Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Tire Source

Additional Locations

Phone: (330) 670-8000 View Additional Phone Numbers 3631 Brookwall Drive, Akron, OH 44333 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tire Source meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tire Source
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 27, 2004 Business started: 10/01/1991 Business started locally: 10/01/1991 Business incorporated 03/09/2005 in OH
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Pat Stuhldreher, General Manager Mr. J. Drew Dawson, CEO Mr. Burke James, Sales Mr. Thomas R White, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Pat Stuhldreher, General Manager
Business Category

Tire Dealers Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Dawson Industries Inc. Tire Source Medina Tire Source Montrose
Products & Services

This company offers tire and automotive service.

Additional Locations

  • 3631 Brookwall Drive

    Akron, OH 44333 (330) 670-8000

  • 760 North Court Street

    Medina, OH 44256 (330) 723-3258


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/26/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my 2002 Corolla in because the vehicle had been making loud, strange noises. I reported this to the technicians at Tire Source Belden Village. They fixed the brake pads, did some type of system flush, replaced the spark plugs. I drove it away and it sounded fairly quiet, but I thought I heard a slight noise similar to what I heard before. The day after I brought it home from Tire Source it started clanking and making horrible noises. I took it back to Tire Source and was basically told that the engine was gone/dead. I was in too much of a shock and panic (because of the need to commute to work in Akron) that I did not discuss a refund at the time. When I had finally purchased a new vehicle I contacted Tire Source and proposed that they only charge me for parts, which I thought was more than fair, SINCE THEY CHARGED ME $745 DOLLARS AND THE NEXT DAY THE CAR WAS DEAD. The manager refused any refund at all, even though they did not fix my car. Product_Or_Service: January 27, 2014 Order_Number: work order ****** Account_Number: customer id ********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) At this point, for the hassle, emotional stress and the unethical behavior I would like to request a full refund of $745.83.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 2, 2014/03/05) */ This is in response to the complaint issued by ******* *****, ID# *******. On 01/27/2014 ***** came in with a concern of the vehicle having a loud noise, stalling out, brake light coming on, and a bad smell inside the vehicle. ***** informed us that the car had not stalled out in the last two days and after topping off the oil she had not heard the noise again. She told us when all these problems began it was right after a snowstorm and she was running the engine hard while low on oil trying to get up her steep snow covered driveway. The first thing we did was test drive the vehicle to listen for any noises, no abnormal noises were heard. After an inspection we found the spark plugs were worn and showing evidence of arcing, this kind of wear pattern would cause a misfire in the engine. We concluded that this was most likely the cause of the noise since nothing else was heard or found. When speaking with ***** we informed her that we did not hear the noise but found the vehicle was in need of a tune up due to the condition of the spark plugs,and it was possible that this was the noise she heard but could not guarantee it since we never heard the noise. ***** agreed to all services. While the vehicle was being repaired I did have a conversation with ***** about running the vehicle low on oil, that it could be harmful to the motor and would shorten its lifespan, she understood and told me she would keep a better eye on the oil level. The next day ***** returned stating that the car had a funny noise. I went out to go for a ride with her and what I heard was an internal engine knock. I asked ***** when the noise started and she replied earlier that afternoon. She then asked me what she should do, and I told her that we could fix it by replacing the engine. She then asked if she should just buy a new car, I told her that was an option but would cost more. At this point *****understood that the engine going bad was not our fault or anything we caused.Tire Source is not at fault for the engine having internal failure. If we would have heard anything out of the engine to indicate it was going to fail we would have advised differently. We are very sorry to have seen this happen. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 3, 2014/03/20) */ I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. There is no proposed action in the business response:  this is just the business view of the events that unfolded.  I had asked for a refund of the entire amount.  The manager had contacted me by phone last week about settling the entire amount:  however, I have not heard anything from him since then.  I do not dispute that it was not their fault that the engine failed:  my complaint is that the failed to diagnose an engine problem and then charged me over $745 of unnecessary work:  the car was useless/trashed one day after I brought it home from Tire Source. My complaint is that the business recommended services totaling over $740 dollars and did not diagnose or fix the problem that was causing the engine noise and subsequent breakdown.  I would like a refund of the entire amount that I paid (in full) by the end of this week:  $745. I was informed orally  by **** ****** on February 28, 2014 that Tire Source would settle my claim.  When they discovered that I had already paid the full amount, they reneged on this oral offer. Apparently they thought at one point that my complaint had merit, but since I had already paid I would never get my money back. As far as the second response, they never said that "there was no guarantee that this would fix the entire concern due to the fact that we did not hear any abnormal noises during the inspection."  I am also convinced that, if they had actually driven it, they would have heard something.  I came in for the noise to be investigated, not the brakes or anything else.  The brakes and the other charges were suggested by Tire Source, not me.  I agreed to their recommendations, but they fact remains that they did nothing to fix what was wrong with my car and the car failed permanently one day after it left Tire Source. I am $745 poorer because of the negligence of Tire Source in not identifying the real problem. MY INITIAL REQUEST WAS ONLY TO INVESTIGATE THE TERRIBLE NOISE THE CAR WAS MAKING, NOT BRAKES OR ANYTHING ELSE.  THE LATTER WERE TIRE SOURCE'S SUGGESTIONS.  I have filed a dispute with my credit card company, reported them on Angie's List , the Ohio Attorney General's Office, and several internet review sites.  I also intend to file in small claims court  if a settlement for the $745 can not be reached.

I stand by my request for a refund of $745 dollars. Final Business Response /* (4000, 4, 2014/03/20) */ 3/20/2014 This is in response to the complaint issued by ******* *****, ID# *******. Our response to the first letter was not a settlement offer, it was the facts of the transaction on 01/27/2014. As previously explained we informed ***** as to what we found in regards to her noise, and told her there was no guarantee that this would the entire concern due to the fact we did not hear any abnormal noises upon our inspection. Part of *****'s charges were replacing the front brakes, as she requested, they were worn out and necessary.The remaining charges were for the engine tune up, due to the wear on the plugs and arcing that was evident, these parts were necessary also. As ***** said inher last response she does not hold us at fault for the engine failure. We made suggestions for repair based upon what we found. As stated in my last response if we would have heard anything out of the engine to indicate failure we would have advised differently.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Tire Source
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)