BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/18/2011

State Street Tire, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (330) 745-7000Fax: (330) 315-2102View Additional Phone Numbers460 W Park Ave, BarbertonOH 44203-2612 Send email to State Street Tire, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/18/2011

BBB has determined that State Street Tire, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised State Street Tire, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on State Street Tire, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
02/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I believe they broke the brake line during the time that they removed the tire to check for balancing.
This all happened on 11-10-2014.

I went to State Street Tire to have them check the front tires because there was a vibration in the steering wheel and when I increased my speed it got worse.

They found a problem with the left front tire.
They said it would not balance, and I would need a new tire. I told them that it was a new tire. They said it had a problem and could not be balanced. I told them to go ahead and put a new tire on and put the other one in the trunk.

When they finished installing the tire and brought the car out front I paid the bill For $118.45. I then started my car and found it had no brakes and would not steer. I when back inside and told the attendent that now my car was not drivable. He sent a mechanic out. The mechanic had me open my hood and told me to turn my stering wheel. He said my break line had broken and sprayed brake fluid on my power steering belt. The car was not drivable and I had no one to come get me so I had to let them replace the brake line.I told the owner his people must have done some thing to the brake line when they took the tire off that wheel. He asked me how they could break the line. I told him I had no idea but the car was fine when I drove it in. He just laughed.

The break line bill was $130.54 and I was there for 5 hours.

The next day, I was still upset about everything that had happened. I am 89 years old and started to think I had been taken advantage of. I went outside to inspect my car further. I realized that not only had they not put my original tire in my trunk,they had not put on one of the hubcaps.

I returned to the store and told them about the missing tire and hubcap. He said he would have another hubcap in a couple days and he would call me when it was in. When I asked about my tire, he pointed to a pile of tires and said, "its probably in that pile with the 150 other tires".

When I got home I filed a complaint with my credit card company and decided to file a complaint with you as well.

I feel that I was taken advantage of because of my age and that there has been no attempt to resolve this issue by the company. I still have not received another hubcap.

Desired Settlement
I feel that this company should issue me a refund for the tire they never returned and replace the hubcap. I also feel that a refund of the brake line is in order sice the line was broken upon me receiving the car back after the new tire was put on and the wheels were balanced.




Business Response
On 1/8/15, BBB received the following from the business via postal mail:

BBB,
Case # ********

Mr. ****** ***** came into the shop for a tire, a rusty brake line on the other side of the car which we didn't touch blew in the parking lot. We explained that to the customer and he agreed. We did forget to put his old tire that was bad, back in his car he came back next day and since we didn't know what bad tire was his, we gave him a good used tire trying to make him happy.

**** *********** President
State Street Tire Inc.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept the response from this company for several reasons.
1. I did not come into the store for a tire. I came into the shop because I thought one of the tires I had on the car needed to be balanced.

2. I believe that the brake line was inadverently broken at some point when they had the car, since I did not even actually drive the car when it came out of the shop. I merely started the car and tried to put it in gear when I knew something was wrong.

I also want to add that less than 2 weeks later my brake line again broke. The same one that they had replaced. I took my car to another repair shop and was told to immediately take the car back to State Street Tire because they had put a brake line that was to long on and it had been rubbing against a moving part under the car and had broken again as a result. I had to return to State Street Tire and spend another 3 hours waiting for them to replace the brake line for the 2nd time. This does not speak well for their workmanship at all.

3. They did not offer me a replacement good used tire. The point to the tire was, the tire that they told me was bad was a new tire and I would have taken it back to the place where I purchased it, but did not have that option since I never received the tire back.

4. In thier response, they never mentioned that they also did not put a hubcap back on, and agreed to replace it, but after calling once and going up there once only to be told they did not have any hubcap, I had to spend $70.00 somewhere else for a new hubcap.

For these reasons I reject the response from this company.

Final Business Response
On 1/30/15, BBB received the following from the business via email:

*****

Per our phone conversation please advise Mr. ****** ***** we will refund brake line invoice and hub cap money coming to a total of $200.54. Once customer says OK a check will be issued.

Thanks

**** ***********

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

05/25/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company diagnosed my car with a bad radiator. They replaced the radiator and said the problem was fixed. It wasn't.
My car had an odor of coolant. I took the car to their shop for a diagnosis. I expressed concerns about sinking too much money into the vehicle. They tested the car and said the problem was the radiator and the repair was going to be 380.84. I had them do the work. They replaced the radiator and claimed the issue was resolved. The car continued to have the same issues it was brought in for (odor of coolant and loss of fluid). The company did not fix the problem.

Desired Settlement
I feel the company did not resolve the problem. I feel they prey upon senior citizens. I would like at least a partial refund for not fixing the problem and giving an inaccurate diagnosis of the problem.

Business Response
*SEE ATTACHED*

MRS. ****** CAME TO STATE STREET ON 03/24/15 STATING SHE COULD SMELL COOLANT AND WAS HAVING TO ADD COOLANT TO HER VEHICLE. I ASKED IF THE VEHICLE WAS OVERHEATING OR IF IT EVER OVER HEATED SHE SAID NO. I SET AN APPOINTMENT FOR THE NEXT DAY TO ARRANGE FOR A COOLANT PRESSURE CHECK.

3/25/15, TECHNICIAN FOUND THE RADIATOR HAD A SEVERE LEAK DUE TO A STICK IN THE RADIATOR AND A CRACK AT THE TOP SEEM. WE RECOMMENDED SHE REPLACE BOTH UPPER AND LOWER RADIATOR HOSES AND THE RADIATOR. MRS ****** INDICATED SHE COULD ONLY AFFORD TO REPLACE THE RADIATOR AT THIS TIME.
TECHNICAIN REPLACED THE RADIATOR WITH A NEW UNIT AND REPLACED THE COOLANT AND BLEAD COOLANT SYSTEM. TECHNICIAN WAITED FOR VEHICLE TO GET TO NORMAL OPERATING TEMPATURE THEN TEST DROVE VEHICLE, HE THEN LET VEHICLE COOL DOWN AND CHECKED SYSTEM FOR ANY LEAKS, SYSTEM CHECKED OUT OK.

3/28/15. MRS. ****** CAME IN SAID HER COOLANT LEVEL WAS LOW BUT SYSTEM WAS NOT OVER HEATING. TECHNICIAN PRESSURE CHECKED SYSTEM AND FOUND NO LEAKS. TECHNICIAN FELT COOLANT SYSTEM HAD AN AIR POCKET IN THE COOLANT SYSTEM AND RE-BLEAD SYSTEM. WE RECOMMENEDED TO THE CUSTOMER TO KEEP AN EYE ON COOLANT LEVEL AND ANY ISSUES WITH OVER HEATING DUE TO POSSIBLY BEING ADITTIONAL AIR POCKETS IN SAID SYSTEM.

4/02/15 A GENTLMAN CALLED AND CLAIMED HE WAS MRS ****** SON AND WAS TALKING ON HER BEHALF, HE THEN INDICATED WE LIED AND RIPPED OFF HIS MOTHER AND WE WAS UNPROFFESSIONAL. HE STATED THEY TOOK THE VEHICLE TO ANOTHER SHOP AND THIS SHOP SAID IT HAD ENGINE PROBLEMS AND WE SHOULD HAVE NEVER FIXED HIS MOTHERS CAR BECAUSE SHE COULDN'T AFFORD TO FIX ALL THESE PROBLEMS (no problems were present at the time we recommended this repair or after). I ASKED THE SON WHAT OTHER SHOP HE WAS DEALING WITH AND WHAT WAS WRONG WITH SAID VEHICLE, THE SON WOULD NOT GIVE ME ANY OTHER INFORMATION OTHER THAN WHAT HE INITIALLY TOLD ME. THE SON WANTED A REFUND BECAUSE HE FELT IT WASN'T FAIR. I TOLD THE SON IT WAS FREE OF CHARGE FOR US TO LOOK AT THE VEHICLE AND SEE IF THERE WAS ACTUALLY AN ISSUE WITH THE COOLING SYSTEM OR ANY OTHER ISSUES BUT STHE SON REFUSED AND WAS ADAMANT ON GETTING A FULL OR PARTIAL REFUND AND DISMISSED STATE STREETS OFFER TO HAVE ITS TECHNICIANS LOOK AT THE VEHICLE TO SEE IF THERE WAS ACTUALLY AN ISSUE WITH THE VEHICLE.

**** ****
STATE STREET TIRE MANAGER

11/19/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Tire Dealers, Auto Repair & Service, Mufflers & Exhaust Systems, Brake Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/18/2005Business started: 12/01/2004
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2005, OH

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Ross Blankenship (President)
Contact Information
Mr. Tony Dell (Mgr., Barberton Store)Mr. Greg Kleibscheidel (Mgr., Manchester Rd.Store)
Business Category

Tire Dealers, Auto Repair & Service, Mufflers & Exhaust Systems, Brake Service

Hours of Operation
Mon: 8:00am to 6:00pmTue: 8:00am to 6:00pmWed: 8:00am to 6:00pmThu: 8:00am to 6:00pmFri: 8:00am to 6:00pmSat: 8:00am to 4:00pm
Alternate Business Names
State Street Tire

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for State Street Tire, Inc.

460 W Park Ave

Barberton, OH 44203-2612

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 3276 Manchester Rd 

    Akron, OH 44319(330) 645-7000

  • 460 W Park Ave 

    Barberton, OH 44203-2612(330) 745-7000
    Fax: (330) 315-2102

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Akron. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*State Street Tire, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 605-2760
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 24, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Tire Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.