Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Basement Care

Phone: (330) 784-1582 Fax: (330) 784-1584 View Additional Phone Numbers 1700 E Waterloo Road, Akron, OH 44306-4104 http://basement-care.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Basement waterproofing experts with over 30 years of foundation repair experience.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Basement Care meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Basement Care include:

  • 11 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Basement Care include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Basement Care
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 10, 2009 Business started: 10/01/2007 Business started locally: 10/01/2007
Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Mr. Raymond Ficere, CEO Mr. Jim Lucco, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Raymond Ficere, CEO
Business Category

Waterproofing Contractors

Products & Services

MOLD EATER™, SAVE-A-WALL™, CONSTANT POWER™, BCVENTILATION™


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Basement Care has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1700 E Waterloo Road

    Akron, OH 44306-4104 (330) 784-1582 (877) 877-8161

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/28/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
11/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Complaint taken over the phone by BBB Staff (AI) Consumer paid company $10,000 appr. to waterproof basement and mold remediation. Two months later, the mold returned and the consumer has contacted the company multiple times to have this issue resolved. The company told her they would return, however they have not returned to the consumer property to address the issue. Consumer is very frustrated.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) To do the job properly, or refund the consumer the money she paid them to do the job.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/09/09) */ On 9/2/2015 Mrs. ******** called in for a musty smell. We set the service date for 9/4/2015. We removed sill plate insulation sealed crock lid, and fixed the vent. We are more than happy to help Mrs. ******** any time and will still continue to do so.

9/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired basement care to waterproof my basement they did a very unprofessional job and was paid in full I hired basement care to waterproof my basement they did a terrible job leaving my ground cable exposed leaving my water hose running flooding my yard leaving cement patches in my grass not returning my calls very poor customer service

Desired Settlement: I want them to come and fish the job professionally or my money back

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/09/08) */ Shield was removed and put back up to Mr ****** liking on 8/25/2015 Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 12, 2015/09/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accept because they came back and fixed it

9/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Work is not as promised still getting water in basement after several service calls We had them come out and waterproof our basement and they still have not completed the work after almost 2 months and several service calls we are still getting water in the basement and now they are not even getting back to us about doing anymore services and we no longer want them to do the work we would like to get a refund and have the work done by another company

Desired Settlement: money back to get the work completed by another company that can do the job and for us have no more water in our basement as promised

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/14) */ To whom it may concern BasementCare service dept. has been out 3 times customer was not home. We are more than happy to service them and are still trying to reach them to be able to take care of them. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/07/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) they have not even called me once and i will get phone records to prove that and they have our home phone and our cell numbers and they have only been out once and was told they could not come in due to no previous call and i had doctors appointment if the problem persists and nothing is done on their part i will skip the niceness of this and get a lawyer and go for breach of contract Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2015/09/08) */ The work was completed for the homeowners on May 20th 2015. The job has been serviced every single time the homeowner called and complained of an issue. Unfortunately the job did not get fixed right the first time and this does happen on occasion. We are human and will make mistakes, this is why we offer a fully lifetime transferable warranty on the job. The last service date on the job was August 19th 2015, no services have been reported since. We have gone above and beyond for this homeowner and will continue to service them with the utmost respect. Thank you.

1/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
3/31/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: BasementcareRx guaranteed a dry basement with lifetime guarantee. It has leaked three times in less than six months. BasementcareRx guaranteed a dry basement with a lifetime guarantee. The basement was repaired in October of 2013. As of March 2014, conditions for a leak have occurred three times, and all three times, the basement has leaked. On the first two occasions, the company has made superficial repairs. I have contacted the company and let them know that I am filing a complaint with the BBB. They seem to be taking the situation somewhat more seriously, and stated that they will actually dig up the area where water is breaching the basement wall and find a permanent solution.

Desired Settlement: I want the basement repaired so that it does not leak as specified in the contract.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/18) */ This has been a most difficult customer.The reason it has taken so long is he would not let us come out during business hours. We have come out after 5 o'clock and on a Sunday with no appreciation of our efforts. Some homes are more difficult to fix then others and we will put ever effort forward to fix any problem at our own expense.If we could have come out during business hours this would have been fixed long ago.This service was scheduled before the complaint was even made.How can this even be a complaint.

1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I talked to the owner and made my complaint. He said he would get back with me.he did not! I then called back over the months with no response Work performed in March 2013,Contacted owner on the work performed had water leaks after heavy rains, they came out to re-do just half the floor repair instead of doing the whole oringal repair. Was told there was not enough space between floor and foundation and that they would breakup the foundation a little more so water could flow freely into the drainage pipe to the sump pump. If that was the problem why only half the oringal repair was done over? After second work repair was done water still came through. That is when I made my first call to the owner. I told him of the water problems and also of the work that I was told would be done as part of their inside system work ( Outside trench to follow all cracks to foundation for repair they only dug down maybe 4 feet. The trench was 44 feet long,about 20 feet of that was under a bedroom over hang (4feet) there they dug maybe 2 feet down. They did not follow cracks till they stopped as I was told. And that they would check flow of water to the storm sewers.) I did not want them to try again because the home was going up for sale and I did not trust their work for a third time. Had another company do a completed outside waterproofing. They showed me the work that basement care did or did not do,took pictures.they said if they would have checked the water flow to the storm sewer they would have found the drain tile was broke and plugged. So their installed sump pump was just pumping more water to the foundation at a different location and leaking in.This all could have been avoided if they would have done what I was told check the water flow with dye to the storm sewer!

Desired Settlement: I understand that a business is to make a profit from their service after their costs(labor and material) In this case a business should not,that is why I am seeking a settlement in the amount of $3000.00. ($3675 minus $675 )

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/27) */ Basement care completed the work that was contracted for per our contract. Mr. ********* did call us again and said he had another area that was leaking on the front wall of the basement. This was months after the work was completed. there was also a small spot on the rear wall floor area that was wet. We did come back and repair this area. Also at that time Mr. ********* agreed to have Basement care do the same system on the front and side walls of the home. Basement care came out to do the work and Mr. ********* said he wanted to wait because he was worried about putting an inside system in the bathroom area. After that time he chose to hire someone to total excavate the outside of his home. This was not contracted to be done with basement Care. And after he had the work done he wanted Basement Care to pay for the work done by someone else. This is not fair to any business to expect them to pay for someone else's work. I feel Basement Care did complete the work that was contracted by Mr. *********. Than You

1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my entire basement waterproofed in Dec 2011. This summer I had water in my basement and have called 3 times for service and received no response In December 2011 this company completely waterproofed my basement with a lifetime warranty. On July 10th of this year I had water in my basement in several spots. It was not an emergency so I waited a few weeks before calling for service. I called on August 6th and left a message with the receptionist. After no response I called again on August 23rd and again left a message with the receptionist. I told her that I had called a couple of weeks ago and got no response and she said she would make sure I get a return phone call. After no response I called again on September 5th and spoke with the receptionist. I explained to her that this was my 3rd call and that no one was getting back to me. She promised to tell the service manager and make sure he calls me. Today is September 12th and to this date I still have not received a return call from them. Each time I called they asked me for all of my personal information and confirmed that I was a customer. I am very disappointed by their lack of customer service and hope that you can help.

Desired Settlement: I want them to come back to my home and finish whatever waterproofing work needs to be done to ensure that I do not have a problem with water in my basement again, as per their lifetime warranty.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/19) */ In Regards to Mr. ***** calling for service. We have called him back and left messages each time with no luck in reaching him and this is not lack of trying. We would like to service Mr. ***** if we could get a better contact number maybe that would help. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/09/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I received a phone call from the business on the 17th and they left me a voicemail. That is the only received call I have from them. I have only ever given them my cell phone #, so I am unclear as to why they have not been able to get a hold of me. They did send a representative to my house this past Monday who stated that they would send a crew out next week to complete the necessary work on my house. As long as they follow up with this promise then I will consider this matter closed. Consumer Response /* (3000, 13, 2013/10/08) */ Please re-open this complaint due to the fact that no one showed up at my house last week and no work was performed. I did not receive a phone call or message from them concerning this, and I plan on contacting them this week to try again to get them to come out and perform the work. If I cannot get them to come out and complete the work what are my options going forward? Thank you Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2013/10/09) */ In Regards to Mr. **********. We have scheduled him for this Thursday 10/10/2013.

9/26/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

5 Customer Reviews on Basement Care
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart