BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/16/2007

Sigler Animal Hospital, Inc.

Phone: (330) 724-9019Fax: (330) 724-4808View Additional Phone Numbers295 East Waterloo Road, AkronOH 44319 Send email to Sigler Animal Hospital, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/16/2007

BBB has determined that Sigler Animal Hospital, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Sigler Animal Hospital, Inc.'s rating include:

  • One complaint filed against business that was not resolved.

Factors that raised Sigler Animal Hospital, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Sigler Animal Hospital, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
10/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My dog has a severe leg injury I was refused service when I had a scheduled appmnt and was given a quote over the phone that was immensely underquoted
I called Sigler to schedule an appointment to have my dogs leg x-rayed bc shes been in severe pain(cant go up/down stairs, cant get in/out of car, touch her leg she squeals in pain..) i described all this to the receptionist and asked for a quote for xrays and office visit, she said it would be $109 for XRAY and office visit were around $45. I scheduled my appmnt for 1130 on 8/23. I arrived early about 11:15 and checked in. We were taken back almost immediately and met with the doctor. After describing the symptoms and everything he informed me that the dog would need sedated bc shes too nervous/hyper when it comes to people touching that area of her leg. I agreed to pay for anesthesia. The doctor THEN informed me that the total cost would be $293 a HUGE jump from the $150ish I was quoted. I advised the doctor of my original quote and the only response I got was "Well the person who quoted you isn't here today" I don't know why a doctor needs a receptionist to be there to deal with an issue like a misquote. Its a business, i'm sure this could have been dealt with then and there. I agreed to pay the $293 for the time being but the doctor THEN refused us treatment saying it would be too "Inconvenient for him to do the xray today because its Saturday". I said well that's something that should have been told to me over the phone when I made the appointment, i'm here now and I want/NEED this procedure done. He again said it was "too inconvenient." and refused treatment. I have a fullbred american bulldog and alot of times they are discriminated against bc of their breed. So i believe either I was being discriminated(or my 2 friends that were in the room with me as witnessess') against, my dog was, or the doctor was being lazy. My BIGGEST concern is, being Saturday, I now have to wait until Monday to find a new vet, I then have to wait for an available appmnt when I'm not working and when the vets free and during this time my animals injury could easily get worse. There was no logical reason for treatment to be refused. I believe this doctor is now responsible for my dogs continued pain and possibly any future damage to her legs. This is not right and needs followed up on immediately. Thank You

Desired Settlement
The docotor should be responsible for pain medicine for my dog and damage treatment to her leg as there is no way for us to know now how much the injury will worsen from today when we were refused treatment until the next available appointment at the next vets office. Either that or I would like my quote to be honored and treatment to be carried out as discussed on the phone for $109 plus office visit i will even pay for the anesthesia since that was not a part of the quote.

Business Response
See attachments.

"ATTN **** *******

ON 21 AUG 2014 ******* ******* PRESENTED ***** AN AMERICAN BULLDOG BULL WEIGHING 72 LBS FOR LIMPING FOR AT LEAST 3 WEEKS AND ON PRESENTATION THAT DAY IS WALKING ON ALL 4 LEGS (NOT FAVOIUNG ANY OF THEM) ON EXAMINATION BOTH REAR LEGS WERE PALPATED AND NO ABNORMALITIES WHERE FOUND (EXPLAINED THE Possibility OF A CRUCIATE INJURY WHICH COULD BE BETTER IDENTIFIED UNDER ANESTHESIA SINCE THEN
THE DOG WOULD BE RELAXED). I EXPLAINED THE BEST WAY TO GET DIAGNOSTIC RADIOGRAPHS WOULD) BE UNDER GENERAL ANESTHESIA AND THEN HAVE A BOARD CERTIFIED RADIOLOGIST TO REVIEW (FILMS OF BOTH KNEES AND PELVIS). I ALSO INFORMED THAT IT WOULD BE BEST DONE AS A DROP OFF (TO ALLOW ADEQUATE TIME TO PERFORM THE PROCEDURE AND WAKE UP FROM ANESTHESIA) ON A WEEK DAY. I OFFERED TO START THE DOG ON RIMADYL THAT DAY AND DO THE RADIOGRAPHS ON THAT FOLLOWING TUESDAY AT THIS POINT SHE LEFT THE BUILDING.

******* * ****** DVM

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

The doctor never offered any form of treatment whatsoever including pain medicine. He refused treatment that was previously discussed over the phone and we were told we would have to reschedule in order for us to be able to receive treatment for the dog. Him offering any solution other than bringing my dog back in a later day and paying the estimate which is double what we were quoted was offered which is why we left. We repeatedly asked for our dog to be treated even agreeing to pay the 293 but again were refused treatment because he was "too busy". I find this very funny that he said he was "too busy: to treat my dog because after I left i put a comment on their companies Facebook page about the way we were treated and withing 10 minutes of posting this the doctor HIMSELF responded back. So you don't have time to treat my dog but you have time to closely monitor Facebook while at work?? When I pointed this out he very quickly deleted the comment. I guess he didn't want his other patients to see that. We were forced to seek treatment by another vet and I can provide that paperwork if necessary.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Veterinarians, Pet Day Care, Pet Grooming, Pet Boarding & Kennels

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/27/2004Business started: 02/25/1955
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Veterinary Medical Licensing Board

BBB records show a license number of VET.3872 for this company, issued by Ohio Veterinary Medical Licensing Board.

Type: unknown

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 1993, OH

Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Robert Glenn Sigler (Owner)
Business Category

Veterinarians, Pet Day Care, Pet Grooming, Pet Boarding & Kennels

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Sigler Animal Hospital, Inc.

295 East Waterloo Road

Akron, OH 44319

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 295 East Waterloo Road 

    Akron, OH 44319Fax: (330) 724-4808

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Akron. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Sigler Animal Hospital, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (330) 724-3156
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 24, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Veterinarians

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.