaced at about 20,000 to 60,000 miles (depending on the manufacturer), but it should still have the dark wine red color to it. For the ATF to have turned the current color state, then there is something really bad going on with the equipment. I will be sending more documents to the Anchorage BBB office for more information.

Desired Settlement: Instead of claiming more form the car dealer (RB&W), - I would like to have the current transmission replace with a more durable one of with a new one, since the car was sold to me in a deceptive manner. - The replacement done by a certified mechanic other than the one that installed the current one. - If possible, compensated for the time I will not be using the car when the new work is being done. I would like this case settled since I would not rather take it to a smalls claims court.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/05/02) */ I have reviewed the statement made by Mr. ***** and have spoken to all parties involved. I would like to meet with Mr. ***** and the owner of ******* ************ to find resolution in this matter. I am available throughout the week until 5pm. Mr. ***** may contact me at Red White and Blue at XXX-XXX-XXXX or respond through this BBB format. ****** Owner, RWB Auto Sales Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 21, 2013/06/04) */ Hello, I just realized this case has been closed. Sorry I did not reply soonest, I have been out of town. The owner of RB&W requested to take the car to a suitable mechanic for a check. Previously I mentioned I am willing to take the car for check as long as it is not the original transmission installer and a mechanic I approve. Could he tell me who he would like to take the vehicle to be checked? I will be out of the country from June 11 through July 11. Thanks. *** ***** Business' Final Response /* (4000, 23, 2013/06/17) */ Affordable transmission is another acceptable transmission repair facility. I would want to be present at the time of inspection. ******

4/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service