BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers automobiles and trucks sales and trades. This company offers foreign and domestic automobile repairs.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Alaska Professional Auto meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Alaska Professional Auto include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Alaska Professional Auto include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Alaska Professional Auto
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 02, 2000 Business started: 07/01/1996 Business started locally: 07/01/1996
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us
Phone Number: (907) 269-8110

Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles
1300 W Benson Blvd Ste 900, Anchorage AK 99503
http://www.doa.alaska.gov/dmv/dealer
Phone Number: (907) 269-5551
dmv_webmaster@admin.state.ak.us

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Ali Azzam, Owner Mr. Husein Azzam, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ali Azzam, Owner
Principal: Mr. Husein Azzam, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Heaters - Automotive Truck Dealers Accident Reconstruction Service Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Carburetors Engines - Rebuild & Exchange Lubricating Service - Automotive Radiators - Automotive Transmissions - Automobile Truck Repair & Service Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Services Auto Dealers - Antique & Classic Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)


Additional Locations

  • 1011 E 6th Ave

    Anchorage, AK 99501 (907) 274-9001

  • 1147 E Dowling Rd

    Anchorage, AK 99518 (907) 561-8688

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/29/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 10, 2015 my VISA credit card was charged $2,575.00 without my knowledge from Alaska Professional Auto. When I contact APA they said that a contractor I had hired (to redo my driveway) presented my credit card information to them to charge a down payment on a truck. I did not authorize the contractor to use my credit card in that manner and APA had no right to charge my card. I spoke to Tare (sp?) at APA requesting documentation supporting the charge and after repeated assurances he would fax me the information I visited APA for the first time and Tare copied the purchase agreement. The Buyer listed is********* ****** ****. I have NO IDEA who that person is. While obtaining the documents from Tare I asked to see a letter of authorization from me. a credit card imprint or any other authorization to charge my card (he could not present one because I never gave them one nor consented to the purchase). I requested from Tare to credit my VISA account and he refused. When I asked if Mr. **** was "current" on his payments to APA Tare indicated that the issue is cloudy because Mr. **** was "doing work for us".......it all just sounds too cozy. VISA has refused to reverse charges to APA because they say I gave the contractor my credit card information (to charge up front 1/2 of the total project I hired him for) but the contractor has ended up making charges of well over the total amount of the project. Civil litigation against the contractor will be another issue. APA still holds the title to the truck that my VISA account secured.

Desired Settlement: I would expect the $2,575.00 to be refunded to my VISA account, or a refund check in that amount. APA still holds the title to the truck and apparently has a pretty cozy relationship with Mr. **** so this matter should be between APA and Mr. ****, not with me. I have no collateral in this issue, no title and no truck. I do not know Mr. ****, nor did I authorize this charge nor can Alaska Professional Auto come up with any authorization from me.

Business Response:

MY NAME IS TARE C*** WITH ALASKA PROFESSIONAL AUTO, THE SALES PERSON WHO HANDLED THE TRANSACTION FOR THE PURCHASE OF 2007 FORD F-350 WITH VIN #*****************
ON APIL 9TH 2015, MR. ********* **** DECIDED TO PURCHASE THE TRUCK AND WE NEGOCIATED AND CAME TO TERMS ON THE MONTHLY PAYMENTS, AND THE DOWN PAYMENT.THE DOWN PAYMENT AMOUNT WAS 5000  MR.**** GAVE US $2,425 CASH AND CHARED $2,575 ON A CREDIT CARD  WHICH WAS UNDER SOMEONES NAME OTHER THEN HIMSELF. MR.**** AND THE OTHER GENTLE MAN HE WAS WITH SHOW ME SOME INVOICES FOR A PROJECT THEY WERE DOING  FOR MR. *********. AND SAID ********* AUTHORIZED 1/2 OF THE AMOUNT OF THE PROJECT FOR MATERIAL AND ECT.  SO I PROCEEDED THE TRANSACTION AND CHARGED $2,575  ON THE CARD # THEY PROVIDED.  SINCE THEN WE HAD NO IDEA ABOUT THE CHARGES THAT WAS BEING DISPUTED BETWEEN MR ********* AND MR.****.
TODAY 8/18/2015 , MR **** HAS RESOLVED THIS MATTER WITH MR. *********

6/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to these guys because one of my head lights were out and I didnt know how to put it in. I bought the bulb across the street. I asked the guys how much will they charge to help me put the bulb in. He said $7. I was fine with it until he said my total is $11. I asked why? He said he did a quick oil check for me, and that is an additional $4. What a ripped off. I asked to help put ina head light for me and now he is charging me for other services he did that I never asked for. Again, $11 is not a big deal but what a ripped off place and business you guys have here. Never going here again. Then,I found out ***** ****** can help me out in head lights for free.

Desired Settlement: I am Never going back to Alaska Professional Auto. Never know what they will charge just because they feel like doing it.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1010, 5, 2013/06/03) */ Alaska Professional Auto **** ** ******* *** Anchorage, AK XXXXX Phone XXX-XXX-XXXX RE: Better Business Bureau Complaint from case #********: ***** ****** Concerning the person’s complaint first of all according to our record there has been no ***** ****** in our shop. Further more we don’t charge any customer to check their oil: this is part of the customer service we perform all the time. Most of our headlight bulb R&R calls for .3 of our labor rate charges which is a shop rate of $100.00 per hr. flat rate which would be $30.00 plus the cost of the bulb(s). Sincerely, Alaska Professional Auto

5/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Thursday April 11th I took my vehicle into Alaska Professional Auto to diagnose if I had a leak in my radiator. I never received a phone call noting what repairs needed to be done and get authorization prior to repair being started. I called Thursday afternoon to get status, was told I had a leaking timing gasket and the vehicle was being worked on. I rented a vehicle, returned rental Friday at 5pm and did not get my vehicle until 5pm on Saturday with repair bill of $1,406. I called ******** *********** told them what repair work had been performed on my vehicle, gave them my vehicle information, VIN number and they said 6 hour job for 700-800 repair work and they call customers to discuss needed repairs.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking reimbursement of $310.00 for oil pan which was not discussed in phone call with *** on April 11th, *** said repair needed was leak in timing cover. In addition to calling future customers to discuss needed repairs on their vehicles

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (-10, 10, 2013/05/17) */ To Whom It May Concern: Alaska Professional Auto contacted the customer after we found out ******* ***** was not happy with the price. The price was a fair price and we did not overchage her, but we want out customers to be happy so we contacted the customer and gave her a refund of the price she ahd asked for of 310.00. Enclosed is a copy of the refund slip of the refund we gave her. If you have any other questions pleas call us @ the phone number above. The reason we have not responded to your busines yet is because the customer said she would contact you and tell you she got what she wanted and is satisfied. Sincerely, *** ***** Manager Alaska Professional Auto ***Supporting documents redacted by BBB*** Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/05/10) */ *** the owner of Alaska Professional Auto refunded $310 to my credit card since he did not discuss this with me when we had spoken on the phone, I will not be a returning customer to his business as he did not call me prior to starting work to discuss estimate of repairs needed on my vehicle