BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1922

Bridgestone/Firestone Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (330) 379-6912Fax: (330) 379-4064View Additional Phone Numbers2855 W Market St Ste 203, FairlawnOH 44333-4034 Send email to Bridgestone/Firestone Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1922

BBB has determined that Bridgestone/Firestone Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

This company's headquarters and company-owned locations throughout the country participate as BBB Accredited Businesses. This means they support the BBB's services to the public and meet our BBB Code of Business Practices.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Bridgestone/Firestone Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bridgestone/Firestone Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
03/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized service

Complaint: Manipulative and deceitful mode of operation: They would not give direct answers, did not listen to what I said, and wasted my time.

I arrived at around 3:45 pm Sunday 3/17/13. I told the front desk guy, *** that there was a problem with the right rear brake and said that I was hoping it was something that could be fixed before closing as we needed to be back on the road as soon as possible the following morning (traveling from Ohio to Kansas City). Around 4:20 they told me the caliper had seized and needed to be replaced. I asked if it could be fixed that night and he said he would call around for the part. While he did I called my friend, a mechanic, and he said to replace the brake pads on both sides and the right caliper but not to do all the other things they would try to sell me. When I went back to the counter, *** said I should consider replacing the caliper on both sides as he could probably only locate the part in a full set with brackets and screws and it would "save me money" and that the rotors might need replaced as well. I told him what my friend had recommended and said that was all I was going to do. He said I would have to wait until he got in at 8:30 to locate the caliper as it wasn't a common part. I asked him if he had a ball park figure for the cost and time the service could be completed. He said about $170 and about 10 - noon but that he would have to call around for the part first and that he would call me back between 8:30 and 9:00 the next morning. So I left my car there, did not authorize any repairs and expected a call the next morning. The following morning local friends contacted their mechanic who said he could take care of it and to bring it in. So my husband went to get the car at 9:00 am (still no call from ***) and the car was already fixed! I couldn't believe how they magically got the part and had it all taken care of so quickly as *** had made it sound like such a huge ordeal. Apparently they had replaced the brake pad, rotor and caliper on the right side and it was $271.23 (about double what the other mechanic would have charged for those same repairs and over $100 over the "guestimate" from ***). My husband asked why they had fixed the car without calling first and they said there was a misunderstanding and that if he wanted to wait, they could take the parts back off. Wanting to be done with the situation, my husband paid and then called me to tell me the story. I hope to spare others their time and money by reporting this. I feel like they completely took advantage of the situation, *** lied to my face about things and wasted my time talking around the issue and making excuses in attempt to get me to spend more money. It is also against the law to perform unauthorized repairs and they need to be held accountable.
Invoice: 115562

Business' Initial Response
We made contact with Mrs. ******** on 3/23/13. She stated that she would be satisfied if we refunded her the money for the rotor. Due to the fact that we must have had a misscommunication as she believes she did not authorize the rotor replacement, I will be issuing her the credit. We apologized for the misscommunication and Mrs. ******** was very satisfied.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
*** called to apologize for "miscommunication." He explained that it was his fault for not completing a "Step 7" to check out the car before talking with me. He also stated he was completely unaware that he could get parts for just one side. He said that he was tired Sunday and in a hurry to finish up other things out front as they closed at 5 and that it wasn't an excuse but that it contributed to his miscommunication with me, ***** and ****. He claims they were honest mistakes and was not trying to deceive me in any way.

I am satisfied with the refund of the rotor that I had specifically stated I didn't want.

I wouldn't recommend Firestone to anyone after this experience but I am satisfied that they attempted to rectify the situation.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

01/21/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
09/24/2012Problems with Product / Service
01/02/2012Problems with Product / Service
06/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Damage done to my vehicle on two different occasions by Firestone employees. Now vehicle doesn't run.
In December of 2013 my husband made the decision to purchase tires for his Ford F-250 from the Kent Firestone. When the tires arrived he made the appointment to have them put on. Within a week of having the tires on, he noticed he was losing fuel at a faster rate than normal. He inspected the truck and found that the fuel tank was leaking from a puncture, around where the truck had been lifted to install the tires. He returned and discussed with *****, who said they thought they had made the hole. So they offered to replace the tank. He asked if a used tank was ok and we said yes. It took several weeks to find a tank, but in January of 2014, one had been found, and they offered to install it free of charge, we would just have to leave the vehicle for 2 days. We were not able to be without the vehicle for that amount of time, until we went out of town for the weekend on May 9. So we scheduled to have the tank installed then and dropped off the vehicle at 6:30 am. We arrived back in town at 9:45pm and went straight to pick up the vehicle since **** had called on the 10th and said it was complete. We picked it up at 10:50pm and stopped to put fuel in at 10:55pm (receipt says diesel fuel). We go home, and the total trip was 2.5 miles. On the next morning my husband leaves for work and 6 minutes into his trip the truck breaks down. He calls Firestone and they come to tow it, since it will not stay running at all. They call us on the 14 to inform us that there is GAS not diesel fuel in the truck, and that where ever we stopped for fuel had the wrong fuel in the pump and that is what caused the truck to break down. They provided this in writing and gave us a sample of the solution from the tank, that included gas, water, debris, and diesel fuel. So on that same day (14th) we made a claim with Circle K gas station. They tested their fuel in that pump and it was in fact diesel fuel and looked nothing like the sample Firestone gave us out of our truck. These findings took until Monday the 19th. So on Tuesday the 20th, we made a claim with *** at Firestone corporate office, claiming that they either but a tank on that had GAS in it, or they put gas back into our diesel vehicle. He had to do an investigation and have someone come to inspect the truck. This process took well over a week, which now puts us at 3 weeks with no transportation for my husband. As soon as their inspector checked over the truck, we had it towed to a Ford dealership, who stated that there was GAS, water, diesel fuel, and debris in the tank. They stated the gas caused the vehicle to shut down. We instructed them to drop the tank, clean it out put on new filters and flush the lines. This process was $1037 and only got the vehicle to run so that performance test could be done on the injectors. After evaluation it needs thousands of dollars in injectors and has a leaking head gasket, and may have motor damage that has not been evaluated yet. Throughout the week of June 3rd, I struggle to get an answer from *** about what his inspector had to say in his report. I left him a voicemails on May 30, June 3,4,&5. No response back until I finally reached him later in the day on June 5. When I asked him what his inspector report said he responded "well, he said there was water in the fuel and tank". I, and the dealership agree, there was water in the tank when it arrived at Ford, along with GAS, diesel fuel, and debris. I informed *** that was a lot of stuff to be in a tank that was just installed, and if the water was in my diesel fuel when we brought the vehicle in (which is their claim)then why did they put it back in the truck?? They are the mechanics, not us. Well 5.5 weeks later, we are still without a vehicle and the estimates are around $6000. We have to use our retirement money to fix the vehicle and make two payments on the truck while it sat broke down. Not to mention, lack of transportation to work, cancelled anniversary and holiday weekend plans to take our boat

Initial Business Response
On 11/29/2013 we replaced tires on the customers truck. 6 months later on 5/10/2014 we installed a fuel tank at no charge as customer satisfaction. Once the customer made us aware of the runability issues we obtained an outside independant inspector to inspect the customers vehicle and give us an unbias report on what the cause of the issues were. Our inspector report clearly shows all repairs done by our facility did not cause the current condition of the customers vehicle.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The inspector you hired did not remove the tank for inspection. We also, have not been provided a copy of this inspection report. Our inspection revealed many substances and foreign objects in the tank when removed. A tank that was just installed. We have the debris and liquids that came from the vehicle tank and the truck started right up after the cleaning and reinstalling of the tank and replacing the fuel filters. Please provide us with your inspection report, as we have provided you with our dealers number as well as receipts and inspection reports and estimates.

Final Business Response
Once the consumer has acknowledged that they will retain an attorney, I cannot share any documentation. Our legal department will get involved once we receive notification.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Tire Dealers, Tire Distributors & Manufacturers, Battery Supplies, Tire Retread & Repair, Mufflers & Exhaust Systems, Brake Service, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Inspection Stations, Shock Absorbers, Battery Repairing & Rebuilding

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/27/2004Business started: 01/01/1900
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation (LLC)

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Schulman (District Manager)Customer Contact: Mr. Bill Wilson (Assistant District Manager)Mr. Tracy Akers (District Manager)Mr. Terry Akins (Manager)Mr. James Boyett (Assistant District Manager)Mr. Jim Byrne Mr. Robert W. Cones (Sales Administrator)Mr. John Dea (Manager)Mr. Charles Gray (District Manager)Mr. Mike Griffith (Manager)Mr. Bill Hoffstett (Manager)Mr. Harland B. Horton Jr. (Senior Counsel)Mr. Ken Mason (Manager)Mr. Larry R. Perdue (Manager)Mr. Charles Phelps (Manager)Mr. Michael Predl (Manager)Mr. Larry Sarnicki (Assistant Manager)Mr. George Taylor (General Manager)
Business Category

Tire Dealers, Tire Distributors & Manufacturers, Battery Supplies, Tire Retread & Repair, Mufflers & Exhaust Systems, Brake Service, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Inspection Stations, Shock Absorbers, Battery Repairing & Rebuilding

Products & Services

According to information in BBB files this company operates a chain of more than 1,800 company-owned automotive tire and service stores throughout the United States.

Alternate Business Names
Expert Tire, Firestone Mastercare, Firestone Tire & Auto Ctr, Firestone Tire & Service Centers, GRC Tire Center, Mark Morris Tire, Firestone Complete Auto Care
Industry Tips
The Hail Season is Here
Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Akron. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bridgestone/Firestone Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (330) 379-6277
  • (615) 872-5000
  • (330) 379-7000
  • (330) 379-6931
  • (800) 367-3872
  • (330) 762-9726
  • (630) 259-9000
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 24, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Tire Dealers

The Hail Season is Here
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.