This business is not BBB accredited.

Tranzpro Transmissions and Complete Auto Care

Phone: (330) 926-0881 Fax: (330) 926-0882 View Additional Phone Numbers 1138 Brittain Rd, Akron, OH 44305 ! There is an alert on Tranzpro Transmissions and Complete Auto Care !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Tranzpro Transmissions and Complete Auto Care
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 27, 2004 Business started: 08/01/1998 Business started locally: 08/01/1998 Business incorporated 08/13/1998 in OH
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Ronald Keeling, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ronald Keeling, President
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Vanron, Inc.
Products & Services

This company provides complete Auto Repair, Service, and Diagnostics. Specializing in Transmission Repair & Rebuilding.

Additional Locations


    1138 Brittain Rd

    Akron, OH 44305


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car to Tranzpro transmission. The mechanics there named ***** "reset the adaptive shift points on my car" which should not have been done. On 11/09/2013 I took my Pontiac G6 GT to Tranzpro Transmission and complete auto care. The mechanic "*****" did a transmission fluid and filter change. And he told me that he reset the adaptive shift points for my transmission. He did not ask me if he could, he just did it. I left his shop and started driving home. Within 10-15 minutes, the transmission in my car started slipping really bad from 3rd to 4th gear and it has got a lot worse since then also. I talked to at least 7 Chevy dealers and an array of auto shops and other transmission shops and they all told me that "resetting the adaptive shift points on the car should only be done if I got a brand new transmission or a completely rebuilt transmission". He did it on my car which without doing any major work to the transmission and that made my transmission work improperly from that point forward. Now I have to get a rebuilt transmission put in my car and it is going to cost me $1,417.00. That is not fair to me and I am very very very upset that I got screwed by a transmission shop. I should have never takin my car there aand I would not be having these problems and having to pay all of that money for a new transmission, and I don't have that kind of money. I want at least half of what it is going to cost me to make my transmission right again. I should ask for more, but I want at least $709.00 period. No questions asked. And if they want to own up to hat they did then they can pay me the full $1,417.00. I will NOT accept anything less than the $709.00. Bottom line. I am so mad its unreal. They need to fix the problem that they caused me, and the only way they can do that is to pay me the money that they "owe me" so I can fix the transmission in my car that they messed up. THEY DAMAGED MY CAR BY DOING A IMPROPER CHANGE TO MY TRANSMISSION!!

Desired Settlement: I want a $709.00 settlement for damaging my car.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/04) */ We erased the code on the vehicle (Code P1811, Max adapt long shift)and that is all that was done. We told the customer should the check engine light come back on that the problem would have to be dealt with. The customer came back to the shop about a week later and we serviced the transmission and at this time the customer was told that the transmission would have to be rebuilt to correct this issue. We do not change max adapts on vehicles without first rebuilding the transmission. I am the only one at the shop who has authorization to do this. I am the owner and my name is ***. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2014/03/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They are lying. *** was not even involved in this situation. I dealt with *****, at least that is what he said his name was. He told me directly that he reset the adaptive shift points on my transmission which should not have been done, period. It's easy for them to lie about anything but that's not going to work for me. I now have to get my transmission fixed and I am getting ready to do that in the next few days. I am so angry its hard to even put into words. ***** the mechanic is a liar and he thinks he is a smooth talker, aka a silver tongue. I talked to him and what he told me after he messed up my transmission is that "he admitted that he verbally told me that he reset my adaptive shift points and then he tried to explain to me that he told me that but he didn't do that, he said the he only reset the computer code". He is untruthful and its disgusting. I will advocate against their business. I plain and simply want the monetary settlement that I requested and that's the bottom line. I will not accept anything less. If they will not settle with me through this complaint then I will get my lawyer and sue them. One way or the other this will be rectified and I will be compensated for the damages caused by tranzpro transmission shop. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/03/11) */ Please refer to the customers invoice which clearly states exactly what was done and charged for. The customer we believe has misunderstood erasing codes for resetting shift adapts and we are sorry the customer feels this way. this is the last we will respond and his medy is the courts if he feels so strongly about this matter. ***-owner

1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called tranzpro transmissions for a quote to rebuild a 700r4 transmission to handle the horsepower and torque of big block chevy in the range of 500+ horsepower and over 450 pounds of torque. They quoted $850 out the door for it. I dropped it off a couple of days later. Two days after dropping it off I received a call from them and was informed the price to rebuild was over $2,400. I of course questioned the absurd change in price and was told I must have spoken to someone who does not do the rebuild or that they did not understand the specifics of the build. I declined the rebuild and went to pick up the 700r4 transmission. When I got there to pick it up ***** was very apologetic about the situation and informed me they had a th400 already built that would work for my application. I looked at it, he said all he needed to do was throw a coat of paint on it and it was ready. It had an output shaft for a fixed yoke, I had questioned on whether it would work because I had a slip yoke on my car. He said it would be no problem it would fit. I went home and called and spoke with a different transmission shop and was informed it could damage my car if I used it. The transmission they were selling was out of a truck and had a different set up. I also searched the internet and read the following "The trans that you have with the bolt on yoke needs to have a slip yoke style output shaft, which will be splined the full length and have an "o" ring fitted to it inside the tailshaft extention. The dually had a two piece drive shaft with the slip being just behind the carrier bearing, therefore the trans yoke was bolted. Furthermore, the yoke will also need to be swapped to work with the slip style output shaft. Don't run the car until this problem is fixed or you will surely ruin more driveline parts. Unfortunately the trans has to come apart for this swap to be made". Ref: called transpro back and declined it.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I thought the matter was resolved, I then received a bill several months later from the owner on 12/21/13 stating that I owed them $852.00 for the th400 transmission. They were unprofessional from the very beginning. They are harassing me, I did not order the transmission it was already rebuilt and sitting on a shelf. I want them to cease and desist all further attempts to contact me trying to collect on a product that was inferior and unwanted.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/31) */ This customer's allegation of us ever quoting 700r4 transmission to handle a 500 horse power engine for 850.00 is absurd. We would never quote such a price for this vehicle, even on a carry out basis let alone an installed price as the parts alone my cost would far exceed this price let alone the labor that would be incurred to rebuild his transmission for this application. I personally spoke with this customer and my manager concerning this whole episode and told my manager to offer the customer a Turbo 400 transmission that I had in stock that needed to be updated with a shift correction package and that the customer said upon agreeing to have our transmission rebuilder complete such work that the customer would have to provide his own rebuilt torque converter to handle the torque that his racing application engine would produce and he again agreed that he would do this as well. We also were at no extra charge going to provide a slip yoke that would address his question concerning his own driveshaft. We certainly are sorry if the customer misunderstood anything that was conveyed to him concerning his first allegation but as stated and agreed to by this customer that we have done everything in our power to address the situation. We furthermore will be pursuing a collection agency rot collect due payment from this customer. We will not respond any further to the BBB or this customer in this case. Thank you, Owner

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Tranzpro Transmissions and Complete Auto Care
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart