Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mueller Tree Service

Phone: (330) 633-7070 View Additional Phone Numbers 220 E Mill St, Akron, OH 44308

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mueller Tree Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Mueller Tree Service include:

  • 12 complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 8
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on Mueller Tree Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 27, 2004 Business started: 02/01/1996 Business started locally: 02/01/1996
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Matthew Mueller, President Mr. Tom McCartney, Sales & Operations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matthew Mueller, President
Business Category

Tree Service Land Clearing & Leveling Stump Removal & Grinding

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Mueller Tree Service has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 220 E Mill St

    Akron, OH 44308 (330) 633-7070


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/22/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10-15-15, the business removed a tree from the consumer's property. Consumer was having a house built. when they moved in recently they discovered that the business removed the tree but never ground the stump. Mueller has been unresponsive to their calls over the last month, even though the consumer called many times. They had to pay someone else to come out and take out the stump.

Desired Settlement: Consumer feels they were not treated well by the business. Business would not call them back. She has had many health problems, and this situation just adds to the stress. They want their money back because they already paid someone else to remove the stump.

Business Response: The business called and provided their response. They did remove the tree, and will not provide a full refund. Business is willing to send the consumer $100 to cover their cost of stump removal.

Consumer Response: Consumer supplied email: *********************

8/19/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: *SEE ATTACHMENT* Gerald * ******* ** **** * ********* ** ***** ** ***** To Whom it May Concern: On 12-18-15 Mueller Tree Service cut my tree down as per contract. Joseph D***** said he would grind the stump in a few days. I said no hurry (bad mistake). They did a good job so I paid the full amount. Come late April I called and said they would be within two weeks. Did not happen. I called many times and could not get an answer. I left many messages to no avail. In late April or early May Mueller main phone went out of service and so I had Brush Bandit grind the stump for $107.00 Two weeks later I see Mueller ad back in the paper. So I called and left a message that they owed me 107.00. No answer. Thank you, ****** ******* ** 6-22-16

Desired Settlement: $107 for the cost of having another company grind the stump.

Business Response: Business called and provided a response. This work was performed by a former employee who is no longer with the company. He apologizes for the lack of follow-up, and will reimburse the consumer what he paid to have the stump ground by someone else.

7/21/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
6/16/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Stump grinding was expected and partially paid for. After over a week and phone calls; stumps ar not ground nor have I received any messages . I won't my strums ground up sooner rather than later. I was told it would be completed in a day or so. Communication as to when or even. Sorry we are busy would be expected...

Desired Settlement: Job completed

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2016/06/16) */ Business finally called consumer back at the end of May. He had already hired someone else to do the work. Business did not offer to reimburse.

10/16/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mueller tree did not completely remove the stumps I paid them to remove. I have left several messages over the past month and received no call back. When Mueller Tree ground the stumps, they missed part of some of the stumps. It wasn't apparent until we removed the wood chips they left from the stump grinding. We called them and they came and ground the partial stump from one area. We then began removing the wood chips from another area and found they didn't get all of the stump in another area. I and my husband have called and left several messages over the past few weeks but nobody is returning our calls. I have never filed a complaint with the BBB and I am sorry that it has come to this. We just want the job completed.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the job to be completed ASAP so we can clean up the wood chips and plant grass. I am considering hiring another company to finish the job if I don't hear back from them right away. If that be the case I would like compensation for what ever it costs us to get the job done by another company.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2015/07/06) */ An employee of Mueller tree came out Saturday and said the ground was too soft to bring their heavy stump grinder. They didn't want to put ruts in the lawn. The same employee called Sunday and said the ground might be a little firmer. I understood after seeing how big and heavy the machine was. He manuevered the machine to the area and ground all the stumps and roots that needed done. This employee was personable, professional and did an excellent job grinding the stump and roots that remained. I am very pleased with his work. I also would recommend Mueller for tree removal. The team that took down a very tall wild cherry tree did an excellent job.

6/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
5/29/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
1/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
8/19/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fail to remove the roots completely I had muller tree to remove a tree in my front yard, including grinding the stump and removing all the roots more than a year ago. However, they failed to remove the roots completely. There are still a lot of big roots left in the ground, which are impossible for us to remove ourselves and we can not plant anything in that area. I called more than 10 times. Originally, the sale manager promised to send someone over, but no one really came out. Later, he gave me another number to call. I left several messages, no call back at all. I was really disappointed by their poor service.

Desired Settlement: complete the job properly and immediately!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/05) */ Problem solved

6/30/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Work was not completed. Damage to house. Sales manager from Mueller Tree Service,Inc gave estimate. Things on estimate was not completed. Tree limb damaged front spouting during tree cutting. Contacted the foreman and sales manager and was assured work would be completed. Work started on 5/21/14 and not finished.

Desired Settlement: Replace wood given to neighbor, and finish job

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/12) */ Customer was contacted and issue resolved

2/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: During stump grinding service, Mueller left deep ruts in our turf, promised to repair the damage and has not. This problem began on or about 10/23/13. Mueller Tree came to remove a large spruce tree and returned later to grind the stump. They were supposed to schedule both events and did not. The stump grinding occurred on or around October 23 2013. When they came to grind the stump it was a wet day so their equipment left deep ruts in the turf and sprayed some mud on the brick wall next to the stump. After calling *** (Sales Manager) he agreed the job was done improperly--his crew was supposed to lay down plywood on top of the turf to prevent exactly this type of damage. *** then promised that he would send someone out with topsoil, seed, and straw to repair the damage. A Mueller Tree employee did come out and survey my complaints; the mud on the brick was handled then. The employee recognized and agreed with me the damage was caused by their stump grinder. I called *** once a week all through November reminding him and until the end of November he continued to promise that someone was coming out. The last call I made (week of Nov 25 I believe) went to voicemail and I told *** this was ridiculous and he needed to get someone out here ASAP before the ground froze. I have yet to hear from anyone from Mueller Tree since then and my calls today went unanswered. This a simple problem his crew could have prevented and now I'm left with empty promises and no contact from the company.

Desired Settlement: If Mueller Tree refuses to repair the damage they created while performing the stump grinding I ask for a refund for the grinding ($175). What I really want is for them to stop ignoring me and fulfill the promises from ***. I just want the job done right. Also, in Mueller Tree's quote for service there is a handwritten "A+" next to the BBB logo. Whether they actually have this rating I don't know but I certainly haven't seen A+ service so far.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/20) */ After learning there was a problem with our service, I personally went to the job to rectify it. After checking the jobsite I couldn't find the problem. So, Mr. ****** came out to show me some impressions in the grass from tires leading up to the stump. I agreed that there was in fact minor damage to the yard. At the bottom of our estimate sheet it clearly states that "minor yard damage is the responsibility of the customer". Furthermore, to help assuage his anguish, we used our bucket truck to change a light bulb in a forty foot high pole in their parking lot for free. We are not electricians but are more than happy to help someone out with a minor problem. If Mr. ****** would still like us to reimburse him for the stump removal (which is complete) we will be more than happy to do so to make everyone satisfied. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/12/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Regardless of what the estimate said I was promised that someone from Mueller would come out to repair the turf damage. "Help assuage his anguish"? I didn't ask them to use the bucket truck, one of my staff did without my knowledge; plus I didn't even know about the problem or the use of the bucket truck until the day after they left. Since Mueller obviously will not fulfill its promise to fix the damage, please send the refund for the stump grinding. Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2014/01/10) */ On December 30, 2013 I marked this complaint resolved under the assumption Mueller Tree Service was sending me $175 reimbursement for the damage caused during the described incident. It is now January 10, 2014 and I have yet to receive anything. I wish to reopen this complaint until I receive the promised payment. Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2014/01/31) */ Sorry for the delay. The check is in the mail. Please see the attached photocopy. Consumer Response /* (2000, 19, 2014/02/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Check for the refund was received yesterday, thank you.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

6 Customer Reviews on Mueller Tree Service
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart