Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Ohio Basement Systems

Additional Locations

Phone: (330) 425-0797 Fax: (330) 425-1241 View Additional Phone Numbers 8295 Darrow Rd, Twinsburg, OH 44087-2307 http://www.ohiobasementsystems.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ohio Basement Systems meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ohio Basement Systems include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 20 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

20 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 14
Total Closed Complaints 20

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews on Ohio Basement Systems
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 7
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 8

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 27, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1995 Business started locally: 01/01/1995 Business incorporated 06/29/2000 in OH
Business Management
Mr. Michael Rusk, Owner Mr. Jeremy Tenney, GM
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Rusk, Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Jeremy Tenney, GM
Business Category

Waterproofing Contractors Basement - Finishing Foundation Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Basement Systems Foundation Supportworks of Ohio Tomorrow's Home Solutions . Tomorrowshomesolutions, LLC
Products & Services

This company offers This company provides basement waterproofing, wall bracing and basement finishing services.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Ohio Basement Systems has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8295 Darrow Rd

    Twinsburg, OH 44087-2307 (330) 425-0797

  • 8909 Freeway Drive

    Macedonia, OH 44056

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The work is unsatisfactory and incomplete Basement wall repair resulted in collapse of wall because they did not install power braces quoted in original contract, Excavator was tied off to the front yard tree to prevent falling into basement. Siding was damaged, sub pump crocks (2) were filled with cement block and sub pumps were damaged. Wall was rebuilt but does not meet contracted size, gap left between top row of Block and where house rests on block. Drywall screws popping and doors are not closing properly directly above repaired wall on first floor room. Damaged Siding from Excavator was replaced by Ohio Basement Systems with siding from home owners shed that did not match house. Block waterproofing is leaking. New cracks appearing in repaired wall. Attempts made to resolve, but always resulted in no shows or wanted home owners to miss work instead of evening or weekends. Had another water proofing company come for estimate to repair, In order for them to warranty, will cost over $11,500.00 to repair the work because block was not properly installed. Payment of 6000.00 has been paid to Ohio Basement System for job contract of 7500.00, Balance due upon completion, however, job is not finished and we have received a letter of possible collection.

Desired Settlement: would like company to replace the wall to the size specifications of the repair contract including reapplying waterproofing, replace siding, and repair any result of damage due to the house not resting on the block of repaired wall to the quality of a home inspection.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/04/07) */ Attached is the letter that was sent to Mr *******, please read. This letter was sent on October 29th 2015. As you can see in the letter we have been trying to get in contact with him for several weeks prior. The original contract was to brace his walls with PowerBraces and move the wall back. During the excavation the wall failed and we told him not to worry we would rebuild it at no additional cost, as an act of being a company with integrity. We have a wall rebuild division and sent down the proper crew to rebuild the wall. The wall was rebuilt properly, according to industry standards, with proper waterproofing installed, pictures available upon request. The siding is old and is not available to be purchased. From my understanding he gave the, subcontracted, siding company permission to use the siding on his shed because it was a match to repair the couple of pieces that were damaged when the wall failed. I believe the subcontractor replaced the siding on the shed with a near matching replacement. I'm not sure on that but we will definitely make sure that is fixed if not. There was an appointment where the crew went down to fill in a gap, but was unaware of needing additional lumber for the mudsill. We have been trying to get in touch to schedule a crew down to finish but have not been able to schedule anything. We have had a couple of appointments where we sent someone down and no one was there and work could not be completed. Mr ******* did call me on Monday November 1st, after receiving the letter to discuss what he thought was going on and expressed his concerns to me. I told him that we needed to finish the job and need to come back and that I was having my production office call him that same day to schedule and appointment. I had my production office call him to set up an appointment and never was able to because he did not answer. As you can see from the date of the letter to now, I am confused as to why he has not been calling us the past 5 months, instead of making a BBB complaint because the job is not done. I agree that the job is not done and would like to finish it. Mr. ******* said in his letter that we were contracted to rebuild the wall, the only signed contract we have on file is to support the wall (attachment added). If a signed contract exists between Mr ******* and our company for a wall rebuild, I request a copy of it. I have checked with our accounting office and we have NOT sent this to collections at this time and still hold the account open. The amount of time that has elapsed may have caused other issues that we can discuss at the time of inspection. Please call our office and ask for Joe T. (production manager) or myself to so that we can schedule someone to your home to finally finish the project. ************ Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2016/04/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We do not agree with your facts in your response so we cannot accept it. However, agreeing to meet with your contractor to review the job is acceptable . In the past it was requested to please meet on a Saturday so missing work was not an issue. You did sent one employee on a Saturday with a can of spray foam for the mudsill. It was expressed that was not acceptable, he also was showed the damage we had indoors as well as the exterior waterproofing was coming unattached and sliding down the wall, it was told to him that part could be repaired without anyone being home, but that has never transpired. Another appointment was made for a Sat. at 11 am, but throughout the day they called a couple times stating they were behind on another job. We had a wedding at 5pm that day and they called again around 4:30 saying they would still come in about an hour. We told them we would not be home, but they could do the exterior work. We never stated we had a contract for a new wall, only for a repair. We were told by your salesman on 3/20/15 that our situation was urgent and that we needed wall supports installed immediately, his crew would be out within the next week or so to install them, that was never done and on the day of repair 4/27/15, the braces were not put on prior to excavation even though before breaking ground I showed the machine operator the situation and that the wall supports were not in place. All in all, if it was your home, would you be satisfied, if work was not completed? If you are a company of integrity as you mentioned, your customer should be satisfied, shouldn't matter how long it takes us to again contact you. We hope that we will hear from you or meet with a representative (not a kid with a can of spray foam) in the very near future and not at your convenience, it should be at ours. PS...we also have dated pictures of the events. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2016/04/13) */ I will have my production department call you to set up another appointment. We are not denying that there was a problem and the wall collapsed, or am I denying that the job is not done. In fact all along we have been trying to go above and beyond to make sure we are doing the right thing and taking care of your property. We totally agree with you. Even in the letter sent to you, it was expressly written that you can call us as soon as you were ready. The "kid with a can of spray foam" was sent down there to fill a crack. He was unaware of any other issues, and simply there to fill a crack. We needed to physically talk to you to set up another appointment date with you, whether you were there or not. We are not just going to show up and work on someone's house unannounced. Multiple attempts were made to contact you. We also have phone records, pictures, notes and videos of the project which is why I see the urgency in getting your job fixed. It does matter how long it takes for you to contact us, because of the nature of your issues you can inadvertently cause further problems that could have been avoided. Our production manager will call you today to set up a time to meet. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2016/04/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We definitely want to sit down with someone with authority in your company to resolve the issues at hand, however, your response dated 4/13/16 notes your production dept would call us today. We have waited to hear from you/them before we responded to the proposed resolution and as of today 4/20/16, we still have not heard from anyone! THIS is the continued problem, you do not do what you say you are going to do! Please follow thru and make a call to the number you have on file and schedule a time with us.

2/11/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
1/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was told 2 days for full completed job to be done. Job never completed, we had to fix leaks, and now pipes were measured wrong distance. Joe started Oct 29th 2015. Employees came into our house with their once lit cigarettes in their mouth walking around with muddy shoes on. We didn't say anything. As the project started we opened the garage so the workers had easier access to the downstairs. Unbeknownst to us our tools were being used with out our consent. We took pictures and video of this going on. Once the day came to an end, our tools were thrown into the garage carelessly. (Pictures to prove) These workers were smoking with the smell trapesing back inside our house. They threw their cigarette butts all over the yard which we had to clean and pick up worries our little ones would find them and eat them. Need I say, the foremen for the job wasnt here.They blew our fuses countless times and tripped our washer to where is wouldn't work for 3 days. When the works told us they were leaving, we had to TELL THEM to clean up, which they didn't even attempt to do that even after being asked (the only thing they did clean up was a lamp they broke) and told them to wrap the outside in plastic so there wasn't a huge hole in the side of our house for the rain to get in that night. As I went downstairs to check the progress, to my surprise they were charging ALL their power tools on our extension cords. (This was a Friday when they came) Monday morning when Don the foreman came to work, I refused to let him in until I spoke with the project manager Rick. Rick came out and to what we thought got everything squared away for us. That was just for that incident. When they came Monday morning for the rough tie in plumbing, when they left it was leaking, we called Don, and he said he would be back out the next morning Tuesday after the staff meeting and fix it. When he came he had a can of Flex seal. A $20 can of spray rubber for a $7000 job. This is not what we thought the meaning of fixing the leak ment. Even after he left the leak still remained. Don was notifird again and came back out the next morning with more Flex seal. We stressed we wanted it done and done right. He assured us it would be done but not till the following morning. We waited yet again..And while we waited we couldn't use our sink, bathroom or washer. This is going on 4 days now with a leak. On the 4th day, when he didn't show up in the morning we called him. There was no answer but he did however call us back and told us he was certain he promised an afternoon service call. He told us he would be here around 4:30-5:00pm. He called us at 4:15pm and told us he had a family emergency and couldn't make it but could come on Monday morning. By now we fixed the leak so that we could wash clothes, dishes and go the the bathroom. We notified the project manager via email(s) on the matter. He reimbursed us for materials and labor. (Which wasn't the point, we paid for a job that still has yet been fully completed.) Now we have the issue of the rough plumbing not being code and its too close the the cinder block wall and the same with the shower as well. All we were ever asked was if we were doing a tub or shower and how big the shower was planing on being, which we choose the film 36in base shower kit. With the shower base in place and the toilet where they plumbed for, the toilet is in front of the shower with no clearance to walk and your feet would be in the shower and you would have to walk over the shower to get to the linen closet which even then the would be door wouldn't open. All the pipes are concreted in. We trusted that there was just a hiccup in the beginning since the foreman wasn't here and everything from Monday on would be done correctly. We are very dissatisfied and would NEVER recommend this company to anyone. We've tried and tried to get a hold of the proper channels in regards this matter and haven't received any response back. I see this is how you do business and take care of purple heart veterans. Truly, thank you for no service!

Desired Settlement: We are either seeking the job to be done correctly, or reimbursement of the lack of job that was done. And requesting phone contact via the owners Mike and Gayle. Thank you.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/15) */ I would first off like to thank you for your service. Being a medically discharged vet myself, I truly understand the trials and tribulations of active duty. We were notified that there was an issue with this home when we found out that our foreman was to go back out to fix an issue and could not make it. Rick our production manager was told that there was a leak and the homeowner had already fixed it. Mr ****** said it cost him $40 so we gave them a check for $100 back for the inconvenience. We then received a call regarding the plumbing. Rick scheduled an appointment with them and went out on Monday Dec 14th to discuss. While we were there it was agreed upon by Mr ******, that we put the plumbing exactly where he wanted us to put it during the initial installation. Rick did agree to help them out and schedule out our service tech to move it and rough it in with 2" pipe to match up the shower they bought to install there. All of this free of charge of course. We did send out our service tech several weeks ago to make sure they cleaned up properly. We had him re-rake out the area and level in the backfill that had already settled. We even offered to spread out grass seed and straw for them. They did not want it done now and wanted to wait until spring. We have a schedule date for that on our calendar. We always strive to take care of our customers and try to go above and beyond. We will do the same for this customer and ensure they are satisfied. As of the meeting with our production manager and the ******s on Dec 14th they are satisfied with us and have the appropriate schedule dates for any revisits scheduled.

11/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my basement waterproofed by this company on 05/23/14. It actually extended past this date because, after many phone calls, they've had to come back multiple times to repair problems from the initial job date. A pipe close to my sewer line was damaged in the basement floor from the jackhammering and some work was still needed to repair it. It was 06/29/14 when my email to them listing the history of the discussions between us got them to respond. This is going into the month of July. They finally come out and replace a portion of one pipe in hopes of solving the problem. Well now for the past several months we still have an odor coming from the floor in that area. I've tried calling and left a message for another visit with no replies. We've never had an odor in our basement prior to this project. Product_Or_Service: Basement Waterproofing Order_Number: ******** ?? Account_Number: ******** ??

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I need them to fix the damage they've caused in my home. They need to take another look in this area and repair what's still cracked. This is supposed to be a lifetime warranty on this work and I'm getting nothing.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/04/30) */ We have taken care of this customer and our production manager is going out to see this customer. The pipe was replaced as soon as we found out what was going on. We completely removed the pipe and replaced it with a new plastic pipe. This customer called us, once in Feburary, per Mr. ****** himself. We called 3 times, documented from our phone records, copy of record can be sent, and never heard back from him. We assumed he didn't need our services anymore after not being called back. After receiving this notification from the BBB, we called him again. This time he answered. He told us when asked why he made a complaint and didn't call us, he said "someone told him to call the BBB and make a complaint instead of calling us, that that would get a response". I wish he would have simply called here, we have a department, that their only job is to make our customers happy. We did not cause this odor but are doing everything we can to help him out and fix it. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/05/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have had two separate issues with this job. The first was what is described above and settled with the pipe replacement. (I'd like to know what numbers they called and the dates to reach me- I don't recall them). This complaint is filed for a current condition. *** came over and said he smelled "a little" something in the affected area. (I had placed some zeolite bags in the area for the past few months to control the odor. I removed them two days before his visit which wasn't enough time for the odor to consume more of the basement as it normally would). He stated "I don't know if that was already there". A pre-existing condition. We discussed and agreed possible situations that would have happened it was pre-existing. Signs (odor) that would be present elsewhere in the basement. No odors anywhere but the affected area. He told me I needed to call a plumber with a camera to search the pipe and find out if a crack is located around the jobsite area and get back to him.

5/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: OBS did not solve the rodent issue that I hired them for. In addition to not addressing my problem, they caused a major problem by encapsulating my water I hired Ohio Basement Systems (OBS) to install an encapsulation system in the crawlspace of my house. My specific problem was rodents getting into the crawlspace. The salesman promised that the OBS encapsulation system would solve the problem. OBS installed the system on December 9 and 10, 2014. In February of 2015, I heard rodents in my crawlspace. I called OBS on February 16, 2015 to complain. They told me they would send a representative on February 19, 2015. On February 18, 2015, my water line froze and I had no water in my house. I suspected that OBS had encapsulated my water line. In 18 years of living in my house, my water line had never froze. On February 19, 2015, OBS sent their representative (****) to my home. I explained that the first priority was to thaw out my water line. Following that, to determine where the rodents were gaining entry to the crawlspace. There was a copper pipe that ran from the kitchen to under the foundation of the house. The pipe was visible from the kitchen floor to the plastic encapsulation. I asked **** to cut out the encapsulation material from around the pipe. He replied that he did not have the proper tools. He then located where the rodents were getting into the house. However, he claimed that the two cans of foam insulation he had with him was not enough to finish the job. He promised to send a crew to my house within a week and he left. I never heard from **** again. After **** left, I went into my crawlspace and cut out the plastic encapsulation from around the copper pipe. Under that plastic, there was 12" more of the pipe before it went underground. This is where the pipe was frozen. In order to once again have water in my home, I tried to thaw the pipe by heating it with a propane torch. In doing so, my house caught fire. This fire resulted in extensive damage to my house. OBS did solve the rodent issue that I hired them for. In addition to not addressing my problem, they caused a major problem by encapsulating my water line, which subsequently froze. If I had not had hired OBS, my water pipe would not have froze. My insurance company is paying for the damage caused by the subsequent house fire. I am only seeking a full refund of what I paid to OBS, $4420.89.

Desired Settlement: My insurance company is paying for the damage caused by the subsequent house fire. I am only seeking a full refund of what I paid to OBS, $4420.89.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/04/27) */ Our attorney, ************** will be contacting you regarding Mr. *******. I forwarded this message to him. He should have already contacted the BBB in regards to this matter. We are actively pursuing damages against him for falsely accusing our company and making false complaints. This is a legal matter and we will be taking him to court over the false complaints. Sincerely, ************* General Manager Ohio Basement Systems Foundation Support Works Total Basement Finishing LLC ************** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 18, 2015/05/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Ohio Basement System (OBS) has responded to my legitimate complaint by intimidating me with attorneys and the threat of court action. I stand by my initial statement - OBS provided shoddy work and poor customer service. OBS did not solve the rodent issue that they were hired for. Therefore, I would like a full refund of the money I paid them, $4420.89.

4/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have a warranty with our sump pumps and they came out on March 16th 2015 and deemed our sump pump broken as it was not pumping water up enough to go out drain pipe and was kicking on 3 to 4 times in a row every few mintues. They said they would get our new sump that week and have it installed. On March 23rd, seven days later I heard nothing from them so I called and they said they still didn't have and it. So now its Friday march 27th and the sump has stopped working all together and the other sump in crock is 7 years old and I have made call to owner and service man and only gotten their voicemails. No response.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement We want the broken sump replaced asap and another new one to replace the one that is 7 years old and is handling all the duties of both sumps.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 6, 2015/04/06) */ The issue was resolved a few days ago, and we are happy with the results.

11/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ohio Basment Systems needs to refund our deposit for structual work that was determined by a professional enginner to be totaly unneccesary We contacted Ohio Basement Systems on 9/8/2014 to look at cracks in our basement walls at our Condominium at ********************************. Their representative ************** came out on 9/9/2014, he claimed he was a structual engineer. He looked at the basement, took photos and said we had serious, critical, structual problems. He recommended an elaborate repair involving new interior water drainage systems and structual support involving complete tear out of concrete flooring around the basement interior. Mr ******** lead us to beleive there were soil problems in our area and the basement foundation would continue to get worse, deteriorate, and potentially collapse. The cost was $25,000. We signed the agreement to correct these structual problems and gave a deposit of $6500. After giving this some thought and speaking to other Condo owners we decided to contact an independent registered profesional structual engineer. ******************, came out and looked at the same issues that Mr ******** looked at. MR ***** stated that our foundation is sound, and that there are no structual issues, the cracks in the walls can be repaired with normal masonry repair practices. Mr ***** further stated that the structual repairs proposed by Ohio Basement Systems is unnecessary and not needed. Mr ***** submitted a written report to us on September 30th with his findings and recommeded repairs. We have contacted other masonry firms and found that these repairs can be made at a faction of the cost proposed by Ohio Basement. Therefore we feel we have been totaly mislead by Mr ******** and Ohio Basement Systems. We are not questioning the validity of their product or system but we are questioing their sales practices and expertise. We are demanding a full refund!

Desired Settlement: $6500 refund

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/03) */ We have been trying to contact this customer to talk with them since they called and said they were cancelling the job, way out of the rescission period. They state they had another third party engineer come in and give an opinion on their problem. I do ask though, since this customer trusts this other person so much, why didn't they call him first? Our TEAM of engineers (structural and geotechnical), not just ****, agree that there is more to their home than just a simple "tuck pointing job" will fix. The block and and mortar joints do not move and crack under normal conditions and that this customers house in is the first phase of wall/footing failure. In our business we do not assume that "filling in the cracks" will fix it. This is like putting a band aid on a broken leg. Mr. ***** states that he had other masonry companies out to look at the problem. The problem with that is they are simply masonry companies, that can only do jobs within their capacity and knowledge. We are a structural foundation repair and stabilization company, located all over the country, meaning not only do we repair (tuck pointing) also we stabilize (piering) and can offer a national warranty on the home. Which no other foundation company in the United States can offer. We are undeniably experts in this field and have the professionals and products to prove it. I invite Mr. ***** PE to come and talk to my team of engineers and go over things if needed. All to help, the goal of a satisfied customer with a sound, solid and warrantable fix on this customers home. We are always open to new opinions and ways to further improve our craft. All of this aside, if Mr ***** would have simply called us back after the numerous attempts to call him, this would have been taken care of already. We have, documented, numerous phone calls from our office and from ****'s cell phone, proving that we have been trying to get in contact with the *****s. Yesterday, for example **** called them, and as soon as he said his name they hung up on him. How can you make someone happy if they won't even speak to you? Right now we have a signed contract and thousands of dollars in materials that we bought for this customer, that are going unused. This contract is a legally binding agreement that the *****'s signed with us. To release not only them from the agreement, but our company too and to return the deposit, they need to sign off on it. Which means, they need to call us back or not hang up on us and schedule a time to do such. We've been trying to call them but if they don't call back there is nothing we can do short of stalking them, and we just aren't going to do that! Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We do not accept this response. The facts are: On September 9th 2014, when asked, your representative said he was a professional structural engineer. The signature on this representatives report, received on September 16, 2014, he identifies himself as "Field Supervisor", not a professional structural engineer as he previously stated. Ohio Basement Systems did not send out a team of engineers to analyze our situation, you sent out this individual representative. This representative stated in his one paragraph report that "this home is in the beginning stages of failure" The condominium is 17 years old and shows no sign of structural failure as reported by a registered professional structural engineer's four page evaluation dated September 26th 2014. Your representative verbally stated on September 9th 2014 that the condominium did not need a sump pump, yet included with his report was literature showing a sump pump installation. These significant inconsistences are what led us to question these proposed solutions by Ohio Basement Systems We do not need to speak to this representative, being a "Field Supervisor" he informed me on September 23rd that he could not refund our deposit and I needed to speak to your office. No one from Ohio Basement Systems with the authority to refund our deposit has tried to contact ud

8/18/2014 Delivery Issues
8/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/22/2014 Delivery Issues
5/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Did not complete job. even after repeated phone calls. I signed a contract for waterproofing foundation of my house. It was installed on July 22, 2013. However, there were two pieces of stone wolk way that was not put back. The foreman on the job said, they will install after the dirt has settled. During November, company came but could not install because the ground was frozen. I called the company repeatly since April, but they will not get me a date to complete the work. Now, today the company did nto even return my phone call. This is very disappointing.

Desired Settlement: I just want the company to come back and put back the two pieces of stone walk way.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 6, 2014/05/22) */ The business came to complete the project to my satisfaction yesterday. This case should be closed.

4/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I cancelled our contract within 48 hours of signing and we still have yet to recieve a refund. On March 12, 2014 I had signed a contract and placed a deposit down of $3370.13. After talking it over with my husband and within 48 hours of signing, my husband and I decided not to continue with our contract as we were dissatisfied with the proposal. We contacted our sales representative on March 13,2014 to cancel. He mentioned the check had already been processed and that we should receive a full refund within a week. I was uneasy because we were told we had 72 hour business days to reconsider and then came to learn that our check had already been cashed. The check that was written to Ohio Basement Systems was from our home equity line of credit in which we have now acquired interest charges on since the check was cashed on March 14,2014 as per our monthly statement. On March 24, 2014 I had contacted the sales representative again to see the status of our check. He mentioned that the office only cuts checks on Wednesdays and stated once again I should receive it in a week. It is now the 11th of April and I still have not received a penny. I have since called the main office number and left a message on the machine with no response back.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive a check in the amount of $3370.13.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/16) */ Our records indicate that check number **** was mailed out to the customer on Wednesday March 19th. The financial institution is stating that it has not been cashed. It is possible that the letter, containing the refund, may have been discarded as junk mail. Our Representative was correct in telling her that we mail out checks on Wednesdays. So when the customer contacted our representative the account already said it was refunded and canceled, so there was no need to take action any further. Until today this is the first that we have heard about this customer's concern. We called this customer immediately upon notification from the BBB and let them know that they should have received a check already. The customer stated that she had been calling the office everyday. After searching our phone records and incoming recorded calls, we have discovered there haven't been any communications with this customer since the third week of March 2014. If we would have been notified earlier, this would never have been an issue. After our communication with the customer's mother, on April 16th 2014, the other check has been canceled and a new check has been issued and the customers parents are coming up to our office to pick it up at our office on the same day. I do ask why the customer is not calling us and is having her mother call? Never the less, we always strive to provide quality customer service in a timely and efficient manner, and have proven such by providing an acceptable solution the moment we were aware of the issue. We wish them the best and do apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused.

3/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company has not followed through to complete repairs, and has caused damage to our house. Promises were broken. They lied to us. Our basement wall was buckling. The company was to install "Power Braces" to straighten the wall and repair a shear in the concrete blocks. When the power braces were installed, care and measuring was not proper and numerous holes were drilled in several floor joists, thereby structurally weakening our home. The brackets on the floor were not installed properly and the nuts and bolts were so badly damaged with a hammer they are no longer able to tighten. After the installation, the crew wanted full payment but did not complete the job which required digging out the foundation on the outside of the house. I was told by **** that "I don't know anything about any digging." I paid $4000.00, withholding $1500.00 until the job was complete. They sent another man to do the digging and guaranteed me that he had found and solved my water in the basement problem. Water still enters my basement. When they called wanting the balance, I refused, recounted the shoddy workmanship and structural damage. **** returned to our home and admitted he was not at all happy with the job done. He promised to return with a crew and supervise the job himself. I told him I was not at all happy with Ohio Basement Systems. He promised me that when he was finished, I would be happy. Then I received a letter from Michael Rusk demanding full payment, stating that they never agreed to straighten the walls. The letter said that power braces only provide stability. The job I agreed to was to completely straighten the walls and repair the shear of the concrete block. I was told by **** at the time of installation that they would be back in 3 months to torque the power braces again. I was told by **** that after he returned with a crew to make repairs to the shoddy workmanship, they would return every 3 months to continue to torque the power braces until the wall was straight. 6 months passed and I heard nothing from this company. Just today, January 8, 2014, ****** called and said he hadn't heard from ME! I was to call and tell them when to come out. How would I know when they should come out. I was told numerous times they would come every 3 months. He claimed he didn't know my schedule and it was up to me to schedule the torquing jobs. That was never our agreement, nor my understanding. After 6 months, the wall has not changed noticeably and I believe this company is not up to the task.

Desired Settlement: I had contacted two companies to straighten this wall. It is obvious we chose the wrong company. I would like Ohio Basement Systems to refund my payment of $4000.00 and remove their hardware from our home. It is evident to me that these power braces are not going to fix my basement wall and that Ohio Basement Systems does not honor their promises.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/23) */ (BBB - Converted from original document. See attached.) Our contract with Mr. ***** was signed on May 6, 2013. (See A) The contract was for the installation of 7 Power Braces to stabilize a bowing basement wall. (See B, C) Mr. ***** also initialed the contract indicating he understood the warranty, including the section regarding the straightening or lifting of the wall. (See D, E) The work was completed on June 6, 2013. Mr. ***** paid $4,000 and signed a statement indicating that he was aware that continued service would be needed to adjust the bracing in an attempt to straighten the wall. He also indicated that he would not pay the balance of $1545 until the corner of the basement wall dried out??? We did not, contract to do any waterproofing there. (See F) A certified letter was sent to Mr. ***** on July 11, 2013, indicating that we were still awaiting final payment. The necessity of this letter was due to the fact that Mr. ***** was now indicating that it was his belief that the walls should have been straightened to begin with, and he was refusing to pay the balance on that basis. That is clear by reading the content of the letter we sent to him. (See G and H). Its important to note that we had been out there a second time to adjust a beam per Mr. *****'s request, and that there was obviously communication, that again, necessitated that July 11th letter. Mr. *****'s comments that he had not heard from us in clearly NOT true as can be determined by our documentation. (See I) We did not hear back from Mr. *****, even though we continued to try to contact him by phone. On January 8th, ************* was able to reach Mr. ***** in an attempt to continue to address the problem we described in our July 11th letter. When Mr, ***** indicated he was "less than cordial", it needs to be understood that means using demeaning language, swearing, yelling and screaming, making literally impossible to communicate. This matter has been turn over to our legal department as a result of our inability to continue to communicate. We stand ready and able, as communicated in our paperwork- signed by Mr. ***** in multiple places, including the certified letter back in July, to service this job as per our contract. It also important to note that the BBB complaint DID NOT come until after Mr. ***** heard from our legal department that we were pushing for payment on the job! Sincerely, ************* General Manager Tomorrow's Home Solutions LLC 8287 Darrow Rd. Twinsburg, Ohio 44087 888-590-3537 (fax) 330-425-1241 www.tomorrowshomesolutions.com Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/01/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This contract was NOT to stabilize a bowing basement wall. This contract, according to the company representative, ****, was to install 7 braces to MOVE THE WALL TO ITS ORIGINAL LOCATION. This, to me, means the shear at the bottom of the wall would be corrected and the wall would stand straight. **** said, "We will have no problem moving this wall right back to into place as soon as it dries up outside." Never was I told it would take over a year. He said in June, when it dries up, that wall will move right back into place. I received estimates from two different companies. I wanted the wall to be STRAIGHT, not stabilize a bowed wall. I called **** 2 days after my original deposit and informed him that I had changed my mind. I was going with a different company. The other company agreed to dig out the foundation and straighten the wall completely with jacks. **** returned to inform me that they would dig out the foundation to ensure we fixed the water problem. When the work crew arrived and finished installing the power braces, I was presented with a form to fill out from ************ and almost forced to fill it out. Then ****, the foreman, wanted to collect the balance due. I asked, "What about digging around the foundation?" **** replied, "I don't know anything about any digging." **** admitted later that he had forgotten to add the digging to the contract. The reason I withheld a partial payment was that the job was NOT FINISHED. Another worker arrived that Saturday to do the digging. He only dug around the corner of the foundation. I was under the impression they would dig down to the shear and make sure we got all water seepage stopped. I asked him about it, and he said he did what he was instructed to do. It is obvious that **** told me one thing, and the workers did something else. There was not a complete understanding what was to be performed to complete this job. I did receive the certified letter mentioned. I took exception to it because, again, it said the contract never indicated the wall would be straightened. I would not pay to have a bowed wall 'stabilized'. My understanding from day one was that the wall would be straight when complete. Also, after I inspected the original job, the workers drilled several extra holes in the floor joists. I was not happy with that, and informed **** of my discontent. He again returned and agreed that the job performance was shoddy, and that he would return with a crew and supervise the repairs, including adding support to the floor joists the workers had weakened. It has been over 6 months since I heard from ****. I also told him of the letter demanding payment, and asked what I should do about it. He told me to just, "Hold off on that, I'll take care of it." I admitted up front that I was 'less than cordial' when called by ******. It is an outright lie that I used any type of fowl language. I did NOT swear at anyone, as I don't do that. My wife was present at the time, and will attest to that fact. Ask any member of our family. I do not use that language, no matter how angry or upset I get. At this point, I am convinced that this company has put profit and money ahead of customer satisfaction, integrity, and company reputation. There is simply no way that this company can remain objective and complete this job as promised to me. The last conversation I had with **** was simple enough. I told him that I was not at all happy with this situation. **** promised me, and he did use the word 'promise' when he said, "When I'm finished, I promise you'll be happy." I have lost sleep over this situation. I get nauseous just thinking about what a fool I was to believe everything I was told. I dislike being lied to and lied about. I choose not to do business with companies that act this way and put profit above everything else. We are firm in our conviction that this was the wrong way to go to fix our home. We stand firm in demanding a refund of the $4000 and the power braces removed. We will find a company that will straighten the bowed wall as promised.

1/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contract cancelled as of December 1, 2013. Sales representative promised to return refund of $1000.00 and I still have not recieved it. Contract was cancelled as of December and I was told by the sales representative that I would definately recieve my refund of $1000.00 back because a schedule date was not set and parts were not ordered. After numerous attempts to contact and collect the refund, the representative keeps promising to send a check out week after week, but I still have not recieved my refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like to recieve my refund of $1000.00 back as promised by the sales representative (************). I have always referred Ohio Basement Systems to ppl I know and will continue to do so as long as they honor what they have promised, which is a refund of $1000.00. Once I am financially prepared to do the work, I will use Ohio Basement Systems.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 6, 2014/01/28) */ Sales Rep. ************ and General Manager ************** of Ohio Basement Systems quickly resolved my problem and provided a refund to me immediately. Thank you, *****

1/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I asked for a summary of materials used on the project because I felt they overestimated the size of our basement and I was refused the request. We had Basement Systems handle the installation of a waterproofing system in our basement this week. The original estimate stated the size of our basement was 120 square feet. That number was never actually substantiated, it was only an eyeball estimate. Another company that we received a quote from actually measured and indicated that the basement was 100 square feet. I figured this would all come out in our favor in the end because the $ estimate was based on a higher than actual basement size/amount of materials. I was surprised to find out that the end price was as quoted and not lower. When I called today to discuss it with *****, our contact, I asked about a breakdown of the costs because I felt the size of the basement was overestimated. His response? "No, it was right on". I asked how he knew because he never took any measurements and he responded "no, yeah, I was right on. We were within tolerance, the price would have been the same give or take ten feet." I asked how that was possible, since the materials costs would be less and he again said "no, we were right on". I asked if he had paperwork on the amount of materials used and he responded "no". I asked how that could be since they would have to keep some record and he responded that the square footage was "just an idea so they know how much material to have on the truck". I was getting nowhere with him, so I just ended the call. I would like to see the footage of materials used in the project. It does not seem an unreasonable request. I will also point out that there were errors in the installation, some panels are still loose and our utility sink is currently unable to be used as the hose that connected it to the drain has been knocked off as they moved the sink around. Basement Systems claims I will be receiving a call from the foreman on the job soon to set up a time to fix those mistakes, but that has not yet happened. Whether or not the material cost is justified in the end remains to be seen, but their refusal to provide such a breakdown leaves me suspicious that we may have been taken advantage of by a rough estimate without actual measurements. (BBB additional detail combined from duplicate complaint.) Disconnected our washer and dryer to do the install, did not reconnect dryer or utility sink. In order to install the walling system during the waterproofing work, Basement Systems disconnected and moved the dryer, washer and a utility sink. We were advised they would handle the moving of those items by *****, the salesman. The utility sink was not reconnected to the drain and the dryer was not connected to the vent hose. I attempted to reconnect the vent hose yesterday, but the dryer still does not operate properly. The dryer is connected to a wall plug that had to be moved during the installation of the waterproofing panels. Prior to Basement Systems work, the dryer functioned properly, after their work it does not. Ia attempted to resolve this with the foreman and his supervisor yesterday. They both refused to take blame for the dryer not functioning. Both indicated that they were under the impression that the dryer had been reconnected and was functioning. Neither had a suitable response to my question of why the foreman, who is supposed to oversee all work and make sure everything was back in order before leaving the job site, had not done so. They have offered to come out this week to see what they can do to resolve the problem, however, the problem should have never resulted in the first place. Their lack of attention to detail left us in a bind this weekend in terms of doing laundry needed for the week.

Desired Settlement: If it turns out that the materials costs is not justified, I'd like a suitable portion refunded. Ultimately, I just want to initially see the breakdown to ease my mind. If it was justified, obviously I have no grounds to complain, but I just want to know what I paid for. (BBB additional detail combined from duplicate complaint.) I want the dryer and utility sink back in working condition, the panels that were improperly installed to be repaired and a refund of some amount for the inconvenience this has all caused. I am also still requesting a summary of materials spent on the project per my other complaint as I feel we were overcharged due to an overestimate on the size of the basement.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/20) */ *SEE ATTACHMENT* Mr. ***********: ************************************* I would like to address the issues stated in Mr. ******'s complaint. Starting with the footage issue. When our inspectors go to homes to bid jobs they take into account material scrap/waste vs actual measurements. When **** went to Mr, ******'s home he already had the measurements of the basement, which he downloaded from the county auditor's web site (attached copy). Upon his inspection he discovered that this particular basement has a Michigan ledge, which will cause you to use more Brightwall than a basement without one. So when bidding the job, it is customary in the industry to add a percentage on the job to account for the extra material that will be used and wasted. I have attached a copy of the foreman's actual Job drawing and Material usage sheet for this job, which we use far inventory purposes. **** would not have had a copy of this form to give to the customer. This home used 113 linear feet of waterguard, a Supersump, 4 inspection ports, and 212 linear feet of Brightwall. If we were to bid the job using the actual material footage that was needed the cost of this estimate would have been so high we would not be competitive and therefore would not be in business. **** was indeed accurate with his estimate taking into account of the Michigan ledge and any obstacles the may have been in the way, keeping us competitive with other companies. The next issues I would like to discuss are the items in the basement that were moved and or disconnected for the installation process and the Brightwall installation. I have attached a signed and Initialed copy or our Job Detail/Disclaimer form and a copy of the original contract. Mr. ****** signed off on and initialed these forms knowing that we were not taking responsibility for any items needing moved. We have this paper just for this reason. We ask customers to make the walls and floor accessible and is responsible for replacement of the items moved (see original contract). We will help move items and do our best to treat customer's items as if they are our own, but accidents happen and old items that have not been used in years can have issues. None of this would have been an issue if the basement was accessible. This job ended on Wednesday, December 4th. On Thursday the 5th we received a call from Mr, ****** regarding his sink and a couple of areas where he wanted the Brightwall tighter, we talked to our foreman and set up an appointment to go back to Mr. ******'s home Friday morning. Our foreman called and left Mr. ****** a message and did not hear back from him until around fpm on Friday and set up a service appointment for Tuesday the let" at 6pm, On Sunday the St" at around 6:30pm I had a conference call with Mr ****** and ****, at that time the dryer was brought up. I tried to schedule **** there sooner but Mr. ******'s schedule would not allow it, so **** kept the date that they set up on Friday the 6th for Tuesday the 10th at 6pm. **** went to the home and addressed and helped Mr. ****** with his issues and concerns, even though it was not our responsibility to move and replace items. It turns out that the breaker was off for the dryer and it works just fine and the sink just needed a new rubber fitting, that we provided, because the old one would not seal it properly anymore due to age. The Brightwall was installed correctly, but needed a few more buttons added because Mr. ****** wanted them tighter. Normally we leave them a little loose, to allow for drainage, but we added them because we want to do what we can to make our customers happy. Please let me know if you need anything from me, I am more than willing to cooperate. Sincerely, ************* General Manager Ohio Basement Systems Dr Energy Saver Foundation Support Works 1-888-590-3637 Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/12/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Regardless of the paperwork, **** had advised us that "our guys are some of the strongest guys I've met" and as such, they would handle the moving of the large items such as washer/dryer/hot water tank, etc. We were told that we needed to move the smaller items, which we did. Based on ****'s word, we left the large items to be moved by the company. All items worked fine before that, all items needed repair or alteration afterwards, it's as simple as that. As to the assertion that the breaker was off, that is simply not true. We had flipped the breaker several times without the dryer working. When the foreman came to make all necessary repairs, he indicated that half of the wall installation was done by himself and the other half by another person. The foreman's half was buttoned up the whole way around. The other half only had buttons in the corners. So, if you "usually leave them loose", one of your men needs to be trained better, don't you think? And since it was your foreman who originally tightened the walls up the whole way around, it would seem your foreman is the one who needs better training. Either that, or you don't normally "leave them loose". Please let me know which. As to the size of the basement, other companoes that we had in measured the basement and arrived at 100 square feet. I simply can not believe you used that much walling. At 120 square feet, and wrapping the walls twice, it seems you would use 240 feet of Brightwall. 212 feet of wall, wrapped twice, gets us a number much closer 5o the 100 square feet that had been measured. I am renewing my request for a partial refund. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/01/03) */ Mr ****** is completely correct in saying that **** did tell him we would help move items for him. We help our customers move heavy items, that they are unable to move, all of the time. It is standard in the industry to help as much as possible. We have customers sign off on the disclaimer forms, just in case an accident happens, due to varying age and conditions of customers items. Normally there is never an issue. In this case we did go back out, even though it was signed off on, and addressed the issues with the sink and dryer in efforts to provide quality customer service. The outlet was never taken apart during the initial installation and the only thing it could of been was the breaker, or it was not plugged in properly, Of which Mr ****** said he checked both. Our foreman, after checking the outlet, that he never disassembled and checking to see if it was plugged in properly, said Mr ****** flipped the breaker again and the dryer came on. We are just as puzzled as Mr ****** on the issue was, but it's fixed now and that is the main thing. To address the installation of the Brightwall. It was in fact, installed correctly. I discussed the installation with the foreman this morning and he said that Mr ****** wanted it tighter and that the half that his technician installed was correct but he made it tighter to ensure that Mr ****** was a satisfied customer. A typical install on Brightwall, on a standard wall is to button the panels on the divider installed edge. Some customers prefer to have more buttons added to the Brightwall and some do not. It is a customer preference issue that is easily addressable. My foreman did address the issue with Mr ****** and install more buttons in the areas he specified, when he went back out at the time we agreed upon with Mr ******. As far as the footage/pricing. To clear things up, the basement is not 100 "square feet" it is 100 "linear feet". The crew used, as I have already stated, 113 linear feet of our Waterguard and 212 linear feet of our Brightwall, these measurements include material that had to be thrown away because they were cut to accommodate the 4-5 inch Michigan ledge and any obstacles that they may have had to go around. **** already had the measurements of the basement prior to going to the home. I sent a copy of the Auditors website information to the BBB in the last correspondence. When pricing a job, to remain competitive, we have a percentage multiplier that could be added or subtracted to a job cost, so that we can control material and labor cost-vs-actual installed cost that we charge the customer. Mr ******'s home has a Michigan ledge, which will result in the addition of more material/labor being used, because you can not install the Brightwall as you would on a standard flat wall. The 120 linear foot charge, takes into consideration the percentage multiplier, that will adjust the price accordingly to cover the additional material and labor that will be used to install products at homes with abnormal circumstances, without charging full retail installation charges. Hence keeping our price to the customer at a competitive rate and keeping the material/labor costs so that it makes sense to bid and install the job. The main file, which we keep for warranty purposes, has the copy of the auditor's website information, pictures, measurements, notes from the inspector and a material list. All of these things will let the foreman know exactly what he needs to load for job and what he will be up against before even stepping foot inside of the home. Once again the cost of this job would have been much more than charged if we were to charge for actual cost verses using the percentage multiplier to cover additional scrap and labor. Please let me know if there is anything else I can assist with. I really do want my customers to be satisfied and we try to do everything within reason to assure that happens. Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2014/01/21) */ The fact of the matter is, what the company presents as having been done "because the customer requested it" is simply not true when it comes to the button system. One half was done correctly according to the company spokesman (four buttons), one was done incorrectly according to the spokesman (the side with six buttons). If it should be loose as he indicated and was done on the one side (4 buttons), then why was one side originally done with 6 before I said anything? Either Basement Systems is just trying to cover itself or its own people don't know the correct procedures. I request a refund of no less than $500 to compensate for the time and effort on my part to resolve this matter.

11/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

8 Customer Reviews on Ohio Basement Systems
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart