BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/20/1998

Champion Windows of Akron LLC

Phone: (330) 678-2345Fax: (330) 678-8234View Additional Phone Numbers1163B Holiday Dr, KentOH 44240-6477 Send email to Champion Windows of Akron LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/20/1998

BBB has determined that Champion Windows of Akron LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Champion Windows of Akron LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service8
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Champion Windows of Akron LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)BBB Closure Definitions
07/15/2013Problems with Product / Service
11/05/2012Problems with Product / Service
09/20/2012Problems with Product / Service
01/23/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues
10/31/2011Problems with Product / Service
04/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: contract for building a sunroom was total cost of 36100.00. they are now charging me 2379.00 more for the electric, 7 months later
I signed a contract with champion to build a sunroom for $36100.00. I specificly asked ***** ***** if that was the total cost to build it (signed 8/20/13 and he said yes. Under the main contract everything that is included is listed and checked off which included the special glass,door, electric (specificly putting in outlets and fan), and all other parts of the job. The job was suppose to be done in 6 to 8 weeks but did not get done until dec 24,2013. Yesterday(2/13/14) I got a bill from champion for $2379.00 for the electric work and it was stamped past due. THis is the 1st notice I have gotten and I called and asked why i am being billed for this since i payed the amount in full the last day they were here. I was not aware that this would be billed separately or cost me more money. I feel like I have been taken advantage of.

Initial Business Response
Our contract with the homeowner was a two page agreement. The first page has the summary of work to be done. The second page details the electrical details, including the additional pricing for the electric. I will provide both pages of the contract for review.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am not sure of their response.They sent copies of notes and final contract but no response.The writing on the left on the notes page in red is new. That was not on the original notes page. The final and main contract page is what I was told was my final and full payment. I was also told my room was 14 foot by 14 foot inside measurements and it is 13.0 x 13.5 foot. I was told it would take 6 to 8 weeks to do. It took 6 months. I tried to not patient and extremely fair about this but I can see they just altered a page on their notes which is not the legal contract anyway.

Final Business Response
In my initial response, I provided a copy of my worksheet and the two page contract. I thought providing the worksheet would help us understand how the contract was written. I do not write the contract until the terms of the project are agreed upon using the worksheet. If you review the worksheet, it has the complete details of the project, the total price after the advertised discount, and an optional item of glass kneewall. The customer chose to add the glass kneewall option. If you add up the numbers, you will find that the total you come up with equals the two sums of the two-page contract combined together.

This has been the simplest method that I have found to design a project. I'm not sure of where the breakdown occurred. But, if you review the paperwork together, I think it makes sense.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The breakdown occurred when he told me initially that the 36103.00 dollars was the total price for the whole project and then 8 months later billed me for the electrical which was included in the total price and is checked off on the contract as part of the total project. They have not tried to correct or even address this issue as far as I can see by this response. I am going to have to get an attorney involved if this can not be resolved.

Complaint Resolution: Company agreed to mediation in accordance with their BBB agreement, but the consumer declined.

09/26/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of service

Complaint: Champion blamed their customers for omissions on their contract and delays in their process.
Champion did nothing to try to fix their mistakes.

7-18,Ordered custom bay window from Champion salesman. Delivery estimate was approximately 4-8 weeks listed on contract. No mention was made that the bay style custom window usually takes 8 weeks or more from the factory to fabricate and deliver. No color was also specified on contract, even though we agreed on white to match our existing other windows as closely as possible.

9/5,Called Champion to find out when the window would be available for installation, since we were approaching our 8 week approximate end of contract. Scheduling manager, ******, was out on vacation and had no backup. Left a message to be called, nothing happened. Maybe if we had been proactively contacted somewhere around week 6 stating that it would not make the approximately 4-8 week window, we would be a lot less upset.

9/12,Gave up waiting for a phone call from the scheduling manager, called Champion again, they had no idea when the window would be delivered from the factory. We were told that we could not set up even a tentative installation date until the factory confirmed when the window would be delivered. The scheduling manager blamed us for the delay since there was no color specified in the contract, and could not contact us. A work, home, and cell phone number were all specified on the contract.

The scheduling manager also stated that the 5 day delay basically cancelled our contract, and the regional manager, **** *******, at one point agreed.
The scheduling manager told us that our 8 weeks wasn't up until September 18th (2 months). July and August both have 4 weeks plus 3 days, that equals 8 weeks and 6 days. The contract states approximately 4-8 weeks, not one to two months. We were also talked down to by the scheduling manager who told us that we did not know what "approximately" means. Approximately 8 weeks could mean 6-10 weeks, but using "approximately" with a 4-8 week range is redundant.

We had to call back to hear from the scheduling manager about anything, he would not contact us about anything that he might have learned. We gave him until Thursday, and he finally called us back on Friday, a full week after he had returned from vacation, to tell us that "maybe" the window would be in on September 23rd (start of the 10th week after our order date), and made it clear that he would not set up an installation date until after he received the window.

9/16,Called after 3 pm, installation manager did not have an answer about when the window would be delivered, told him that we wanted an installation date. Since the window was due 4 days before, it would extend our time frame at least past 10 weeks.
9/17 Regional manager from Champion called and left a message stating that the window would be shipped on Friday Sept. 20th. We called them back around noon, and the regional manager was out of the office, and would return our call. Called us back at 4:30pm, then told us that he would NOT give us an installation date, even though he knew the window was set to be delivered the following Monday or Tuesday. He said that the scheduling manager would call us next week to set up a time for installation. We just wanted to set up an installation date, since every day that passed meant more appointments booked and longer we had to watch our windows leak rainwater into our living room, and were already past the specified end of the approximately 4-8 weeks, at least into 10 weeks.

If this were a build for a custom home delayed by 2 weeks, there would be a lot more respect shown the customer. The regional manager refused this request, so we asked what discount we were offered to wait past 10 weeks, he said none. Since we were past the estimated 8 weeks, and they could not possibly fulfill the original contract, (remember, no color is specified on the contract), we asked for a cancellation of said contract. He also refused this request, saying he could do no such thing.

Initial Business Response
We appreciate you contacting Champion Windows regarding this installation. Every Champion contract has an approximate installation time frame written down by the Factory Representative during the sales presentation. These time frames are simply based on how quickly the Factory Representative assumes the product can be manufactured, shipped and installed. These are always, as specified on the contract, an approximate date and are based on a standard 4 week, equals a standard month calendar outline, meaning 4-8 weeks would translate into 1-2 months. Our products are custom manufactured, and we do our best to get the products to the location as quickly as we can. We certainly don't anticipate any issues or delays arising but, unfortunately, in the home improvement industry, they can sometimes occur. In this instance, the window is scheduled to arrive and be installed on 9/26 which is only 1-2 weeks past the approximate time frame originally given. We are actually trying to work something out with an installation crew to get the window installed a few days sooner as it is a more convenient time for the customer.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We understand that delays happen. What we don't understand is how customers are supposed to know that 4-8 weeks translates to 1-2 months, which is actually 4.5-9 weeks? And where was the notification to the customer that the initial 4.5-9 week schedule was not going to be met? As stated in this initial complaint, we had to call at week 7, to find out what was going on with our order, where we were told that they had no idea when the window would be ready. After that we were repeatedly blamed for the delay and for not understanding the above math that makes 4-8 weeks into 4.5 to 9 weeks. Good customer service is not to blame the customer. Good customer service is to not make the customer feel stupid. At this point they should be doing something for the customer to make up for the way we were treated. It took a call to corporate customer relations to even tell us that everything the regional manager said he couldn't do for us, corporate said he would be the one to do it. So what are they doing to apologize? We would not have been as upset with the delay if we had been proactively contacted and not been blamed for the delays. Are the years of word of mouth advertising (good or bad) not worth trying to rectify this situation? I really hope that thee are no problems with the install of this window, and we can work out something that makes us all equally satisfied.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

05/13/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the product

Complaint: We did not receive the product we thoroughly discussed with salesman, ***********. Instead, we were encouraged to accept what we received.

We needed to replace 2 patio doors in our upstairs office. The rough opening size was approx. 3 and a half inches larger than a standard 5' patio door. The doors we were replacing were also 3 and a half inches larger than a standard 5' door. I went to several home improvement websites, and in person to Home Depot, Carter Lumber, and Lowe's. All of which told me close to the same thing, to custom build those doors would be about $1500 per door. The standard 5' door was about $800 per door for a quality product. Because I've owned my own interior finishing contracting company since 1997, I obviously have the ability to add studs, rework interior and exterior trim, and do whatever else it takes, to make 5' doors work, if that's what I wanted. I wanted the same size doors that were being replaced.

The sales rep from Champion Windows and Door, ***********, came to our home on March 6, 2013. I explained I was a contractor myself, and was planning on installing the doors myself until I priced custom sized doors from other manufacturers. At the time I told him this, he commented on how they custom make every product, so that isn't an issue. I was VERY DEFINITIVE that I did not want a standard 5 foot door, or I just would have done this myself. Looking back, this would have been a perfect time for him to tell me they use a standard size door, and would not be making a door to fit my opening. (Of course, we wouldn't have purchased). Champion custom makes, or at least they advertise, all their own windows and doors. That was my reason for calling them. I wasn't very interested in having someone else install them, but they require that when purchasing their products.

He took measurements, and then scheduled another rep to come out next week to retake the measurements. I'm assuming this guy is in charge of taking specific measurements. For instance, why in the world would a second person need to measure if they were going to install a standard size patio door? I was not present when this second representative came. My wife let him in. This is the same gentleman who came out the day of installation when I stopped all work. He of course claims he told my wife what they would be doing... fitting in a 5 foot door. I was not under the impression I needed to monitor this visit. Mr. ***** conveyed that this visit is a very quick process. He would take measurements and leave.

My point to all this...If I wanted a standard size door fitted in, I could have done that. I wanted a door made to fit the opening, was willing to pay the additional costs for this, and was very, very up front about that. But the salesman was not honest with me about what I would be getting. I surely would never pay $3600 for 2 standard size patio doors installed.

Business' Initial Response
I attached a copy of the contract that clearly states 2 5 ft Patio Doors. On the day of the remeasure the measure tech went over everything with Mrs. *******. We did everything that the contract states we were going to do and exactly what we told Mrs. ******* the day we measured it.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The Response sent in by Champion Windows of Akron LLC is inaccurate and therefore unacceptable. The Response makes two allegations that are 100% false. First, the Response states that "on the day of the re-measure, the tech went over everything with Mrs. *******." That is 100% false. Second, the Response states that they did everything that they "told Mrs. ******* the day the measured." That is also 100% false.

My husband and I chose Champion Windows after learning that custom doors from a big box retail store would be cost-prohibitive. On March 6th, we talked at length with our salesperson, ***********, about the unusual size of the door openings in the room and were assured that custom doors would be produced in the Champion factory and that, in fact, the delivery of these custom doors would take 4-7 weeks since they needed to be made to our specifications. To solidify this understanding, a measurement was taken by the salesperson and marked down as "nominal" on the form as 5' doors. We understood that a re-measure would take place on Monday, March 11th at 4:00 pm, when the actual installer would come and check the salesperson's measurements to ensure that the proper-sized doors would be manufactured and delivered for install. This exchange lasted roughly 1 hour.
On March 11th, the installer came and went directly to the room where the doors were to be replaced. He pulled out his tape measure and measured the two openings and wrote down a figure in materials he carried. I made sure to tell him that my husband would be present on the day of the installation because he wanted to ensure that the floor boards underneath the doors were still of good quality and that he would remove the surrounding trim from the existing doors before the install to help expedite the installation of the new doors. The installer seemed to think that my husband might not need to remove the trim and then also assured me that they would have materials in their truck if any floorboards or other materials surrounding the door needed to be replaced. The only manufacturing question the installer asked of me was to confirm that the doors would open from the center out and that a satin nickel finish was requested on the hardware. This exchange lastly roughly seven minutes. At no time was mention ever made of a standard five-foot door being ordered. Any allegation by the company to the contrary is false.
We again seek a fair reduction in price in order to resolve this dispute.

**** *******

Business' Final Response
May 10, 2013


***********************************
Better Business Bureau of Akron


Re: Complaint Case **********
Consumer: **************


We received notice of Mr. and Mrs. *******'s rebuttal to our response regarding the above referenced case and appreciate the opportunity to respond.

While we certainly want and work hard to satisfy our customers, the terms of our contract are clear. The contract that Mr. & Mrs. ******* entered into and signed clearly states that 2 - 5ft patio doors are to be installed. The contract also states that verbal promises can cause misunderstandings and therefore the contract constitutes the entire understanding. This is to protect both parties from any miscommunication regarding the work to be performed and product being installed. We have fulfilled the terms of the contract and are entitled to payment in full. However, because customer service is important to Champion, we did contact Mr. ******* and extend an offer of a discount as a gesture of customer service. Mr. ******* refused the discount, asking instead for a 60-70% discount off the contract amount. This is neither fair nor reasonable. It is our hope that the BBB closes the complaint as the contract has been fulfilled, consumer has the product contracted for, and we have made a good faith effort to resolve with a more than fair offer of a discount of more than 10%.

Respectfully,
*********************************************
Champion of Akron/Canton/Youngstonw

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company provided proper verification that indicated there was no obligation to resolve the issues of the complaint.

03/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Customer Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: Work was started late, took too long, was done poorly. Shown guidelines their website said they follow (and they didn't) they played stupid.
Just a friendly warning: my experience was agonizing and cost me many sleepless nights. I could write a book about all the effort and aggravation it took to get them to do the work. Here is just ONE example: The receipt I got when I paid my bill three months ago had three things listed on it they were going to fix--just one of them is done (and that took months and considerable hounding). The other issues? THEY decided after I paid they don't need to fix! I would not want anyone to go through what I went through. RUN from this company!

Business' Initial Response
If there is a issue with ********* home he needs to contact us and we can set up a day and time to look at his issue. We stand behind our products and will not shy away. Please advise as to where we go from here.

Thank you,

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The "issues" fall into two categories: 1) How long and how much effort it took on my behalf to get them to get the job done. The contract was signed in August 2012 and here we are 7 months later. (An example: just two weeks ago a worker came out and recapped and recaulked the front door because, as he said, it looked "horrible." Earlier, company reps just kept telling me the original job was ok and made me feel like my expectations were too high. Yet, the worker who admitted it looked horrible came out and did a nice job of making my front door not look like an embarrassment. But, man, that took months of complaining!) Unless they can turn back time, here is not reason to go over that with them. 2) Issues they have seen and have stated they don't need to fix (despite me showing them the VSI standards they say they follow, yet my siding job does not). These also include one issue noted on my December 2012 receipt that they decided later they did not have to fix! (Of course, they didn't even call to tell me....I waited a few weeks, then called to ask when they were coming and THEN they told me THEY decided it did not need fixed! I paid the bill because it had a list of things to be fixed!) Hence, contacting them to look at these issues is fruitless. Furthermore, based on the way they have treated me and the issues, I don't want anyone from this office on my property again.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

01/22/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Windows, Garage Doors & Openers, Doors, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/27/2004Business started: 01/01/1953Business started locally: 02/01/1998
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation (LLC)

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Frank Rizzo
Contact Information
Ms. Cindy Currier (Office Manager) Karen Miller (Customer Serv. Mgr.)
Business Category

Windows, Garage Doors & Openers, Doors, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures

Products & Services

This company offers windows, doors, enclosures, siding, spas and patio room furnishing.

Alternate Business Names
Champion of Akron/Canton, Champion Window & Enclosure Company
BBB Program Participation

This company participates in the BBB's dispute resolution program with the Akron area National Association of the Remodeling Industry. This means it has agreed to use mediation and/or arbitration, if necessary, to resolve customer complaints

Industry Tips
Roofing Contractors
Condensation on Windows

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Champion Windows of Akron LLC

1163B Holiday Dr

Kent, OH 44240-6477

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1163B Holiday Dr 

    Kent, OH 44240-6477(800) 678-5056
    (330) 678-2345

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Akron. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Champion Windows of Akron LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 678-5056
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 24, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.