Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bridgestone/Firestone Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (330) 379-6912 Fax: (330) 379-4064 View Additional Phone Numbers   http://www.bridgestone.com View Additional Web Addresses


Click for BBB Rating on Bridgestone/Firestone Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bridgestone/Firestone Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

This company's headquarters and company-owned locations throughout the country participate as BBB Accredited Businesses. This means they support the BBB's services to the public and meet our BBB Code of Business Practices.


BBB Complaint Information

Find aggregate BBB complaint information for Bridgestone/Firestone Inc.. BBB of Chicago & Northern Illinois has the full report as that BBB handles all complaints for Bridgestone/Firestone Inc..


Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 27, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1900 Business started locally: 01/01/1900
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Gregg A. Rasor, Manager Tire Test Department / Quality Assurance Mr. Brian Blake, Chapel Hill Store Mgr. Mr. Michael Griffith, Northfield Store Mgr Mr. Mike Homyk, Elyria Area Mgr. Mr. Ryan Hood, Firestone Pkwy Store Mgr. Mr. Harland B. Horton Jr., Senior Counsel Mr. Matthew Koehler, Mansfield Store Mgr. Mr. Anthony Sangialosi, Kent Store Mgr. Mr. Thomas Schippel, Medina Store Mgr. Mr. Dustin Stec, Ohio Regional Mgr. Mr. Steven Wagner, Summit Mall Store Mgr. Mr. Bill Wilson, Akron Area Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gregg A. Rasor, Manager Tire Test Department / Quality Assurance
Customer Contact: Mr. Bill Wilson, Akron Area Manager
Business Category

Tire Distributors & Manufacturers Battery Repairing & Rebuilding Shock Absorbers Tire Dealers Auto Inspection Stations Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Tire Retread & Repair Battery Supplies

Alternate Business Names
Firestone Complete Auto Care Firestone Mastercare Firestone Tire & Auto Ctr Firestone Tire & Service Centers
Products & Services

According to information in BBB files this company operates a chain of more than 1,800 company-owned automotive tire and service stores throughout the United States.


Additional Locations

  • 10 E Firestone Blvd
    Akron Technology Center

    Akron, OH 44317

  • 10333 Northfield Rd

    Northfield, OH 44067 (330) 467-8131

  • 1245 Firestone Pkwy

    Akron, OH 44301 (330) 379-6220

  • 1282 Park Ave W

    Mansfield, OH 44906 (419) 529-9229

  • 2000 Brittain Rd STE 600

    Akron, OH 44310 (330) 633-5900

  • 202 E Main St

    Kent, OH 44240 (330) 673-1700

  • 2761 State Rd

    Cuyahoga Falls, OH 44223 (330) 594-8011 (330) 929-3391

  • 3265 W Market St

    Akron, OH 44333 (330) 867-1010

  • 5131 Buehlers Dr

    Medina, OH 44256 (330) 721-9485

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Due to the tire coming off that they put on cause the damage to trans line which they fix but did not fix correctly which cost me money to replace it Firestone put 4 new tires on the car a few days later the front driver side tire came completely off on the highway which cause damage to my car,they refuse to let me take my car anywhere else to confirm the damage that was done so i had to sign agreement in order for them to release my vehicle after they repair all the damage that was did but there were a leak under the car which was a trans leak which was cause by the left driver wheel that had came off,so i had to tow it to another shop to get fix what they did a fast fix on which cause me to pay for the tow and come out of pocket to fix over what they didn't fix right the first time.The date of the problem started it 10/17/14 car release to me 11/12/14

Desired Settlement: What i want is a refund of my money that i had to come out pocket to pay for Firestone not fixing my car right and did some type of quick fix which cost me to have my car tow to a shop to fix the trans line right. The tow which cost $54.00 plus part and labor which cost $335.35. A full refund of my money which comes out to $389.35.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2015/01/30) */ This was turned into our claims department and we issued a check to the customer for $1500.00. We also did $362.54 of suspension repairs to the vehicle. We did not commit to or repair any transmission lines, and the customer signed off on payment for the vehicle valued at $1500.00 dollars. At this point we are no longer responsible for additional repairs to this vehicle. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 14, 2015/02/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The response from Firestone is not acceptable. There wasn't anything of that type of nature wrong with my car until that particular day when i purchase a set of new tires and had them put on by their service department which lead to the front left tire coming off. Now after Firestone assess the incident I had wanted my vehicle tow to a creditable shop of my choice but instead Firestone wouldn't let me so that is why I had to sign off on it for them to release it to me. With that been said I have produce statements alone with documentation from the repair shop stating the cause of the lines breaking was in fact due to the left front tire coming off. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2015/02/06) */ our Claims department is involved ad will refund the custoemr for their expense.

1/16/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took my vehicle for and alignment and told them to oil lower ball joint right front.and they call me and tell me that they cant do it because it is bad. so I took it to a well known car dealer to look at it and they said it was fine (nothing wrong with it )and did the alignment.Well I have lifetime alignments from firestone...And they tried to rip me off.I have spend several thousand dollars at firestone over the years. I am very disappointed with them and they lied to my husband and told him that he needed unessaery work done to his car.did I mention that I have lifetime aliments. Product_Or_Service: lifetime aliment

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want my money for the aliment that I purchased when I have lifetime with firestone.and I don't want any more of their lies.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/12/22) */ Store manager to refund customer for the price of the alignment purchased from Nissan. Customer agreed to return to store with reciept, and receive refund.

1/16/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: see Attached document

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) see Attached document

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/22) */ Store manager refunded customer $126.99 for alignment and tire price difference even though quote was for the wrong size tires. the customer is satisfied.

7/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Salesperson at Firestone tried to sell me new ball joints and new struts on my recently-inspected car. On Thursday, May 1st, I had my car towed to Firestone to have an emergency repair done. The car was making a terrible noise, and on Friday, May 2nd, it was diagnosed by Firestone to need a new hub bearing. Because the car was terribly out of alignment, it was also diagnosed to need new tires, and an alignment. However, the service person on duty on May 2nd also told me that the ball joints were bad, and the struts were bad, and that these repairs should be done before an alignment was done. Being that I had just recently purchased the car in Pennsylvania, and because the car had recently been inspected in PA, and because the car was looked over by an independent mechanic when I purchased it, I was suspicious that Firestone's claims were inflated. Firestone did do the hub bearing replacement, and they replaced the front tires, but I authorized no additional repairs. I then took the car to my original mechanic who had inspected the car just a few months ago, and he confirmed that the ball joints and struts were in fact very good, and that no repairs to them were necessary. All that was still necessary was an alignment, which I had him do. In summary, Firestone of Akron attempted to sell me $1300 in parts and repairs that I did not need. Sincerely, ************

Desired Settlement: I would simply appreciate a letter of apology from the Firestone dealership.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/07/11) */ On 7/11/14, we received the following from the business via email: *****, Just a quick update - per ***********'s note below they have not been successful in contacting ************. Perhaps this weekend might provide results. Thanks **********

6/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Damage done to my vehicle on two different occasions by Firestone employees. Now vehicle doesn't run. In December of 2013 my husband made the decision to purchase tires for his Ford F-250 from the Kent Firestone. When the tires arrived he made the appointment to have them put on. Within a week of having the tires on, he noticed he was losing fuel at a faster rate than normal. He inspected the truck and found that the fuel tank was leaking from a puncture, around where the truck had been lifted to install the tires. He returned and discussed with *****, who said they thought they had made the hole. So they offered to replace the tank. He asked if a used tank was ok and we said yes. It took several weeks to find a tank, but in January of 2014, one had been found, and they offered to install it free of charge, we would just have to leave the vehicle for 2 days. We were not able to be without the vehicle for that amount of time, until we went out of town for the weekend on May 9. So we scheduled to have the tank installed then and dropped off the vehicle at 6:30 am. We arrived back in town at 9:45pm and went straight to pick up the vehicle since **** had called on the 10th and said it was complete. We picked it up at 10:50pm and stopped to put fuel in at 10:55pm (receipt says diesel fuel). We go home, and the total trip was 2.5 miles. On the next morning my husband leaves for work and 6 minutes into his trip the truck breaks down. He calls Firestone and they come to tow it, since it will not stay running at all. They call us on the 14 to inform us that there is GAS not diesel fuel in the truck, and that where ever we stopped for fuel had the wrong fuel in the pump and that is what caused the truck to break down. They provided this in writing and gave us a sample of the solution from the tank, that included gas, water, debris, and diesel fuel. So on that same day (14th) we made a claim with Circle K gas station. They tested their fuel in that pump and it was in fact diesel fuel and looked nothing like the sample Firestone gave us out of our truck. These findings took until Monday the 19th. So on Tuesday the 20th, we made a claim with *** at Firestone corporate office, claiming that they either but a tank on that had GAS in it, or they put gas back into our diesel vehicle. He had to do an investigation and have someone come to inspect the truck. This process took well over a week, which now puts us at 3 weeks with no transportation for my husband. As soon as their inspector checked over the truck, we had it towed to a Ford dealership, who stated that there was GAS, water, diesel fuel, and debris in the tank. They stated the gas caused the vehicle to shut down. We instructed them to drop the tank, clean it out put on new filters and flush the lines. This process was $1037 and only got the vehicle to run so that performance test could be done on the injectors. After evaluation it needs thousands of dollars in injectors and has a leaking head gasket, and may have motor damage that has not been evaluated yet. Throughout the week of June 3rd, I struggle to get an answer from *** about what his inspector had to say in his report. I left him a voicemails on May 30, June 3,4,&5. No response back until I finally reached him later in the day on June 5. When I asked him what his inspector report said he responded "well, he said there was water in the fuel and tank". I, and the dealership agree, there was water in the tank when it arrived at Ford, along with GAS, diesel fuel, and debris. I informed *** that was a lot of stuff to be in a tank that was just installed, and if the water was in my diesel fuel when we brought the vehicle in (which is their claim)then why did they put it back in the truck?? They are the mechanics, not us. Well 5.5 weeks later, we are still without a vehicle and the estimates are around $6000. We have to use our retirement money to fix the vehicle and make two payments on the truck while it sat broke down. Not to mention, lack of transportation to work, cancelled anniversary and holiday weekend plans to take our boat

Desired Settlement: Out. And to recover my expenses I have to pay $3000 for an attorney!! All we did was chose to buy tires from you and the truck was damaged twice and now doesn't run. They either put gas back into my diesel truck or they did not clean the tank out and it had gas in it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/12) */ On 11/29/2013 we replaced tires on the customers truck. 6 months later on 5/10/2014 we installed a fuel tank at no charge as customer satisfaction. Once the customer made us aware of the runability issues we obtained an outside independant inspector to inspect the customers vehicle and give us an unbias report on what the cause of the issues were. Our inspector report clearly shows all repairs done by our facility did not cause the current condition of the customers vehicle. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The inspector you hired did not remove the tank for inspection. We also, have not been provided a copy of this inspection report. Our inspection revealed many substances and foreign objects in the tank when removed. A tank that was just installed. We have the debris and liquids that came from the vehicle tank and the truck started right up after the cleaning and reinstalling of the tank and replacing the fuel filters. Please provide us with your inspection report, as we have provided you with our dealers number as well as receipts and inspection reports and estimates. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/06/16) */ Once the consumer has acknowledged that they will retain an attorney, I cannot share any documentation. Our legal department will get involved once we receive notification.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Bridgestone/Firestone Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)